WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ed Harris is John McCain in "Game Change"

Posted: March 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ed Harris is John McCain in "Game Change"Submit Comment
Four-time Academy Award nominee Ed Harris has been cast as presidential candidate John McCain in HBO's upcoming film, "Game Change." He is joining Julianne Moore, who is already on board to play former Alaska governor Sarah Palin.

The movie focuses on the 2008 presidential election and follows John McCain's campaign from his selection of Palin as his running mate to their ultimate defeat in the general election. The goal is to chronicle Palin's burst into the national scene as a surprise vice presidential candidate.

Jay Roach (Meet the Parents) is directing "Game Change" from a script by Danny Strong, who penned Roach's "Recount," which examined the aftermath of the 2000 presidential election with a focus on the Florida recount.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 9:11:53 AM

Yeah, I can see the resemblance.
otis writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 10:08:46 AM

Just more propoganda from the Palin camp to push for a bid for next year's election.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 11:38:14 AM

^^Dunno where you get that, but neither HBO or Showtime are bastions of conservative/Republican attitudes, so you just know this is going to be just like that Reagan film, that W film, that d*ck Cheney series, basically a liberal left-wing wet dream hit piece aiming to take a historical character, render them into a caricature, and sit them in swamp of self-indicting indignity, as these character assassins always do.

When they do the FDR/JFK hit-piece, call me.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 12:25:06 PM

Ed Harris is a great actor either playing a villain or the good guy,and nominated four times and not winning does not sound good at all.He should of won an Oscar by now
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 1:25:06 PM

Mink I'm not sure that its even possible to portray a character like Palin in a positive light. I am interested in the story of McCain's selling out, he mustve been going nuts behind the scenes during that election, it'd be nice to see the face that no-one saw, the face of contempt he wore when he found out he was the gimmick vote with Palin, and how he had to work it out. As for conservative/liberal bias... its all bullsh*t. Partisanship is created to mask the fact that Washington, at this point, is rigged. I don't think you can reasonably just dismiss any story that paints someone in a reasonably negative light as a 'character assassination', its never either that or a propaganda piece, and HBO does well with treating characters fairly.
Oh yeah, and there was that JFK series that was banned from America for its supposedly negative portrayal. Had Katie Holmes in it. Never seen it, but its out there.
The story I'D love to see is the one about Iran hostage crisis, and the politics involved between Carter and Reagan there. Thats gotta be a good one.
Rambo writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 2:37:50 PM

priceless:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYN6t5xt0ps
otis writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 3:12:25 PM

I'm on board for watching this after Roach's Recount, which, for a political movie, seemed pretty reasonable with the digs on both sides.
My only point is that I would like to forget about Palin entirely but she keeps getting national attention with Bristol, her book, her reality show, etc.. Whether or not this film will paint her in a good or bad light is negligible (even though signs point to "pointed but fair". As they say- bad P.R. is still P.R.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 3:30:27 PM

Great. Just what I need. Another 23 year old kid who thinks he knows something.

"Mink I'm not sure that its even possible to portray a character like Palin in a positive light."

Because she's such a terrible human and you're such a great one, right? lol.

"I am interested in the story of McCain's selling out"

He sold out? Any more than any other politician that has to make compromises?

Yeah, like I like the RINO, but he's no worse than any of the other freelance degenerates that stalk the hallowed halls of Congress.

Especially the ones with a D after their names.

But no, you've never sold out either have you? You never did anything like hit that fat chick to just get laid or run up a credit card to buy that big screen tv you didn't need.

Yeah, not you. Not a sell-out ever. Right? lol.

"he mustve been going nuts behind the scenes during that election"

I doubt a guy that spent as much time as an MIA would 'go nuts', ever, and it's preposterus to think that some little kid like yourself has ever suffered more than the horror of a long line at Starbucks.

Ah the ignorant arrogance of youth. What a disease.

"it'd be nice to see the face that no-one saw"

Then...how could you or anyone else, ever see it, if no one saw it?

What an inordinately silly statement.

I'd like to see the dump Jesus Christ took that one day out behind Jerusalem, the one no one saw. Think that's possible? Perhaps I should ask HBO to do a series, just so I can see what no one saw.

"the face of contempt he wore when he found out he was the gimmick vote with Palin"

Actually, genius, Palin was added to the ticket to help McCain, not the other way around, and Palin struck a popular cord of fascination no one expected.

Really, do you spend all your time reading rags like Time and Newsweek and MSNBC, or do you actually ever pay attention to what's happening, because I get the impression your mind is full of cartoon-flavored nonsense on a noise-patterned background.

Bet you were one of those people that bought into the 'fire can't melt steel' garbage too.

"and how he had to work it out"

Work what out? She was added a few months before the voters hit the polls and then it was over. Not a lot of time to work much out, not when you're on the campaign trailer.

Do you know anything about the electeral system? Or, wait, I bet you're not even American.

"As for conservative/liberal bias... its all bullsh*t."


Actually, no, no it's not.

Various scientific studies conductd by non-partisan organizations have actually found a very clear liberal bent to the news, and even on the face of it, the idea that the media prepresents a 'balanced' opinion is absurd, considering that all the people involved in the media attended highly liberal schools run by highly liberal people, and even the very field of journalism itself is considered not just merely liberal in nature, but an area of liberal social activism. Fact.

But no, what you said is bullsh*t, but it wasn't much to begin with, so I really can't blame you.

"Partisanship is created to mask the fact that Washington"


Riiiiight, which is why Congress constantly engages in massive battles along party and idiological lines.

I mean, nobody in COngress has any personal beliefs, it's all just an act, a play, a...conspiracy! They're just drones, and not one of them believes in god, guns or even federal deficit spending.

Please, kid, go back to making love to your XBox.

"at this point, is rigged."

Which is strangely almost always the default position of anyone too lazy, and dare I say it, too ignorant, to look for the real answers, because reality is complex and finding the truth takes work, and who has time for that when they're playing Call of Duty and trying to get laid, but hey it sure does sound good when you take five seconds to regurgitate all that ignorant crap on a movie site to show everyone else how hip and cynical you are at the ripe old age of 23.

Bah!

"I don't think you can reasonably just dismiss any story that paints someone in a reasonably negative light as a 'character assassination'"

No, never! But you can sure dismiss the entire works of Congress as just a rigged orchestration instead, right? lol.

"its never either that or a propaganda piece"

Because propaganda doesn't exist in the United States, unless it's a 'lie' about a Democrat, and then it's not just mere propaganda, it's 'vast right wing conpiracy'.

"and HBO does well with treating characters fairly."

So sayeth the dude who doesn't believe Palin is anything but a monster in high-heels, and so sayeth the guy who probably never reads and wouldn't know the facts of correct history if they kicked him in the teeth.

"Oh yeah, and there was that JFK series that was banned from America for its supposedly negative portrayal."

Do you really ever hear the sh*t you say? It wasn't banned, it was skipped on by certain media people because they felt airing some of JFK's dirty little secrets with women et al wouldn't go well with the JFK-is-God crowd, which is like 70% of the American populace.

Banned? lol. Really, just hush dude.

"Had Katie Holmes in it."

And that would be the only reason an airhead like yourself would watch it, not because the mechanics of history is an enlightened pursuit, but because some dumb cute chick pops her head up now and then and that's the best you can do, but you somehow think you can tell me where the bear sh*ts in the buckwheat?

"Never seen it"

I'm sure you haven't, but you're an expert on how the media portrays it's own? lol.

"but its out there."

So is the truth, and you haven't located either.

"The story I'D love to see is the one about Iran hostage crisis"

Because reading just one of the five-hundred books on the subject is just too much work, right?

"and the politics involved between Carter and Reagan there"

Well, dunno if you know that, but Carter and Reagan weren't White House contemporaries, you know? Carter and Regan weren't scarfing up scones while doing the Batman and Robin thing inside the Oval Office bat cave.

No, Carter, the gutless weakling he was, f*cked it all up all on his own, doing the worst thing possible, and Reagan, like John Wayne, got them all home just by showing up in a smile.

But there wasn't a whole lot of politics there, because, you know, a bunch of American lives where on the line, and it wasn't like anyone was trying to pass the federal budget through the House, they were trying to keep people alive and bring them home.

But please, do attempt to impress us with your sophisticated and keen political awareness...

"Thats gotta be a good one."

Yeah, because the desperate story of America trying to save the lives of it's citizens always makes for entertaining popcorn-and-soda fodder.

Rambo writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 4:20:05 PM

^I think you just broke the record for longest post ever on WP
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 4:47:39 PM

Nah.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 5:29:05 PM

I don't get the Palin hate, TBH. I mean, she says she's not running for president and even if she did she doesn't have a chance in hell, and everyone knows this, so what's the big deal?

So she's whoring it out on TV, in books, becoming America's next unwanted celebtrity.

So what? Hasn't stopped the popularity and 'success' of people like Spears and The sh*tuation, and all the other 'celebs' that refuse to go away even though they've long passed expiration.

But to make Palin into some kind of monster when she's done nothing but vote Republican and transformed herself into an annoying media star, well, that's really no reason to demonize the lady, unless you have some sort of agenda going on, but no, that couldn't be the case either, huh?

Or maybe people have to hate on Palin as a way of deflecting and returning in kind the right-wing and centrist dislike of Obama.

Man, I tell, you, this country. If someone outlawed greed, f*cking, drugs and hating your fellow man, I think my countrymen would all committ suicide out of insurmountable boredom.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 8:04:23 PM

Now i want to f*ck Palin even harder.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 10:49:18 PM

Whoa dude, you need to chill and stop seeing bias where there is none. Here I go, explaining myself.

Palin, um, bitched out of office before her term was done to fend off indictment for misspending state funds. She was part of the republican 'gimmick' because she was OBVIOUSLY put in place to pander to disspirited Clinton-loving dems and independents. The problem was she was such a ditz and so incompetent that she actually fended off more intelligent conservative voters who were wary of handing possibly the presidency (what with McCain's old age) to a barely-above-average soccer (oops, hockey) mom. Democrats had their gimmick (intelligent black guy!) too, don't doubt that, and clearly it was a better one. Also, I am perfectly open to judgement, I don't give a f*ck, but I'm also not running for president, so I don't need to be perfect. Palin is an idiot who spends her time at lonely book signings and heckling the first lady. If she were a part of any other party she'd have fallen from the media spotlight AGES ago.

Also, ALL politicians sell out, ain't you seen the Wire nigga? Christ, look at Obama. Selling out is part of the job. I just think it would be funny to see the gears working in McCain's head as he sees his contention in the race decided by a roll of dice. In an interview last year WITH FOX NEWS I saw McCain list off his favorite republican politicians and he left Palin off. Even HE doesn't respect her.

The reason partisanship is bullsh*t is because EVERY f*ckING VOTE comes down to party lines, with all but a small fraction of the nay party crossing the aisle to reach majority. No votes are taken without the outcome generally known beforehand, after lobbyists and committees have helped to whittle out any partisan deal-breakers. Everyone votes along party lines to serve the party and serve themselves for sticking by the party. Anything like that, the health care bill, the wealth-tax can be sensationalized and turned into a warring of the parties in the media. Its ridiculous. A governing entity split into two heckling factions is not what America needs to recover its social standing in the world. America is 25th in the world in math scores. How is that acceptable?

Had Katy Holmes in it' was the only thing I remembered about it it. That is all. Take it easy.

"Various scientific studies conductd by non-partisan organizations have actually found a very clear liberal bent to the news, and even on the face of it, the idea that the media prepresents a 'balanced' opinion is absurd, considering that all the people involved in the media attended highly liberal schools run by highly liberal people, and even the very field of journalism itself is considered not just merely liberal in nature, but an area of liberal social activism. Fact."

So are conservative media pundits more independent?!? Middle of the road?!?! Last I checked the most popular radio pundits were generally Republican, I don't think its a stretch to call that whole paragraph horsesh*t. You sound more paranoid than the 9/11 truthers you mock. Or wait, I guess its just human sh*t, because you were clearly talking out of your ass. Oh wait, semantics police, I meant you were 'spewing verbal diarrhea', don't want you to yell at me about how you can't talk sh*t. Or wait, can you? I don't know man, I need some of your clear-headedness, your chrystal-clear prose to set me straight.

Anyways, no, I do not read Newsweek etc, I gather my opinion from a multitude of sources, none of whom I wholly trust. I frankly can't care enough to argue this whole thing out, its just too much, and its stupid and a waste of both of our time. Also last I checked, Palin, McCain, Reagan, Rumsfeld, Bush, etc. all have all the help they need with their book deals and lecture tours and corporate gifts, they don't need you to protect them like they're your children (children only a mother could love :( ). And for christs sakes, YES, I KNOW CLINTON HAS MONEY FROM LECTURES AND GORE HAS MONEY FROM HIS CARBON-CREDIT CONSULTING FIRM AND DOc*mENTARIES. As far as Im concerned they're all lizards from an alternate dimension and I'm sick of their bullsh*t. Set your trip-wires somewhere else man, I come in peace.
otis writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 1:23:53 AM

At least you can always count on a US politics movie thread to bring out political opinionated hate and backwash. That's one of the few things I can count on nowadays.
telur writes:
on March 25th, 2011 at 5:08:42 AM

Tina Fey should play Sarah Palin

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved