WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Reeves Says "Cloverfield 2" Will Happen

Posted: March 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Reeves Says "Cloverfield 2" Will HappenSubmit Comment
JJ Abrams and director Matt Reeves have been talking about a sequel to "Cloverfield" ever since the first installment hit theaters back in 2008. Now in a recent interview, Reeves confirmed that "Cloverfield 2" will happen.

"You are going to see it – we just don't know when," he said. "At the moment we are talking about the story quite a lot. Drew Goddard, who wrote the original, is going to pen the sequel and JJ Abrams is very much involved. However, the three of us have been so busy that getting the right idea together has been taking a long time."

Reeves was then asked if the sequel will be in the same format. He replied: "That's a difficult part: we want it to be shot like the first but how can you continue that idea successfully for a second time? We have a lot of affection for the original and the sequel can't just be the same thing. But that is tricky when you need to have a monster destroying stuff once again."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mrstretch writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:13:54 PM

I really hope they pull this off. I loved cloverfield unlike most people I know.
lebowski writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:14:22 PM

didnt really like cloverfield.i dont really like all this blair witch direction movies.if the second one is not directed with a shaky camera ill watch it
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:20:57 PM

I enjoyed the first, but look, the second will look like the first (shaking camera thing is getting highly annoying. Can't wait for Tony Scott's first 3D film. Barf bags come with the popcorn) and already Reeves is getting typecast as the guy with nothing to do but make the same monster film over and over.

"We have a lot of affection for the original and the sequel can't just be the same thing. But that is tricky when you need to have a monster destroying stuff once again."

Translation: we want to do something different, but we want to do the same thing, and our meager minds can't resolve the 'paradox'.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:39:00 PM

Love to see some loose end finally tied up.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 11:18:18 PM

Too much viral marketing ruined this movie. It seemed like it was going to be like Lost. Connected stories and epic in this massive scope. Instead it was a first person disaster. Too much shaky cam, annoying characters and not enough development.
But i don like Reeves. The guy seems like he's trying his best to make good movies. Let Me In is proof the guy knows how to handle movies. I loved the swedish version, but his version was just as good.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 11:19:50 PM

As for sequel, i could care less. What more can you say about a giant monster destroying nyc.
Man in Black writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 11:25:20 PM

Finish off the story , make it good . Liked the first one , didnt like the shaky cam to much got old fast .
boogiel writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:17:51 AM

I'm getting sick and have to take dramamine from watching the first movie. There's no way in hell I'm gonna watch the sequel.
Mister Leary writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:36:23 AM

just shoot it all from the monster's perspective like Wolfen. That'll be shaky as sh*t and different i guess. Yeah, I said it........Wolfen.
Rambo writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 2:31:58 AM

first one was great.looking forward to a sequel...
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 4:09:36 AM

In liked the first Cloverfield.

If they want more Shaky cam then don't look any further than Jonathan Liebesman, my head is still spinning from watching Battle Los Angeles on sunday.

That guy made Greengrass look positively steady eddie.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 5:11:23 AM

A second one would be cool. Why not. Maybe have some light shed on the origins of the monster. Still, I can't help but feel Super 8 will possibly have the Cloverfield monster in it. Would make sense since it's from the same company and takes place in the 50's and in a small town(making it easy for a cover up)
Blank x25 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:39:29 AM

@ Mister Leary

"Wolfen". Touché.

I haven't seen that in YEARS, but I do think I saw it was added to the Instant Queue on Netflix.
Bunny X writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 9:03:16 AM

The Adult film Cleavagefield was better than Cloverfield.
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 11:01:24 AM

It was more up lifting i beat bunny
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 11:01:57 AM

Beat= Bet
Bunny X writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:45:19 PM

Lmao @Trailer, I beat.... Freudian slip indeed!!

Crazyhorse writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 7:29:01 PM

Im convinced the movie was good but the stupid camera shaking did me in.

I dont care for movies that make me fill like Im in the back seat of some monster truck jumping cars while watching a movie
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 8:08:23 PM

crazy -

stay away from Battle LA then it's like watching a film while rolling down a hill in a barrel for 120 minutes

Bunny - LOL !!! Sure was :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2011 at 12:05:23 AM

I liked "Cloverfield" and love to see a sequel, but as they say, got to get the right story.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 4:19:31 PM

@minkowski "and already Reeves is getting typecast as the guy with nothing to do but make the same monster film over and over."

Matt Reeves has only made 1 monster movie. OK, 2 if you include transexual vampires. (I haven't actually seen Let Me In but I presume it's got the same sick transexual twist as Let The Right One In?)
The Ascender 07 writes:
on March 24th, 2011 at 5:05:59 PM

Cloverfield 2: Film it in the style of a doc*mentary featuring amateur footage from people throughout New York who survived (or didn't)the clover monster attack. Feature interviews of survivors in between shots. That way you could easily bring back Lily Ford (Jessica Lucas) who escaped on a helicopter and was never seen again for the rest of the movie.

District 9 pulled off a similar concept at the beginning of the film, only we wouldn't switch to a cinema style film halfway through.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved