WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Selling Movie Props to Pay for "Red State"

Posted: April 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Selling Movie Props to Pay for "Red State"Submit Comment
Kevin Smith purchased his own "Red State" film at Sundance and announced that he will take it on tour. His goal was to make back at least half of the $4 million budget before "Red State" gets its limited theatrical release in October.

Apparently things aren't going very well, because the filmmaker has now organized an auction at the Pasadena Convention Center next month to help pay some of his "Red State" bills.

Up for auction are props from many of Smith's movies, and items include a Bluntman costume from "Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" and Bartleby's angel wings from "Dogma." Check out more of items by clicking on the image below.

Props Up for Auction: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Red State."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JohnZee writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 6:37:13 AM

Yet another tragic tale of wasted youth...

I'd give him $5 for the angel wings, but he'd have to promise to never speak again about that Superman movie script he wrote.
boogiel writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 8:25:43 AM

Reality is a bitch.
nope.com writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 8:41:40 AM

Podcast not bringing in enough Smitty?
skidog writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 8:47:20 AM

This story is bogus. He was planning this auction well in advance. I went to a screening of Red State last month in Kansas City and he had a book you could buy that had all the items up for auction. The guy made like $50,000 for one night in KC so I'm pretty sure he's doing fine...
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:09:07 AM

Sounds more like a Right State if you ask me.
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:12:49 AM

Now look at what he's trying to sell

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjBGZdOg4wY&feature=fvsr
cokecan writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:31:47 AM

Yeah, skidog is right. This is clearly editorializing. Kevin Smith has had this planned for quite a while as part of his "Sell the past to pay for the future" thing. From everything I've heard Red State seems to be doing quite well. He has also already made back half the money for Red State. That is fact.
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:51:04 AM

I'm just ready to see the film already. It might have an effect on me since religious zealots are the only thing on earth that I still find sincerely frightening.

I don't see any problem with Smith holding auctions to raise money. Films aren't cheap to make, and this is a guy who is committed to making movies without interference from investors.
japaninmotion writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 11:03:30 AM

I support the guy. he has said numerous times that he doesn't want a studio to spend 15 mill on promos on a film that cost only 4 mill to make. this is a true independent film. you guys can be trolls but this is something fans should support or the independent film will die
telur writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 11:10:49 AM

^
i don't care if independent film die

so what if i got The Expandables
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 12:26:42 PM

Not supporting Kevin 'bit the hand that feeds you' Smith will NOT be the demise of 'independent film' so you can shovel that threat elsewhere. I support plenty of indie films. Of which none of the producers or directors bitch about the very business that puts food on their table. Kevin whines to get attention because his talent is spent. Most of his accomplishments are long ago. If he's made half already for Red State. Good for him. But he has burnt bridges, and he's stuck (in a fridge somewhere, eating his pain away).

As for what he's auctioning off. I nothing from his Craft Services table... Kevin... you fat f*ck!
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 12:38:07 PM

http://vimeo.com/9645518
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 1:07:36 PM

Skidog is completely right, this has been planned for months now ever since he announced the Red State tour... I personally, if i had the money to blow, I'd totally try and get that sweet ass armor lol

@rabid
I caught the first showing at Radio City Music Hall and can completely vouch for this movie... it was insanely awesome and intense as f*ck... and probably has the best ending to a movie I've seen all year. John Goodman is a BAMF in it.
JohnZee writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 1:14:34 PM

There is a long list of Independent Film makers that have my support and very f*cking few of them had a long term distribution deal with the Weinstein's.

And it isn't like he got drunk and pissed on the wrong person at a c*cktail party, he spent years driving them away with multiple bad, non-profitable, or combination of both movies. And when Kevin's sh*t started to stink and people started telling him (Like investors, distributors, movie reviewers, etc...), instead of saying "Whoa, maybe I should think about what I am saying and doing. Because less face it, any Independent film maker would cut of both testicles to be where I'm at."

But he didn't. There was no moment of clarity for Kevin Smith. Nope, time and time again all he got was indignant. Kevin Smith superstar, thinking that having a lot of fans on Twitter means something.

f*ck Kevin Smith. And f*ck Kevin Smith because to claim to not be supportive of Smith is to not be supportive of Independent film making is complete and utter rubbish. Kevin's continual knack for being unprofessional combined with his inability to take responsibility for ANY of his rapidly increasing string of obvious failures is quickly becoming the greatest 21st example of why the schmuck dreaming about making movies in his parent's garage with his friends should NEVER be given similar opportunities.

f*ck him.

Fat ass pissed in the pool, someone get him out before he ruins everyone else's fun.

And my suggestion is that if you are a big fan of his, that you rush down to that auction and bid 100 times what anything on that list would realistically pitch.

Or as the French like to say "L'argent parle, et des promenades de connerie."

And who knows? It may set you up nicely when Kevin conducts his underground "Pay $5,000 for $25 bag of weed from the guy that used to be Silent Bob." National tour he's already "planning" for 2013.
Rambo writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 2:08:38 PM

this news are boring.my avatar's tits are much more interesting...
trailertrash writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 3:31:52 PM

They sure are ....
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 3:45:59 PM

"It might have an effect on me since religious zealots are the only thing on earth that I still find sincerely frightening."

Those pesky Muslims will blow you to bits, you got that right Rabid, and those darn atheists too, man they'll steamroll you into the gulag just for a slice of utopia.
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 3:59:36 PM

I was talking more about the christians, but yeah those muslims are just as f*cking whacko.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 4:36:41 PM

I guess it's a toss up. Would you rather live next door to some regular Muslims who may or may not have terrorist ties, or next door to some Southern Baptists.

Man, way tough call.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 4:45:58 PM

He would've sold his soul, but that is already owned by the Weinsteins.

Why doesn't he just put the bill on his credit cards and max them out. Then, when he can't afford to pay them back, they can foreclose on his house and he can live in his comic book shop full time, the fat f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:14:56 PM

Or he could just rent out his stomach to Batman.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:15:41 PM

minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 4:36:41 PM

I guess it's a toss up. Would you rather live next door to some regular Muslims who may or may not have terrorist ties, or next door to some Southern Baptists.

Man, way tough call.


@minkowski

Definitely the Amish.

You know those Amish girls have the tightest pussies and strongest thights.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:21:35 PM

Hey Mink!

But if he rented his stomach out to Batman, where would Alfred live ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:23:08 PM

Guess Kev should've gotten affiliated sponsorship.

If he calls Southwest Airlines, you think they would help financial bail him out ?


Or too soon ?
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:39:45 PM

"But if he rented his stomach out to Batman, where would Alfred live ?"

Upstairs in Smith's cavernous, empty mansion of a head.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:40:29 PM

"You know those Amish girls have the tightest pussies and strongest thighs."

And the longest back hair too.
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 5:53:08 PM

'Or he could just rent out his stomach to Batman.' --- almost fell outta my chair... lol.
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 6:16:18 PM

JohnZee summed it up nicely for me.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 9:45:01 PM

"Yet another tragic tale of wasted youth..."

I doubt Smith wastes anything but our time. Certainly not food.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 12:29:34 AM

The man can be a real twat sometimes, but if I had the time and money I would definetly buy some of that stuff.
skidog writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 7:45:46 AM

Wow, what a juvenile bunch of trolls. Look, I thought Copout sucked. Other than that I have thought all of the guys movies have been entertaining including Red State. Talking about the guys weight? How old are some of you? At the end of the day the guy has decided he doesn't want studio input anymore for his movies and wants to produce and distribute them himself. You don't have to like his movies but you should respect the effort. Any of you who think he couldn't have continued to play the studio game are delusional.
batdump writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 10:35:54 AM

i just wanna add f*ck Kevin Smith. he is extremely overrated and thinks his sh*t don't stink, when in reality dogma was his last good movie. although red state might be good
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 3:33:23 PM

^^and he's very, very, very f*cking fat. Fat f*cking fat f*cker.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 4:47:11 PM

@japaninmotion
you are stupid.
just because you don't buy any meaningless sh*t to some of kevin smith's sh*tty movies, doesn't mean you don't support indie films. looking at smith's overall, he's hardly an indie filmmaker. clerks and chasing amy (and i guess this movie, red state) are about the only indie stuff he's even done.

but to say such a bullsh*t comment is ridiculous.
indie filmmaking will not die. there will always be striving youngsters out there trying to get into the game and making their measly, minuscule yet potentially entertaining movies.
and there will always be those who want to start out and present something more artistic like and less of a popcorn movie and something that can be done on a budget under a million dollars.

just take a look at mumblecore. there's about 15 people who are the starlets of that genre. sure, it's an already tired format of having liberal thinking, pretentious, hipster douche bags present improved dialogue about sex and how they are sad people with money and no direction in life. but it's still indie filmmaking.

and what about subsidiaries of big production/distributing companies? there's fox searchlight, warner independent, sony picture classics, paramount vantage. and all these companies still help get help those wishing to make there independent film yet still have artistic control on it ( or at least a decent amount to allow it to get out and still make some dough).

so no. if i choose not to buy a giant rubber fist from kevin "too many cheeseburgers and i bitch when people say bad things about me, but i can say terrible things about others" smith, it does not mean i don't support indie filmmaking or it's unlikely demise.
Nick_Salcido writes:
on April 6th, 2011 at 5:54:31 PM

f*ck Kevin Smith haters!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved