WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe in Talks for "The Boys" Violent Superhero Film

Posted: March 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe in Talks for "The Boys" Violent Superhero FilmSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with director Adam McKay (The Other Guys, Step Brothers, Anchorman), who revealed that he's two weeks away from completing a draft of "The Boys" script and has already met with several actors about the project.

"I really like the idea of Russell Crowe for [Billy] Butcher," said McKay. "We met and had kind of an interesting meeting. Everyone knows Simon Pegg can take Hughie if he wants."

"The Boys" is a graphic novel that follows a group of CIA agents assigned to police the world's super-powered heroes and villains. Led by the tough-as-nails Billy Butcher, the super-powered team recruits meek civilian Hughie "Wee Hughie" Campbell who realizes that the team is willing to put super-powered individuals in their place by any means necessary including assault, blackmail, kidnapping, and frequently, murder.

"You really have to wait until the draft is done to get serious about it," said McKay. "Plus it's like a $100 million, Rated-R, anti-superhero movie, so we have to see who bites on it."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:41:49 AM

As much as I love Adam McKay how many more super hero films are we gonna have to endure?!? Right i get it it's R rated, it's different but change the f*cking channel Hollywood you swine merchants.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 5:50:50 AM

Considering it's Garth Ennis who made the comic, the man behind Preacher, I'm all for this project.
boogiel writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 7:57:21 AM

I'd rather choose Jason Statham than Russel crowe for this kind of movie.
Bunny X writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 8:48:55 AM

If they're going to do an R-rated superhero movie, then do The Authority. Until that ever happens (which it NEVER will), I could care less.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:29:47 AM

"Russel Crowe", "violent". Those key words made google rich a few years a go.
Anyway, all directors should know by now that those things (100 million+Rated R) aren't happening anymore, and it's a shame because I really enjoyed The Other Guys and it would've been a lot better with more raunchy jokes.
lebowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:35:33 AM

im liking this especially if russell is in .i love that fat bastard
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:41:34 AM

eeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhhh
SACdaddy writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:20:10 AM

Coldplay and McKay got it right. Its gonna be extremely hard to get Hwood to spend $100mill on a R-rated film. Although, this might be a different story if Crowe is the lead. He'll cover most of that cost with his massive loyal fanbase that usually comes out even harder when he gets an R-rating. I just hope someone in Hwood is smart enough to remember the BO success of Gladiator and LA Confidential and give this project a chance without watering it down for a couple extra bucks.
mrstretch writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 10:35:11 AM

Sweet news I'm actually excited about. I've read the boys, and it can't be done unless its rated R. I hope they can do it but I doubt it. Russel Crowe would be great but Vinnie Jones looks more like Butcher. I don't think Vinnie Jones would get a very big draw at the box office though.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:27:42 PM

I'm pretty sure Ennis has always ahd Russell Crowe and Simon Pegg in mind. They've always been drawn to resemble those actors.
You could fill Butcher's role with any tough guy, but Simon MUST play Wee Hughie!
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:29:15 PM

@ SAC Daddy
this movie does not need $100 mill to be filmed. It could be done for half that, excluding the main actors' salaries.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:33:12 PM

I would welcome seeing Russell Crowe in an R-rated violent role. There has been no film to top Gladiator for Crowe's intensity to unleash pure violence and rage. Bring it on.
rocketman writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 12:55:46 PM

Surely it should be Eric Banner and Si Pegg?
Dre-EL writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:00:46 PM

I can see russel crowe and simon peg in those roles. I completely agree.
Been hearing that they were going to do the boys for over a year now, cant believe its not even scripted yet. WTF! Are they waitng for the porperty to cool down?
Come on guys lets get with it.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:23:00 PM

I really can't wait for the Citizen Kane and Gone with the Wind graphic-novel comic-book superhero reboots, sequels and spinoffs, complete and replete with zombies, vampires and guys with big guns named Deathskull or something, because you know they're coming.

"this movie does not need $100 mill to be filmed. It could be done for half that, excluding the main actors' salaries.

So, then, 100 millon, right?

"You really have to wait until the draft is done to get serious about it," said McKay. "Plus it's like a $100 million, Rated-R, anti-superhero movie, so we have to see who bites on it."

This is pretty much the same attitude of every street whore in the world. They got the p*ssy, you got the cash and all they're looking for is a generous john.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 7:50:50 PM

RAD!
f*cking rad.
A comedic director (with actually funny comedies) directing a live-action, highly violent, comic adaptation an awesome comic series. Count me it.
Oh, and he wants it R. Thank god some people still have balls in Hollywood.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved