WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: April 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
Darren Aronofsky was all set to direct the upcoming "Wolverine" sequel before he dropped out, claiming that he would not be able to travel overseas due to family issues.

The search for his replacement immediately began and Hugh Jackman promised that a director of Aronofsky's caliber would be brought on. At one point David Slade (30 Days of Night) was considered, but he recently signed on for "Daredevil" remake and "The Last Voyage of Demeter."

Deadline has now learned that Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) is in talks. There's no word regarding how far the talks have progressed.

As of right now, Jones has yet to sign on for any other project. Before Zack Snyder, however, he was considered to direct the "Superman" reboot.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
John FootPenis writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 5:57:40 PM

Hmmm, Dunc sounds pretty good for me. Moon was awesome and Source Code had some okay effects, surely will be better than the 1st wolverine
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:10:49 PM

Don't care who directs; who's writing the script?
sc_kg writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:20:45 PM

I don't mind him taking over some major franchise, but I hoped for a couple of original movies before getting into movies in wich he has less creative control. And if so- to franchise project wich requires less usual attempt while adapting.
Same with Neill Blomkamp.
I wouldn't mind Singer getting back on chair in this one.
Wallace writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:22:02 PM

The screenplay was written by Christopher McQuarrie (Usual Suspects, Valkyrie), I'm not sure whether he's still attached, though.
But Moon is brilliant.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:24:41 PM

'Moon' was one of the smartest sci-fi films of the 21st century so far, I haven't seen 'Source Code' yet. Seems like a great choice to me.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:25:20 PM

McQuarrie sounds fine, then, and this could work well with Duncan onboard.

According to IMDb, he's still attached and the film is tentatively titled 'The Wolverine'.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1430132/

Not keen on the Japanese setting, though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:45:48 PM

Ahh yeah David Bowies son aka Zowie Bowie. Moon was the bollocks, heard average reviews for Source Code. I reckon Wolverines destined to be sh*t no matter what though.
SeWerin writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:21:21 PM

One of the best Wolverine stories in comics (many people say it's THE best story) is the one set in Japan. Movie script is following that storyline. Few sites reviewed the script and said it's fantastic and follows comics very closely. IN that case it's very brutal and dark.

But i still think FOX can screw up big time with this. I believe Duncan could do it, but Singer should return
zelda1008 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:42:41 PM

This is crazy because I attended an early screening of Source Code where Jones was giving a q&a session after the movie. This one guy asked if Jones was gonna do Wolverine 2 because Aronofsky had left the project. Jones sounded reluctant and swayed away from the question. Guess he changed his mind...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:51:44 PM

I would prefer if Duncan avoided this like the plague. He shouldn't be attaching himself to franchises. I rather him get out there and make bigger sci-fi films. If only studios would wise up and give him money for Mute.
j-man writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 9:50:08 PM

moon 9/10.....source code 8.5/10, but with a film like this id say hed just be the guy hired for the job, and not be able to do his job...
technoreaper writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 10:59:34 PM

Whoa. Isn't this a superhero action movie? Fox, get real and just hire a director. Stop going after indie ones like you think you are going to fool us.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:49:22 AM

I loved "Moon" and "Source Code" I heard is getting some great reviews and attention. I say let 3 be the charm for this director who captures interesting stories. A mutant with metal claws in Japan, sounds right up this guys alley.
pikeman1 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:58:18 AM

yeah, I think Duncan Jones will be a good choice!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 3:11:48 AM

"Moon" was/is excellent and I hear "Source Code" is pretty good, so this would be great if it goes ahead..but as mink said..script?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 4:03:09 AM

Christopher McQuarrie has written some great scripts. The Usual Suspects was brilliant of course. BUT, he also wrote the sh*tfest that was Persons Unknown. Terrible TV show!
rabid writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 2:57:35 PM

The script is already written and was Aranofsky approved, so that is good enough for me. Duncan Jones can do a great job. Really anyone can. Nothing too special is required from the director in this film other than the reluctance to let FOX fill it with extraneous characters. I watched Source Code yesterday, and I think Jones will do just fine.
Especially if they are using anything like that Wolverine anime script. That would make the perfect sequel.
jikae writes:
on April 9th, 2011 at 6:38:21 AM

When does the Marvel licenses end at Fox? That's the real question. They keep messing everything up over there. Sure, they got lucky on the first 2 X-Men films. (probably had more to do with Bryan Singer than Fox) Go and make another Die Hard movie, or kill another franchise!

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved