WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Helped Chris Hemsworth Get Cast in "Thor"

Posted: March 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Helped Chris Hemsworth Get Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Chris Hemsworth auditioned for the lead role in "Thor," but felt that he was not going to be cast. That's where Joss Whedon, the producer/writer of "Cabin in the Woods," stepped in and helped the actor eventually secure the role.

"Back when I was shooting 'Cabin in the Woods' there was the casting for 'Thor," said Hemsworth. "The process was ending and [Whedon] said 'Why aren't you involved in it,' and I said 'I was earlier, but I've been in and out of it.' And he said 'I'll give [director Kenneth Branagh] a call."

Whedon didn't know Branagh, but felt comfortable calling him and saying: "Look, for what it's worth, I've been working with Chris and he's a good bloke."

Hemsworth believes that Whedon's call gave him another chance. Now the two men are set to work together again in "The Avengers."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: CoventryTelegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 6:44:16 AM

Hardly noteworthy news but..whatever.
Bunny X writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 8:30:50 AM

Ehh so if it fails based on his performance, we'll know who to blame.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 9:22:14 AM

What a douchebag, Alexander Skargaard was the perfect guy for the job.
Ranger writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 11:11:08 AM

So they have since blown each other and everything is all gay now.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 11:58:50 AM

Great, so the guy that would've probably been far better, the one that can actually act, was kicked aside so Branagh could do a favor on the word of a guy he didn't even know?

And Branagh went along with this sh*t? I hope he hasn't made other bone-headed decisions with the film or it'll turn out a lot worse than I've imagined.

Trust your casting instincts, Kenneth, you dope, because Hemsworth cannot f*cking act! Dummy.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 12:26:14 PM

He's just a guy that looks like Thor with a dodgy half english/ half american accent. He makes the posters look all pretty mind you.
Ranger writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 1:00:48 PM

Better if the Portman portion of the posters were 'Scratch n' Sniff!'
blinkbomber writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 1:21:18 PM

i'm still on the Kevin McKidd side of things Thor related. I don't care about his age, he'd be way more suited than Hemsworth and Skarsgard combined.
batdump writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 1:22:11 PM

@mink might i say that i love your use of the words "bone-headed, dope, and dummy"
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 3:46:07 PM

I could've called him a reprobate, guttersnipe and a berk, but then what arrows from my quiver would I have left for Hemsworth? Craptacular coccydynia?
Zeroguy writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 10:39:38 PM

Nerds are f*cking retarded. Whedon is okay, but not worth c*mming over when he releases something *cough* Dollhouse *cough*
Yeah, Firefly and Serenity were good but they weren't amazing. If i had a choice to bring back dead tv shows i rather it be Pushing Daisies (irony!) or Twin Peaks.

As for his take on Avengers. It'll be decent. He can't do action but at least the dialogue will be bearable and push the story in the spotlight.
iceskateuphill writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 5:30:03 PM

enough about all this other stuff hemsworth is doing. let's see some red dawn trailers already!
Kain writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 9:12:30 PM

f*ck Skargaard, Thor should of been played by Vladimir Kulich (Buliwyf) from THE 13TH WARRIOR

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved