WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Started Filming, See First Official Set Photos

Posted: March 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Started Filming, See First Official Set PhotosSubmit Comment
New Line Cinema and MGM have announced that Peter Jackson has started filming "The Hobbit" prequels in Wellington, New Zealand. In addition, Jackson has provided two shots of himself on the set of the new movies. Check them out below.

The two "Hobbit" films, with screenplays by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Guillermo del Toro and Peter Jackson, will be shot consecutively in digital 3D using the latest camera and stereo technology.

"The Hobbit" follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor, which was long ago conquered by the dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakensheild. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Giant Spiders, Shapeshifters and Sorcerers.

Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever ... Gollum.

Here, alone with Gollum, on the shores of an underground lake, the unassuming Bilbo Baggins not only discovers depths of guile and courage that surprise even him, he also gains possession of Gollum's "precious" ring that holds unexpected and useful qualities ... A simple, gold ring that is tied to the fate of all Middle-earth in ways Bilbo cannot begin to know.

Cast includes:

* Martin Freeman - Bilbo Baggins
* Ian McKellen - Gandalf the Grey
* Richard Armitage - Thorin Oakenshield
* Ken Stott - Balin
* Graham McTavish - Dwalin
* William Kircher - Bifur
* James Nesbitt - Bofur
* Stephen Hunter - Bombur
* Rob Kazinsky - Fili
* Aidan Turner - Kili
* Peter Hambleton - Gloin
* John Callen - Oin
* Jed Brophy - Nori
* Mark Hadlow - Dori
* Adam Brown - Ori
* Cate Blanchett - Galadriel
* Andy Serkis - Gollum
* Elijah Wood - Frodo
* Jeffrey Thomas - Thror
* Mike Mizrahi - Thrain

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Facebook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 10:50:57 PM

So what was the point of peter jackson modeling in front of its hobbit set?to make the nerds crazy?
Philip J Cook writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 10:54:28 PM

he made me crazy, finally it has started, a holy day for all fans and movie lovers, in looking forward to this GOOD LUCK PETER
Inception writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 11:04:01 PM

Thanks but no thanks, no need to see more after the first trilogy.
shamusot00le writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 11:10:07 PM

Gotta say though, he's lost a tonne of weight since he did the LOTR trilogy
Ryanlawson writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 11:39:11 PM

so it begins... this. will be amazing, peter jackson directing gives me comfort that it will live upto the epic that was the lotr movies.
otis writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 12:13:11 AM

Wait- it's in 3D? WHY. The other ones were fine without it, so why fix something that aint broken?
boogiel writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 12:46:46 AM

He looks fit in that hobbit house.
billofill writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 12:47:59 AM

OTis the tech wasnt there when they filmed em. Other wise i'll assure you they would of been. Jackson was even talking of Converting the Trilogy into 3D at a later date the same day Lucas announced that sh*t a good 4 years ago. So in Closing Yes Virginia, Peter is just as stubborn as Mr Lucas.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 1:06:58 AM

3d is the new trend these days

the lord of the rings franchise doesnt do it for me and i play a lot of rpgs and I have a lot of swordplay movies from china.Lord of the rings franchise and harry potter are perfect for putting me to sleep
Dirt writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 1:44:20 AM

This movie needs some hairy Hobbit foot jobs and some titties.

The cast looks like a gay gang bang, only female cast is Cate Blanchett? She has a head like a deep sea trout, I'd still let her lips wrap around my shaft.
Rambo writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 2:20:33 AM

Lord of the Rings in 5 seconds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxuZuXPouqM
rocketman writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 2:27:59 AM

A welcome sight first thing on a Monday morn.
telur writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 2:54:18 AM

how come you became that skinny peter?
Valerie writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:16:05 AM

Woah i had NO idea he has lost so much weight, sort of strange to see him this skinny.

But this is fantastic news, they are finally getting this movie off the ground!
zyban03 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 9:49:08 AM

Can't wait. He is the only one that should direct this film. Glad to see it's moving along.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:24:09 AM

I'll be nice on this one, pal. You set me up for a homerun, but I'll be nice. Just this once.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:33:53 AM

Note to self: Don't call other people nerds immediately proceeding myself admitting to playing RPGs, as not to appear to more of a hypocrite.


LoL. Like shootin' fish in a barrel.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 10:59:15 AM

Where is Mikael Persbrandt's name?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 11:28:46 AM

Peter Jacksons been on the marching powder, he eats cocaine for breakfast off Liv Tylers flat face!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 3:02:57 PM

That was a bit of a disappointment but as long as this movie is FINALLY getting made, I don't care.

The Hobbit was my favorite of these book and I'm sure that PJ will do right by it. I just might have to pick up the book again for a refresher before seeing this movie.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 4:41:05 PM

So Sylvester McCoy is in as Radagast. It's now rumored that David Tennant is in as the Elven King. Now all we need is Tom Baker as scarf-bedecked hobbit and we'll be all set.
trailertrash writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 5:14:41 PM

^ You Can't leave out Peter Davison from this.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 7:49:19 PM

Now, if Jackson would just get that haircut I suggested back like two years ago (he already took my advice and lost the weight) he'd be perfectly fine, a respectable human being.

And I'll never understand the LOTRs appeal. It's like women and shoes. Makes absolutely no sense to me.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 22nd, 2011 at 12:12:26 AM

when did he lose so much weight?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved