WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Says He Made "Superman Returns" for "Devil Wears Prada" Audience

Posted: March 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Says He Made "Superman Returns" for "Devil Wears Prada" AudienceSubmit Comment
CBM recently had the chance to speak to Bryan Singer, who spoke about his "Superman Returns" film, including what he was trying to achieve and what he would change.

"I think that 'Superman Returns' was a bit nostalgic and romantic, and I don't think that was what people were expecting, especially in the summer," he explained. "What I had noticed is that there weren't a lot of women lining up to see a comic book movie, but they were going to line up to see 'The Devil Wears Prada,' which may have been something I wanted to address. And that's what I did."

Singer went on to say that if he had the chance to change something in "Superman Returns," he wouldn't change that much. "If I could go back, I would have tightened the first act," he said. "Maybe open with the plane or something."

But if he had the chance to start from scratch, it would be a completely different movie. "If I was going to do another one, it would be a reboot," said Singer. "I would go back and redo the original. It would be a much less romantic, more balls-to-the-wall action movie. It would be a very different pace than 'Superman Returns.'"

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 9:18:44 PM

Excuses,excuses but yours is worst than Johnstons.
This is more proof that chick flicks and the pop culture dominate American entertaintment.
Rambo writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 9:24:32 PM

too late you fag...snyder will make it bad ass...at least i hope so...
pikeman1 writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 9:44:13 PM

Superman Returns is terrible!
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 10:17:33 PM

He's defending his sh*tty take on the greatest superhero of all time, a film that failed to carry the franchise, band ecause of him it was forced into a reboot, and all he can say is, yes, I made my Superman movie for old women and young lesbians?
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 10:18:46 PM

band ecause of him = and because of him
irvsteroni writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 10:57:43 PM

Nostalgic and romantic? Please. It had nothing memorable and made Superman less of a super being. Even the airplane scene IMO should have been a piece of cake for him.

Superman II is still my favorite with big action sequences and battles. Give me a scene with say, Superman in North Korea, blowing up their nuclear reactors after which he's kicking and punching their fighter jets down as they attack, shells from tanks below bouncing off, missiles fired at him and he just slaps them aside, and then he lands and hundreds of troops shoot at him which he dispenses with ease. Or something like that...
bradjo72 writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 10:58:37 PM

Lets hope super throws A punch in the next one and not mope around as much
Ranger writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 11:20:49 PM

Look Singer... I like you. I like that you like comics. I like your efforts in the X-Men movies.

But I swear... if you EVER, EVER TOUCH Reeves / Mario Puzo's / Brando's first two movies... I'LL f*ckING SET YOUR PETS ON FIRE!!!!!!! That's sacred sh*t you presumptuous, pompous ass! Beside with all the legal sh*t revolving around the origin owned by family entities, you're blowing smoke up your boyfriends skirt aren't you?!

telur writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:02:39 AM

funny things, Bryan Singer made two x-men like he is god, and made superman returns as devil

he's gay anyway, no wonder he's good in x-men, minority rules
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:50:04 AM

Singer your excuses will not save you from the sodomy hell you will go when you die for making the sh*t movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:03:29 AM

There seems to be alot of this, people suddenly realising their movie was a piece of sh*t.

Funny how they don't do it when they are promoting it.

At least Eddie Murphy didn't promote "Pluto Nash" after realising what a giant turd it was.
Mister Leary writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:03:31 AM

too bad most girls didn't care for Superman Returns either. save your excuses. you made the movie you wanted to make and it sucked.
velocityknown writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:05:04 AM

Never saw it, but Singer's a good director. This one slip up definitely does not put me off any of this past or future films.
rocketman writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 3:15:38 AM

f*cking prick.Stick to sucking off blokes in toilets you f*cking shirtlifter.
markoz writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 4:23:45 AM

@Ranger
Amen to that,bro
johnny_boy writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 5:13:03 AM

No wonder a lot of homosexuals liked it instead of comic book fans.

Singer, after saying who you were aiming at with superman, I pray to god you never touch another comic book movie ever again. I tried to stay positive with you, but to drop the bomb that superman was aimed at "The Devil Wears Prada" fans, you son of a bitch hack!
boogiel writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 6:48:52 AM

"I think that 'Superman Returns' was a bit nostalgic and romantic, and I don't think that was what people were expecting, especially in the summer," he explained.

No sh*t.
japaninmotion writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 9:09:18 AM

gay
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 10:33:10 AM

@markoz - thank you.
rabid writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 11:28:03 AM

I'll be so glad once people finally get over the Donners' Superman films. They really aren't as timeless and flawless as people's memories of watching it are.
I'm hoping Snyder can wipe the slate clean with his new movie.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:16:52 PM

Yes Singer it was romantic

After watching your film I decided to stop being a football fan and instead Ive become a Lifetime channel fan

The kid thing was genius

If it wasnt for the kid scenes I would never have become a Superman fan

Way to go Singer please make another Superhero film

How about the Hulk
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:44:37 PM

@rabid - but Donner did add some class, and give comic superhero's their 'serious start' in Hollywood. HIS version was a great introduction of Superheros into mainstream. Comic heroes and science fiction have had a tough time on their hands from the studios historically... despite both genres having great (eventually) followings.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 12:58:39 PM

Ranger

I agree

For that era the visual effects of Donner's Superman were outstanding. Im almost certain it won an Oscar for visual effects that year.

The story was good unlike the majority of superhero films even today.

Even the soundtrack can hardly be matched for most films ever made by Hollywood
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:03:25 PM

Yep... John Williams is the man.

Nice to see that Singer didn't mess with that perfect piece and used it in 'Returns'
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 1:07:14 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9vrfEoc8_g
YoungChris writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 2:59:38 PM

I don't noe about y'all but I love Superman return...
KingAdash writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 3:48:33 PM

What a d*ck.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on March 26th, 2011 at 5:46:02 PM

ahhh and i thought he was just a sh*tty director... turns out he was TRYING to be sh*tty.
swoooop writes:
on March 27th, 2011 at 9:53:30 AM

Superman Returns wasnt that great, but what the f*ck is your problem with gay people? Are u all worried they gayify you? Or are u all driving trucks with a shootgun mounthed inn the rear mirror? Or are you simply affraid they the get you inn rear? Or are you all 13 years old, with no orginal thouhts of your own. Is it fun living inn the f*cking bibelbelt?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved