WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Watch Full "Blinky" Short Film About a Creepy Robot

Posted: March 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Watch Full "Blinky" Short Film About a Creepy RobotSubmit Comment
We previously showed you a teaser trailer for a creepy short film called "Blinky," which is directed by Irish filmmaker Ruairi Robinson. Today, we have the full 13-minute short and you can check it out below.

The story revolves around boy who gets a robot helper as a present. The robot cleans, cooks and can be your best friend. But when the boy gets frustrated with the robot, his best friend begins to malfunction.

Robinson is best known for "The Silent City" post-apocalyptic short, which stars Cillian Murphy. He was also in talks with Warner Bros' to direct the studio's "Akira" film.

Short Film:


Source: Vimeo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sev writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 6:00:14 AM

Very cool! The quality of short films are right up there with features these days. Really impressive :)
masht7 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 6:58:58 AM

That last three or so minutes was f*cked up. Its like a robotic Chucky. Interesting, but still somewhat reminds me of '2001: A Space Odyssey'.
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 7:22:40 AM

AWESOME!!
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 7:22:43 AM

AWESOME!!
Chewbacca writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:39:22 AM

Creepy stuff. And the length was perfect. The ending gave me the chills, something horror movies rarely do these days. 8/10
KindredMac writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:42:58 AM

wow.... I love that he "recycled" the snot kid!
That short was much better than most feature length movies over the last decade! Reminded me of that Fox show from a few summers ago with the amateur film makers that had a week to make a movie and were kicked off a la American Idol style. I wish that show came back!
KindredMac writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:44:18 AM

BTW... it was called ON THE LOT.
The best one was the COPS spoof about a UFO on New Years Eve.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:01:16 AM

Nice twist. I thought he were going to kill the parents, proved me wrong. That kid is really good at playing an annoying little brat. He's so good that I hope I will never see him again.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:31:21 AM

LoL. That's creepy.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:34:41 AM

Very cool, mmmmm meat balls
shanesleeping writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:56:23 AM

the spoilt bastard got what he deserved, hope a big budget versions being made..
secondbest writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 11:06:44 AM

That was so awesome. The kid was a douchebag and deserved what he got.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 12:14:32 PM

I know this will sound weird but does anyone else think the kid did it to himself? And if so, does anyone think all spoiled kids should be shown this? If I saw this as a kid I'd be frikkin' grateful for the things I have after watching this. Great short film, terrifying conclusion, and I may never look at Wall-E the same way again. LOL
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 1:54:04 PM

Interesting. I have one question: Why did the cop walk past the robot? Since Blinky was the one who killed the kid, wouldn't the cop end up taking the robot away?
Phil writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 2:19:46 PM

The kid was asking for it
thegambit72 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 3:46:26 PM

totally creepy and i loved every minute of it. and completely agree with the rest of you, that kid was a little S*** and got what he deserved. was rooting for the robot 100%
FilmcriticPHD writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 6:35:49 PM

Poorly executed with one of the most original ideas Ive seen in the past few decades. Give those people some more money for Production value and I bet they make a good movie. Simply put 3/4 stars, personal take - f*cking loved it.
FilmcriticPHD writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 6:37:56 PM

Agreed Gambit, we need a movie where we hate our race and are rooting for AI
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 7:29:14 PM

That was totally f*cked up and technically well done (VRay to the rescue!), but I hate to see people happily rooting for the 'terminator' out of obvious self-loathing.

Not only that, but like a robot could commit murder if it wasn't specifically programmed to do so....lol.

"Agreed Gambit, we need a movie where we hate our race and are rooting for AI"

I hope that's sarcasm, because your apparent existential nihilism troubles even me.

If you had not noticed, misanthropism and detachment from our fellow humans is on the rise and probably at an all time high, so films like this are likely to increase in the future, and as people grow more desensitized and anti-social, expect worse.

And people think global warming is the real threat the the future, when instead it's the normalization of sociopathology. lol.

"The kid was asking for it"

Because everyone who annoys us should die. What an empty world we'd live in...
Dirt writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 8:24:46 PM

FilmcriticPHD - one of the most original ideas Ive seen in the past few decades

Where exactly have you been in the past few decades? This reeked of 'I, Robot' mixed with those crappy Furby dolls.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 8:30:08 PM

That was well done. Superb effects and acting and story on a small scale. And Max Records is proving he is going to be an amazing actor in the future.
And i think this director/writer should be the guy doing the live action Akira. f*ck those Hughes bro guys.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 8:38:27 PM

"This reeked of 'I, Robot' "

True, actually, because they both used that whole high-polished blinn geometry sh*t coupled with HDRI, a technique that was vogue like five years ago and everyone was rushing to include it in their portfolios.

Also, the highly-stylized robot looked patently fake IMO, and didn't mesh well with the realistic surroundings, and whoever did the design should go back to whatever art school he graduated from and ask for a refund.

Still, interesting idea, but nothing grounbreaking. I think what sells the entire little film is the mood, the nuance and the ambience. The little things that add up to something special, even if overall the film isn't either original or visually arresting.
FilmcriticPHD writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:33:48 PM

makes no difference what the robot looked like, it was the idea of a movie where you root for the robot instead of us or the people Also, this is an original idea, I, Robot was with an older man with a completely different storyline. Children, Robot, Befriending, and Death. Original to me.
Jamall316 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 9:39:49 AM

You like your meatballs?
FilmcriticPHD writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 4:46:08 PM

Cool, I have no idea because i don't watch children's shows.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 10:20:12 PM

Maybe it's just me, but the scariest part of the movie was not the blood or that he killed the kid and cooked him into meatballs, but the fact that after he explained it to the parents he asked, "Did I do good?"

That sent shivers down my spine.
lizdavis03 writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 10:44:03 PM

Please tell me in what Universe we live in where the dismembering of a child and serving it as dinner to his or her parents is entertaining??!!! Does no one else see a problem here??!! What an epic beginning to have it crumble with such a demoralizing twist. Pathetic.
Chewbacca writes:
on March 23rd, 2011 at 12:35:31 AM

The only thing "pathetic" is that people are defending the robot. Sure its not its fault because technically it was commanded to do so. But I completely agree with Mink, people on this board have some odd hatred towards humanity. The kid didn't deserve to die. He was angry and upset that his parents were constantly fighting. And expressed some of his anger by taking it out on the robot (which to him wasn't human) so therefore he thought it was acceptable. Just like how we get pissed off at our computers even though it can only process our commands. And can someone tell me how he acted like a "douchebag," and if he did to what extent did he deserve to be murdered?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved