WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Kick-Ass" Sequel is NOT Happening

Posted: March 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Kick-Ass" Sequel is NOT HappeningSubmit Comment
Mark Millar has been saying that director Matthew Vaughn will return for the sequel to "Kick-Ass," but the helmer has been busy with "X-Men: First Class" and is already rumored for countless other projects.

Now, AbsoluteRadio caught up with Jane Goldman, who has written Vaughn's "Stardust," "Kick-Ass" and "X-Men: First Class," to find out whether a "Kick-Ass" sequel is moving forward.

"I don't think it's going to happen. At the moment it's not in the works," she said. "We're all doing different things at the moment. We would love to do it again, but we've all been pulled in different directions. Also, we just want to be sure that the story was just right. You wouldn't want to do a sequel if it's not going to be as good as the first one. Maybe the moment will be right one day. Hopefully."

Source: AbsoluteRadio


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
anaheimducks writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:52:58 AM

I hope they do make the sequel one day kick ass kicked ass it was awesome but if they can't make it right then don't make it at all.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:06:37 AM

Dam shame. Kick Ass was great and had a great set up in the end for a sequel.

By the way @anaheimducks, it's all about San Jose Sharks, buddy! lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:14:33 AM

YESS! I knew they would have screwed the sequel up any way Kick Ass is fine as a stand alone film. Let's hope the studios don't try to force the sequel without the original team.
Trip Maverick writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:16:53 AM

Wow Absoulute Radio thats a first for them I think.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:22:19 AM

Poor Nic Cage. That was the only decent film he's been in over the last 6 or 7 years. I know he's probably been callin Vaughn every night with a new hairbrained plan to bring his roasted character back from the dead.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:30:07 AM

It would be fun with a sequel, but I rather not see one than one made just for the sake of it.
trailertrash writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:33:12 AM

Half the news has come from the Empire Movie Awards but there is no list of the winners, It would have made for more interesting topic's of conversation i'm sure.

The Nolan fans will be Happy Inception won best picture.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:52:13 AM

Trailer- I read a bit about that today Kiera Knightly got a hero gong and the pciture of her looks like she's squeezing out a sh*t. Colin Firth won best actor again how will he ever top this performance as the royal stutterer? Bridget Jones 3 perhaps? lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:23:47 AM

It'll happen sooner than we think.
TT-thanks for the news.
rocketman writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:55:09 AM

Better f*cking had make it.Very underrated film.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:02:10 AM

If they're not doing it now, than it's never going to happen unless they re-cast hit girl. Chloe Moretz is getting too old too fast.
trailertrash writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:09:42 AM

Cinema-

Let's hope he kicks bridget to the curb (literally)

Yeah Hero award what the f*ck is that all about, Oldman got the Icon award which i get being in Britian and all but hero for Knightley hmmmmmm.

Still even with the squeezing out a sh*t look, I still would then maybe i would get a hero award next year lol

No probs Bad least it finally won a best pic award, lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:16:27 AM

Trailer- Haha yep American History X style. I think she's good for getting involved in English films and not going over to the dark side (Hollywood) but yeah she's not exactly a hero and don't worry I'd happily drink from her furry cup as well. I 100% agree with Gary Oldman he's my favourite actor of all time so diverse and subtle love him in every film he's in.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:35:25 AM

well its now or never, dont do it without hit girl and shes gonna be too old and too big very soon so....
rabid writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:36:25 AM

They still need time to finish the comic book. They'll be working on it this time next year.
billofill writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:17:42 PM

Rabid that didnt stop em with the first movie. Z
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:25:02 PM

Make the sequel graphic novel.

That'll force them to make the film eventually, but, and here's the rub, the little girl playing Hit Girl, the c*nt mouth so to speak, will have matured quite quickly during the period (no pun intended, lol, I slay me), so they will either have to recast, or they'll have to fast forward the story several years, and if Mark Millar (Das Hack) doesn't consider this in writing the sequel novel, well, he's going to make it more difficult for the studios to sign off on the film sequel.

For the sake of those who want a sequel film, let's hope Millar is as smart as he is subversive.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

I noticed AYT already commented on Hit Girl hitting her pubescent stride. Damn you. Damn you to hell, sir.
Ranger writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:28:34 PM

@AYT - lol.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:32:35 PM

I think fast forwarding the story is completely possible, considering that they released one issue, and then ceased print back in October. Hopefully he comes back to it and sort of ignores that release, bringing the characters up a couple years.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 2:08:37 PM

It's going to depend heavily on what Millar does with his sequel graphic novel, because if he finishes it, and I think he will (this is Mark f*cking Millar after all), then the studios will have little chance to ignore turning it into a film, even if they do something stupid like try, because like I said, this is Mark Millar and he's hot steaming sh*t to many right now, so, yes, I'm pretty damned sure it'll get made.

As for the first film, not too bad. I'm not barking like a mad dog over it but it wasn't bad and yeah, I'd probably watch again unlike most of the garbage pushed out on the stage these days. sh*t, I couldn't even finish Unknown, what a waste of Neeson and that's hard to do.

But yeah, Moretz said c*nt, big deal, not the most morally responsible thing but not the most jaw-dropping display of improper behavior either.

Had she stripped and got down on all four like a woof woof and starting crying like a cat while Nic Cage and the other all-star stud cast took turns turning her holes into half-eaten twinkies, then I would've been shocked and outraged, and sweating profusely I might add (out of embarassment, I can assure you, and moral outrage, yeah that too), and rightly so, but as this did not occur, I'm just fine with her using a word I use every day for roughly half the population.
Maacho writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 2:24:52 PM

But IMDb has listed Kick-ass 2: Balls to the Wall to 2012 as announced. So perhaps they still gonna make it?
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 2:47:04 PM

IMDb is NOT reliable. They have sh*t on there that was never made and will never get made and they have rumors and other assorted gibber-jawed nonsense.

So IMDb's a little like WorstPreviews, just, you know, respectable and widely used.
rabid writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 3:13:46 PM

They have to finish the comic first and then get it in Vaughan's hands. This lady isn't really a huge part of the process... not yet at least.
RickPeters writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 3:52:03 PM

Good.
Kick-Ass sucked.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 4:53:43 PM

No thanks. The graphic novel was medicore at best. And the movie started off well but after 30 minutes started to become expected and tired. Plus i sort of understand Eberts stance on the whole violent affair in the film.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 4:53:44 PM

No thanks. The graphic novel was medicore at best. And the movie started off well but after 30 minutes started to become expected and tired. Plus i sort of understand Eberts stance on the whole violent affair in the film.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:55:35 PM

I didn't understand why Millar ended the grapic novel the way he did. Terrible ending.

So Kick Ass' girlfriend bangs the big black dude and posts the sex video on the internet?

Is that what happened to Millar in high school? He got f*cked by a big black dude and someone shared the video?

Stupid ending.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:21:16 PM

Agreed. I think a girl rather f*ck the popular icon than to tell it to f*ck off.
Mark Millar is just a terrible comic book writer in general.
Red Son was cute, Civil War was decent (the aftermath written by different people was intense), and he did alright with Ultimate X-Men.
IMO, i rater read someone else's work like Grant Morrison.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:54:29 PM

Grant Morrison, huh? Well, buddy, out of politeness and because I've already shared enough hilarious bile with Velocity, I'm going to let you have that one, but I will agree that Millar is a worse writer, technically, than Morrison, but the sh*t Grant did, influential or not, to the Batman mythology is just so dead-ended and cynical and ultimately pointless that I have to wonder where the character will be in a decade or so, because where Grant's going, you can't come back from and you can't level off either. It's like shoving a rocket up your ass and hoping for a steering wheel.

Also, Millar's shocktographical little ploy by having the Man of Steel f*cking as a tool of the Soviet state was cultural relativity at it's worst.

It's like he was saying, oh yeah, Superman's America's butt-buddy, but hell, if he was born in the USSR, he'd go along with mass starvation, gulags and enormous repression of freedom because Superman not only lacks a moral compass, he can't think for himself either, and I believe Millar just wanted to shock people by doing what he thought he couldn't get away with.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:05:28 PM

Again. I said cute. No substance, intriguing idea but failed attempt.

Maybe because i adored New X-Men and We3, i like Grant's writing. Yeah Batman RIP was sh*te, but he's still a good writer in my books.
Maybe it's his cynicism i like.

As for amazing writers in comics, well i could always go with the expected: Alan Moore, and Neil Gaiman,
Brian K Vaughn (Ex Machina is one fo my favourite limited series) and Garth Ennis are just as good.
And i think Joss Whedon actually did a good job with his Astonishing X-Men run.

Plus there's those don't write superhero, stuff. Charlie Burns' Black Hole I regard on the same level as Moby d*ck or Joseph Conrad's work.
And i'll always have a soft spot for Jeffrey Brown.
gunfighterii writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:54:44 AM

@SACdaddy
Poor Nic Cage?? im pritty sure he wouldnt even be asked to return as he character died :D
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:39:17 PM

there is still a comic sequel going on
Tyrkae writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 9:10:13 PM

I think they need to finish the comic 1st and by the time the comics are done its going to be late 2012 so kickass 2 should be out around 2014
KellyJudge writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:30:50 AM

This was on IMDB. The MPAA's are a total riot, even in this is total bunk.

Fans of Matt Vaughn's controversial Kick-Ass (2010) may have gained a first look at the sequel, after Jane Goldman's email account was apparently hacked and the contents posted online. On 04/16/2011, an email from the account went to MarvDeVere@gmx.com, containing the subject line, "Fun with BttW." Goldman then wrote, "Good news about $$$$ and Duke . . . lucky, lucky! And [writer pauses, breathless] here are the *upgraded* MPAA's!" This was followed by three single-line entries. The email had no valediction or name.
1 -- Multiple attempted decapitations, strangulations, and incinerations: none comedic or involving puppets.
2 -- Explicit images of swashbuckling action, wanton deployment of projectile weapons, and exceptionally graphic vanity.
3 -- Brief coupling with bare breast, including autoerotic application of Balisong w/o blood splatter.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved