WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Natalie Portman Basically Didn't Dance in "Black Swan"

Posted: March 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Natalie Portman Basically DidnSubmit Comment
Natalie Portman's "Black Swan" dancing double Sarah Lane revealed that producers covered up the fact that Portman barely danced in the movie by claiming that 85% of the dancing was performed by the actress.

"Of the full body shots, I would say 5% are Natalie. All the other shots are me." said Lane, who is upset that she was credited as only "hand model" and "stunt double" in the film. "The shots that are just her face with arms, those shots are definitely Natalie. But that doesn't show the actual dancing."

She continued: "They wanted to create this idea in people's minds that Natalie was some kind of prodigy or so gifted in dance and really worked so hard to make herself a ballerina in a year and a half for the movie, basically because of the Oscar. It is demeaning to the profession. I've been doing this for 22 years. From a professional dancer's standpoint, [Portman] doesn't look like a professional ballet dancer at all and she can't dance in pointe shoes. And she can't move her body; she's very stiff."

In "The Social Network," Armie Hammer's face was digitally grafted onto Josh Pence's body to play the Winklevoss twins. Pence was credited as Tyler Winklevoss and not just a stunt double. Lane should have probably been treated the same. Unfortunately for her, the studio was in the middle of an Oscar campaign and it doesn't look good when lead actress relies so heavily on a dancing double.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 6:52:15 AM

Do I care....not really..so she can't dance..the movie is all about psychological drama anyway.
Rambo writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:39:47 AM

at least she masturbated...
telur writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:08:39 AM

life isn't fair, get used to it
AYT BALL writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:45:59 AM

Bitter much?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 8:46:20 AM

this girl needs to get over it. who cares if she didn't do the hard dancing? she still did the acting and that's what got her the oscar.
Megawhip writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:19:04 AM

She had some pretty good moves sitting on mila's tongue.
Grumblestyle writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:39:49 AM

Gangstas don't dance they boogie
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:43:46 AM

Sarah Lane call 1-800-wahhhhhhhhh!!
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 10:26:29 AM

Just as long as Natalie doesn't go around saying I'm not the father of her baby... then I'm ok.
OneTime writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 11:00:28 AM

im stiff too
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:34:30 PM

Wow Im shocked

I thought these multi-million dollar Hollywood actors worked Soooo much harder and have struggled more than us simpletons of the real world struggling to make ends meet.

Life is tough for these people, we all should really show these people more respect for their tough profession
-Chewy- writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:40:59 PM

I am happy she confirms what I already thought.

This whole 'a danced for a year' was simply oscar-bait.

Maybe I am biased, I usually hate people lying.
rabid writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:56:42 PM

WTF? Next thing you'll tell me Brandon Routh didn't really fly in Superman Returns With a Kid.
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 2:28:41 PM

Ahh... rabid... are you sitting down?

We have to talk...
his name is robert pulson writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 4:05:09 PM

Rambo, youre f*cking awesome, as for this article no sh*t. who cares..
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 5:44:13 PM

studios lying to promote themselves??? who woulda thought...
Kain writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 7:40:24 PM

f*ck it, the girl has a point. She did the hard yards and deserves the credit.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:35:31 PM

I would like to think that any awards given to Black Swan, on the basis of Portman's supposed dancing ability (none, or so we're now hearing) should be reevaluated.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 7:42:21 PM

This is just hit-whoring on WP's part. A non-story.

You could easily turn it around and say Natalie Portman did all the acting for this dancer. So stupid.
snoop writes:
on March 28th, 2011 at 7:17:58 AM

I agree with Dancing Girl. Natalie wouldn't be happy if Dancing Girl came out of nowhere and won an Oscar without many years of acting lessons, but Natalie is getting all this credit for dancing (that she didn't even do) when she only practiced for like 2 seconds.

TL;DR It is disrespectful to dancing.
br10131601 writes:
on March 29th, 2011 at 4:34:12 PM

Good job Ms. Lane. I hear that Hollywood is very forgiving and forgets quickly. You've just made sure that you never receive any other opportunities in film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved