WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: April 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
Darren Aronofsky was all set to direct the upcoming "Wolverine" sequel before he dropped out, claiming that he would not be able to travel overseas due to family issues.

The search for his replacement immediately began and Hugh Jackman promised that a director of Aronofsky's caliber would be brought on. At one point David Slade (30 Days of Night) was considered, but he recently signed on for "Daredevil" remake and "The Last Voyage of Demeter."

Deadline has now learned that Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) is in talks. There's no word regarding how far the talks have progressed.

As of right now, Jones has yet to sign on for any other project. Before Zack Snyder, however, he was considered to direct the "Superman" reboot.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
John FootPenis writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 5:57:40 PM

Hmmm, Dunc sounds pretty good for me. Moon was awesome and Source Code had some okay effects, surely will be better than the 1st wolverine
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:10:49 PM

Don't care who directs; who's writing the script?
sc_kg writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:20:45 PM

I don't mind him taking over some major franchise, but I hoped for a couple of original movies before getting into movies in wich he has less creative control. And if so- to franchise project wich requires less usual attempt while adapting.
Same with Neill Blomkamp.
I wouldn't mind Singer getting back on chair in this one.
Wallace writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:22:02 PM

The screenplay was written by Christopher McQuarrie (Usual Suspects, Valkyrie), I'm not sure whether he's still attached, though.
But Moon is brilliant.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:24:41 PM

'Moon' was one of the smartest sci-fi films of the 21st century so far, I haven't seen 'Source Code' yet. Seems like a great choice to me.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:25:20 PM

McQuarrie sounds fine, then, and this could work well with Duncan onboard.

According to IMDb, he's still attached and the film is tentatively titled 'The Wolverine'.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1430132/

Not keen on the Japanese setting, though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:45:48 PM

Ahh yeah David Bowies son aka Zowie Bowie. Moon was the bollocks, heard average reviews for Source Code. I reckon Wolverines destined to be sh*t no matter what though.
SeWerin writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:21:21 PM

One of the best Wolverine stories in comics (many people say it's THE best story) is the one set in Japan. Movie script is following that storyline. Few sites reviewed the script and said it's fantastic and follows comics very closely. IN that case it's very brutal and dark.

But i still think FOX can screw up big time with this. I believe Duncan could do it, but Singer should return
zelda1008 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:42:41 PM

This is crazy because I attended an early screening of Source Code where Jones was giving a q&a session after the movie. This one guy asked if Jones was gonna do Wolverine 2 because Aronofsky had left the project. Jones sounded reluctant and swayed away from the question. Guess he changed his mind...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:51:44 PM

I would prefer if Duncan avoided this like the plague. He shouldn't be attaching himself to franchises. I rather him get out there and make bigger sci-fi films. If only studios would wise up and give him money for Mute.
j-man writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 9:50:08 PM

moon 9/10.....source code 8.5/10, but with a film like this id say hed just be the guy hired for the job, and not be able to do his job...
technoreaper writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 10:59:34 PM

Whoa. Isn't this a superhero action movie? Fox, get real and just hire a director. Stop going after indie ones like you think you are going to fool us.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:49:22 AM

I loved "Moon" and "Source Code" I heard is getting some great reviews and attention. I say let 3 be the charm for this director who captures interesting stories. A mutant with metal claws in Japan, sounds right up this guys alley.
pikeman1 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:58:18 AM

yeah, I think Duncan Jones will be a good choice!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 3:11:48 AM

"Moon" was/is excellent and I hear "Source Code" is pretty good, so this would be great if it goes ahead..but as mink said..script?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 4:03:09 AM

Christopher McQuarrie has written some great scripts. The Usual Suspects was brilliant of course. BUT, he also wrote the sh*tfest that was Persons Unknown. Terrible TV show!
rabid writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 2:57:35 PM

The script is already written and was Aranofsky approved, so that is good enough for me. Duncan Jones can do a great job. Really anyone can. Nothing too special is required from the director in this film other than the reluctance to let FOX fill it with extraneous characters. I watched Source Code yesterday, and I think Jones will do just fine.
Especially if they are using anything like that Wolverine anime script. That would make the perfect sequel.
jikae writes:
on April 9th, 2011 at 6:38:21 AM

When does the Marvel licenses end at Fox? That's the real question. They keep messing everything up over there. Sure, they got lucky on the first 2 X-Men films. (probably had more to do with Bryan Singer than Fox) Go and make another Die Hard movie, or kill another franchise!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved