WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Make-A-Wish Child Now Turns Down Food Network Star

Posted: April 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Make-A-Wish Child Now Turns Down Food Network StarSubmit Comment
We recently told you about a 6-year-old cancer patient named Enzo, who asked the Make-A-Wish Foundation (MAW) for a chance to meet Food Network star Ina Garten. MAW reached out to Garten, who denied the request because she was on a book tour. The foundation asked Enzo to pick another wish, but he decided to wait for Garten. Some time later MAW re-approached the TV star, who responded by saying that the meeting will not happen.

The story spread to every corner of the internet and has become a giant PR disaster for Garten. To save her career, she decided to call Enzo's family to say that she had reconsidered and is now willing to get together. "She was worried her initial reaction was hurting her business," TMZ's source stated.

But Enzo's family isn't about to play games and politely told Garten that they are no longer interested in meeting her. "I don't want to put my son through all these emotions," said Enzo's father. "We're better off just leaving everything the way it is."

Source: TMZ

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:15:32 AM

Wow! Somebody run that woman over!
trailertrash writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:21:34 AM

"She was worried her initial reaction was hurting her business"

Thats Karma bitch
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:32:36 AM

Denying a dying kid's last wish. How could she possible think that that would come back and bite her in the ass?
RickPeters writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:40:24 AM

Classy, Ms. Garten, very classy.
Sherylynne writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 7:55:44 AM

Why refer to the woman by her legal name when the public knows her as The Barefoot Contessa? She had no hesitation to do the "deed," so she should have the courage to own up to it. I understand if she was unavailable because she was on a book tour. However, I do not understand why an alternate date was not offered instead of outright declining. And, then subsequently, decline to visit the child at all. It puts the initial excuse in question. I am amazed that a 6-year-old terminally ill child would Make-A-Wish for a visit from her in the first place. She should have felt honored and humbled that he chose her. Most children would choose famous celebrities, outstanding athletes, or Disneyland! But, he chose one of a gazillion TV chefs! Her actions speak volumes as to her lack of humanity, concern, compassion and decency. If I were one of her sponsors, I would drop her like a rock! And to add insult to injury, she had the unmitigated gall, when she realized the bad PR she would garner from her actions, to contact the parents to THEN schedule a visit. The epitome of self-centeredness and the transparency of a self-absorbed, egotistical shell of a human being.
telur writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 8:41:20 AM

Ina Garten's career is doom
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 8:47:19 AM

Ina Garten..you are a wonderfully warm human being.
Blank x25 writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 9:05:28 AM

Good. Now maybe she can go choke on a muffin.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 11:04:40 AM

TT-amen to that
katcasto writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 11:08:04 AM

This is by far the CRUELEST woman EVER!!! Are you kidding me? This little boy is dying! I hope that this poor excuse for a human being gets hit by the world's largest karma truck! To the precious little boy, I hope all of your new wishes come true! Give Rachel Ray a call...she is way cooler than this old lady!
rabid writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 11:18:07 AM

She proabably had something better to do than talk to some dying kid... like watch mushrooms boil.
It's her life and her time, and she certainly doesn't owe this kid anything just because you feel sorry for him. Maybe she just doesn't like kids.
She's on a book tour making a living. She's gonna cancel that to go make a PBJ with a kid she doesn't even know? This is real life, not an after-school special.
trailertrash writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 11:51:48 AM

Thats pretty harsh Rabid

So she doesn't know the kid so f*cking what, It's a dying childs wish to meet this woman (who ever she is) he must be a fan of her's the least she can do is take some time out and meet this kid.

There is nothing she couldn't move around and if she wanted to be cynical it would have been good PR for her , a lot better than saying NO. Why would someone ever think that was going to be a sound idea.

Now the pressure has told and for the sake of her career (not the Enzo) she now wants to meet him.

I'm glad the family have said no , good for them.

She seems to forget who will be buying her books and watching her TV show, Her Fans and after this little episode i'm sure she will have a lot less.

But she deserves to have none.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 12:01:19 PM

this is a shame, I feel for the kid and hope that he picked to meet someone else.
Ranger writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 12:05:08 PM

I wouldn't f*ck her for practice.

PS: this story is old news.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 12:34:31 PM

@Sherylynne - good post.

I wonder if Garten has children of her own. If she does, she would have empathized with poor little Enzo's prognosis and said yes in a second. Parents would do anything for their children, including other people's children within reason of course. Yes, its amazing that Enzo picked Garten to begin with. You would think a little boy would be more drawn to bigger more colourful Food Network stars like Bobby Flay or Emeril Lagasse - BAMM! But instead Enzo went with a chef who is more old school home cooking. Garten must be feeling like living sh*t right about now. Too bad this humbling experience is going to cost her business.

@Rabid - I agree with Trailer. Your reply sets a low standard. The mission of Make-A-Wish is to grant the wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions to enrich the human experience with hope, strength and joy. Enzo is 6 years old. How much of life has this boy experienced? Not much. He asked to meet Garten, a donation of time if you will, not ask for her kidneys. Garten should feel honoured and compelled to make this meet happen. Not give the family lame excuses before cancelling and then two-facing a meet to save her career.
kablotsky writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 12:37:57 PM

The child was not dying. He had a 96% chance of recovery and is expected to recover 100% without any ill effects.

The mother took the story to TMZ. The Make-A-Wish Foundation was horrified she did this and defended Ina Garten who has donated a lot of money to the Make-A-Wish Foundation. They stated that they ask the children for up to three wishes, because it is not unusual for the first or second wish to be be refused because of celebrity time constraints.

The mother is shopping a book she has written. I think it more likely she wanted to meet Ina Garten, rather than her child wanting to meet Ina Garten. And how creepy is it to write in your blog that the celebrity should be honored the child picked the celebrity for the wish?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 1:12:34 PM

@kablotsky - it sounds like you have followed this case in the media. Whereas I am only responding to this WP article. The important thing is Enzo's health and hopefully being on the road to quick recovery.

Your post tells the other side of the coin of parents using this bad experience to gain profit. I haven't followed this case at all, but if that's true then shame on them. So do you think Garten would have done things differently if she knew all the trouble this has caused? I understand she may choose to live a secret private life but her public professional life is to get out there, cook, sell books and make connections with real people. And here is a fan (or parents) that wanted to meet with her through the Foundation. You can't turn your back on doing actual charity time (not just donations). I still believe that people in the entertainment industry must recognize that their work may garner admiration and it should not be taken for granted. There is a social responsibility in that.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 1:22:47 PM

She's comes off as a wicked bitch on her show. She calls everyone by their full first name and everything. Seems so elitist.
Blank x25 writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 2:11:50 PM

If you don't agree, I could really care less, but anybody who does not at least feel sympathy for a dying child really is a level of loser beyond human comprehension. Or is not an adult. One or the other.

So like I said, this fat waste of space can go choke on a muffin.
thomas deadison writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 2:27:13 PM

The most bizarre thing about this story was the idea that he ever wanted to meet her in the first place. But yeah, this is sh*tty all around.
Really? writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 2:47:09 PM

I knew I didn't like this woman or her show, but my assumption was that she is just a food snob! Now I know my feeling was correct! She is a waste of time and space. May all of her recipes burn! Swimming with the dolphins is so much more to look forward to. Way to go Enzo and to your parents as well! God Bless.
LAGirlFriend writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 2:47:59 PM

See..... this is how something like a little too much fame and fortune can bloat a persons sense of relevance in our world. These self serving self centered nepotists use their popularity and money as some measuring device suggesting they are somehow superior and unaffected, even immune to the human condition as we average, uncelebrated masses endure. You know what..... we are actually better for not having to stand behind you or your ilk at the market or bank while you drone on about what a bother it is waiting for the old lady sorting coupons while you huff and puff as your real vanilla bean ice cream melts and Jeffrey snagged a handicap spot because its right next to the door so the guy driving with his tongue because he's got no limbs had to park upper concourse and you dont push your cart through the check out line so its blocking everyone behind you and to top it off that insidious tone of voice trying to assure all the world that not only are you so good at everything you do you have never had anything more troubling in your life than a hangnail. But we're on to you Ina.....its what you're not getting that makes this whole charade so textbook.... and let me tell you, all those 'friends' who set a lovelier table than you, arrange flowers better than you, pair wine and meal courses better than you.....have a name for you......F--H--. Please, do the rest of us a favor....buy a sense of humility......oh yea and not that I should give a rats ass but back off on the butter, mayo and salt....yer killing Jeffrey.....and to think I actually watched you occasionally (no sound of course)(trying to figure out what was on the wall down the hall in what appeared to be a den)(waiting to see if you had a pet......and if it was fat) (dont do that to an animal, I'll call the ASPCA)(since theres no such thing as fashion police to end your shirt spree) OK Im over the top but if Enzo feels half this good with the Dolphins it wont surprise us, I got my ya ya's out and Inna Gadda Da Vida is once again all about the drum solo. My name is Deborah ........ Ina apologists.....have at me...... all the rest: Alton rules!!!!
zyban03 writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 2:55:12 PM

I'm glad it backfired, payback..KARMA style. The kid has a new wish to go swim with dolphins. Good for him! That's a better wish than cooking with a whale. I hope it's granted.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 4:03:36 PM

Holy sh*t some of these responses from Food Network audiences are off the rag...I mean rage-o-meter.
trailertrash writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 4:27:27 PM

kablotsky -

I echo Mr Blonde post regarding what you have said and that is terribl if true.

We had a woman here in the UK Karen Matthews and her brother in law planned a fake kidnapping of her daughter.

They were inspired by the Madeleine Mccann story

The idea was to get a ransom of £50,000 for her safe return.

They then drugged her, tied her up and hid her under his bed.

Then they reported her missing and watched as the country went into over drive trying to find her at the cost of over £3.5mil.

Thankfully they were caught and sent to prison.

People who will use children for their own selfish means need to be taken out of society for ever (with a bullet preferably )
BamaGirl writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 4:29:39 PM

I had watched Ina daily, now I can't stand the sight of her. What a creepy thing to do. Did she think we wouldn't find out what she had done? And now that we know, she suddenly has time for the child she gave an absolute NO. Shame on you Ina. From a former fan, now just ashamed I ever bought your cookbooks and gave them as gifts to friends and family.
technoreaper writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 4:33:45 PM

Has the Food Network pulled her shows yet?
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 5:02:19 PM

Excellent post sherylynne. You're my new hero.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 5:05:26 PM

@Trailer - Thanks.

Also reminds me of the famous 2009 Balloon Boy Hoax. Colorado parents of six year old boy named Falcon had staged a scenario of a runaway helium air balloon supposedly with little Falcon still inside. The balloon drifted over three counties 80 km and involved the authorities closing down Denver Airport and sending the National Guard and local PD in hot pursuit. When the balloon finally landed the boy was not inside which prompted an immediate fearful manhunt for the boy who may have fallen out. The boy was later found apparently hiding safe at home. When the family was interviewed on Larry King Live, little Falcon exposed the charade and revealed they did this for the “show”. No doubt the Parents wanted to gain instant fame and public sympathy for their supposed missing child. The Parents were sentenced to serve time and pay fines of $36K (not enough if you ask me).

Parents who exploit their children for f*cking greed don't deserve to be parents.
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 5:09:24 PM

kudanrt writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 5:39:18 PM

Dam sombody needs to smack her across the face with a fryin pan! ONE BIG O' SARTEN!! POWWWWW!!!!! She is an idiot... dunno why she ever turned him down in the first place,,, jeez.. now it's obvious that she wants to do it cause she doesn't want to ruin her career... ha ha ha dumbass...
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:25:33 PM

Make-A-Wish Child Now Turns Down Food Network Star

Maybe she should've offered to blow him and f*ck him, like a cuisine Lisa Lampanelli.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 6:27:47 PM

I hope she gets e-coli and bleeds from her eyes until her brain stem turns to a gellatenous substance.

f*cking last minute bitch.
Rosalie writes:
on April 1st, 2011 at 11:40:17 PM

@ kablotsky:

Thanks for your post. You're right, even though the child is very ill and very limited in what he is able to do, he is not dying. I'm sure that things are extaordinarily difficult for this family, but when you read the mother's blog, she (the mom) comes off as being pretty creepy. She seems delighted that she has stirred up a hornets' nest of hatred towards Garten and acts as if her family should be able to demand favors of whatever celebrity they choose.

Garten has been described by the Make-A-Wish Foundation as friend and supporter, and she has given of her time, talent, and money in the past to charitable endeavors. When is enough enough for a celebrity to give?

It seems like it would have been an easy choice to do something nice for a sick kid, but for whatever reasons, Garten chose not to make his wish the focus of her next charitable giving. Then this almost stalkerish mom decides to take it to TMZ and all hell broke loose against Garten.

I wish the kid well in his recovery, but the way the mom has acted is at best bullying and at worst extortion.
gg_galaxy2002 writes:
on April 2nd, 2011 at 12:37:37 AM

I have been a fan of Inas since she started her show on the Food Network. I have 2 of her cookbooks and have seen almost all of her shows. I think what she did was really bad, but I can't deny the woman has talent. Her recipes are amazing, I have never been disapointed. She is my 3rd fav chef behind Julia Child and Jacques Pepin, so at least I know Jacques is a wonderful man, and Julia is dead so there is only 1 bad egg.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on April 2nd, 2011 at 2:14:57 AM

Dammit, if my family and I didn't love her tuna and avocado recipe so much...

this bitch really needs to get a life if it's nothing to her but food and book tours.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on April 2nd, 2011 at 2:22:34 AM

On the other hand, I really am glad that there is a really good chance that boy will be ok and I hope he enjoys swimming with the dolphins.
Kenny writes:
on April 2nd, 2011 at 5:44:37 AM

I'm dying. My last wish is to f*ck Carla Gugino in the ass and to subsequently come in her mouth.
Make-A-Wish Foundation, make it happen.

P.S.: Carla Gugino, I'm a dying kid, you can't deny a dying kid's last wish, you know?
Drop your pants, it's the human thing to do.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved