WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros to Reboot "Batman" With Christopher Nolan

Posted: March 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros to Reboot "Batman" With Christopher NolanSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Pictures president Jeff Robinov recently spoke about the Batman franchise and its future after Christopher Nolan wraps up "The Dark Knight Rises." It turns out that the plan is to reboot the films with Nolan on board.

"We have the third Batman, but then we'll have to reinvent Batman," said Robinov. "Chris Nolan and [producing partner and wife] Emma Thomas will be producing it, so it will be a conversation with them about what the next phase is."

The studio obviously wants to transfer all the factors that made "Batman Begins" and "The Dark Knight" successful to their other projects. And the key factor has always been Nolan, which is why he is producing the new "Superman" reboot.

Regarding who could take over the new Batman franchise... Zack Snyder, who is directing "Superman," has previously expressed interest in helming "The Dark Knight Returns," based on Frank Miller's story of an older Batman who comes out of retirement to take down Harvey Dent and a violent gang called "The Mutants."

At one point, Darren Aronofsky was also attached to direct a Batman film.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:49:46 PM

I've lost all interest in Batman films. But thanks for the late-breaking news.
october_midnight writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:54:23 PM

Good, one less person in line. A DKR storyline would be awesome.
RickPeters writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:57:19 PM

Yeah, I don't get that. This is the best time to be a Batman fan since, I dunno, probably when Burton's first movie came out.

The Dark Knight Rises has a lot of potential to be very good and I don't blame WB for wanting to keep Nolan on board. But for some reason, I feel like he'll walk. I would imagine he'd get bored of the character after a while and want to focus more completely on other projects.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:00:52 PM

Oh jesus I didn't see this sh*t, did I fall on a f*cking magic tunel while talking about James Cameron? This sh*t can't go worst.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:18:36 PM

Is this an early April Fools joke Alex?
Dirt writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:19:01 PM

Batman is like the sh*t version of Iron Man.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:21:18 PM

Proof that movie studios never leave well enough alone.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:24:50 PM

Funny, I initially thought this is a bullsh*t idea since Nolan was already rebooting the dying franchise (almost buried by Schumacher versions) with BB, TDK and TDKR. I would love to see the Dark Knight Returns as I am sure every fan boy out there. This is like the comic bible to most. However, Warner Bros. must bear in mind that bringing the Dark Knight Returns to screen may be a one trick pony. After all the story involves a older Batman brought out of retirement to bring down the Joker, Two Face, Mutant Leader and Superman (btw, keeping Nolan on for creative character continuity makes good sense as he is heavily connected to all current Bat and Supes Projects). That's a lot for an old Batman to handle within a 2 to 3 hour movie. This would also be a physically challenging role for an older actor to do not once, twice but possibly three times. After all why reboot something and only get one show out of it. As far as actors go, I think Clint Eastwood would be an inspired choice for Batman and a crusty worn out Bruce Wayne.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:36:44 PM

Burton did these films best. Period. And Nolan should go on Prozac and give Batman a Sucrets before making TDKR.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:05:25 PM

OMG, for real?
Warner wants Chris Nolan to turn on himself and sell his soul to Hollywood.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:17:05 PM

@Mink - I have to admit, I enjoyed Tim Burton's Batman and Batman Returns when I first saw them. Burton has always been a fav director and his style of gothic brooding gargoyles, industrial architecture, using Keaton (genius), Danny Elfman soundtracks and a slight campy yet dark sarcastic approach bodes well for bringing Batman to film.

Then Schumacher butchered it with his two brutal over the top films - way too much neon and nipples to go around.

I admire Nolan for bringing realism and updating the origins story. Recall we are well into the second half of the first film before his Batman even makes an appearance. As the captive audience, we are drawn into his detailed character development of Bruce Wayne and how his misguided adventures wandering through crime ridden Asia leads him to be trained as an agent by the League of Shadows. He honed their skills and believably become something more than a man but a symbol of fear. Burton and Schumacher origins stories arguably pale by comparison.

Yes, I can see how Bales horse voice as Batman annoyed some viewers. But ask yourself how else would you strike fear into the heart of the criminal if your voice wasn't deliberately menacing and commanding. By contrast, I always found it funny hearing George Clooney use his regular voice for both Bruce Wayne and Batman (another reason why Schumacher's Batman sucked).
darthraige writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:24:35 PM

Stop rebooting reboots you f*cking head c*nts of studios.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:17:53 PM

Hollywood has recently experienced a wave of rebooted movies from dying franchises that were in desperate need to reinvent themselves (eg. Star Trek, Batman and Bond). The term reboot is fast becoming a despised word and immediately criticized because of the apparent lack of creativity in telling a tale that has already been told.

Now we have the reboot of a reboot. A different animal? In this case, yes.

More than likely Nolan will go out on top as The Dark Knight Rises will probably be just as good as his first two installments. He is that good a director and deserves our trust. This will complete his trilogy and vision of the Batman. Arguably if Nolan keeps at it and brings us a Batman 4, the formula will become stale and the public will end up hating him for it. So Nolan is smart and knows when to make his timely exit strategy.

He also knows Warner trusts his creative judgement to rightfully keep him on the payroll as a Producer. Now Frank Miller's "The Dark Knight Returns" is a classic and complex story that has been dying to come to the big screen. Miller's story served to inspire Nolan as a starting point with Batman Begins. It would be a challenge to any Director to take on this ambitious project. I have high confidence in Zack Snyder for bringing Miller's graphic novels to life as he brilliantly did with Watchmen and 300.

I'm in.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:22:37 PM

who would he reboot it? that's f*cking stupid.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:22:51 PM

*why
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:34:36 PM

As a comicbook collector do you stop collecting when the X-Men change writers and artists and take the storylines into another direction? No, as long as the story is good it enriches the characters. And we keep on reading.

Try thinking of rebooting a reboot in the same light.
boogiel writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 12:45:56 AM

I'm sick and tired of this reboot/remake things. You want proof that Hollywood is run by *ssholes? This is it.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 3:30:40 AM

Batman is the sh*t version of Iron Man? Hahahahahaha! You need to sort out your priorities
Whitelock84 writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 3:33:55 AM

Why do they feel the need to reboot this already? For crying out loud, the third movie isn't even out yet!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 3:43:17 AM

@Mr Blonde: If they were to make The Dark Knight Returns, wouldn't it be better to make a trilogy from it? There's no way they can cram everything into a 2-3 hour feature.

But I'm still against this. Movies aren't comics, even if they are based on comics. In comics you develop a very vast universe, the characters can, more or less, do and come as they want. A movie don't have that luxury. A movie needs closure. Sure, it would be fun to see Batman take on every villain he has encountered in the comics, but that would be tiresome fast.

Nolan's last Batman would be a great way to end the character, for at least 10-15 years.
technoreaper writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 3:57:19 AM

Thank god. Nolan's Batman was very flawed. It's about time.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 4:26:59 AM

I doubt very much that Nolan would have a part in this reboot or even discuss it before he's even started filming TDKR. He would lose all respect from me and any one else who knows any thing about films. Comic book fan boys can jerk off to cartoons.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 4:53:33 AM

Don't know where they could go with the story after "TDKR"..so not really keen a reboot..if Nolan has a hand in it maybe..but even then...
Kill-the-director writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 5:34:27 AM

i can only see nolan producing this if warner brothers have turned round and said they're not going to fund his next film unless he does it.
Rambo writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 5:47:26 AM

This news is old.WB announced they are already planning a reboot to the reboot with chris nolan performing his acting debut as batman.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 8:54:12 AM

@Freudian Nightmare - The Dark Knight Returns is the story about an older Batman drawn out of retirement to purge Gotham of evil. It is a four part graphic novel in which he does battle against Joker, Two Face, Mutant Leader and Superman. With Superman included into the fold, this story does not fit with Nolan's version of Batman which is intended for realism (not fantasy superhero).

Nolan has already started preproduction for The Dark Knight Rises. So it is not possible for The Dark Knight Returns to be his last installment for his trilogy.

@Cinemaisdead - "Comic book fan boys can jerk off to cartoons".

Without comic books (or a fan base to support it) there would be no Batman films - period. If that were the case, then Cinemaisdead would be about right.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 12:19:21 PM

I beg to differ, Batman comic has been running for years. The camp TV show was popular then the 2 other films were equally popular. The success of the comic alone wouldn't get this film done. All I said was they can jerk off to cartoons I never even said the film wouldn't happen without them so what's your point pal?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 12:51:09 PM

mr.blonde-that makes a lot of sense however when you reboot a movie the previous films are usually not connected and not considered cannon with the new series. even so it does make me feel a little better.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 1:42:50 PM

Comics are the one medium used as source material in which I don't care about them telling different styles. We've all said on here before that comics for a single character can have hundreds of artists, writers, stories, etc. I don't have a problem with them doing more Batman stories that are different. I just think the word "reboot" scares people (and rightly so).

If they decided to tell another story, that's fine, just don't allude to the fact that it's a revision of a previous Batman story. New everything doesn't necessarily mean "reboot", and to me at least wouldn't be a bad thing. And as much as we've talked about Snyder doing better with adapted material, I wouldn't mind seeing his take on The Dark Knight Returns, just don't tie it into other Batman films. Nolan's films are in no way connected to Burton's, and there is nothing wrong with that. It's just like two different graphic novels.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 2:34:01 PM

really warner bros? i can understand rebooting a dying franchise, but there's just one little problem, THIS FRANCHISE NEVER DIED...and just when everybody thought the franchise actually died, we got batman begins...but now, we're hearing about a reboot and the third film hasn't even began filming yet...put it this way, a chicken can only run so far with its head cut off...and that's when hollywood will flop majorly when they hope people will fall for it and pay to watch another batman reboot but don't
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 4:31:25 PM

Yes, lets end the successful film run and reinvent a couple years later. Lets review... abandon proven success for possible failure. It's like Hollywood wants to fail.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 5:48:08 PM

milking the cow milking the cow! f*ck hollywood!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 6:57:13 PM

@Blank-"It's just like two different graphic novels."-very well put! now as you put it that way, i actually don't mind NEAR as much for the reboot idea. actually a fresh series MIGHT not be a bad idea!
minkowski writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 7:29:51 PM

The only problem with comparing comic book reboots to graphic novels is that films are made for the masses, graphic novels are made for the fans.

TDK wasn't a fanboy film, and neither was Transformers, because quite simply these films cost hundreds of millions of dollars, whereas a graphic novel can be commissioned for as little as a few thousand.

Small investment for a small market.
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 8:09:18 PM

"We have the third Batman, but then we'll have to reinvent Batman," said Robinov. "Chris Nolan and [producing partner and wife] Emma Thomas will be producing it, so it will be a conversation with them about what the next phase is."

<< So this means we'll do a "Spiderman" by casting a younger, shirtless Tiger Beat hearthrob (whoever's hot at the moment) with big, shaggy hair in a Batman aimed at stupid, teenage girls.

Complete with Katy Perry soundtrack and vampires, nonetheless. I can see it now: Batman: "Moonlight Essence" (or some gay Twilight inspired sounding bullsh*t title)
Kain writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 8:42:06 PM

"darthraige writes:

Stop rebooting reboots you f*cking head c*nts of studios."

Exactly.
vampires_suck writes:
on March 31st, 2011 at 7:52:55 AM

@Pig Newtons - Batman has been involved with Vampires before, to great success. Check out the Graphic Novel Red Rain and its sequels Bloodstorm and Crimson Mist. All very good stories.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved