WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
First Look at Judd Apatow's "Trainwreck" Comedy
Jul 19th, 2014
Mark Romanek to Direct "The Shining" Prequel, Called "Overlook Hotel"
Jul 18th, 2014
First Look at Adam Sandler and Peter Dinklage in "Pixels" Action Comedy
Jul 18th, 2014
"The Ring 3" is Finally Happening, Director Announced
Jul 18th, 2014
Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
Jul 18th, 2014
"Fantastic Four" Reboot Isn't Based on Any Comic Book Storylines
Jul 18th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Wants to Direct New "Frankenstein" Film
Jul 18th, 2014
"Uncharted" Movie to Begin Shooting Early Next Year
Jul 18th, 2014
Trailer for "The One I Love" Hints at a Big Twist
Jul 18th, 2014
Disney Announces Lead Actor for Jon Favreau's "Jungle Book"
Jul 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: April 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones in Talks to Direct "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
Darren Aronofsky was all set to direct the upcoming "Wolverine" sequel before he dropped out, claiming that he would not be able to travel overseas due to family issues.

The search for his replacement immediately began and Hugh Jackman promised that a director of Aronofsky's caliber would be brought on. At one point David Slade (30 Days of Night) was considered, but he recently signed on for "Daredevil" remake and "The Last Voyage of Demeter."

Deadline has now learned that Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) is in talks. There's no word regarding how far the talks have progressed.

As of right now, Jones has yet to sign on for any other project. Before Zack Snyder, however, he was considered to direct the "Superman" reboot.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
John FootPenis writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 5:57:40 PM

Hmmm, Dunc sounds pretty good for me. Moon was awesome and Source Code had some okay effects, surely will be better than the 1st wolverine
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:10:49 PM

Don't care who directs; who's writing the script?
sc_kg writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:20:45 PM

I don't mind him taking over some major franchise, but I hoped for a couple of original movies before getting into movies in wich he has less creative control. And if so- to franchise project wich requires less usual attempt while adapting.
Same with Neill Blomkamp.
I wouldn't mind Singer getting back on chair in this one.
Wallace writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:22:02 PM

The screenplay was written by Christopher McQuarrie (Usual Suspects, Valkyrie), I'm not sure whether he's still attached, though.
But Moon is brilliant.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:24:41 PM

'Moon' was one of the smartest sci-fi films of the 21st century so far, I haven't seen 'Source Code' yet. Seems like a great choice to me.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:25:20 PM

McQuarrie sounds fine, then, and this could work well with Duncan onboard.

According to IMDb, he's still attached and the film is tentatively titled 'The Wolverine'.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1430132/

Not keen on the Japanese setting, though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 6:45:48 PM

Ahh yeah David Bowies son aka Zowie Bowie. Moon was the bollocks, heard average reviews for Source Code. I reckon Wolverines destined to be sh*t no matter what though.
SeWerin writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:21:21 PM

One of the best Wolverine stories in comics (many people say it's THE best story) is the one set in Japan. Movie script is following that storyline. Few sites reviewed the script and said it's fantastic and follows comics very closely. IN that case it's very brutal and dark.

But i still think FOX can screw up big time with this. I believe Duncan could do it, but Singer should return
zelda1008 writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:42:41 PM

This is crazy because I attended an early screening of Source Code where Jones was giving a q&a session after the movie. This one guy asked if Jones was gonna do Wolverine 2 because Aronofsky had left the project. Jones sounded reluctant and swayed away from the question. Guess he changed his mind...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 7:51:44 PM

I would prefer if Duncan avoided this like the plague. He shouldn't be attaching himself to franchises. I rather him get out there and make bigger sci-fi films. If only studios would wise up and give him money for Mute.
j-man writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 9:50:08 PM

moon 9/10.....source code 8.5/10, but with a film like this id say hed just be the guy hired for the job, and not be able to do his job...
technoreaper writes:
on April 7th, 2011 at 10:59:34 PM

Whoa. Isn't this a superhero action movie? Fox, get real and just hire a director. Stop going after indie ones like you think you are going to fool us.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:49:22 AM

I loved "Moon" and "Source Code" I heard is getting some great reviews and attention. I say let 3 be the charm for this director who captures interesting stories. A mutant with metal claws in Japan, sounds right up this guys alley.
pikeman1 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 12:58:18 AM

yeah, I think Duncan Jones will be a good choice!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 3:11:48 AM

"Moon" was/is excellent and I hear "Source Code" is pretty good, so this would be great if it goes ahead..but as mink said..script?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 4:03:09 AM

Christopher McQuarrie has written some great scripts. The Usual Suspects was brilliant of course. BUT, he also wrote the sh*tfest that was Persons Unknown. Terrible TV show!
rabid writes:
on April 8th, 2011 at 2:57:35 PM

The script is already written and was Aranofsky approved, so that is good enough for me. Duncan Jones can do a great job. Really anyone can. Nothing too special is required from the director in this film other than the reluctance to let FOX fill it with extraneous characters. I watched Source Code yesterday, and I think Jones will do just fine.
Especially if they are using anything like that Wolverine anime script. That would make the perfect sequel.
jikae writes:
on April 9th, 2011 at 6:38:21 AM

When does the Marvel licenses end at Fox? That's the real question. They keep messing everything up over there. Sure, they got lucky on the first 2 X-Men films. (probably had more to do with Bryan Singer than Fox) Go and make another Die Hard movie, or kill another franchise!

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved