WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau May Play Happy Hogan in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: April 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau May Play Happy Hogan in "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
When Jon Favreau announced that he won't direct "Iron Man 3," Marvel decided to continue the franchise with another director, hiring Shane Black (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang). But what about Happy Hogan, the character that Favreau played in two "Iron Man" films?

During a "Cowboys and Aliens" WonderCon panel, Favreau was asked if he'll return to play Tony Stark's bodyguard/friend/driver. The helmer replied that he is a fan of Black and is interested in returning to play Hogan again. "I love that franchise," he said.

During the "Priest" panel, Paul Bettany was asked if he'll return to voice JARVIS, the robotic assistant of Tony Stark. While he has yet to be approached, the actor explained that it's always a last-second thing.

"That movie impacted my life in practically no way whatsoever," he said. "I get called up about a day before it gets released and they say 'Hey man, we've sort of forgot about JARVIS, should we go and record something?' I go into a recording studio for about an hour and I do my stuff and they write me a check and I go home."

Source: Twitter, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 7:31:30 AM

Maybe they will kill Happy hogan in IM3? As for Paul Bettany: Jus take the role cuz it's easy money, mate!
nope.com writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 8:42:17 AM

Just recast it, Marvel loves doing that anyways
Megawhip writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:01:41 AM

Favreau is a one dimensional hack with hairplugs, nuff said.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:02:20 AM

nice way to get paid to do a recording of your voice for a movie.Is happy Hogan in the Iron Man Comic books?
Rambo writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:29:06 AM

I hope he doesn't eat himself by then
Bob82 writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 10:58:39 AM

Man, I wanna be Paul Bettany. Work for an hour and half, get paid and then go home to bang Jennifer Connelly.
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 11:06:20 AM

Happy Hogan is Iron Man's best friend and Pepper's husband in the comics.
So far his portrayal in the films has been pretty lame. In the books, he's an ex-boxer, but in IM2 he seemed to have trouble knocking out one security guard.
Sometimes he would mutate into a character known as the Freak.

After the movies, people began to be interested in a Tony Stark/Pepper Potts relationship, so they killed ol Happy off in the comics so he wouldn't get in the way.
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 12:36:35 PM

@rabid - they may also have been keeping Hogan under the radar for his big appearance.

Iron Man 3 - the movie.
Iron Man 3 - the comic.

http://www.comicbookdaily.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/iron-man-3.jpg

Coincidence?

Yeah... probably. lol. I don't think Hollyweird thinks that far in advance.

Iron Man has bigger fish to fry than his best friend going all Frankenstein on him.

bandolero999 writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 1:23:10 PM

oh thanks rabid really wasnt into Iron Man,just Wolverine,punisher,X-force,Cable,Avengers westcoast
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 3:50:55 PM

Well hell, can't go without Happy Hogan, not that I can recall him in either film, but he just has to appear because if not, then I mean, what the f*ck would I do without his character.
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 3:55:41 PM

@ minkowski
he's Tony's chauffeur in the movies. In the comics he's also Tony's bodyguard. It would definitely not feel like an Iron Man film without Happy and Pepper. War Machine is the extraneous one.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 4:29:48 PM

I remember Pepper (cute little thing), and I recall War Machine (black dude riding around in stolen vehicle...just kidding), but the chauffeur? Nope. Doesn't ring a bell.

I even recall the voice of JARVIS quite clearly (I can hear it now, actually. Or is that Paulie's fembot from Rocky 4?), but no, can't seem to recall Hulk Hogan or Hogan's Heroes or whatever his name.
JohnZee writes:
on April 3rd, 2011 at 7:57:01 PM

The vast majority of Iron Man stories that featured "Happy" Hogan aren't a bit memorable to even the biggest Iron Man comic book fans.

Well, except maybe for that guy that cared enough to write up the Wikipedia page on him.

And Marvel had pretty much stopped using him completely before anyone even thought about writing a halfway interesting Iron Man story.

A fourth string sidekick for Iron Man at best, fifth or sixth if you count the current "love interest of the day" as a single group or not.

And from what we have seen in Iron Man and the sequel so far, it is pretty clear that the movie version of Happy Hogan couldn't compare to the comic book version.

Let's face it, Jon Favreau looked like he'd get out of breath changing a tire...And the only boxing he ever did professionally was a lot of Mike Tyson's Punchout.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 11:40:36 AM

bullsh*t. Jon Favreau was preety huge in shape once training with boxers. He played Rocky Marciano in the biopic, and he played a cagefighter on FRIENDS. He can fight on screen, so there was no good reason to leave that out. Not sure why anyone would voluntarily pare down the cool parts of their own role.

@minkowski
Jarvis is an old homo butler in the comics, not a robot. Happy was probably the second main character of the series after Tony, until around the early 80s, when Iron Man comics became more about the villains and growing supporting cast. In a way he functioned like Superman's Jimmy Olsen.

I like how Happy went out though! In a blaze of domestic terrorism, trying to prove that Tony Stark instigated a false flag terrorist attack on the Lincoln Monument (he did). And by the way, Tony Stark probably killed him. They left it ambiguous, but Happy was comatose on a ventilator, and Tony couldn't allow him to wake up and tell his secrets, so he uses his etremis hacking power and Happy's life-suppot crashes.
Cold blooded, Tony.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2011 at 11:42:32 AM

about ten of my keyboard keys are malfunctioning. f*ck these battery-op keyboards!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved