WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: April 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
Darren Aronofsky was all set to direct the upcoming "Wolverine" sequel before he dropped out, claiming that he would not be able to travel overseas due to family issues.

The search for his replacement immediately began and Hugh Jackman promised that a director of Aronofsky's caliber would be brought on. At one point David Slade (30 Days of Night) was considered, but he recently signed on for "Daredevil" remake and "The Last Voyage of Demeter."

Deadline has now learned that Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) is in talks. There's no word regarding how far the talks have progressed.

As of right now, Jones has yet to sign on for any other project. Before Zack Snyder, however, he was considered to direct the "Superman" reboot.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
John FootPenis writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 5:57:40 PM

Hmmm, Dunc sounds pretty good for me. Moon was awesome and Source Code had some okay effects, surely will be better than the 1st wolverine
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:10:49 PM

Don't care who directs; who's writing the script?
sc_kg writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:20:45 PM

I don't mind him taking over some major franchise, but I hoped for a couple of original movies before getting into movies in wich he has less creative control. And if so- to franchise project wich requires less usual attempt while adapting.
Same with Neill Blomkamp.
I wouldn't mind Singer getting back on chair in this one.
Wallace writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:22:02 PM

The screenplay was written by Christopher McQuarrie (Usual Suspects, Valkyrie), I'm not sure whether he's still attached, though.
But Moon is brilliant.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:24:41 PM

'Moon' was one of the smartest sci-fi films of the 21st century so far, I haven't seen 'Source Code' yet. Seems like a great choice to me.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:25:20 PM

McQuarrie sounds fine, then, and this could work well with Duncan onboard.

According to IMDb, he's still attached and the film is tentatively titled 'The Wolverine'.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1430132/

Not keen on the Japanese setting, though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:45:48 PM

Ahh yeah David Bowies son aka Zowie Bowie. Moon was the bollocks, heard average reviews for Source Code. I reckon Wolverines destined to be sh*t no matter what though.
SeWerin writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:21:21 PM

One of the best Wolverine stories in comics (many people say it's THE best story) is the one set in Japan. Movie script is following that storyline. Few sites reviewed the script and said it's fantastic and follows comics very closely. IN that case it's very brutal and dark.

But i still think FOX can screw up big time with this. I believe Duncan could do it, but Singer should return
zelda1008 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:42:41 PM

This is crazy because I attended an early screening of Source Code where Jones was giving a q&a session after the movie. This one guy asked if Jones was gonna do Wolverine 2 because Aronofsky had left the project. Jones sounded reluctant and swayed away from the question. Guess he changed his mind...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:51:44 PM

I would prefer if Duncan avoided this like the plague. He shouldn't be attaching himself to franchises. I rather him get out there and make bigger sci-fi films. If only studios would wise up and give him money for Mute.
j-man writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 9:50:08 PM

moon 9/10.....source code 8.5/10, but with a film like this id say hed just be the guy hired for the job, and not be able to do his job...
technoreaper writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 10:59:34 PM

Whoa. Isn't this a superhero action movie? Fox, get real and just hire a director. Stop going after indie ones like you think you are going to fool us.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:49:22 AM

I loved "Moon" and "Source Code" I heard is getting some great reviews and attention. I say let 3 be the charm for this director who captures interesting stories. A mutant with metal claws in Japan, sounds right up this guys alley.
pikeman1 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:58:18 AM

yeah, I think Duncan Jones will be a good choice!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 3:11:48 AM

"Moon" was/is excellent and I hear "Source Code" is pretty good, so this would be great if it goes ahead..but as mink said..script?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 4:03:09 AM

Christopher McQuarrie has written some great scripts. The Usual Suspects was brilliant of course. BUT, he also wrote the sh*tfest that was Persons Unknown. Terrible TV show!
rabid writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 2:57:35 PM

The script is already written and was Aranofsky approved, so that is good enough for me. Duncan Jones can do a great job. Really anyone can. Nothing too special is required from the director in this film other than the reluctance to let FOX fill it with extraneous characters. I watched Source Code yesterday, and I think Jones will do just fine.
Especially if they are using anything like that Wolverine anime script. That would make the perfect sequel.
jikae writes:
on April 9th, 2011 at 6:38:21 AM

When does the Marvel licenses end at Fox? That's the real question. They keep messing everything up over there. Sure, they got lucky on the first 2 X-Men films. (probably had more to do with Bryan Singer than Fox) Go and make another Die Hard movie, or kill another franchise!

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved