WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Pattinson and Justin Timberlake in Talks for "Akira"

Posted: March 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Pattinson and Justin Timberlake in Talks for "Akira"Submit Comment
We've been hearing about Warner Bros' live-action adaptation of "Akira" for a while, with such people as Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, James Franco, Zac Efron and Morgan Freeman rumored to star.

Now comes word that the studio is planning to begin filming in August with director Albert Hughes (The Book of Eli) at the helm. Steve Kloves (Harry Potter, The Amazing Spider-Man) recently did a re-write of the script that has everyone excited.

Warner has also put together a short list of actors and has sent them the script. For the role of Tetsuo, the studio wants Robert Pattinson (Twilight), Andrew Garfield (The Social Network) and James McAvoy (Wanted). For the role of Kaneda, the studio wants Garrett Hedlund (Tron Legacy), Michael Fassbender (Inglourious Basterds), Chris Pine (Star Trek), Justin Timberlake (The Social Network) and Joaquin Phoenix (Gladiator).

Question: Out of the actors listed, who would you choose for the two leads?

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:18:05 AM

Haahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahaahahaha
What a joke there is nothing else to be said
filmaddict24 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:03:54 AM

Andrew Garfield as Tetsuo wouldn't be that bad actually. The list of actors for Kaneda however, is atrocious. I still want Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Tetsuo though.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:12:45 AM

this film should be made with Japanese Actors its about JAPAN!! it will be an embarrassment if they go ahead like this and what will they do with the trippy ending ?!

I'm sensing a Battlefield Earth vibe!!!
Sev writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:14:14 AM

"I still want Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Tetsuo though"

Agreed!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:45:00 AM

Good grief!

Has Warner Bros completely lost it? Agreed, out of that shortlist, Andrew Garfield is the best option. And the shortlist for Kaneda? WTF? And Joaquin Phoenix was really out of the blue.

And I thought that both the Hughes' would work on this, but it's only ALbert then?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:58:17 AM

WTF is Akira, if it is Japanese Anime, it won't interest me at all
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:09:52 AM

I don't see why they would want to remake this film as live action... ballbags
Farradin writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:46:32 AM

They are all way too old, and I personally think the characters age does play into the story somewhat so they didn't think this through.

If they do go older JGL would make the best Tetsuo and Chris Pine would make an interesting pair.
Jedimax writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:22:46 AM

I mean I would go Garfield and Fassbender but thats a terrible short list.
Syman404 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:52:26 AM

I still want James Franco as Tetsuo. And out of those lists, I'd prefer Garrett Hedlund for Kaneda.
Bunny X writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 9:04:38 AM

Please don't make this.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 9:24:53 AM

@bandolero999:

Dude are you clicking on the refresh button every 10 ms? you re like the first person to comment on almost every post in the last time. And mysteriously those where you weren't first you didnst post a comment at all...

just saying.. weird pattern here^^
mrstretch writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 9:42:02 AM

Never saw akira but with albert hughes attached I'm somewhat excited.
beepboop writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 10:15:32 AM

"Asians starring in a hollywood film? Over my dead body!" - every hollywood producer ever
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 10:18:36 AM

Anton Yelchin should be Tetsuo and Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Kaneda.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 11:53:45 AM

1. Shouldn't be made.

2. Shouldn't have a bunch of white *ssholes playing the Asian roles.

3. Will suck worse than that Chun Li movie no one watched.
rocketman writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:09:51 PM

Get some teen Japanese actors and dub it in Engrish,don't cast Westerners of northern European ancestry please(i know i'm racist against my own, sue me)if you must at least cast westerners of Japanese or Korean origin,get that Rain guy from that recent Ninja flick,f*ck there are loads of folk who could do this.
Bunny X writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:44:15 PM

In defense of the anglo saxon casting, apparently the setting will take place in New York. but again. Do not make this.

@Mink, shhhh don't remind people. I think we've all collectively erased that film from our memories.

oh and yeah.....don't make this film.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:45:40 PM

this movie will be as entertaining as the next daredevil movie and Spidey movie.

Nope i just work graveyard shift and the new post are usually up at that time
secondbest writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:55:41 PM

Why are they sending some of the scripts to people so old? But from that list, I'd choose Garfield and Hedlund.
rocketman writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 1:22:08 PM

@Bunny,Ahh didn't know that,still...should be Japanese and or unmade.
jdl107 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 1:37:36 PM

@Kirk: Nice. Anton Yelchin would be good... that is because we have to settle for the white-washed Akira now.

Anton for Tetsuo, and Andrew Gafield for Kaneda.

Seriously, Andrew for Tetsuo? These people don't know what the f*ck they're doing.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 3:17:59 PM

Sooooo, let me get this right. Their making (and I use that world loosely) a film (again, loosely), based in New York, featuring a bunch of over-rated white *ssholes, and titling it Akira? LMAO!

Beause some effeminate metrosexual like Garfield looks like an 'Akira'.

Holy f*ck, what a bunch of total f*cking morons. Leave the film alone, you greedy raiders and destroyers of foreign culture!
Zeroguy writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 4:45:00 PM

Fassbender, McAvoy, Garfield, and Pine are the only ones i'm cool with. The others can f*ck off. And hopefully this director (and his equally bad brother) get lost in the Bermuda Triangle and someone else can replace them and actually live up to Akira justice.
heelswin writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:14:16 PM

Knock it off with the Justin Timberlake rumors for movies. I'm not paying to see him in any movie.
jdl107 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:27:30 PM

No, Garfield doesn't look like an "Akira", he looks like a "Kaneda" though. Or the westernized version of a "Kaneda".

But anywho, yeah I'm gonna have to agree with the person that says the Hughes Bros suck. They really do. I wouldn't have minded the "Blinky" guy though, that short flick was impressive... Although I didn't really care for Silent City.
irvsteroni writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:37:37 PM

Wow. Ridiculous. Please don't ruin a great movie and just let it be enjoyed by generations to come. The movie also had young versions of Kaneda and Tetsuo which were a big part of the story background if I remember right. This just doesn't work as a live action movie.

I remember seeing a few other anime movies around that time...anyone remember Vampire Hunter D or Dagger of Kamui?
Inception writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:49:55 PM

What's next you f*cking sons of bitches? Ghost in the Shell starring Angelina Jolie as Major Kusanagi? f*ck you Hollywood, every f*cking person supporting this film and those overrated actors. Leave anime to the Japanese, you don't see a Japanese remaking of "The Godfather" or "Citizen Kane" in Anime.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:39:05 PM

no one here has mentioned WHY using a bunch of whiteys for a japanese remake would be retarded- the original film is SET IN NEO-TOKYO. WHAT THE f*ck WOULD ROBERT PATTINSON BE DOING IN NEO-TOYKO. unless, of course, they decide to set it in Neo-LA. Or Neo-New York. maybe Neo-Detroit. anyway, moving the movie away from japan is just stupid for starters... but that leads to a whole lot more stupidity...
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:41:35 PM

Bunny already mentioned that the film is to be set in New York, Mustard.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:42:23 PM

This movie is gonna be terrible. I honestly don't think you could even make an "Akira" live action moive. The Anime is good but nothing compared to the manga and that's only because the manga is 6 volumes long. All these people are way too old. They are supposed to be a highschool street gang. It's part of their character and how they all come together to stop Tetsuo and
rebuild their nation. This is just gonna be like dragonball evolution.. I'm pissed.. Not to mention most people aren't even going to understand the ending because kids now a days don't like to think for themselves they just like someone to tell them what happened.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:47:57 PM

we gotta face the facts if there's a great asian film or Anime film. 99% of the time Hollywood is gonna f*ck it up with a bunch of White *ssholes playing the part. Cant wait, when they do a remake of Chan-Wook Park's Vengeance Trilogy, good old Hollywood knows how to f*ck sh*t up.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 6:53:42 PM

"Bunny already mentioned that the film is to be set in New York, Mustard."

Hey, maybe they'll just go full retard and set Akira in New New York as a terrible Futuram tie-in.

Anywho, I've got a five-spot bet that the next batch of news is more comic book sh*t, more del Toro flubbing a project and more lame ass piece of sh*t remakes like this *sshole.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:38:00 PM

well the Japanese made an Anime version of Highlander if anyone's ever seen it.It is way better than the movies and thats very sad
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:40:08 PM

No bet Mink

Thats all we seem to get lately

I'm just looking forward to the Indian Dubbed Thor Trailer
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:51:37 PM

What? You can't wait for the Bollywood Thor remake, trailer?
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:59:23 PM

Really they are making that ....

I wont believe it until i see it on WP
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:03:28 PM

Yep, and in the remake Aishwarya Rai plays Jane Foster.

Anyone seen the new Thor poster?

http://tinyurl.com/thorposter

can't recall seeing it on here. Looks better than the other gayness for sure.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:04:54 PM

Branegh claim Thor is like Shakespeare:

http://www.realbollywood.com/news/2010/10/thor-shakespearean-play-director.html

...old news, but really, what the f*ck is he smoking?
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:09:14 PM

^^That does explain the Thor poster with all the stupid faces, the one we all agreed looked like donkey sh*t stirred with a hip-high heaping of monkey spunk.
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:15:57 PM

What ever it is let's hope the staff at WP get on and quick ...

And i just see a young Kenneth Branagh reading Thor comics at Eton or where ever he went to school.

trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:16:53 PM

**Can't see
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:19:06 PM

Fresh news Alex, and gives us something good you bloody geat!
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:46:57 PM

ALL TOO OLD...that is all
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 10:46:35 PM

You guys have pointed out more poinant problems with this Hollywood nightmarish piece of elephant sh*t than I could ever riff off the top of my mind.

This is a very, very, very bad f*cking idea, period.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2011 at 12:33:23 AM

Question: Out of the actors listed, who would you choose for the two leads?


How about Asian ones?
elrei writes:
on March 23rd, 2011 at 9:24:52 PM

NONE! f*ck this!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved