WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Asked to Turn "Pacific Rim" into "Godzilla"?

Posted: March 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Asked to Turn "Pacific Rim" into "Godzilla"?Submit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting has learned from a very reliable source that Warner Bros has requested for Guillermo Del Toro to re-write the screenplay for "Pacific Rim" to make sure that the monsters in the movie not attack Japan.

In addition, the studio has been asking the helmer to consider turning the new film into a "Godzilla" reboot since the plot of the two films is so similar. Del Toro is not interested in making "Godzilla," but Warners is persistently bringing it up.

AICN claims that Del Toro is not being asked to re-write "Pacific Rim" to remove Japan or convert it to "Godzilla." Bloody-Disgusting stands by their sources, stating that it's AICN's sources that are mistaken.

"Pacific Rim" is set in a future in which malevolent creatures threaten the earth, so the planet must band together and use highly advanced technology to eradicate the growing menace.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:06:10 AM

to make sure that the monsters in the movie not attack Japan.

Is that supposed to say "don't" or "won't" attack Japan. This article has confused me in so many ways. For a start Godzilla was never set in the future was it?

malevolent creatures threaten the earth, so the planet must band together and use highly advanced technology to eradicate the growing menace.

They never used advanced technology to defeat Godzilla and it was only one creature correct me if I'm wrong... so that would be completely different?

I thought the plot of Pacific Ring was "The year was 1700 and Canadian Eskimos discovered the only way to keep warm was to have constant orgies and gang bangs. The only problem was the female Eskimos periods attracted bears (apparently they could smell the menstruation) so the Eskimo's decided to perform anal only."
Trip Maverick writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 8:23:48 AM

Wow so much indecision coming out on this movie. I smell another Del Toro walk out. This Guy should just concentrate on original stuff.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 9:46:55 AM

But that's the problem. All he wants to do is original stuff, and no one's letting him. (And I realize At the Mountains of Madness is an adaptation, but still, to the studio it's 'original' and not a tentpole franchise.)
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:11:24 AM

Ten bucks, again, says that he'll quit, again.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:56:19 AM

Warner Brothers CAN NOT just make a Godzilla film. Toho sold the rights to Legendary Pictures, and supposedly Gareth Edwards is signed and is directing. Bloody-Disgusting is full of sh*t.

WP, you know companies can't make films about products they do not have the rights to, and this very site is the one where I saw the ToHo-Legendary deal. And after Emmerich's embarrassment of a film, ToHo will NOT let any company do a Godzilla movie that they do not have a say in. America ruined Godzilla once. ToHo will try to prevent it from happening twice. Now, where's Ranger? He's the only for sure ToHo fan I know of on here besides me.
Kurskij writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:16:50 AM

@cinema

Sounds like the best movie ever.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:59:30 AM

Kurskij- lol cheers mate can't beat a bit of eskimo porn
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:16:23 PM

why not have the monsters attack British Columbia, canada never get attacted by monsters.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:53:19 PM

I believe Blank is right, this news is pure rubbish, and more to the point, it makes my head hurt.

More American-made Godzilla? No f*cking thanks. That;'s why he got Cloverfield.

del Toro flubbing on the project he took on to flub on some another (superior) project? Yikes.

The censoring of films for Japan's sake? Eh.

I thought 9-11 was an absolute tragedy, as if there's such a thing as partial tragedies, but all the omission of terrorism and deletion of World Trade Center shots after that terrible day just annoyed me to no end.

Furthermore, read the Emmerich-Godzilla trivia:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120685/trivia

And you'll see that what Blank says is very likely more right than even he knows. ToHo, and Godzilla fans worldwide, not only hated Emmerich's film, but they vehemently repudiate it as a true Godzilla film (Godzilla in name only) the way most American conservatives repudiated John McCain (RINO) as a Republican.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:54:37 PM

"why not have the monsters attack British Columbia, canada never get attacted by monsters."

Because monsters hate ice and hockey?
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:38:28 PM

Lotta weed here.. in beautiful BC...

Emmerichs Godzilla.. was.. for lack of a better word... c*nt...

yep.. c*nt.. I hated that f*cking movie.. I f*ckin hated the entire godzilla sh*t franchise.. f*cking cares...

Ill wait for Trey Parker and Matt Stone to do their Giant Monsters attack Japan film... Which may never happen anymore.. but should..
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 3:18:11 PM

Cloverfield is the only American Godzilla film IMO, and though people hate on that film, it was done...not bad. Some of the shots were eery and impressive, I thought, and it did what they wanted.

As for Godzilla films having a 'spirit', well, whatever, that sounds like something you'd expect from people that sell girl's underwear out of a vending machine.
Blank x25 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 8:56:38 PM

@Mink - Appreciate it. You're still one of the very few on here I can stand to read a comment from.

I don't understand the hate on Cloverfield, either. Funnier than that, most people I hear hate on that liked Roland Emmerich's Godzilla movie. Rubbish.

I do know Legendary has a deal with WB to produce a bunch of films, but with the 2012 one already supposedly going into pre-production soon, I have a hard time believing ToHo would be okay with that license being tossed around American studios. Not gonna happen.

I will be looking forward to the new 'zilla flick, as long as it is as far away from Emmerich's version as possible. hat's still the only movie I ever made me walk out of the theater half way through. I couldn't take it anymore.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:00:15 PM

Thanks for the comments, dude.

Yeah, I doubt ToHo would do that again, either, especially after oeverseeing the Emmerich film only to have it turn into what it did.

You can watch Godzilla films from way, way back then and have way, way more fun than what you could ever get from the 1998 version.

It's one of my all-time least favorite films, but look, what has Emmerich made? 2012? ID4, a film with a abbreviated title that makes no sense? The laughably bad The Patriot? Eight Legged Freaks, of which he didn't even direct? lol.

The only films to which he has a connection that weren't total abominations are The 13th Floor (he didn't direct; still, highly flawed with bad acting and terrible line delivery and story issues) and Stargate (arguably his best film).

Also, perhaps Soldier isn't too terrible, but not a great film, really.

In short, Emmerich is a garbage filmmaker, a big-budget Uwe Boll (both are German. Coincidence?) and he was the very last guy they asked to direct Godzilla, and that should have told someone, somewhere something, but they were too busy cashing checks and counting stock options to give a sh*t they were pushing through a sh*t-pile of a film.

And I quote:

"With the success of Independence Day, Sony hired Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin to take on Godzilla, but **they only agreed to do the project if they were allowed to handle the series the way they wanted**. Rossio and Elliot's script was thrown out and Emmerich & Devlin worked on a new Godzilla script. Roland Emmerich decided to reinvent the character as a whole (which was later panned by fans drastically). They replaced Stan Winston's design with Patrick Tatopoulos's design (now called: Zilla)."

Emphasis mine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godzilla_(1998_film)
hunter207 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:31:57 PM

Either way he would probably make gold, but dont give in to those damn execs Guillermo!!

On a happier not, JUSTIN BIEBER GETS SHOT!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JjfmIJ0PHqw

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved