WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Metallo is the Villain in "Superman" Reboot?

Posted: April 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Metallo is the Villain in "Superman" Reboot?Submit Comment
We've been hearing that despite using a large amount of special effects, Zack Snyder plans to keep the "Superman" reboot very realistic. And now, MovieNewz claims to know the general storyline and the villain.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Here is what the site says: "General Sam Lane, the father of Lois Lane, is a central figure in the film. When Superman arrives on the scene; people don't know what to think. He's an alien from another planet. What are his real intentions? He's not human and that scares a lot of people. Here's a guy who can fly, see through walls, is bullet proof and can lift a tank. The military views him as a potential threat to national security. They find kryptonite, pieces of his home planet, and discover its radioactive elements can be harnessed as a near unlimited source of power, both literally and figuratively. It's a brand new form of energy that is secretly developed by the government. The military, under the direction of General Sam Lane, uses kryptonite to power an experimental cyborg super solider named Metallo. He's ultimately exploited as a weapon against Superman."

The site continues by saying that the film will be an origin story and will focus on a Clark Kent in his twenties. He feels alienated by his powers and learns that having these super abilities means making very difficult decisions.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: MovieNewz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 6:58:49 AM

'And then Superman bumps into a screening of 'superman returns' and dies out of boredom...'
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:09:34 AM

I have lost all faith in Zak Snyder since watching Sucker Punch I now know that unless he can copy something exactly from a comic book he will f*ck it up. Somebody must have been holding his hand in Dawn Of The Dead because that wasn't all that bad. He owes me 2 hours of my life back and a retinals.
Rambo writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:16:16 AM

@cinema

I think he'll do fine with Sup as long as the script is good.'Sucker Punch' didn't have a script-thats why it sucked.
JakeVermont writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:25:24 AM

then watch 300 again ;-)
tolgaboy writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:26:03 AM

bring darkseid or lobo ?DEFINITLY no LEX LUTHOR and no kryptonite we want him the kick ass in space and back let the hell break in metropolis you have the budget make a waaaaaauuuw movie
boogiel writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:35:16 AM

"The military, under the direction of General Sam Lane, uses kryptonite to power an experimental cyborg super solider named Metallo. He's ultimately exploited as a weapon against Superman."



The plot sounds awfully a lot like...Incredible Hulk!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:51:58 AM

Rambo- Yeah the script was terrible, but the acting sucked as well a good film maker who had that much control should of seen that. I hope he proves me wrong though with Nolan bitch slapping his ego into oblivion.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 8:46:32 AM

So i guess its really based on Superman: Secret Origins like Goyer said..

so I guess Lex Luther will be in movie after all then..since he was a supporting character in that story.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 8:48:17 AM

Also in that version Clark and Lex do know each other from back in the day in Smallville.

Though Lex never really cared much for Clark..they werent really friends but more like an aquaitance
zyban03 writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 8:48:35 AM

^^ Agree. I didn't really care for Sucker Punch either. Visually it was nice movie but no acting and no script, tons of potential though. The influence Nolan has on Superman will make or break it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 9:40:35 AM

The plot does sound too familiar.
coldplayesence writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 10:18:54 AM

^^ Really? What if they change General Lane for General Ross? I don't think that anybody will notice.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 10:45:07 AM

Both Sam Lane and Metallo are about a decade older than the Hulk and Thunderbolt Ross. But I think, originality aside, it's exactly how it should play out. If a Superman appeared before the world One of the first things that would happen is them trying to sanction him.

I really doubt that's the real plotline, but if it were, it would work.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 10:55:58 AM

Coldplay-Probably not lol
technoreaper writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 11:16:01 AM

I'm sick of these origin stories...Superman is just a superhero that just isn't with the times. People like vulnerable superheroes now. It's less boring.
rocketman writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:01:58 PM

Origin story.
Wankers.
Bunny X writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:02:58 PM

OK I'm calling bs on this. Didn't Snyder say earlier that it wouldn't be an origins story?
I'm fine with the military involvement and the development of Metallo. (A bit too Incredible Hulk-ish tho) But aside from them saying it'll be an origins story, the whole premise of Superman arriving on the scene is just screaming origin. And also, who is the biggest protagonist against Superman being an alien and the threat he posses? Lex Luthor.
This story better not hold up or this whole movie can go to hell.
President Baltar writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:09:02 PM

@boogiel
...and green too!
billofill writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:30:50 PM

300 was essentially the graphic novel come to life with added sh*t cause it's likea god damn childrens book the length of it. Why there were Crap hand having mother f*ckers, i dont know.Nor do i understand the fact they need to make a prequel.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:34:01 PM

@ Bunny X

He's said a few times that it's an origin story. It takes place in the time just before he puts on the suit and goes public.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:35:58 PM

There is nothing realistic about Superman. He is an alien with superpowers. Why can't the Warner Studios deliver a comparable storyline? This guy should be able to move planets, fight off alien invasions, do bloody hand to hand combat against Doomsday. Instead we are getting a Clark Kent who is insecure over his abilities and purpose in life (gay much? Expect lots of similarities to Bruce Wayne origin from Batman Begins). And as a villain, this is essentially Robocop with a heart of kryptonite. Developed by Gen. Sam Lane who might as well be Gen. Sam Ross. Great and original.

Btw, that picture makes Metallo look like a f*cking gay flasher. God this better not suck. Nolan, you might want to step in now and oversee this project. Snyder needs a course correction after his "Sucker Punch" bomb.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:36:59 PM

They don't have much of a choice but to do an origin story. With the legal rights to the classic version of Superman on the line, they have to reinvent the character completely if they want to make sequels. I'm expecting a decent amount of changes to the costume and backstory.
Bunny X writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 1:34:42 PM

@rabid, I could've sworn he stated something along the lines of not doing an origins. And I thought legally, they were to stay away from an origins story anyway. Regardless, this news still bothers me. If they're going with the storyline of him just before putting on the suit, it would be too close to the Smallville storyline unless Smallville has him put the suit on before the series ends.

Either way, we are too far gone to move back. I've said this before in a previous rant but Superman has had way too many movies done and yet it feels like his character has gone absolutely nowhere on screen. Every step they take forward with him, they end up taking two backwards and re-tooling him with another face off against Lex or a damn reboot.
Superman on the big screen should be well into fighting Darksied by now. Of all the movies that have been done on Supes, we should have had seen Brainiac, Metallo, Zod and gearing up for the big Deeath of Superman movie by now.
but yet, we are to sit through yet another retelling of Superman and yet more disappointment.

I swear this franchise is more like Clark Kent than it is Superman.
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 2:28:57 PM

It sounds good.i just hope thy wont mess it up
Ranger writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 2:37:55 PM

What Bunny said.
trailertrash writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 3:20:06 PM

Regarding pics below

Hot sports Journalist Sara Carbonner is a major babe BTW and what ever sport she's involved in i would watch it.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 3:49:50 PM

"Zack Snyder plans to keep the "Superman" reboot very realistic."

I am so f*cking sick of this word, this 'realistic' nonsense. Superman isn't realistic, you goddamned idiots, he's terribly and tragically unrealistic and that's why he is what and who he is.

"They find kryptonite, pieces of his home planet, and discover its radioactive elements can be harnessed as a near unlimited source of power, both literally and figuratively"

That's very stupid. Superman's source of ability is the sun and all it's radiant energy whereas kryptonite nullifies his power, and Metallo uses it to do just that, but instead of following common sense here, they're going to make Metallo into an evil Iron Man and have his use kryptonite as an arc power reactor in or on his chest, or so it seems to me.

Kyrptonite is anti-energy IMO.

"It's a brand new form of energy that is secretly developed by the government."

Because it didn't come from a long dead and exploded alien planet. Stupid.

Just give me the f*cking story. I understand the character and at the very least and worst, if I made the film, you'd have two hours of non-stop hyper-kinetic eye-f*cking action (Superman is called the man of action for a damned good reason...).

"I swear this franchise is more like Clark Kent than it is Superman."

Clark Kent is much easier to do, and the audience identifies with him more so than Superman, or so the writers and studio execs believe...
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 4:56:50 PM

Incredible Hulk/Smallville re-make give me a break

How hard is it to just continue the story from Superman II

Maybe Zod escapes the fortress and somehow gets his powers back or bring in some other villian

But give me a break, the Hulk movies sucked and Smallville can be ok at times but talk about copy-catting an idea
Champ1432 writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 5:55:51 PM

@Bunny

Great point, hit the nail in the head there. It does feel like Supes has gone nowhere on the big screen despite all the movies about him in the can already. I think there was a slight amount of progress made in the original two movies, as he learns his origins and what he must sacrifice, but like you said, it's been stagnant or even backtracking since then. Now we have to go even further back. I certainly hope Nolan knows what he's doing and gets this right. Like others have said, my faith in Snyder is dwindling....
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:35:06 PM

Batman wasn't going anywhere either until Batman Begins, and look where that took us.
Man in Black writes:
on April 5th, 2011 at 12:18:17 AM

Whats that not Lex L ? Good i f*cking cant stand that prick . Now Superman can beat the sh*t out of his enemy . ( not trick them while at his Fortress of Solitude )
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2011 at 1:34:34 AM

I think the idea of a fugitive Superman is worth exploring. In the Donner films the public embraces him like it's the second coming of Christ. But in the real world, he'd be mistrusted and probably hunted. There's gotta be a really good story in there, the moment that Superman has to prove to the world that he's here to help and not lead an alien invasion.
Snyder needs to get us from point A: a god living in secret to point B: shaking hands with the president. It's a good start. I don't know why some people are so doubtful. Snyder has Nolan and Goyer backing him up and they're all 3 comic book fans.
Megawhip writes:
on April 5th, 2011 at 10:02:59 AM

Enough about this c*mfest already, its getting more repetitive than nihilistic nancy boy minnie mouse.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 6th, 2011 at 1:06:18 AM

Damn you boogiel..got there first!!!
The_Zizzler writes:
on April 6th, 2011 at 2:26:47 AM

Quit your f*cking bitching bitches.

Superman Returns was a reboot and was a sh*t reboot at that. If this movie doesn't come with an original idea, the average cinema goer will probably see this as a sequel to the last bunch of sh*te with a new cast.

Every Superman we've had thus far has in one way in another used the standard origin story. This is the first visual attempt to introduce Superman in a different light and I must say it's good and has the bonus of being pretty realistic.

We don't live on Krypton you stupid hoes. If the movie was based on that, seeing a man flying with super powers wouldn't be too hard to digest.

Instead, we are dealing with an alien from another planet and comes to a world which is inhabited by a bunch of regular c*cks (except mine because it is Super Huge). He is brought up by regular parents to fit in. I can totally see the government and world being scared of someone who possesses the ability to fly and burn objects with his eyes.

If someone like that existed in the real world, we would expect the gov. to either kill him (Hulk) or harness him as a special project for the benefit of the country/world (X-Men).

Now STFU and look forward to enjoying a movie better than Faggot Returns directed by Faggot Singer.
Bunny X writes:
on April 6th, 2011 at 8:36:27 AM

I understand that in the real world, an alien from another planet that wants to protect the earth would be hunted or harnessed.
but explore that in a separate movie with totally different characters.
they are treating Superman like nobody knows who he is and he was just created in the last decade.
Superman isn't just an alien from another planet. He is a hero. Hell, he is THE hero.
He is a damn brand for sh*t's sake. From little kids who never touched a comic book tying a towel around their necks and pretending they're him to the countless number of actors that protrayed him in soooooo many mediums, he is THE hero. You mean to tell me we have the greatest superhero ever on screen and the biggest feats he's performed was reverse spin the earth to save Lois from a ditch, and tossed some nukes into the sun, and hurled a kryptonite island into space? Really??
But yet we're supposed to sit here and get another chapter 1 story about him? F'ing please!!
This is like taking the Bible and retelling Genesis and a few chapters afterwards over and over and over again.
Sure, I love Spiderman for his representation of the weight of the world on young shoulders. I love Batman for his against unsurmountable odds and no powers. But if there was a superhero draft, Superman is getting picked #1 each and every time.
My hubby cited Batman as an argument and said that this franchise showcased a number of Batman's villains and what good has it done? And @Mink, I think that's what you're hinting at. (correct me if I'm wrong)
But Batman has proved that villains can be done right and wrong and still be talked about years after they've been showcased.
Jack's Joker vs. Arnie's Mr. Freeze anyone?
Hell, I would take a great darksied performance hand in hand with a crappy Metallo or a Bane-like Lobo showing any day.

@Mink, when I made that comment about this franchise being like Clark Kent, I just meant that I want my Superman movies to be super. Not some bumbling eyeglass adjusting nerd persona that these movies are turning out to be.
Bah, this is just annoying.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved