WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sucker Punch" - What Did You Think?

Posted: March 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sucker Punch" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Zack Snyder's "Sucker Punch" action film is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a 20% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the movie resembles a video game and fails to create believable characters or an interesting story. Most, however, were impressed with the look of the film.

"Sucker Punch" cost $82 million to develop, but many believe it will struggle to make it's budget back, mostly due to lack of star-power. Come back on Sunday to see how the film performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "Sucker Punch" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:31:07 AM

Still want to see it despite the negative reviews,which haven't been as bad in Britain (3/5 avg) so i might risk it next week when its out here.The fact i have the mental age of a 12 year old will doubtlessly help.
telur writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:40:14 AM

i heard sucker punch is suck movie
telur writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:53:50 AM

just don't mess up that MAN OF STEEL, zack
SeWerin writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:15:57 AM

I am big fan of Snyder, and i wanted to love this film....but i can't...It's not terrible, but it lacks lot of good elements... I mean after watching the trailer i didn't expect some mind bending story, but this movie really provides all the wrong reasons for story development.

I though that "Theater" part was completely unnecessary. Other girls didn't have enough personality or backstory, Hamm was wasted, twist was...well not a twist, and complete movie felt like quasi-musical. Song were good (most of them), but they were used on completely wrong scenes.

That being said - the action is fantastic, over the top, ass kicking. Which is ok, because everything is fantasy. Snyder really know how to show clear, beautiful, unreal action - whether it is samurai battles,WW, or sf. Men has style - a lot of it, and he knows how to use it. Yes the movie is beautiful, and feels like video game - what you see in trailer is what you get, but i just wanted better story on what connects these fantasies. I wanted more Asylum, which is beautifully done, with good atmosphere and green filter reminiscent to that in Fight club.

Other good things - acting (most of it), villain, fantasy scenes, first 5 minutes.

I really expected of story to be more crazy, twisted.

Snyder needs a good script dammit, and less slow-mo....
takai writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:37:29 AM

I agree completely with SeWerin, except for the 'less slow motion'. I love me some slow motion. I do wish this was an R rated movie. Not so much for the sex, but for the brutal, gory violence Snyder has perfected.

As for the film, it appears that everyone has forgotten that this is Snyder's very first attempt at screenplay writing. Really, we shouldn't have expected any less, even though I hate that I think that now. We'll see how he progresses in the screenplay area.

And @telur, there's no need to worry about that. Snyder may have screwed up with Sucker Punch, but he is still the king of adaptations. His respect for source material is incredibly high. It'll be awesome.

I just can't wait until he does The Dark Knight Returns.
atn5022 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:47:06 AM

its terribad
pikeman1 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:03:36 AM

I don't care what people says, I'll definitely watch it!
Zack Snyder has never disappointed me,
may be not yet
Aingx writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 10:01:54 AM

That Putman's a fag...2/10, eat some more *ssholes.
SeWerin writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 10:25:47 AM


Slow-mo is good in small amounts (very very small amounts).

But Zack is overusing it. Do we really need to see how potato is falling on the ground in slow motion?!?!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 11:03:52 AM

Its a live action anime. I don't know why anyone expects a good story or character development. Anime almost never delivers in these departments. Sucker Punch is sexy, violent, and visually stimulating just like all other good anime, but it also suffer all of the same downfalls. All that being said, I am pretty disappointed because I've always wanted to see my what my favorite anime look like in live action. How cool would Ninja Scroll, Sprigan, or Ghost in the Shell be with real actors on the big screen? I feel like Sucker Punch pretty much exposed all of the potential flaws in converting films like these to live action. Sure they would look great but the lack of real substance, consequence, and basic storytelling would be magnified just as much as the visuals. Without these core elements of filmmaking we're left with what feels like an unfinished product thats not quite ready for primetime.

Snyder obviously doesn't have enough writing talent (at the moment) to back up his artistic eye. This is disappointing, but it does not ruin my high hopes for Superman. We already know that the Nolans can write story and develope characters. Merging their screenwriting talent with Snyder's camerawork can't fail. Ok, "can't fail" is definitely a stretch now.
shanesleeping writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 11:20:32 AM

old farts just dont get zacks style of film making hes a legend and cant do no wrong in my book.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:21:39 PM

Not suprised its a failure lot of hot actresses though
-Chewy- writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:44:32 PM

Why should people expect NOTHING LESS than a good story ?

All movies should have a good story unrelated to their genres.

It was Snyder's job to write a good script with the story he had in mind. He failed.

It's not an excuse to simply say: I like to turn my brain off once in a while. No, thats the thing, you should never have to turn your brain off for anything.
iceskateuphill writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:36:39 PM

there is plenty of sexy action going on here, and it is very cool. awesome fighting scenes involving sword play, martial arts and gun fighting to the extreme. everything is moving so fast and it is beautifully shot. it's everything else that is the problem. the story line going on outside of the action scenes is a bit strange and at times very difficult to follow. even the most ridiculous action movies have a bit of a plot but they try to keep it easy to follow, this film does not make it easy on the viewer and that is its downfall
takai writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 2:00:43 PM

@SeWerin I don't know. With Snyder, I enjoy the over use of slow motion. Not really sure why, but I do.

I did laugh at the potatoes though. That's where I draw the line; veggies falling in slow motion.
Shakazooloofoo writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 2:24:17 PM

This screenplay seemed like it was written by a fifth grader. Zack Snyder co-wrote it so...I was really hoping to like this and thought it looked like it could be good. I don't really like Snyder's last films. Maybe I was just thinking optimistically cause I want Superman to be good. But this was horrible. Just plain bad
Aznwonda writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 4:30:11 PM

The plot was sort of confusing and hard to follow but both the effects and the girls were visually appealing so i give it 3.5/5
Inception writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 5:24:43 PM

"I don't know why anyone expects a good story or character development. Anime almost never delivers in these departments."


"Almost never delivers?"

With all due respect, do you know what you're saying? Because last time I check those are anime's strong points aka departments. I can name you on-going series right now that are solid in those departments:

-One piece
-Black Lagoon
-Mobile suit Gundam Unicorn
-Hellsing Ultimate
-Fairy Tail

and those are the most famous one right now that pop right into my head, if you go and google you will find hundreds of more TV series, OVAs and movies that are very solid in those 2 departments. That's why few try hard to imitate anime but they fail hard in the end, because it's an art that can't be taken into the big screen as a live action film, very rare to see one pulling it off and succeed. Even the anime and manga adaptations fail when doing so, only the two "Death Note" films where very good.
Inception writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 5:29:38 PM

As for the film, well from what I had seen in the trailers I knew this was going to be bad but anyways gonna check it out online when available.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:41:02 PM

i agree with @Chewy 100%. you can't just rate a movie so that it fits what you think it should get. it has to be fair. To me it seemed obvious that this was going to be a sh*t movie from the start, so its bad reviews doesn't surprise me. I'm not saying you can't like the movie despite a bad plot, but if you are writing a review it has to be scored down for the film's bad points and scored up for it's good points.
Bunny X writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:44:08 PM

I saw it last night and yes, the story is an abomination to storytelling, but I lowered my expectations to practically nil considering this is his first screenplay and the trailer flat out gave the impression to bank on sequences rather than story. So I really enjoyed it.

@SAC, I have to agree with Inception regarding your Anime statement. But I do also agree with you. A lot of anime tries to over think itself and although they make an attempt at a deep twisty storyline, they sometimes talk themselves right out of it. But there are plenty of examples where the story is great. The dialouge? Well that's another story but the concept and storylines are usually on point.

I would love for Snyder to helm a live action version of an Anime. Let someone else adapt the story to the big screen with his hand in it since as was stated, he can adapt a story so damn well. But his visual style and sheer unhinged delivery would give me all types of faith in his name attached to a live action Anime movie.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:32:17 PM

This movie looks awful, all his film look the same and have that overuse of Slow motion action.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:57:06 PM

I wouldn't waste my time, Alex, asking Sucker Punch's audience what they thought. It's not a movie for thinking people. None of Snyder's films are in that category.

You're better off asking the dead what they think about the act of living.
TPrime21 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 11:05:46 PM

I for one enjoyed this movie a lot. The action scenes where just pure amazing. There are ways to do slo-mo and Snyder has it down perfectly. Its not too close and you can still see all the action, his slomo makes everything better. Of course i can see why people are slamming the story, but since when did we not want a movie where we all might have a different idea of exactly what was going on. The acting, visuals, and music were amazing not too mention how hot the chicks and costumes were. I would recommend this movie to any guy or any fan of action. It seems like half of the comments on this page are from people that havent seen the film and are reviewing it based off the trailers alone. Just my 2 cents.
takai writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 2:02:08 AM

I'm also with Inception on the anime statement. If you think that it doesn't deliver on story and character development, you've never watched a decent anime film or series.

Anime is levels above most of Hollywood when it comes to just about everything, but people refuse to give it credit since it's animated. What's funny about that, is the fact that a lot of live-action movies are also 'animated' with computer CG.

To dip back into the history of incredible stories and characters that anime holds, I'll site some more sources for you to refer to:

Cowboy Bebop

Mobile Suit Gundam Wing

Samurai Champloo

Ghost in the Shell

Samurai 7

Outlaw Star

Rurouni Kenshin


Grave of the Fireflies

Neon Genesis Evangelion

All of Miyazaki's films

The list goes on forever. Sure, there are about a million more anime that suck ass and just want to show bouncing boobs during the entire run time, but just like with live action, if you know where to look, you'll find incredible films.
takai writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 2:05:53 AM

I will say, that during the whole first fight sequence with the giant samurai, I was thinking to myself "This is exactly why Hollywood should never touch anime." In my opinion, that scene was Snyder's tribute to it, and while it was cool, it wasn't as good as it would have been, if it were animated. It will never be; there are just too many limitations. That's my opinion at least.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 10:38:47 AM

@Inception and others: I'll definitely agree with the examples of character and story development in anime you guys listed. However, most of these are series that are afforded the time to deliver in these department. Getting that from a 2 hour anime film is sometime a lot harder. I'll admit that I have been out of the anime game for a minute and am by no means an expert on the subject. Lets just say Sucker Punch rubbed me the same way most anime does. Its entertaining (at times), violent, and visually stimulating, but would almost be better viewed with the sound off because the story and the dialogue just don't really matter.
Detrimental writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 10:41:13 AM

Face Focus/People Missing the Importance of a Story that wasn't as hard to pick if you saw an outline of their plot
Helpful Hint:
See INCEPTION to understand where who's dream begins and the story ends. Only those with a lack of attention would miss out on understanding what was happening. This movie was meant to be simple, aimed at a gaming capital of audience who enjoy clever Guess Who's Crazy adventures.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 8:12:53 PM


so if i make a sh*tty film just so i can make a bad film it's actually good because it is what i set out to do?
takai writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 9:10:18 AM

@Sac - I'd say that's a more valid statement, for sure.
Orias writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 8:00:35 PM

The movie is only good if you are high, otherwise its like watching your friend play a cool video game, excellent visuals but without a plot to make sense of it you feel trapped watching someone else have fun and not feeling engaged with what's going on. I would say wait to video if you have not seen it and then get blazed. Seriously, the storyline is retarded and honestly feels contrived, a poor excuse to stage the 4 or 5 dream sequences of the battles in it threaded together with virtually now rational thought of plot. Why not just make 4 or 5 separate fantasy/Sci-Fi movies of each one of the scenarios? or even better make each one of his stories a separate but real adventure ala heavy metal? I just don't understand how you get from point A to point B in logic where you go from dancing sexually in a bordello to fighting giant Samurai Statues? it just makes you go "huh?" and "WTF!" when they brag how sexy her dance was when the cut back to 'reality.' I think each one of the combat sequences was a really cool dream Snyder had and kept in a dream journal by his bed stand then tried to come up with a lame storyline to piece them all into one storyline. Fail...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved