WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sucker Punch" Loses to "Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2" at Box Office

Posted: March 27th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sucker Punch" Loses to "Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Zack Snyder's "Sucker Punch" action film was released this weekend and grossed $19 million, which was only good enough for second place, behind the sequel to "Diary of a Wimpy Kid." Since "Sucker Punch" cost $82 million, the movie will have a tough time making its money back.

The original "Wimpy Kid" was released last year and grossed $75 million on a $15 million budget. The sequel opened in first place with $24.4 million, already making back its $21 million budget.

"Limitless" took third place with $15.2 million and has now grossed a total of $41 million domestically. The film cost $27 million to make. Meanwhile, "The Lincoln Lawyer," "Paul," "Red Riding Hood" and "Mars Needs Moms" are all struggling to earn back their budgets.

Click here to read our "Sucker Punch" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 6:01:33 PM

Sucker Punch was one of the most stupid movie I have seen in the past 1-2 years......so its a move in the right direction.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 6:06:47 PM

guess all of Snyder's movies cant be blockbusters,and to lose to a wimpy kid sequel is pretty LAME because if sucker punch didnt have any competition at all if it was a good movie.

this is proof when you put women in action films as the lead.Like Aeon Flux and Ultraviolet
Rambo writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 6:13:48 PM

^Don't forget 'catwoman'
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 6:20:04 PM

yes Catwoman i've never seen it but of course its Halle Berry and she doesnt show her body parts is an automatic FAIL.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 6:58:28 PM

Putting women in lead action roles didn't seem to harm Alien or Kill Bill. THOSE movies just had good directors.

This just proves no matter the gender, if it's not an adaptation, Snyder needs to stay far, far, away. Style only won't cut it in an original movie for him.

"Catwoman". Possibly one of the worst films ever made. Including home movies.
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 7:24:53 PM

Just Say No To Snyder.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 7:48:19 PM

i liked 300, Watchmen, and Dawn of the Dead, but this looks like a pile of sh*t. frankly, the fact it got such a crappy box office doesn't surprise me at all - the trailer made it pretty obvious it was crap.
Dirt writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 8:28:20 PM

When's the porn parody come out?
rabid writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 9:25:55 PM

The theater take barely matters. By the time the holidays arrive, nobody will remember "Wimpy Kid", and "Sucker Punch" will be the one raking in millions on dvd and bluray.
BlueMobius writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 9:28:52 PM

After seeing the reviews and hearing the bad press Sucker Punch received, I decided to see it--if nothing else then for morbid curiosity. I was more than pleasantly surprised and quite entertained. I'm a stage writer and the film came across as a stage play that can't be done on an actual stage. I think the very beginning of the film presents that's exactly the point. It's more of a philosophical study of willpower and though I think Snyder is far from a philosopher of any real promise, I was pleased with the fact that I had to think for myself and provide some of the missing pieces. Plus, the film looks amazing. I regret I didn't see it on IMAX and may actually do so.

All in all, not a waste of time and filled with enough redeeming qualities I can forgive some of the banality. I suggest y'all give it a shot, actually. Of course, this site has always struck me as a site filled with people who don't actually like cinema. :P
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 9:39:03 PM

"I think Snyder is far from a philosopher of any real promise"

I'm glad we cleared that one up, just so it's official Snyder isn't Søren Kierkegaard...

"Of course, this site has always struck me as a site filled with people who don't actually like cinema"

sh*tty, vacuous films we hate, not cinema, and Sucker Punch has a 20% RT rating for a damned good reason, not because the film is misunderstood or too above the audience's heads. That's preposterous.

Because he dresses his geeky, teen masturbatory set pieces up in some rambling dream narrative it's suddenly Sigmund Freud meets Dr. Ruth? I think not.

It's a film for grown men with the mind of a child. Lots of those around apparently.
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 9:42:36 PM

"I'm a stage writer and the film came across as a stage play that can't be done on an actual stage."

Nice to see you throw in your profession so as to lend more authority to your opinion, BM, but seriously, I'm pretty sure it's obvious airplane-eating dragons and gigantic robots won't either fit or function on a traditional stage, and I'd also add that Sucker Punch's script may roll like a stage play, but that's only because Snyder's too untalented to write for the fluidity that film demands.
BlueMobius writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 10:36:55 PM

"I'd also add that Sucker Punch's script may roll like a stage play, but that's only because Snyder's too untalented to write for the fluidity that film demands."

Is that to suggest the stage lacks or doesn't require the same fluidity? I'd strongly disagree. My point was only that I felt it was written more like a Becket piece of interconnected scenes than like the traditional Hollywood film which I found refreshing. Now, don't get me wrong, it doesn't completely work. Though I don't agree with the 20% on RT (and largely feel that reviewers are full of sh*t), I do NOT think the film is made as well as Snyder thinks it is. I WAS entertained and will gladly see it again but mostly because of the visuals--a point upon which most seem to agree. Also, I think it's unfair to say Snyder is untalented. One indulgent piece should not discount films like 300 or Dawn of the Dead.

"Nice to see you throw in your profession so as to lend more authority to your opinion..."

I didn't drop that to be a tool, though, nor to suggest my opinion carries more weight. I should have made my point clearer that AS a playwright, I saw the film strictly from that angle (especially due to the beginning visuals) and may have a different POV than some other viewers. That was all.

"sh*tty, vacuous films we hate, not cinema..."

C'mon, you've gotta admit that there isn't a whole lot of positive coming of this site. And Sucker Punch IS cinema. The point of cinema, as I understand it, is to present a vision using the medium of film with which to enlighten and/or entertain the audience. Just because Snyder obviously failed to do so for the majority of viewers doesn't take away from the fact that he DID try to do something new. Let's at least give the guy credit for not making a remake, using what he's learned about visual film-making, and cut him a little slack for writing (which I wasn't altogether as disgusted by as I thought I would). Hell, at least he's not as bad as Shymalan, right?! :)
telur writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 1:53:39 AM

One thing for sure, Zack Snyder can't write. At least Man of Steel, Chris Nolan do the writing stuff

Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 5:11:53 AM

Blue- How many times have I got to say this to people like you, I LOVE films, I'm sure every one on this site does other wise why waste there time commenting.

I've got all the time in the world for a well constructed piece of cinema and even a no brainer pop corn flick like Shoot em' Up or Crank or even a bit of Transformers (1 obviously). But if a film like Sucker Punch comes out, with a lot of potential beyond just visuals where as a script writer you should appreciate the connection to the character should be the most important thing. Why should we all pretend that a films good just for the sake of it. Let's all suck Snyders d*ck coz he's made some pretty action scenes.

The comment section is for peoples opinions. People will obviously slag off a film for no reason but the majority of people on here tend to agree when a film is good or bad. I like your review, just don't start saying that every one should agree with you. I'm fed up of wasting hours of my life on films that a 10 year old could make. I've got high expectations and rightly so considering the amount of money I pay for a ticket or a DVD.
anaheimducks writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 6:45:22 AM

Sucker punch was awesome very entertaining great action great cgi.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:55:32 AM

Blue is just stating an opinion like everyone else on the site. I don't agree with all of it, but I do see where he's coming from about SP's theatrical nature. Moulin Rouge meets Inception is how I first decribed it to my friends searching for reviews.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:08:18 AM

Diary of a Whimpy Kid 2, where the hell did that come from anyway. I never saw a single trailer or advertisement for this film here in the US. Must have only hit the kids networks. Its one thing to miss critically on a film, but its another to get beat down at the BO by a film that did very little mass marketing. I just hope this is a lesson to the production company that dialing down an R rated film to PG-13 doesn't always translate into bigger bucks at the box office.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:59:06 AM

@bandolero999 - "his is proof when you put women in action films as the lead.Like Aeon Flux and Ultraviolet"

I agree to an extent. All of those movies were PG-13, and I think that is why they're so mediocre.
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:02:57 AM

And all of you going on about how Snyder can't write, blah blah blah; this was his very first attempt at a screenplay, so in reality, it's not that big of a surprise. He's not untalented, he's just green, in that area at least.

He's an incredible director. Even with Sucker Punch, the cinematography and directing were spot on, but the screenplay was trash. I know everyone likes to trash Snyder for being 'style over substance', but the fact of the matter is, he's never had to put substance into anything. He's only done adaptations, and he's done them as perfect as they could be. So continue your mudslinging, but when it comes time for Man of Steel and Dark Knight Returns, I'll be back to praise him some more. haha
rabid writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 11:44:09 AM

I hope he puts any Superman sequel away long enough to do Ray Bradbury's The Illustrated Man, which he's said was his dream project.
Aingx writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 3:09:37 PM

I love how people who haven't even SEEN Sucker Punch are bashing it.

Hey, I hear people like jumping off of bridges now-a-days. Best get on that...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved