WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hop," "Source Code" and "Insidious" Perform Well in Theaters

Posted: April 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hop," "Source Code" and "Insidious" Perform Well in TheatersSubmit Comment
The CGI/live-action Easter-themed film "Hop," starring James Marsden and Russell Brand, topped the domestic box office weekend with $38 million. The new movie will easily make back its $63 million budget, despite struggling overseas. "It's an unbelievable result. We had a great marketing campaign that told parents this was pure entertainment, and safe," said Universal Pictures. "When you saw the trailer, how could you not want to see this movie?"

Jake Gyllenhaal's "Source Code" landed in second place with $15 million. The film is getting great reviews and is on its way to make back the $32 million budget.

In third place came James Wan's "Insidious," which cost only $1 million to make. The horror film opened to $13 million is already another hit for Wan.

Meanwhile, The Weinstein Company released the PG-13 version of "The King's Speech," which grossed another $1.2 million from 1,011 theaters. The film will be released on DVD on April 19th.

On the limited release side, "Super" only took in $52,800 from 11 theaters. Clive Owen's "Trust" grossed the same amount but from 28 theaters. Both films will likely expand slightly, but will never get wide releases.

Click here to read our "Hop" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 8:30:47 PM

good concept for Source Code, executed well by Jones... too bad the script was written by a graduate of the Michael Bay script academy
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 9:38:29 PM

Hop. A movie made for f*cking Easter, the second most laughable holiday, right after Kwanzaa.

But I would like to see what Wan is up too this time. I hope he isn't past the point of being hungry.
triggax writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 9:47:54 PM

Death sentence. Underrated movie. That was wan right?
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 9:50:43 PM

Yes. Good movie, Triggax, but it has mostly white people, so you should avoid it.
triggax writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:17:15 PM

I do hate white people!!

But for some reason I very much enjoy Kevin Bacon.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 11:18:08 PM

Pretty good movie weekend. "Source Code" was good, and "Insidious" was very creepy. Will definitely be getting both when they arrive on Blu-Ray.

"Hop", though....that looked like utter sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 11:44:15 PM

oh great brokeback mountain boy's movie made first place.people must of been bored this weekend.Death Sentence a modern day death wish with the Bacon,which I also wanna see Super because it bacons in it as well and the new Xmen.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 1:26:07 AM

"It's an unbelievable result. We had a great marketing campaign that told parents this was pure entertainment, and safe," said Universal Pictures. "When you saw the trailer, how could you not want to see this movie?"



Very easily mate, it's got-

Russel "I aint as funny as I think I am" Brand.
Rambo writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 2:02:36 AM

'Source Code' should have made more money...15 mil is a bit disappointing but then again jake geyllenhal or whatever is a box office poison.
Devil writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 2:31:12 AM

Hop at number 1? Another sad day for art. WTF is up with people these days. Both Source Code and Insidious are great.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 5:09:47 AM

Lool Trigga
SACdaddy writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 9:08:39 AM

Although I heard pretty good things about both Insidious and Source Code, I decided to finally see Limitless instead this weekend. Definitely the best film I've seen so far this year. If you haven't seen it yet, give it a try....especially if you've ever taken X or shrooms before. This film has some of the best trip camerawork I've seen since Fear and Loathing.
thomas deadison writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 2:02:48 PM

"good concept for Source Code, executed well by Jones... too bad the script was written by a graduate of the Michael Bay script academy"


Really? I thought the script was PERFECT. At least, the draft I read last year.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 4:16:19 PM

Finally someone understands the nature of the problem plaguing what we call modern horror:

"Wan knows that what we're paying for is to be scared deep in our bones, and that images glimpsed and hinted at are orders of magnitude more unsettling than buckets of blood and viscera."

Ian Buckwalter, regarding Insidious.

What I've been saying for years!


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved