WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gary Oldman Says Christopher Nolan May Return for "Batman 4"

Posted: March 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gary Oldman Says Christopher Nolan May Return for "Batman 4"Submit Comment
DigitalSpy caught up with Gary Oldman at the Jameson Empire Awards and asked him to confirm that "The Dark Knight Rises" is the last Batman installment that Christopher Nolan will direct.

"Chris is always negotiating," said Oldman. "So when he says that [he won't come back], I don't know."

Nolan is known for playing games. After "Batman Begins," he pretended to be unsure about returning to the franchise for both "The Dark Knight" and "The Dark Knight Rises." He ended up getting his way every time and Warner Bros even funded "Inception" as a way to bring Nolan back for another Batman movie.

This time, however, he actually stated that "The Dark Knight Rises" will be his last. But he has yet to make that clear to the cast, because even Christian Bale isn't sure that Nolan is done with Batman. Otherwise, the actor wouldn't be promising to reprise his role as many times as Nolan needs him.

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
anaheimducks writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:06:49 AM

That would be sweet if he came back for a 4th Batman.Nolan can do no wrong he's a awesome director the best in Hollywood.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:10:10 AM

I'm sure he has a project planned out, possibly inception 2, where he can get huge funding for not to mention creative controlling in return that he do another batman film, just like how this one came to be.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:12:18 AM

Sounds like good news if he does decide to come back, because we all know that the studio will make batman 4 with or without Nolan and Bale. Saying that though why would Nolan want to spend so many years of his life on a series like Batman? If I were him I'd put my efforts in to making more original stories like Memento. Give us some character films and show people that he can direct dramas as well as action.
Bunny X writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:42:04 AM

With almost any other director, a franchise like Batman would define them. that's not the case with Nolan. He's not "the guy who made Batman" IMO. So I'm fine if he sticks with it.

It's funny how WB felt they needed to fund Inception in order to keep him around and yet it was very succesful. God studios are just mind boggling stupid.
boogiel writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:49:24 AM

"Nolan is known for playing games. After "Batman Begins," he pretended to be unsure about returning to the franchise for both "The Dark Knight" and "The Dark Knight Rises." He ended up getting his way every time and Warner Bros even funded "Inception" as a way to bring Nolan back for another Batman movie."

Well, That sums up the whole thing.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:06:17 AM

Also nowhere in Oldmans quote does he say that he may return, that's about as much confirmation as Alex releasing a story with a question mark at the end.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:08:56 AM

He just needs to hurry up and finish his franchise, so that we can move on to The Dark Knight Returns.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:29:37 AM

It would be awesome but I doubt it till it happens.
velocityknown writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:02:21 AM

@Cinemaisdead

While I agree that Nolan should retire from this franchise sooner rather than later, I don't think he is the kind of director who sees the Batman films as just action films rather than serious dramas like Memento. The Dark Knight was one of the best dramas of the past decade, the reason it was so great was because it redefined the so-called "superhero" genre. It was very character driven even if there was that comic book element to it.

Nolan is a great director, one of the best working, I think no matter what project he takes he will give his full attention to and has 100% passion for. If he can keep making Batman films with an original one in between over the next few years I'd be happy with that.

This actually makes sense though, he could just be leveraging WB in taking a chance on another one of his originals. I mean, I kind of feel like Catwoman, Bane, and Falcone warrant another appearance outside of this one movie (Heath Ledger definitely would have been back if not for his untimely death). The money making prospect behind these characters could allow Nolan to say, "Hey I'll come back and make you guys another 600 million with these characters...if you give me a 200 million budget for my original film."

I think the Batman trilogy could be good enough to be looked back on as Nolan's Godfather films (without a sh*tty third hopefully). The first two were outstanding in their own right.
rocketman writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:03:59 AM

Do a fourth on 10 years,like a Dark Knight Returns thing,they could bring Joker back then...saying that money talks and they will throw it at him if they have any sense.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:27:35 AM

@rocketman - I love Nolan's work, but the only person who should try and touch The Dark Knight Returns, is Snyder. And really, that's the only person Frank Miller is going to team up with. It would be absolutely perfect.

Let's also not forget the fact that Nolan's Batman world is not relative to the comics at all, and wouldn't fit into The Dark Knight Returns.
lebowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 10:46:50 AM

if the money is right nolan will make batman 4,5 and 6.i just hope that the last half hour of tdkr wont be as boring as tdk
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:06:51 AM

Velocityknown- I see what you're saying. I do love both Batman Begins and TDK the only thing I found lacking, the same with a few of Nolans films, is the character development. For instance when Rachel died I really wasn't too bothered, this could be down to the fact that they had a different actress play her and Maggies face looks like she's standing on a planet with higher gravity.

I know that Nolan's always uses quite dark, hollow characters in his films, that's almost part of his auterism. I get that he does it on purpose but compared to some of his other films I felt that both Batman's lacked emotion. This was perfect for the style of the film and I couldn't see it working any other way and I know the film wasn't overloaded with action but I'd still argue that the action outweighs the drama.

I do agree that it redefined the superhero genre you only have top look at every reboot coming out referencing Batman, it's just I think we have such low expectations of films now days especially the Hollywood super hero films coming out every 10 minutes, that The Dark Knight does seem amazing in comparison. That's not to say I think it's bad I just don't think it's perfect in every way, I prefer Batman Begins.

I would love for him to keep making them if he does get a chance to make other films as well like you said, but I think he'll know to quit when he's ahead. Also I think Godfather is over rated and a bit boring. They were a bit too character heavy almost the opposite of Batman.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:34:38 AM

Velocity- Just realised what your avatar is as well haha Franklin!! It ain't easy being white, IT AIN'T EASSYY BEEINGG BROWNN!!!
rabid writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:40:59 AM

I love the Nolan films, but I'm ready for a new vision from a director that isn't afraid to involve the rest of the DC universe.
Wallace writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:13:42 PM

Everyone has their price. As long as he can fund other projects by doing Batman movies, there is no reason for him to stop doing this.
rocketman writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:29:31 PM

@Takai
l will take a Snyder Bats,would love to see his take....and a Nolan riff on DKR too,f*ck it i want both.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:31:38 PM

He ays he doesn't know, which if you aren't missing half your cerebrum, translates to "well, I cant give you a definite on what Nolan will do in the future because I'm Gary Oldman, excellent actor extraordinaire, and not f*cking Nostradamus, but Nolan likes to negotiate because he's done that in the past, which I can see like any other normal f*cking human being, except that chick from that Adam Sandler film with the chick who can't rememeber yesterday, so no, I have no goddamned clue, really, but I'm sure you'll spin this into a sh*tty worthless rumor like you always do, Alex".
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:42:12 PM

"The Dark Knight was one of the best dramas of the past decade, the reason it was so great was because it redefined the so-called "superhero" genre. It was very character driven even if there was that comic book element to it."

You people act like Batman Begins doesn't even exist, and no TDK wasn't one of the greatest 'dramas' of the last decade, that's just inane and borderline insane really.

The story hardly even made any sense. It was a total f*cking mess. Who wrote that garbage? Michael J. Fox's mental cousin? Pffft. I dunno where you folks come up with this sh*t, but bandwagoneering isn't an acceptable replacement foe genuine thought.

In fact, I did a search for best dramas over the last decade (2001-2010) and Dark Knight hardly appeared. Films like Adaptation, Mona Lisa Smile and Catch me if You Can showed up, (rightly so muddaf*ckas!) and to me, for me, by me, people that even think films like The Dark Knight are serious contenders for anything beyond "Decent Comic Book Film" are raving, drooling fanboys who don't have a clue what goes into genuinely *great* flicks.

And if you'd like, I have a wonderful list, a fantastic little list, of all of TDK's egregious and unforgivable cinematic blunders errors, from start to finish, and it's a fine list, did I mention that?, but I won't post it because it'll go ignored like the proverbial invisible elephant because 'tis better to live by the lie than die by the truth, or some sh*t like that.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 12:56:08 PM

"It was very character driven even if there was that comic book element to it."

Character driven my puckered ass, it was one jarring and rambling shot from start to finish (because Nolan thinks more is less, and because he does better with simpler films than bigger ones) tidied up with pointless deaths and inane action (ever see a semi do a somer-sault? No? Watch TDK, where soul-sucking pseudo-realism replaces proper Gothic vibe and where inane blobs of action replaces real-world physics, but hey, I'm Christopher Nolan and I've got like 5 million bouncing fanboys on my jock so who cares if I'm f*cking consistent?) and a love triangle that not only had no f*cking place in the film, as Batty's love thing from the first film was part of his backstory but absolutely unneeded in TDK, it was also cliched boring and gave me the biggest limp d*ck ever.

Like I give a sh*t about Maggie "Droopy Cartoon Dog" Gyllenhaal and her depressed bonking of Aaron Eckhart, the man who would be a raving psychotic for really no genuine apparent reason (Hey, lemme kill Batman, but I'm gonna friend up with this guy that blew me and my chick-a-dee to pieces). And hey, did I mention I can talk and move around jus' fine even though half of my face is f*cking gone up in smoke like the Auschwitz swim team?

That's 'realism' folks: no f*cking Bat Cave and a Gotham that looks like Chi-Town during the day ten years from now, but hey flipping trucks and talking half-heads. Realism. Pfffttt.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:04:52 PM

"I think the Batman trilogy could be good enough to be looked back on as Nolan's Godfather films (without a sh*tty third hopefully). The first two were outstanding in their own right."

You're certifiable insane, comparing three films concerning a fictional but historic Mafia, three films filled with tension and fine acting and blah blah blah to a set of films featuring some tuberculosis-talking dude in black plastic running about with metal boomerangs, a set of films in which one of them was actually truly good, one that was slightly better than average and yet still fatally flawed, and one film you haven't even f*cking seen.

Get real and get off Nolan's pelvis. The guy's a good director but he's no early Cameron, he's no f*cking Sorcsese and he sure as sh*t isn't even a Fincher. The guy's films have something terribly missing from every one of them: humanity. And thats' something he'll have to f*cking find before I start trying to gyrate on his hips like you absurd fanboys.
lebowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:09:53 PM

minkowski
thanks for your posts man you said what i was thinkig.and just for the record compering the dark knight trilogy with the godfather is simply wrong
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:20:18 PM

Thing is Batman's journey is meant to be endless so Nolan could really create a saga of this character without it getting stale. And Nolan as just mastered this character.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:29:32 PM

Mink, after all this time, you've still got the goods. Bravo.
rocketman writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:32:41 PM

Minks on fire,great posts.Much as i love Nolan and i do half of it's for the cinematographer as much as for Nolan himself.
buttabean writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:35:22 PM

minkowski, lol sounds like Nolan will need hip surgery soon.

I can't fathom the third installment better than the second and the second didn't hold a candle to the first because it just wasn't fresh. I bet he won't do a fourth unless WB drives a dumptruck full of fort Knox gold bars into his house.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:55:50 PM

"Mink, after all this time, you've still got the goods. Bravo"

Thanks, thanks, cocaine's a hell of a drug.

And oh how I pine away in soul-crushing desperation for that little itty-bitty tiny little thing, no big deal at all really, a goddamned edit f*cking button.
Buckles44 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 2:33:57 PM

Sorry Minikowski there aren't more films like Mona Lisa Smile you can touch your nipples over.
If you're unhappy with the way Batman is going, I'm sure Nolan would be more then happy to hand the reins back over to Schumacher
rabid writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 3:11:37 PM

I agree about Dark Knight. It was entertaining, but a really sloppy film. I've read that much was lost to the cutting room floor. Reminds me of Donner's Superman films where he'd film 4 hours of plot and then chop it up into a final condensed version.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 3:31:11 PM

Dear Random Internet Queer:

"Sorry Minikowski there aren't more films like Mona Lisa Smile you can touch your nipples over."

I wouldn't know the first thing about touching male nipples, my dear little homosexual masturbator, that's something only someone like yourself would anything about.

"If you're unhappy with the way Batman is going"

I have no idea which way Batman is going. He's not real, you know, and it's not like I can follow the f*cker back to his Bat Cave or whatever and keep tabs on him, but please do advise me on how to stalk men. You seem quite keen of the skill.

"I'm sure Nolan would be more then happy to hand the reins back over to Schumacher"

That doesn't even make sense, stool, Schumacher isn't in contract with WB, and why the bloody hell would Nolan be happy to hand the reins over to him if Joel was in contract? You think you know what Nolan wants, you know he'd hand them back over to Schumacher?

You sound like a very c*nty runty little fanboy, talking about Nolan and what he'd do like you change his diaper or something, like you mop up his bathroom droppings, you little c*m-covered creep. Go back to stalking Justin Beiber over Facebook and stop poppin' in here like the d*ckless muppet you are.

And Rabid, TDK has a f*cking runtime of 152 minutes, that's two hours and 32 minutes! If it's true and much of the film's story fell to the cutting room floor, then you've just proven that TDK is a bloated story mess and Nolan had next to zero control on where that medusa of a story was going, and the fact he had to chop off most of the heads means to me that it was a real f*ck up initially, and yeah, I know many of a film's shots get cropped and dropped like Jennifer Aniston's dlove interests, but they're usually shots they have little to no bearing on the film's story, not shots that help explain. Usually just the chaff.

Fact is, Nolan needs to learn how to shorten his cast, shorten his shots and try, try motherf*cker, and figure the f*ck out what should be in a film and what shouldn't be and he should start trying to slim things down and instead of going full kitchen sink on the films because that's exactly what he did in TDK, starting with the terribly unnecessary love triangle, the dragging in of his old schoolyard playdate along with the Batmen, and that extraneous Hong Kong nonsense.

It should've been about Joker, Batman and Gordon and nothing else and Two Face could've come in in the third film, but no, he had to go all Long Halloween on our asses and try to make a f*cking two hour film into a twelve run Batman comic book series, and that's where he f*cked up and it looks like he hasn't learned a damned thing because by all appearances, he's doing it again.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 3:43:47 PM

"Reminds me of Donner's Superman films where he'd film 4 hours of plot and then chop it up into a final condensed version."

Difference? Donner didn't have seventy plot threads and two hundred characters, he kept his sh*t rather simply, he just expanded deeply.

Nolan goes wide, very wide, but shallow, Donner went narrow but deep, and cutting when you go narrow and deep works, but not when do the other, because you then getting major incoherency and gaps like the inside of Amy Winehouse's c*cksucker.

And that's what f*cking happened with TDK.

The other thing on Donner, just wanted to mention, what the f*ck was with that Superman turning back time by flying around the world sh*t?

No offense, I think Donner was the best Superman director, better than Bryan "Superman Wears Prada" Singer and that Lester guy who collided vaudville comedy and superhero cinematography like in that old "Your Peanut Butter Hit My Chocolate" Reese's Cup commercials, but Donner really shoulda rethought the story at that point, because any kid can tell you that making he world go backwards won't turn back time, it'll only f*cking confuse the sh*t out of people just waking up.
-Chewy- writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 4:03:25 PM

@Mink

that was a great read. Are you in any way related to the website: movieplotholes.com ?

Because, they sure need your help.
lebowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:20:57 PM

minkowski
your posts are really priceless.dont ever stop doing cocaine my friend
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:23:46 PM

Thank you gentlemen, but I can only stretch the welfare so far before someone notices.
trailertrash writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:48:12 PM

Touching you nipples over Mona Lisa Smile, hey Mink

Sounds like someone is having fantasies there ......

Yeah and what was up with Donner thinking superman flying super fast round the world (crying) would turn back time.

Everbody knows you need a Delorean fitted with the flux capacitor that needs 1.21 gigawat's of power and to drive up to 88mph to travel back in time.
velocityknown writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:57:40 PM

@Mink

Are you an adult? Is it possible for you to express your opinion or a disagreement on something without cussing or insulting people?

It's very difficult to judge a films impact in the time in which they were made. I am speculating that 25 years from now people could look back on The Dark Knight and see it as a defining moment in cinema like The Godfather was. It has the critical acclaim, performances, and director to do that. You're just seeing The Dark Knight as a superhero film, when I think it should be taken as more than that and I hope it one day will.
There's not telling what The Dark Knight will inspire or how it has changed the genre, when we can take a better look at it, we can say for sure. You're certainly entitled to your opinion, but don't freak out because I'm expressing mine.

I think Nolan is a great director, but he's far from my favorite in Hollywood. I'll take Fincher or Aronofsky any day over him.

Chill out for like two seconds.
velocityknown writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:58:08 PM

@Cinemaisdead

Gotta love Arrested Development.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:05:18 PM

"Sounds like someone is having fantasies there ......"

Sounds like it to me too, and with a name like Buckles and the number 44 thereafter, you know he's spent some major time dropping loads on other young men in public restrooms.

And keeping f*cking notches on his belt I bet.

"Everbody knows you need a Delorean fitted with the flux capacitor that needs 1.21 gigawat's of power and to drive up to 88mph to travel back in time."

Yeah, but see here's the thing: the mechanics of the flux capacitor and all the other sh*t that went into the Delorean, including a small nuclear reactor that never killed a single Jap, could work with a little imagination, but I'd have to assume that Superman can warp f*cking time with his cape, like Mario in Super Mario World smacking a Koopa with his shiny yellow flying thing, to accept Donner's story element.

Even in Star Trek 4, wherein the crew made use of the sun's enormous gravitational effect (and Kirk's wooden arrogance) there's actually some real science to that, but Donner having Supes turn back time by flipping the world around backwards, whilst crying a jag like he just lost his favorite blankie? Pffft.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:43:15 PM

"Are you an adult?"

Why? Still stinging after your appearance on 'To Catch a Predator'?

"Is it possible for you to express your opinion or a disagreement on something without cussing or insulting people?"

Is is possible for you to express your whining bereavement that you're full of elephant excrement without sounding like a petulant cretin low on mommy's valium?

"It's very difficult to judge a films impact in the time in which they were made."

That's a very general statement and not often true.

Most films have no impact whatsover, beyond BO receipts and the intended financial outlay.

What you mean to say is that it's always impossible to judge whether a film will have a larger impact than expected or whether a film will attain cult status for whatever nearly-invisible reason, but let's face it, girls like you have put TDK so far up on a golden pedestal, one it most certainly does not deserve, that the only impact TDK can have is one of diminishing value.

And let's also face the fact that the only film to have a larger cultural acceptance than The Godfather is The Shawshank Redemption, and that film is vasty superior to TDK in every imaginable way, and in ways not imaginable.

There's absolutely no chance TDK will ever be seen as the next Godfather, no matter how far gloopy-eyed d*ckless fanboys push the film and no matter how much they try to ride the film's undeserved and exaggerated success whilst slip-sliding their tongues on Nolan's c*ck.

"I am speculating that 25 years from now people could look back on The Dark Knight and see it as a defining moment in cinema like The Godfather was."

You're full of possum sh*t. 25 years from now no one will even remember the f*cking film for more than just another superhero film, and if they do, they'd have no sense of truly great cinema.

25 years from now, people will look at Shawshank like they do Rear Window but TDK? Pffft. A film perhaps better than The Phantom Menace and Matrix Reloaded, a film on the backside but near the apex of the filmatic Bell Curve.

"It has the critical acclaim"

Because some really likeable bloke died because he couldn't take the pressure of success. Boo hoo hoo. He was so unlucky that unlucky bastard. Did I mention he was unlucky to be so unluckily successful.

Heath should've tried my life. He owuld've OD'ed on Gerber baby food when he was f*cking two. Big damned baby.

"performances"


No better than a thousand other forgotton films. And never mind the horrible audio, terrible editing and the slipshop story with all the goofy and ridiculous plot elements.

"You're just seeing The Dark Knight as a superhero film"

I'm seeing it as barely a superhero film, it's you that sees it for far more than it is because you can't think for your f*cking self, instead taking orders from the masses and caught up in a pop-cultural hysteria.

You'd be one of the wide-eyed fools, drool dripping from your chin, heralding Christ as the Messiah while all the intelligent thinking people would be asking why's this f*cking bastard carpenter riding backwards into the city on a f*cking donkey.

"when I think it should be taken as more than that and I hope it one day will."

You're insane. Really, really insane, like Jack Nicholson in One Flew Over the Cookoo's Nest insane, but that would assume you're a guy and instead I think you're more like those goofy lost-in-fantasy chicks from that other failure Sucker Punch, because you're more caught up in what you want to believe than the facts, and all your objectivity has gone out the window like that of OJ's Los Angeles jury.

"There's not telling what The Dark Knight will inspire or how it has changed the genre"


Umm, what te f*ck did it do to change anything? What about TDK was revolutionary? You act like it was The Matrix and featured cutting edge advancements in CGI and VFX when it was just some dude in garbage bags talking like he had a d*ck in his throat running about chasing Heath Ledgers Mad Hatter performance of the Joker, while sh*t blew up, sub-plots popped in like time-lapse photogrpahy of flowers blooming and dying, and people died.

And no one gave a sh*t. No ne gave a sh*t when the Joker died, no one cared when Maggie what ever her name is croaked like a flame to the moth and no one gave a sh*t when Two Face did the Big Sleep, they only cared because they were watching a dead man's final performance and because Nolan was clever enough to manipulate the audience into suddenly giving a heap-o-turds damn through Oldman's little child-framed film-ending monologue about how some guy in Goth kevlar, who was a cameo in his own f*cking film, was somehow a hero (why? The bad guys basically killed themselves, like Heath himself. Art, meet life, motherf*ckers) and would return one day to do some more boring sh*t involving conceptually impossible vehicles and a literal tribe of characters.

And also, now Batman is being hunted. Oh noooooeeeeeessssss!

"when we can take a better look at it, we can say for sure."

You cannot predict the future, but intelligent people can anticipate it. You're failing at both, and all because you're irrationally blinded by your insipid fanboy love of an over-rated, super-hyped above average film film, and that's just sad, but not sad enough for me to do more than laugh at you.

"You're certainly entitled to your opinion"

How VERY generous of you! Can I breath also?

"but don't freak out because I'm expressing mine."

Yes, it's all about you. How silly of me to think it's possibly about me, or the movie, or movies in general, because of course, it's really all about you.

How typically American.

"I think Nolan is a great director, but he's far from my favorite in Hollywood. I'll take Fincher or Aronofsky any day over him."

Well, I'm glad your favorites are so easily pulled from the trendy stock of fashionably accepted currect directors. I'd hate to think your favorite director is someone a bit more obscure and personal.

"Chill out for like two seconds."

Who are you? The Fresh Prince of Bel-air?
Buckles44 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:02:26 PM

"You sound like a very c*nty runty little fanboy"

Says the guy writing a novel of his opinion on a movie site forum where probably no one gives a sh*t.
You sound like you still live in you're parents basement, which is cool. Lots of unambitious people still do.

Fact, Nolan is still gonna make a butt load of money off TDKR whether you like it or not. And if they presented him to do a fourth, He should make an even more outrageous movie then Inception before signing on. Just so WB will fund it to get him to do a fourth.

And why do you keep assuming all these gay fantasies? And they are pretty specific too...
"you know he's spent some major time dropping loads on other young men in public restrooms."
It's almost like you've experienced it before.
Just cause you're gay doesn't mean the rest of the world is.

And now he's going to write and even longer paragraph then before, bitchin and whinin'.

velocityknown writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:20:35 PM

Mink

What is it in you that's incapable of just hearing someone else's opinion and saying, "That's fine, but I disagree. Here's why..."

Your opinion is that The Dark Knight is overraetd, that's fine, I don't really care enough to argue with you. My opinion is that it's a great film, one that I think will stand the test of time, if you disagree that's fine! But Jesus dude, can you be a little respectful about it?

Oh and just in case my Fincher and Aronofsky choices weren't enough for you, my favorite all time director is Woody Allen, but I also like Jean Luc Godard for his work with French New Wave and Martin Scorsese because he's a goddamn genius. But you know why I like Fincher and Aronofsky? Because they're great f*cking directors, not because it's popular to like them. Good directors are popular for a reason, because they're good directors and people like their work. Actually, no, my favorite director is Uwe Boll because he makes sh*tty movies. Apologies.

You're so cynical that anytime anyone expresses an opinion that differs from yours that you accuse that person of conforming to mass thought or not having an original viewpoint. Sometimes sh*t happens to line up. The Godfather is considered the greatest movie of all time because pretty much everyone loves it, saying that I also love it doesn't necessarily mean I'm conforming, it just means it's a good film.

To contrast what you're saying, I could say that your need to be different from everyone and act like the smartest person in the room is blinding you from appreciating a good movie just because everyone else likes it. But I wouldn't do that because I'm not a huge d*ckhole who makes assumptions about people they've never met because they have different opinions than I do.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:25:51 PM

Wah says Buckles the Clown And yes, I'm going to write some more sh*t. Because it's fun.

"Says the guy writing a novel of his opinion on a movie site forum where probably no one gives a sh*t."

Unlike you, cretin, I live for myself, not others, and I don't post for others, I post for me, so your opinion no one gives a sh*t is not only irrelevant, it's also exactly what I prefer. No interference.

"You sound like you still live in you're parents basement, which is cool. Lots of unambitious people still do."

Yes, I still live in my basement. lol. Jesus, seriously, what you morons use these days...and it's what you used when I first visited this site. "You still live with mommy" and always in the basement, because none of you sad little abortions ever had the forethought to change it up a bit for creativities sake, no you can't say attic or garage, it's always basement like your reading a line from some very unfunny 80's comedy full of failed teen actors, a comparison which is probably a true reflection of your life, really.

"Fact, Nolan is still gonna make a butt load of money off TDKR whether you like it or not."

Street whores make a buttload of cash every day. Like I care what your mother does.

"And if they presented him to do a fourth, He should make an even more outrageous movie then Inception before signing on."

Because I'm sure he needs the cash and you and your ignorant horde need another wank film.

And if you think Inception was 'outrageuous', well, I really feel bad for me laughing so hard at someone like you.

No, not really. But I'm still laughing.

"Just so WB will fund it to get him to do a fourth."

I get it, the old 'you suck me, I'll suck you' off I've heard about in those 'Journal of Abnormal Sexuality' science publications.

I guess that's how it works in your house, so you would know.

"And why do you keep assuming all these gay fantasies?"

Fantasies? I'm not the raging queer named Buckles.

"And they are pretty specific too..."

Well, intelligent people usually have a commensurate imagination in most endeavors, but hey, look, I wouldn't want to make you feel bad about yourself, so I'll stop.

"It's almost like you've experienced it before."

Sure I have, just as much as Christopher Nolan has experienced running around in plastic, kevlar and velcro hunting down Mary Kay's gay, deranged brother.

"Just cause you're gay doesn't mean the rest of the world is."

I'm not even cheerful, much less gay. Besides, I wasn't assuming anything about the world, I was stating an obvious fact with respect to you. Big diffeence.

"And now he's going to write and even longer paragraph then before, bitchin and whinin'."

And laughing. Don't forget that I'm laughing so hard my ears are burning, and like you straddling into your mother's dresses, that takes some work.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:51:25 PM

"What is it in you that's incapable of just hearing someone else's opinion and saying, "That's fine, but I disagree. Here's why..."

Because that's what vanilla-boring, spineless gutless drones like you would do, and life's too short to be that way, and yes, just so you know, I'm a bit of a mean scrapper in life too, so spare me that 'keyboard coward' sh*t for someone else.

"Your opinion is that The Dark Knight is overraetd, that's fine, I don't really care enough to argue with you."

Which is why you've been arguing with me and why you've spent an inordinate amount of time doing so in just this one post.

"My opinion is that it's a great film"

Which is wrong.

"one that I think will stand the test of time"

Cliched. And wrong, motherfuker, wrong.

"if you disagree that's fine"

Apparently not, because here you are.

"But Jesus dude, can you be a little respectful about it?"

No candyass, I cannot be a bit more respectful. What are you, like fifteen, some little girl begging to not be talked about unpleasantly by the pom-pom squad? Grow up.

You're supposed to be a man, act like one. Another generation went off to war younger than you driving tanks and taking lives and here you are on the internet crying to some stranger about bad words and insults?

"Oh and just in case my Fincher and Aronofsky choices weren't enough for you, my favorite all time director is Woody Allen"

I take back what I said. You should go back to Nolan. But hell, you can't unring the bell and you've said it and now I have to live with what you've told me. I hope I can handle the burden, knowing you like Woody Allen.

But no, Allen isn't either mainstream or well-known. Pfffft again.

"You're so cynical that anytime anyone expresses an opinion that differs from yours that you accuse that person of conforming to mass thought or not having an original viewpoint."

Look, man, if you wanna suck off Nolan and every other popular filmmaker, go for it, let Chuckles hold the bucket, I don't care, but don't sit here and try to compare TDK to The Godfather and then act like I'm the f*cking problem when I hardly ever in-depth bash whatever sh*t garbage hits the screen here (because you know it's garbage too but you have to like something right?), like any of it is any good anyway, but hey, go watch Sucker Punch and marvel over it's cinematic brilliance.

Then go hit your iPhone and your iPod and get on Myspace, Twitter and Facebook and try to impress someone else with your pop-cultural bland choices because to me you're a cardboard bore. You and your various clones.

"Sometimes sh*t happens to line up."

I'm not very talented with my sh*t, I just dump and go, never a good thing to play billiards with your turds, but hey, pass the time how you feel, bro.

"The Godfather is considered the greatest movie of all time"


Actually, it's generally accepted that Shawshank has taken the Godfather's place, but hey, I digress.

"because pretty much everyone loves it, saying that I also love it doesn't necessarily mean I'm conforming, it just means it's a good film."

And yet, it's a boring but very well-made film with no real joy outside seeing how guidos with guns off one another with class, style and la familia or whateever the f*ck it is in Italian, but the point is, I don't care for the Godfather either, but here you are, and you do, and that doesn't surprise me. Again.

But back up a bit: comparing TDK to the Godfather? That's just insane. Godfather is technically the superior film by a HUGE margin, and you're insane and blind if you..well, I was going to say think, but that's really an inapplicable word at this point.

"To contrast what you're saying, I could say that your need to be different from everyone and act like the smartest person in the room is blinding you from appreciating a good movie just because everyone else likes"

No, what keeps me from appreciating the film is all the morons insisting it's a fantastic piece of filmatic craftsmanship when my own damned eyes can see it's various and glaring faults, and the only blind person is YOU, who refuses to see them too, even though they're clearly right in front of you.

"But I wouldn't do that because I'm not a huge d*ckhole"

No, you're a willfully blind fanboy moron, apparently.

"who makes assumptions"

Because they require an ounce of imagination, which you obviously lack.

"about people they've never met because they have different opinions than I do."

I have to meet you to know you're comparing TDK to the Godfather? What the f*ck ever. You say something stupid and then it's all about attacking your opinion. How irrational.

And if you had not noticed, you starting to bore me. I'll go back to Chuckles; at least that fool's name makes me laugh.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:06:01 PM

"Lots of unambitious people still do"

Well, in all honesty, you got me there. I'm not impressed with people's bank accounts or their diamond studs and all their pretty fancy little planned-obsolescent gadgets and gizmos they think make life worth living.

Money means nothing to me beyond the ability to suvive and buy some nifty sh*t now and then, you know, like food and clothes.

I mean, yeah you have to have lots of it if you wanna get laid because love's dead and greed rules unapposed and supreme.

I've often pissed people off because I missed the social cue whereby they, these easliy impressed primates, show off some piece of clothing or whatever I just look like I'm seeing a rock or some garden variety objet de boredom, and then they get pissed off, because who the f*ck am I, some nobody, to not be impressed with their expensive doo dad.

But hey, you got me.
velocityknown writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:07:26 PM

Clearly I'm boring you, that's why you've written page long responses to everything I've said. And I'm not arguing about TDK, I'm arguing about your inability to act like an adult and respectfully disagree with someone. But whatever, I'm finished. You keep being a sad, angry person and I'll continue not pissing people off by verbally assaulting them whenever they think differently than I do.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:24:08 PM

"Clearly I'm boring you, that's why you've written page long responses to everything I've said."

Try paying attention, Velocity. This isn't TDK where an attention span isn't really required, beyond gauging the shot gaps. I said you were boring me at that point in time, not before.

"And I'm not arguing about TDK, I'm arguing about your inability to act like an adult and respectfully disagree with someone."

The initial issue was your opinion regarding TDK whereby you compared it to The Godfather, and then when you couldn't address the foolishness of that statement, so you made the problem me, and that's terribly very dishonest.

"But whatever, I'm finished."

You were finished the moment you tried to make TDK into The Godfather.

"You keep being a sad, angry person"

Who has had more fun laughing tonight than I've had in years on this bland, dull and often unintelligent movie site..why do I return? For this of course. Or the hope of this anyway.

But it's funny, because when I came on here, back in da day, I didn't attack anyone or call names, but for having the temerity to criticize all the present poster's favorite films, I was called c*nt and faggot and all sorts of nastiness.

It's funny how people feel when the gun gets turned around.

"and I'll continue not pissing people off by verbally assaulting them whenever they think differently than I do."

And I'm sure you'll have lots and lots of friends, and kittens and puppies will love you and you'll go to heaven for all that narcissistic kindness, too.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:42:16 PM

As Thomas Jefferson once said:

Ridicule is the only weapon which can be used against unintelligible propositions.
Buckles44 writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:54:21 PM

I could quote president's too if I sat home all day in my parents basement too
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:03:47 PM

Sure you could, Chuckles, sure you could.
lebowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:06:24 PM

come on people,cant we all just get along?no need to fight.mink you must be tired man,but i think you are pretty much right about nolan and his batman franchise.i wonder what you thought about inception?
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:42:13 PM

I didn't have a problem with Inception, really because idiots weren't labeling an obviously flawed film the greatest movie of all time for no damned good reason.

I believe Inception is the better film, but Ledger didn't die while attached to it, so it wasn't acclaimed by the masses.

I also think Inception wasn't nearly as brilliant as some people thought, concept wise, and I had serious issues with the core idea (entering people's dream and turning them into James Bond set pieces) but because no one was connecting Inception to the Second Coming of Christ, I was cool to let it get whetever attention came it's way, even though in general I think it received less than it deserved and TDK received far more than it deserved, but that's the way of the world apparently.
gunfighterii writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:48:13 AM

Hmmm All this talk about a 4th..im Pritty sure IF Bane was in the 3rd he doesnt break Batmans spine..so you can rule that out.
gunfighterii writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 2:52:18 AM

I also think Mini should have his own Post channel next to main...it would 1/2 the pages length and we can all skip it...you write to much dude :D
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 6:40:09 PM

as long as Bale is back with him i'm all for it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved