WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Take "Avatar 2" Cast to Meet Brazilian Tribes

Posted: March 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Take "Avatar 2" Cast to Meet Brazilian TribesSubmit Comment
A few days ago, James Cameron took Arnold Schwarzenegger to the Xingu River in Brazil, where he spoke against the construction of the hydroelectic dam, claiming that it would destroy the homes of some indigenous people.

Cameron said that if he visited the indigenous tribes before filming "Avatar," it would have been a better movie. This is a mistake he is planning to correct for "Avatar 2," by taking the entire cast to Brazil's Amazonian rain forest for them to be inspired by the place.

"'Avatar' is a film about the rain forest and its indigenous people. Before I start to shoot the two films I want to bring my actors here, so I can better tell this story," said the director. "Actors could learn about the natives and what real life in the jungle is like."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
grizzle writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:15:07 AM

I call firsties on this story! ROFL!!! I can't resist the temptation to say what I feel about James Cameron, or should I say Saint Cameron. It's apparent from the various stories that I read that he knows better than EVERYONE on the planet, about everything, including the environment. I would love to see if James Cameron drinks water out of plastic bottles on the set of his movie, or if any of the actors do. I'd love to see if/how much they recycle. I'm not saying these things are a must for me, but the level of hypocrisy is just too much. Or how about the size of Cameron's house? Anybody know? I can't help thinking of Al Gore speaking out against global warming those years ago, while having a redwood (endangered species of wood) deck around his huge house!

A lot of people on here seem to think Chris Nolan is overrated as a filmmaker. And that may be. But I've never thought Cameron's movies were stellar. I never even saw Avatar, but from what I hear, it's about as unoriginal as it gets in terms of story, which comes as no surprise from this guy. If you love the natives so much Cameron, join them and leave us alone! Thanx!!!!!!!!!!!!!
markoz writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:27:19 AM

Amen,grizzle
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:44:04 AM

Nice one Grizzle, saved me a lot of angry typing on this f*cking sold out hack. Avatar may as well have been set in the Amazon, not only did they reference tribes they pretty much acted like them even the Navi looked like blue- black people.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:47:02 AM

I think Avatar is amazing. You all talk as if Cameron is the first filmmaker to make a picture out of old ingredients. Sure, the story isn't original, but it would be naive to claim blindly that Cameron messed it up. Avatar is energetic and full of amazing action. That's my opinion.

As for Cameron himself, he *is* arrogant and full of himself, but then again honestly, he has a good reason to be. He's created some immortal cinematic classics and most of them have eneded up being most profitable films of their time.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:46:48 AM

Avatar! Best film of all time?

No, not by a long shot. The story has been told before, but i give credit to Cameron being a fantastic technical guy, all those new instruments used for the film. I was blown away by the effects of the film, but not by the story
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:12:27 AM

Yeah Cameron has made classics, he used to be a great director. The amount of time and effort put into Avatar you'd expect it to be a bit more than a CGI-fest though surely. The 3D may have amazed every one but the acting was 2D, the connecting to the earth sh*t was all bull sh*t. I got so bored with him hunting with the Navi and all the prayer bull sh*t.

Then there's the part where Cameron tries to get all psychological where Jake's like "I'm finding it hard to tell the difference between this world and that world" so as the audience you're thinking maybe this could get interesting, then the next seen he's back to normal like that whole break down never happened. The cliche'd one liners like "get some" were ridiculous. I couldn't give a sh*t about the Navi or their sh*tty little tree and I'm sure that was Camerons goal. To make you feel sympathy for these aliens.

Avatar was an average film that didn't deserve the praise it got. It was well shot, the action was pretty cool, the CGI world was spot on but ulitimatly it was average, lazy film making. That's why I don't like Cameron or Avatar
lebowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:44:24 AM

i saw avatar ,i felt sympathy for the aliens and then i forgot about it.cant hate cameron because of terminator ,t2,aliens and true lies but i dont get his avatar obssesion.make another movie man we dont need to see any more blue people
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:44:49 AM

But why on earth would anybody take Avatar's story so damn seriously in the first place? It's eye candy, take it or leave it but it's not like it has legions of fanboys like Star Wars shoving it down our throats, the only one doing it's James Cameron himself, why? because he's making MONEY out of it. He's movies, all of them, were aiming for the same thing. But it's ok, the haters can keep telling themselves that they wouldn't do it if they had the chance to win millions of dollars.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:49:01 AM

Sweet Cameron's going to take some 3d shot's of native'ss balls hanging out and huge sagging boobies. Probably for his own pleasure.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:14:54 AM

colplay sense: "but it's not like it has legions of fanboys like Star Wars shoving it down our throats,"

Where do you live under a rock lol http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01822/avatar-fans_1822719i.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/picturegalleries/picturesoftheday/8315843/Pictures-of-the-day-10-February-2011.html%3Fimage%3D17&usg=__jU58sBnSPIRStkEIY2-ub8WytjE=&h=398&w=620&sz=84&hl=en&start=28&zoom=1&tbnid=hbZbcGOINouKxM:&tbnh=94&tbnw=146&ei=UemRTabBFc_M4Ab_qvCrAg&prev=/images%3Fq%3Davatar%2Bfans%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26safe%3Dactive%26biw%3D916%26bih%3D397%26tbs%3Disch:10%2C871&um=1&itbs=1&iact=rc&dur=241&oei=PumRTY7lNpKGhQftjqiaDw&page=4&ndsp=12&ved=1t:429,r:9,s:28&tx=97&ty=52&biw=916&bih=397
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:15:29 AM

Ahh now look what you've made me do stretch the comments
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:26:10 AM

@cinema first, hahahahahaha good one.

And second, they are just attention whores, but they'll never get as big as Star Wars fanboys.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:51:11 AM

I was in Brazil for a while last year, and the Brailians were obsessed with Avatar. I couldn't travel anywhere without hearing about it, and I was staying on a tiny jungled island. Many of them seem to think parts of it are based on ayahuascero culture. The Tree of the Ancestors looks exactly like the indigineous psychoactive caliandra tree. The flowers come to life and move when it rains and look much like the little spirit seeds in the film.

I found out that a team of Hollywood filmmakers had stayed at the ayahuascero's house a couple years before, but he wouldn't say who. I think it's a good chance it was Cameron and some people, since he was obsessed with the making of the film.

Also, the tattoos they wear in the film were done with jagua ink, which is native to Brazil. It's a black paste made from amazonian acai berries.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 11:54:08 AM

btw Avatar is a truly amazing film and a masterpiece of art. But if it makes people feel better about themselves to insult it, then I guess that's a good thing.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:12:26 PM

rabid- Oh no you're right now you've said that's it's a masterpiece and a work of art it must be. Without giving any reasons why it is, we should just trust you right? I wasn't insulting it I explained what I thought of it... mediocre, and wow visuals if you want to see art go to a museum. This is cinema and cinema is supposed to create emotions through visuals, characters and plot.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:36:44 PM

@cinema - tinyurl.com next time Bro... lol.

'James Cameron to Take "Avatar 2" Cast to Meet Brazilian Tribes' --- hopefully they're cannibals.

rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:37:49 PM

That's because the emotion in the film is tied into a message of ecology and brotherhood, a message many are desensitized to. I've noticed that the only people I personally know who don't like the film also discount climate change. Considering the political climate when the film came out, I think it led to a lot of people being too caught up in their NWO-paranoia to enjoy the ecological message of the film. Either that, or they're just too cool to care... which I am often enough.
As for art direction, I don't think there's much to point out. It's the most beautiful special effects treatment I've ever seen, pulled off by hundreds of artists making sure every blade of grass or rolling cloud moves just right. It took years of dedication and sweat and possibly a good bit of blood, and I respect that as an artist.
The only thing I can speak ill off is Sam Worthington's acting... but Giovanni Ribissi mutes his performance.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:43:12 PM

No doubt hours of endless footage will be available on Blue-ray extra features. Here we see Sam Worthington learning how the indigenous people take a sh*t and wipe using a palm leaf. Here Zoe Saldana learns how to crack a coconut between her thighs and leave the juices running down her legs for mating rituals.

Unnecessary production costs but every actor will have to bend to Cameron's Eco-God-Complex if they want to work for him. No wonder Hollywood budgets get out of hand. If Cameron is that driven about protecting the indigenous tribes in Brazil, he should just leave them the f*ck alone.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:43:36 PM

I wouldn't call it a Masterpiece, but I'll call it a Visual Masterpiece anyday and over any film.

@Ranger, lol, but you're not serious right? I mean the first thing I remember from you was quoting Apone a few years ago. You don't hate Cameron too do you?
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:58:27 PM

Rabid pretty much defines himself here by, very often enough, taking the most preposterously positive view on pretty much everything, even if in doing so he has to say something terribly incredulous.

"But if it makes people feel better about themselves to insult it, then I guess that's a good thing."

Because Avatar is a Rembrandt masterwork, and not a film with, supposedly, a good story, sensible plot and intelligent characterizations.

Besides, Rabid, no offense, but you're into comic books, so what would you know, from that background, about true art?

I know this generation, your generation, knows more about Liefield than Edward Hopper, so it always amazes me when someone such as yourself mentions what's art and what is not.

But I was quite interested in your comments on Brazil's culture. Quite intriguing, although I was already aware of their use of jagua ink for tatoos.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 1:15:14 PM

@cold - no I don't hate Cameron. One would be foolish to not acknowledge his obvious success.

Hollywood is a business.
He makes them billions.

I'm on record here many times saying I liked Avatar... for what it was. A 'visual spectacle.' Nothing ground-breaking story-wise, but the effects were fab!

And the first Terminator, Aliens and True Lies... FANTASTIC!

He does things on such a grand scale now he just can't crank out movies like some directors.

He has his place and his accomplishments. And were I in his shoes, I'd probably be doing things exactly as he is.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 1:15:59 PM

"That's because the emotion in the film is tied into a message of ecology and brotherhood, a message many are desensitized to."

Actually, the message is the rape of the indigenous native by the rapacious white man, and the success of the inferior natives over the superior newcomers, and through this Cameron is trying to psychologically atone for the sins of his white past and that of mankind on the whole.

The ecological aspects are simply surface phenomenon. And ambience.

Trust me, I know more about Cameron's mentality tham most, and yes, he has a strong connection to the environment, but that's not the main theme here.

"I've noticed that the only people I personally know who don't like the film also discount climate change."

No one discounts climate change, we just discount whether it's caused entirely by Co2 adjustments or in part by solar variance or by the place of the solar system within the larger galactic framework.

The Co2 connection, ATM, is tenuous at best, and we also, more importantly, concern ourselves with the Malthusian paranoia environmentalists perpetuate at the expense of our economy and way of life, often for far more politically motivated interests.

"Considering the political climate when the film came out"

Which was? I wasn't aware, nor am I aware now, of any violent watershed moment circa December 2009.

"I think it led to a lot of people being too caught up in their NWO-paranoia to enjoy the ecological message of the film."


lol, yes that was it, the NWO paranoia, whatever THAT means. No, we didn't have, as the critics commented, a problem with the clumsy political trappings or the paper-thin story or the fooliosh characterizations, no, it was all NWO paranoia. lol.

You're a smart guy, Rabid, but for some odd reason, you say the most absurd and illogical things.

"Either that, or they're just too cool to care... which I am often enough."

Because if you don't like Avatar, youo endorse the raping of Mother Earth's womb with a really big stick and you hope the earth fries like an egg on the skillet of the Sun. Riiiiight.

"As for art direction, I don't think there's much to point out. It's the most beautiful special effects treatment I've ever seen, pulled off by hundreds of artists making sure every blade of grass or rolling cloud moves just right."


Sure, they spent enough money to make it happen. I'd hope they'd at least get some pretty pictures out of the damned film.

"It took years of dedication and sweat and possibly a good bit of blood, and I respect that as an artist."

Yeah, so can I, but I can also pop open a Spectrum or a Digital Arts publication and see not only better art, but no sad little story or foolish and tired James Cameron Political Theory 101, the same anti-human claptrap he's been peddling since the first Terminator.

"The only thing I can speak ill off is Sam Worthington's acting... but Giovanni Ribissi mutes his performance."

Yeah, Sam's bland. We, and the entire world agree.


outrageousfun writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 1:24:02 PM

"the connecting to the earth sh*t was all bull sh*t. I got so bored with him hunting with the Navi and all the prayer bull sh*t."

I could imagine that's how some indigenous people would feel. It really isn't that difficult.

"the next seen he's back to normal like that whole break down never happened."

Obviously Jake has to play it off, or wait until he has more time to think about it. I thought that was very apparent.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:12:25 PM

Cameron has the time and the financial resources to make movies the way that he wants to. Kudos to him. Very few Directors (if any) have the same luxury. After all, he was the Director, Producer, Writer and Editor of Avatar so he pretty much had full creative control over the Project. Cameron does not fold to the typical manner in which a Hollywood film is made. He is driven that way and likes to do his own research eg. spending time in a deep sea submersible to check out what shade of green is the plankton below 10,000 ft. I wonder if he had taken the cast to visit the Brazilian rainforest indigenous people before filming Avatar if that would have made any difference at all. Sure the actors would gain an interesting work/vacation experience out of it. However, I think the difference to the final product would be minimal at best. Remember that a good portion of the acting in Avatar involved delivering an imaginary performance standing in front of a massive green screen with a myriad of sensor dots attached to their bodies. And Avatar could not be filmed in situ because such a massive production would require closed and technically controlled sets (for lighting, temperature, air flow change rates, humidity levels etc.).

No doubt Cameron will get his way and fly all his principal actors to Brazil to study life for a month before filming Avatar 2. And hopefully they will be inspired which is what any Director hopes to capture on film as the actor’s best performance. But after all that, if Sam Worthington still delivers a flat performance, you gotta ask yourself James, was he thinking about his rich experiences in Brazil, or is it because he is just a bad actor?
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:21:18 PM

I love the effort people put into trying to make Avatar look like a horrible film.
Yes, it was so horrible that it broke every box office and dvd record in the world.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:23:00 PM

You, uh, know what a straw man, is, right, Rabid?

Here's me holding out hope for you.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:26:22 PM

"And Avatar could not be filmed in situ because such a massive production would require closed and technically controlled sets (for lighting, temperature, air flow change rates, humidity levels etc.)."

Well, there's that, and also the itty bitty fact that we don't have spaceships to take us to far away planets chock full of Brach's especially delicious fruit-flavored unobtanium (LMAO!) and those ever-so-physically-possible floating mountains, teeming with elfin looking Sasquatch.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:34:00 PM

You really think that's a straw man argument?
How long did it take for Speilberg to get any of his films rereleased in theaters? George Lucas? Kubrick?
And Cameron did it in less than a year of release. I'm not saying that it's greater than those directors films, only that Cameron has tapped into a combination of art and story that people seem to love, and haters seem to hate.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:46:17 PM

"where he spoke against the construction of the hydroelectic dam, claiming that it would destroy the homes of some indigenous people."

God forbid they destroy some mud huts so millions can experience the wonders of electric cooking and air conditioning and the luxury of not having to find your d*ck in the dark.

"Cameron said that if he visited the indigenous tribes before filming "Avatar," it would have been a better movie. This is a mistake he is planning to correct for "Avatar 2," by taking the entire cast to Brazil's Amazonian rain forest for them to be inspired by the place."

So basically Avatar 2 will be James Cameron's soliloquy on the virtues of starvation, mudslides and cannibalistic poverty, because Mother Nature wants you to suffer.

It is now official: environmentalism is a full-fledge religion, every bit as irrational and wacky as any other religion.

""'Avatar' is a film about the rain forest and its indigenous people"

And goofy floating mountains, blue aliens that couldn't hide if they tried (great evolution there, Alpha Centauri!) and some ridiculously rare mineral childishly named unobtanium that demands humans travel quadrillions of miles to turn into postmodern conquistadors driving around in Ripley's loader from Aliens.

And of course, the brilliant possibilities of swapping minds with aliens, because you can do that, no problem, but you can't bother to look for another planet with this super-precious unobtanium, because then how would big bad old humanity play Satan to the cute cuddly little Tidy Bowl blue aliens?

"Before I start to shoot the two films..."

..someone should shoot you?

See, that's how I would have finished that.

"I want to bring my actors here,"

Your actors, not 'the' actors, your actors.

Here he is, acting like Mr. Enlightened but still talking like a slave master.

"so I can better tell this story,"

Which isn't about aliens, space ships, or anything remotely approaching real science fiction, it's one man's uber-expensive monologue on the evils of mankind.

Thanks for clearing that, Captain Divorce.

"Actors could learn about the natives and what real life in the jungle is like."

Yes father, thank you father, can I please eat father, you know best father, whatever. you say father.

Because nothng says learning about stone-chucking savages like a million dollar junket to the diarrhea capital of the world.

But Cameron, seriously, you could learn what it's like to make a good film if Skynet crumpled your old suit of a body back through a time portal to the year 1984.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:58:14 PM

Apparently, rabid you do not. This is a straw man argument:

"I love the effort people put into trying to make Avatar look like a horrible film."

You're exaggerating and grossly mischaracterizing the position of those that would criticize Avatar, claiming they're calling the film 'horrible', when I 'm pretty sure no one has even used that word.

"Yes, it was so horrible that it broke every box office and dvd record in the world."

So then, you would argue that Avatar is technically a superior film as compared to, say, The Shawshank Redemption, because the latter made vastly less money?

I really hate when people think money earned = quality. lol. Look how much money Microsoft made selling Windows for years even though that product was pretty much sh*t and even though Mac OS, either codebase, was programmatically superior, or look how much money garbage like the Resident Evil franchise has pulled in, but according to your logic, Microsoft ha always made the better product, even though a Linux company can't stay in business five seconds, and Resident Evil is obviously a superior cinematic product.

How many people paid to see Justin Beiber? He must be the next Elvis then. He must be the next Mozart, the next Rachmaninoff.

Move over Michealangelo and Leonardo, here comes Cameron's VFX team! Because it's ART, in capital letters and with appropriate punctuation. And it's pretty and someone spent a lot of hours hunched over a machine rendering out a frame of Smurfs munching on alien sawgrass.

It's funny, Rabid, because people like you criticize the inflationary greed of the average consumer to buy into any old fad at the expense of Mother Earth, and then you champion whatever product has the highest sales as a captain of capitalism, as if you have to root on one hand for the morally superior choice but at the same time you also have to root for the commercially successful product while talking about such things like art as if you can separate the chaff from the wheat.



rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:26:41 PM

hating something because of its popularity... it's something most people outgrow in high school.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:27:53 PM

but thankfully not everybody, because then we wouldn't have entertaining blowhards like Mink!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:36:04 PM

@Rabid – I gather you were commenting on my previous post, since yours immediately followed mine. I don’t recall saying Avatar was horrible. I love the fact that you don’t get my point. I will dumb it down for you. Cameron is a one-of-a-kind Director who also has the abilities to call the shots in his grandeose productions. This includes the likelihood of flying his cast to Brazil to study the locals to hopefully make the filming of Avatar 2 more meaningful for everyone. I view that this approach may not make a difference because actors are green screened and morphed into 9 foot tall aliens – so the actor’s Brazilian experiences would be in essence “lost in translation” (also that Sam Worthington is a bland actor to begin with – but that’s my personal opinion). I enjoyed Avatar for what it is. But I do think Cameron’s approach is over the top. Care to try again Primate (now before you get all hot and insulted, that is your Avatar is it not)?

@Mink – Obviously. I was thinking about the practical and physical limitations of filming Avatar using real life jungles (versus closed set designs). Although if Cameron could try to blast his actors off into outer space to gain otherworldly experiences I wouldn’t put it past him.

Btw, your latest post…priceless.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:07:30 PM

"@Mink – Obviously. I was thinking about the practical and physical limitations of filming Avatar using real life jungles (versus closed set designs). Although if Cameron could try to blast his actors off into outer space to gain otherworldly experiences I wouldn’t put it past him."

T'was nothing personal in my reply to you Mr. Blonde.

I was just commenting on Cameron's elaborate and exorbitant necessitude on spending money doing things that could be accomplished just as easily and far more cheaply through other means, like he really, really has to travel to the the Marianas Trench to look at some weird fish just to make a film with a bunch of blue extraterrestrials, and people who buy into this man's sick, twisted and degenerate ego need to hear the truth.

You also have to wonder: where's Cameron's concern for the environment when he's spending all these fabulous resources jet-setting across the globe in search of glow-in-the-dark snail? Huh? People are starving, shores are rising and he's looking for cute crustaceans.

"hating something because of its popularity... it's something most people outgrow in high school."

You really think people outgrow anything because they no longer physically reside in a chair owned by the public school system?

But pfffft, if popularity was the explanation, I'd spend my time on here hating The Shawshank Redemption (again with that film!) or the first Iron Man, so no, your theory, as it pertains to me, holds no water.

Anyway, seriously, if you think people hate Avatar because it's popular, I could say the same for people like yourself who seem to like something because it's popular. Same damned difference, right?

"but thankfully not everybody, because then we wouldn't have entertaining blowhards like Mink!"

You know, I never call you a blowhard when you're rattling off some utterly trivial and worthless rotely-memorized pop-cultural bubblegum-bullsh*t comic-book crap, do I?

No? Then spare me the same courtesy.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:14:18 PM

And Cameron, no one gives a sh*t how savages live. We don't care. We don't want to live that way. Billions of people f*cking died just to lift mankind out that squalid hellhole existence, sono, we don't want to go back you goddamned Fern Gully-f*cking moron, so romanticize misery some other way to some other people.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:35:35 PM

"As for Cameron himself, he *is* arrogant and full of himself, but then again honestly, he has a good reason to be"

So then if he wanted to f*ck your duaghter and eat your cat, or eat your daughter and f*ck your cat, his arrogance would make it more ok then if I did it?

And to you Grizzle, I missed your first post, but damned good one. You nailed the matter squarely.

"But why on earth would anybody take Avatar's story so damn seriously in the first place? It's eye candy"


And here we have the problem: you can't differentiate between the visuals and actual story, like a man who eats his plate and dishwashes his spaghetti, and that's so damned sad.

"take it or leave it"

It's left.

"but it's not like it has legions of fanboys like Star Wars shoving it down our throats"

Because the first three Star Wars films had lots of stupid blue aliens dancing about on flying dragons like some gay Dungeon and Dragons.

"the only one doing it's James Cameron himself, why?"

Because two people totally unconnected could make the same exact film.

"because he's making MONEY out of it."

Ah, the oldest excuse in the world, right next to the oldest profession.

"He's movies, all of them, were aiming for the same thing."

I'd like to believe you kid, but it's just not f*cking true. He could once tell a story and make money, now all can do is eye f*ck us with live-action cartoons.

"But it's ok, the haters can keep telling themselves that they wouldn't do it if they had the chance to win millions of dollars."

You mean *make* millions of dollars, because he's a director and not a lottery bum.

But no, bro, some of us wouldn't sacrifice our art for the sake of a few more bucks, because he was fantastically successful before he started making this sh*t, so he had both, and that's fine, but now he's selling himself out for pure greed at the expense of his art and you'd have to not have either a mind or a soul to see how that's just WRONG.

Or am I being quaint here, thinking right and wrong even exist any more? Silly me.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:43:45 PM

Finally, and I do apologize for raping this thread, here's a little link to show to everyone just the sort of man you get with James Cameron:

http://bighollywood.breitbart.com/pmeister/2010/01/18/i-believe-in-eco-terrorism-does-james-cameron-live-in-a-malibu-mansion/

He believes in eco-terrorism but lives in a fabulous huge mansion:

"According to two online sources, our buddy James lives in an 8,272 square foot “cottage” in Malibu with 6 bedrooms and 7 baths, complete with the requisite pool, tennis court and inner courtyard fit for Hollywood royalty."

...and when you purchase a ticket to one of his films, you help endorse this man's hypocrisy, his hateful self-loating of mankind and his greed.

I refuse to pay for another of his films and I serriously ask anyone to do the same.

Oh, and read the f*cking link! Pretty please?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:54:43 PM

@Mink – as ever, thoughtful posts.

You have nailed the very reason why Cameron bothers me. His two-faced approach. As a filmmaker, he is so technologically advanced and will spend tons of resources and time to make a successful multi-million dollar blockbuster, then rape the market with Blueray and DVD releases while on the other hand claiming that mankind is hurting the rainforest. If he were more honest with his approach for Avatar 2 i.e. to make a great sequel and hopefully garner another Academy Award I’d respect him more. Rather he feels compelled to project a false pretence of being a champion for the environment. Suckered poor Arnie to join his road show.

If Cameron wants to protect the planet, he should walk to Brazil. After all he took 10 years to make Avatar. He could take another 10 years to make the sequel. That should eliminate his draw on using up too much fossil fuels – walk like the indigenous people of Brazil.

It was funny to hear news of Cameron calling off his intention to explore the Marianas Trench using his custom built submersible. This is the deepest part of the world’s oceans located near coastal Japan. Given the recent 9.0 magnitude earthquake which ravaged the region, the ocean floors are still considered extremely unstable especially for underwater charters. Hey Cameron, why don’t you step up and donate the millions (you would have spent scouring the ocean floors for bioluminescent lifeforms) instead to disaster relief funds? I’m sure the oceans of Pandora could be created by hardworking CGI techs rather than have you search for your inspiration and maxing out your carbon footprint.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:11:09 PM

'It's left'. LOL after all of those long post It's clear man, you don't have to say it. ↲@ranger: good to see that you are taking it that way, I hope most of us Cameron's fans are like this towards his work.
Rambo writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:14:04 PM

@Alex/WP

Can't you do something about that stretching glitch which keeps happening in this site?

thanks for all good work.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:36:34 PM

Coldplayesence:

Answer me one simple question: beyond yourself, is there even one thing you care about?

And if so, can you expound on it?
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:39:26 PM

I can't argue with a thing you said, Mr. Blonde not because you agree with me or because I agree with you, but because I believe that what you said is a factual representation of Cameron and his attitudes.

So Cameron goes down there to the Brazillian rain forest, a place that's very hard to get to, a location that requires plenty of money to access, and he drags all these people down with him to watch and stare at a really ragged pack of poor people subsisting off minimal income, if any at all, people that die from disease and live literally hand to mouth, and all of these actors and film crew, standing around with equipment more expensive then the entire village twenty times over, with their cell phones and MP3 players and their Malibu GAP gear, at the very least, are skulking about trying to divine the secrets of human existence, trying to make peace with nature, and all these poor villagers are thinking one simple thought: get me the f*ck out of here!

And then Cameron tries to tell us, by implication, that this is the best way to live, because human suffering, bad as it may be, doesn't hurt the precious environment, because misery and death and want and hunger and being at the hands of capricious nature is really good for Cameron's god, this mythical bullsh*t Gaia garbage, and that the living Mother Earth is far more important then the real, living actual people that don't want to live that way. And Cameorn shrugs and says, so it is written, so shall it be.

And then here's Cameron in his personal little sub, happily exploring the ocean at his leisure, draped in his fancy clothes like an little emperor, and with his expensive watch and gigantic bank account and his massive home and cars and planes, and his incessant plans to have more, more, more.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:46:23 PM

Great little video detailing the man who would have us live with less:

http://www.breitbart.tv/james-cameron-hypocrite/
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:59:56 PM

I'm jealous, I'd love to visit the Amazon and especially the Ayahausceros that Rabid you were talking about. I think Cameron might be right, but the cast would have to stay there long enough to actually live a little bit of their life for anything to happen. If they're still having catering services airlifted in then theres a problem.

"And Cameron, no one gives a sh*t how savages live. We don't care. We don't want to live that way. Billions of people f*cking died just to lift mankind out that squalid hellhole existence, sono, we don't want to go back you goddamned Fern Gully-f*cking moron, so romanticize misery some other way to some other people."

This would be relevant if he were making a doc*mentary, but he isn't. Also, calling them savages is a little 18th century of you (19th at best), no? And considering that it is OUR technologically advanced consumerist superculture that has managed to wipe out collective millenia of experience and history through assimilation, enslavement and genocide of these cultures, I don't know if we have the right to call anyone savages.

Also last I checked the world was in a fairly 'miserable' state as is. I met villagers in the hills of Nepal who work hard in the rice fields and had very little in the way of luxury, but they were peaceful and happy. Somehow I sense through your hatred- and insult-laden diatribes that they may even be happier than you, even with your air conditioning and oil-heat and enough light to stare at your c*ck all night long.

I do have to agree, Cameron is a hypocritical *sshole for owning that mansion and generally having too much money. Avatar clearly resonated with a lot of people though, and I think thats a good thing. People are stupid, they need to be lured into ways of thinking with bright lights and pretty colors and one HELL of a polished sheen.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:03:56 PM

Sam Worthington definitely needs to work on his acting though.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:08:15 PM

minkowski: Ok you got me with the guard down, I mean if a random guy on the street asks me that I will say my family (cliche I know) but since this is a movie site, I'm not sure of what you mean or what should I answer. But I'm pretty sure the answer isn't James Cameron. I am just trying to put another light on the subjet and invite people to just watch his movies for fun or just avoid them. I don't care if he's an artist, a sell out or an activist. We all watch movies to get entertainment and that should be it.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:16:39 PM

"This would be relevant if he were making a doc*mentary, but he isn't."

Because he's making Apocalypto 2 and not a sequel to Avatar 2.

"Also, calling them savages is a little 18th century of you (19th at best), no?"

No.

"And considering that it is OUR....(deleted vague extraneous Marxist psuedo-historical strawman nonsense)....we have the right to call anyone savages."

Right. America wiped out the Etruscans. Good history lesson, dude. I'll make a note for the upcoming Howard Zinn symposium.

"Also last I checked the world was in a fairly 'miserable' state as is."

Not where I live, but we have indoor plumbing, so perhaps I'm biased.

"I met villagers in the hills of Nepal who work hard in the rice fields and had very little in the way of luxury, but they were peaceful and happy."

Because being totally miserable about your sh*tty circ*mstances when you can't do a damned thing about it is the better alternative.

"Somehow I sense through your hatred- and insult-laden diatribes that they may even be happier than you"

Because laughing my ass off at your expense is my idea of pure hell on earth.

"even with your air conditioning and oil-heat"

Oil heat? We have electricity, moron. Haven't used whale oil for heat in a century. What sh*t-festooned hellhole do you call home?

"and enough light to stare at your c*ck all night long."

You sound very jealous that I have both lights and a c*ck.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:18:43 PM

"So Cameron goes down there to the Brazillian rain forest, a place that's very hard to get to, a location that requires plenty of money to access, and he drags all these people down with him to watch and stare at a really ragged pack of poor people subsisting off minimal income, if any at all, people that die from disease and live literally hand to mouth, and all of these actors and film crew, standing around with equipment more expensive then the entire village twenty times over, with their cell phones and MP3 players and their Malibu GAP gear, at the very least, are skulking about trying to divine the secrets of human existence, trying to make peace with nature, and all these poor villagers are thinking one simple thought: get me the f*ck out of here!"

HAHAHAHA so true man.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:19:44 PM

"minkowski: Ok you got me with the guard down, I mean if a random guy on the street asks me that I will say my family (cliche I know) but since this is a movie site, I'm not sure of what you mean or what should I answer. But I'm pretty sure the answer isn't James Cameron. I am just trying to put another light on the subjet and invite people to just watch his movies for fun or just avoid them. I don't care if he's an artist, a sell out or an activist. We all watch movies to get entertainment and that should be it."

Can't disagree, but you and I know the man is just another very wealthy *sshole telling everyone else to do with less.

And that's not just wrong, it's as every bit as evil as when someone told Marie Antoinette that the people had no bread and she responded 'let them eat cake'. (yeah, I know, apocryphal but like it matters)
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:21:26 PM

"Sam Worthington definitely needs to work on his acting though."

Why? Would you polish a turd?
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:25:54 PM

Scratch calling you a moron. That was...unnecessary.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:27:24 PM

Sorry Mink, should have known better than to reference abstract concepts. Though we have all these fairytales related to nationalism, the truth is that for at least a hundred years the world has been one large interconnected society with intermingling economies and large populations. Divided by skin color and language, yes, but not by purpose (to progress). I'm sorry it was too vague for you to not instantly brand it as 'mindlessly leftist'. Thanks for pulling the marxist card, that always devalues someone's argument.

Also, those nepali people weren't miserable. They had sh*t to do, and they did it, and life went on. Just because it would make YOU miserable says nothing about the way of life itself.

I have oil heat. The oil guy comes and puts in about 200 gallons every couple of months, during winter.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:29:01 PM

"Why? Would you polish a turd?"

Well if I'm gonna be forced to stare at the turd for a couple of hours from time to time, I'd rather at the least it be polished.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:45:49 PM

@minkowski: you are right, he is a wealthy *sshole telling us to think about mother earth but I don't find the man 'evil' and if he is at least he has a face not like the other thousends of fat politicians behind desks and doing it just for the taxes. Cameron is, again, entertaining lots of people and impulsing new ways of filmaking, just see one of his interviews about his cameras, the guy loves the money yes, but he also loves the process and childishly adores his toys just as you or me would love something we own.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:52:19 PM

"Sorry Mink, should have known better than to reference abstract concepts."

Because what you did wasn't an empty rip-off of Matt Damon's Howard Zinn send-up from Good Will Huntng.

Good to know you're conveying your ideas concisely, as would be the customary and intelligent expectation, and not as an empty and historically vague ramble.

"Though we have all these fairytales related to nationalism"

I'm pretty sure the fact that I live in the United States and not Latvia isn't a fairy tale.

"the truth is that for at least a hundred years the world has been one large interconnected society with intermingling economies and large populations"

Because corporations are the new empires, and erasing borders for the pursuit of their greed isn't a clear and stated goal.

That and a little invention called the 'airplane'.

"Divided by skin color and language, yes, but not by purpose (to progress)"

And geography, and history, and culture, and mass perceptions and family and geography and...none on purpose, of course...

"I'm sorry it was too vague for you to not instantly brand it as 'mindlessly leftist'."

Well, you've clarified, and I'm even less sure you're Marxist than before. I mean, those guys know what they believe.

Now, I'm not even sure you know what you're talking about. Certainly not facts, just vacuous feel-good claptrap would be my best logical guess. I guess.

"Thanks for pulling the marxist card, that always devalues someone's argument."

Perhaps, but what's less than zero, or do I have to drag out the imaginary number i?
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 7:00:45 PM

Coldplayesence:

I would agree with you, and for the most part, yes, I think you're right, because politicians are no better and sure Jim loves his toys like any guy, but unlike the average dude, Cameron has enormous pull and power, he's not just content to run his mouth, have his opinion and move on, he's working to make things very difficult for people because he can, because he believes in a Big Idea.

He worked hard to defeat California's Prop 23, an amendment to the very strict and radical Climate Change bill RINO Arnold Schwarzeneggar passed.

Prop 23 was meant to suspend part of the CW bill so as to allow unemployment to drop, get people back to work and help reduce the negative impact on the enconomy, but Cameron gave the unemployed a big fat slap and let them know he cares far more about Gaia than whether peple can go to work and survive.

So here it is: you can do with less, go unemployed, fail to feed your family, but Cameron gets to make more movies, more fantastically expensive Avatar sequels, live the VERY good life, way beyond anything you and I could ever hope to attain, and then he gets to tell us how bad we are, how awful and how much he cares not for his fellow man but for the planet, and this is how evil begins.
xtlhogciao writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 7:07:10 PM

Could Cameron be any more pretentious? My God.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 7:32:46 PM

@minkowski, well I see your point but like I said I get exactly what I and thousands of people want from him: movies and entertaintment, I don't trust him my political beliefs and if you ask me I don't think that you or anybody should be taking his political sh*t seriouly after all he wrote the famous words: nuke them, its the only way to be sure, lol. But anyway it's not like I don't care about Earth but man I try to do my part without cameras sorrounding me. I know its hard to overlook Cameron's actions but he's not running for president (after what you said, thank god), he is just making movies.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:41:56 PM

@rabid Man-made climate change is bullsh*t, the NWO is real (and behind the man-made climate change HOAX) and I think Avatar is great. I hope I haven't confused you too much? Lol!

I wish James Cameron would campaign for, and highlight the plight of, indigeneous Britons...
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 30th, 2011 at 6:00:30 PM

i hope they get diarrea or yellow fever or both or better i hope they get lost and die of hunger!
f*ck CAMERON AND SAM W. AVATaRD SUCKs END OF THE LINE

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved