WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Officially Joins "The Dark Knight Rises"

Posted: March 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joseph Gordon-Levitt Officially Joins "The Dark Knight Rises"Submit Comment
After weeks of negotiations, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has officially signed on for "The Dark Knight Rises," re-teaming with "Inception" director Christopher Nolan.

While his role is being kept a secret, there have been rumors that he may play Robin or Deadshot, who is a member of the villainous League of Shadows. Meanwhile, Juno Temple (Year One) is in talks to also join the cast and is being eyed for a supporting role as a street-smart Gotham girl.

Nolan is planning to get the cameras rolling in May in order to have the film ready for a July 20th, 2012 release. The rest of the cast includes Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, Tom Hardy and Anne Hathaway.

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 6:43:49 AM

If he's Deadshot, I would be so happy. Ever since a third movie was announced, I've been wanting Deadshot for a villain. My top choice then was Ben Foster, but JGL will do just as fine.
rocketman writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 7:01:50 AM

I hope they have the balls to go with the original plan for the Joker to be in prt3 and replace Ledger with JGL.Won't happen but i would be cool with him being Joker.
boogiel writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 7:02:34 AM

Agree. Moreover, I hope they don't go overboard with a ton of characters, the roster is already looking heavily packed.
FilmcriticPHD writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 8:38:06 AM

This man is about to be a household name, even though he already is, the BADASS in him will outshine probably even Heath Ledger, too bad he culdnt just have taken over as the Joker. Heath and JGL look a lot alike, how intresting wouldve that been
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 8:41:35 AM

This kid is f*cking gay he looks more of a replacement of heath ledger to broke back mountain sequel with jake.
Deadbolt writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 9:31:54 AM

I love Nolan and all but I think he might be a bit over his head throwing in too many characters in this...
Valerie writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 9:32:06 AM

I think he is a decent actor, and deserves a chance, he could make it work!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 9:38:45 AM

Thats cool, still love to see what the full story is.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 9:59:37 AM

@bandolero999 - You ever notice how nobody ever agrees with you? You wouldnt know "quality" if it pissed on your shoe.

And please, by all means, unleash that inner-sophomore in you that's gonna call me gay and talk about my mother or something. It's all you ever do on here anyway.

But at least this time you spelled everything right. For once. So, well done there I guess.
Kill-the-director writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 10:25:06 AM

juno temple as a street wise gotham girl?

new batgirl maybe?
on March 19th, 2011 at 10:33:39 AM

I see this "street-wise" girl maybe being Batgirl. The only batman copycat that can whoop an ass or two. Fingers crossed, JGL is Deadshot...no robin, please...or even nightwing for that matter even though I could see him actually being nightwing/robin...
redbluedevil writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 10:39:13 AM

I dunno if anything's gonna top Heath Ledger, but Nolan seems to be leaving no stone unturned in putting together an all-star cast. If I'm not missing anyone, here's what we're upto so far: Bale, Oldman, Caine, Freeman, Hathaway, Cotillard, Hardy, JGL, and Juno Temple. Quite the list!

Don't think there's been anything about Scarecrow being back again...
OneTime writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:19:25 AM

i duno how bolan will make all these characters work together...i hope its aight...still think the riddler woulda been a better option.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:22:33 AM

@blank I seem to have a new fan or maybe stalker who checks every comment I make,no matter if I spell the words right.

Wats the matter your not crying today about the old WP users that use to write some good comments?you still go on this site it anyway,why don't you go on IMDB and worship gay boy from 3rd rock from the sun,since you refer him as quaility,that's all he'll ever be an alien kid,he even looks like the son of heath ledger and Keanu reeves and was able to get their traits by being a dead log on screen,if he was so f*cking talented why the f*ck is he still a supporting actor and not star in lead movies with the exception of indie movies he's been in.

He looks like hell be a great robin and perfect for being kicked in the c*nt that he has.(he makes chris o donnell look manly)

Blank do something different besides whining about the good ol WP days and the new users.Is not my f*cking fault 2 out of the 10 posts here are somewhat decent and the rest suck major ballz,start some hate crimes or set some churches on fire maybe ull loosen up,start with Miami the city of sh*t
thomas deadison writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:48:53 AM

"What picture of him should we use for this article?"
"One that's at least ten years old."
Blank x25 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:57:33 AM

It's not stalking when any post I visit, you try to be first on every one and just ramble about hating everything. You do realize that every post (like this one) has people usually talking about a film, actor, etc., only to have you and others just whine and complain about everything. We realize you hate a large portion of actors and directors and call everyone gay. We get it. You don't have to say it every post. I don't care what you post. I just think it's funny that you and others make a point to go on every post and complain, whine, and bitch about everything. I'll be shocked if I ever see a post from you that could pass as being written as an adult.

And the reason you don't understand me wanting the old days of WP? Apparently you didn't see Mink agreeing that the overwhelming number of idiotic people on here has killed the comments sections. As I said, it's not a coincidence that the posters with common sense don't come around as often. Too much B.S. to sift through.

Face it. You're Trueman with worse grammar.

I do however look forward to another one of your articulated and sensible posts in the future. I'm sure Alex will post something soon where you can go complain about the director, actor, producer, cinematographer, editor, etc. Just be patient, young one.

Blank x25 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:59:22 AM

And your right, bandolero, very few comments are here are worth reading usually. And yours has NEVER been one of them.

Rambo writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 12:04:45 PM

I was sure he's gonna play Alfred...
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 12:21:35 PM

all of these movies suck balls lately i have been watching older movies to apreciate the old hollywood.and these actors and directors are f*cking horrific these days,it proves that to be in showbussiness these day and age there is no talent to be required on their resume but looks, so i have no choice but to bash on them.Is only getting worse for hollywood is all about having movies that are over a hundred million with tons of New CGI,sorry that doesnt work anymore no matter how much eye candy you put into a movie it wont save it.If anything else is that plus rappers and pop stars like Justing Timberlake starring in movies,our countless amount of c*ntflicks which are probably your favorite Genre like Sex and the city and Bride Wars

There has been a couple of movies that were worthy these past years and nooo they didnt require and oscar worthy scripts or is not the best story ever they just managed to be entertaining.

and i do like writing bullsh*t on posts it kills time and work and I love the feedback that Nancy boys like you get,and take it so seriously and become so offended.

Trueman is one funny WP user his hate on Sam the c*nt worthington and Avatar is priceless.What other users do you not apreciate since you named us both?I would love to hear them

that Avatar you have on your page is just too f*cking retro and tasteless as well stop holding on to the past and adapt to changes in the present and future.
rabid writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 1:51:57 PM

I'm guessing either Alberto Falcone or the Joker reprised. It would be kind of weird for him to end his Bat-film without involving a bit more Joker.
retardicon 101 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 3:35:13 PM

Bane, catwoman, dead shot, and talia al ghul. major overkill on villains. unless they do to deadshot what they did to mr. zsas. no f*ck that! deadshot is too cool to be an extra! im losing faith nolan.
minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 3:47:37 PM

Loved Gordon-Levitt in Brick, though for some reason everyone seems to hate that film. Dunno why.

Anyway, the only issue I see is that it seems Nolan is trying to thow way too much into this film and I get the impression he's doing all he can to really, really wrap things up tight and final, in his mind anyway.

I just hope his choices don't bloat TDKR.
blumpkin writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 3:57:00 PM

naa ill agree with ya this time minks, brick is a pretty wicked movie. plus ill also agree with banderlo. levitt would be great for a brokeback sequel. just when i thought all hope at that sequel was lost!!!!!!! :)
irvsteroni writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 4:17:40 PM

I've been reading posts here for a few years now and appreciate all that you members here have to say. From smart, witty, and funny to the very bad and purely stupid. So I'll chime in and see where I fall.

Regarding the cast, and probably has been said all ready, too many characters IMO ruin any movie. You care about or have more interest in one villain (or two tops, and then I think one has to be secondary) than a bunch of villains with the same agenda. I'm trying to think of movies with several villains but only that piece of s**t Spider Man 3 comes to mind immediately.

Not too familiar with Deadshot so I looked him up. JGL doesn't strike me as that character but then again I said the same of Heath Ledger playing the Joker and was surprised by the performance.
minkowski writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 4:46:25 PM

In all seriousness, I hope Gordon-Levitt is Robin, though I know that's not going to happen.

Unlike most of the folks on here, I can see how it would work by escewing the goofy Fruit of the Loom costume and the family of acrobats angle.

And no, I'm not a Robin fan, in fact, I don't care for the character at all, but I can see how he would work in a Nolan film, and it would be an (ego) trip to see Nolan do what I imagine doing myself with the character: making him respectable. I guess I'm trying to love vicariously through Nolan. Eh.
retardicon 101 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 8:37:11 PM

the best of JGL so far: brick, mysterious skin, 500 days of summer, manic, 10 things i hate about you, and killshot.
SeWerin writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 10:15:05 PM

It is confirmed - JGL is Alberto Falcone aka Holiday Killer
SHONUFF01 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 11:48:21 PM

Ok, here is my prediction: JGL will either play Robin or wait for it... The Riddler. They will go to Arkham and show the Joker still alive... They will have an actor with his back facing the cell door wearing a green wig or have his hair colored green using Heath's voice. And the chick they mentioned will probably play Batgirl or wait for it.... Poison Ivy. Oh and Two Face will be in Arkham in a coma! Sounds like a Movie to me! :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 1:02:34 AM

I'm good with this, JGL is a very good and underrated actor.

As I am not all clued up on the "Batman" mythos, I don't mind who he plays as I know he will do a good job.

In saying that, it would be good to have him as "Joker", yes he has an uncanny resemblance to Heath Ledger, but I don't think he should the "Joker" itself, he should be a copy cat.

What I mean is..We know that Heathe Ledger was great as "Joker" and that "Batman" caught him at the end..well JGL could play the exact same character..but JGL's character doesn't understand that he isn't the "Joker", so it gives a whole new slant on the "Batman" world, not sure it would work but would be fun finding out.
Sinestro writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 2:05:44 AM

No more villains. You don't want to overcrowd this film. It doesn't end well when it happens. I hope he plays Jason Bard. And that Juno broad can play Stacy. Flesh out the GCPD, don't make it seem like it's Gordon. I think they did badly in Dark Knight by not having Bullock, Montoya, Allen or Essen. I'd rather not see Deadshot and Thalia become Venom or the James Franco Goblin. What a disaster that was.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 11:42:31 AM

Trueman is funny? Thanks for proving my point. Rambling about Sam Worthington everyday isnt funny. And I'll stay retro, thanks. You can can have this time with Hollywood remakes, Nickelback, and Jersey Shore. By all means, enjoy.

And speaking of avatars, don't forget who got you to change yours. Funny you complain about retro being bad after the Karate Kid avatar. Whatever makes sense in your head.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2011 at 2:42:02 PM

"You can can have this time with Hollywood remakes, Nickelback, and Jersey Shore. By all means, enjoy."

No sh*t. Amen.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved