WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Costner Confirmed for "Superman" Reboot

Posted: March 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Costner Confirmed for "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Pictures has just confirmed that Kevin Costner will play Jonathan Kent, the father who raised Clark Kent as his own son, in the upcoming "Superman" reboot.

"Jonathan Kent is the only father figure Clark has ever had, the man who was there to help Clark understand what he was meant to do in the world as Superman," said director Zack Snyder. "Kevin will be able to communicate the quiet strength of this rural American man who raised the greatest super hero of all time."

Costner will star alongside Diane Lane, who plays his wife, Martha, and the film's star, Henry Cavill, who will play the new Clark Kent/Superman.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:51:28 AM

Good for Costner he's been in Hollywood obscurity for too long.
Taco writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:22:09 AM

Perfect casting! IMO
Sonic writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:37:16 AM

Nice. It will be nice to see him in a good movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:48:06 AM

With you all on this, great casting.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 7:35:21 AM

Good for Costner. This could revive his almost dead career.
bill the butcher writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 7:45:45 AM

after watching MR BROOKS
i would prefer to see costner play lex luthor
he is great as the bad guy
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 8:58:10 AM

I keep meaning to watch Mr Brooks, that movie earned some very high praise indeed on here the other week.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:13:09 AM

Kevin Costner has a mangina
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:59:36 AM

Just Like Ted Levine ....
zyban03 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:29:09 AM

Great cast so far. Hopefully a great script to go with it.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:37:21 AM

Great news!
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:58:33 PM

Uh, what's this guy's appeal? I don't get it at all.

And yes, Mr. Brooks was a damned good film.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:02:48 PM

I'm gonna put on my flack jacket and say I hated him in every film I've seen him in especially the Untouchables. He is a below par actor.
Rambo writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:03:14 PM

where the f*ck is superman?they need him in japan...
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:39:12 PM

Mink, I think his appeal stems from things like...

The Untouchables, JFK, Dances with Wolves, to name a few...

Costner is f*cking great. This is a great casting choice, I like the way this film is coming together. Good casting..

Now so long as they dont cast a stupid c*nt to play Lois, should be good...

What was that baby faced 13 year olds name from the last one? She looked like a little kid, yet somehow im supposed to believe she was impregnated by Superman...

Actually that makes sense...

Now on to a totally unrelated subject, actually it is related but not related to this article.

Mr Brooks was f*cking terrible, Im surprised that all of you hard asses on here have such praise for the film.. Agreed Kevin Costner killed it.. The biggest issue I had outside of the fact that Dane Cook is a faggot, was that entire movie could have used one giant re-EDIT... Cut and chopped with the skill of a child IMO.. Couldnt get passed the poor pacing of the film.. I am going to have another watch though considering the amount of credit its being given... Maybe I watched the wrong movie?
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:04:44 PM

"The Untouchables, JFK, Dances with Wolves, to name a few..."

None of which did jack for me.

JFK, Stone's dull paranoid recollection of our presidents life and death; the Untouchables, a film supposedly about Eliot Ness rendered into vacuity and dullness, when the guy should've been more d*ck Tracy for the audiences sake, and my livelihood; and Dances with Wolves, an over-long, politically-correct film that would drive any normal human being into paroxysms of yawning rage.

Again, I ask, what's the man's appeal? He's as dull as drying paint.

Sure, technically he's a decent actor, but someone name a film in which he appeared that didn't bore a thinking man to death?

And please, don't mention that preposterous Field of Dreams film, where he builds a f*cking baseball diamond in the corn rows for the ghosts of dead baseball players, because yeah, we get it, he loved his dad, and his dad loved him, or some other crap, but the entire execusion just makes no f*cking sense.

And yes, Dane Cook was Mr. Brooks' weakest aspect, as he is in every film in which he's ever appeared, but his role was appropriate, playing a sc*mbag, hardly a stretch, and so it went well, and reminded me of Dexter, just a bit darker.

"Couldnt get passed the poor pacing of the film.."

And yet, you enjoyed Terminator 3, JFK and other assorted blandness and badness.

The mind reels from the rollercoaster of insanity that we call the world.
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:10:01 PM

He is bland, he is boring.. I really enjoyed The Untouchables mostly for the supporting cast over Costner, same with JFK..

"Sure, technically he's a decent actor, but someone name a film in which he appeared that didn't bore a thinking man to death?"

HAH EASY! Ill name deuce...

Waterworld. The Postman.. Suck on that..

f*ckin rad movies if you take them with a grain of salt..

aaand.. The fact that I was able to enjoy T3 had a lot more to do with the ratio of explosions to not explosions... basically...
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:15:12 PM

I liked 'Field of Dreams'
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:17:21 PM

I guess I can't argue with that, Triggax.

I also somewhat appreciated The Postman for being 'different'...

Never saw Waterworld. Heard it was...abysmal.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:18:55 PM

"I liked 'Field of Dreams'"

To satisfy my scientific curiosity, I'd like to know why.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:24:59 PM

Fair question Mink.

Tis personal.
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:28:15 PM

Must be personal...

I did not like Field of Dreams..

I can see where and why some people would have an affinity for that particular film.. I never liked it..

Boring.. useless film.. Tin Cup on the other hand!! Thats a movie!!

Haha cheech marin as a caddy... ridiculous...
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:31:55 PM

Waterworld was f*cking epic..

Anyone that tells you otherwise is dumb as f*ck.

Easily one of his finest films..

People cant get over certain things about Costner, I don't know what it is personally.. If you take it at face value and compare him to his peers and colleagues... He has had a more impressive career than most actors and hes not covered in plastic surgery and in the closet about his homosexuality.. IE Travolta.

Why does John Travolta have a wife?

Who knows.. at least he doesn't have a retarded kid.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 3:00:51 PM

Fair enough, Ranger, and there's where I'll leave it.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 3:21:08 PM

Thx. trig and mink.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 3:41:08 PM

Like Costner, good actor IMO and most of his films are guilty pleasures from American Flyers to Current. Not one of them was a great blockbuster film that will go down in history( for being good anyway) but most are easily a solid Afternoon watch.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 4:38:04 PM

^^Not saying his films suck, but jesus, are they as phenomenal as some claim?

Dragon Fly wasn't bad, I guess. That's another one.
triggax writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:05:19 PM

....
Well, to be honest...

Heres 3 films that were f*cking brilliant with Costner, and I would hope most feel the same.

3000 miles to graceland. 1

A Perfect World. 2.. (this is probably his best)

Revenge. 3 (sick movie)

Couple honorable mentions here being, 13 days, probably one of THEE most under rated political thrillers of my generation.

For Love of the Game is the best thing Sam Raimis done outside of the evil dead series.. and it holds up pretty well against field of dreams as far as baseball movies go...

Wyatt Earp, No way Out, Bull Durham... Hes made some serious decent films.. starred in, and written and directed more than a few of them..

Credit, i think, should be given somewhere to this guy.. he has entertained the sh*t out of me, regardless of how dull he can be.. Hes been lucky enough to have starred in some pretty great films..

After all this time, its just nice to see him back in the lime light, even if only slightly. I am a fan of Kevin Costner.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:43:35 PM

This is starting to sound like a Smallville remake

trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:49:00 PM

Agree on Perfect World and Revenge both very good movies

3000 Miles watched that once and thought it disappointing, bit of a mess from what i remember but may have to watch that again.

JFK is great movie and Water World wasn't bad, Hopper steels the show with his over the top bad guy performance.

Guardian was the last film i saw Costner in which was ok despite Ashton Kutcher being in it (and surviving at the end)
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:51:31 PM

@trig - '3000 miles to Graceland' has taken some bashing on here. But I'm on record then saying this was another one of his I liked.
trailertrash writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:23:47 PM

Ranger-

I meant to watch it the other week after the last time we spoke about 3000 miles.

Great cast has to be worth a 2nd viewing
OneTime writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 7:56:37 PM

nice..
SHONUFF01 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 8:17:45 PM

Don't forget that he was in Silverado! :)
Blank x25 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 9:03:30 PM

I forgot what I was going to type after I read a positive comment about Mr. Brooks.

Awful movie. Just, awful.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:08:11 PM

Mr Brooks is a disturbing film, but for me it works, and I'm one of those guys, rare these days, that has a very serious problem with murder glorification and gore, but I have a huge appreciation for the mysteries of true crime, so that's likely why I liked it more than others. Not a brilliant film, and Hurt was terribly unused, but overall, not an abomination.

And yes, Perfect World was good, as was Thirteen Days, but Revenge was just mean and hard to watch and the way it ended...f*ck me. Not the ending I'd hope for, lad (channeling Kup from Transformers: The Movie)...

So I have to revisit and revise what I said to state that Costner has been in some damned good films for sure, but I'm not going to go farther than I'm willing by altering what I said about him being, overall, a boring-ass actor.
TeemSelami writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:18:53 PM

3,000 miles to graceland was awesome! Ice-T had the best scene at the end
bandolero999 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:49:49 PM

Costner is a good actor that has survived the hollywood viruses like gay trends for at least 2 decades now.he has had his up and downs but he is still marketable and hasn't made B movies or had to be in a tv sitcom.

Somewhere in the 90s he grew and ego trip where he made two of the most pointless horrifying movies ever Waterworld and the postman wtf 3 hours of f*cking Costner cause the prick can't get enough of himself.waterworld is so bad it turns into a comedy with hopper supporting it.3000 sucked extreme balls and also became a comedy not to be taken seriously when christian slater,bookem woodbine and david arquette die.You might as well stop the movie cause is one huge f*cking disaster.

Costner will be good for a supporting role because the guy playing superman is an unknown,but sorry costner is no f*cking Tom hanks.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 1:55:19 AM

@tt - Graceland has an interesting 'look' to the flick.

@bandolero - David Arquette is the worst thing about any movie he's in. The only thing half interesting about him is he knows how to take it hard from his husband Courteney's strap-on... lol

ATTN: (pathetic) Lurkers on here. Note MOST of us have ALL had DIFFERING opinions on this thread (like many other threads), with respect given to the others opinion without your usual 'F*cking retards!' etc. crap that you spew.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 3:28:12 AM

With Diane Lane playing Martha Kent I hope we're not supposed to believe that Clark didn't superf*ck his adopted mother every chance he could get? Also, Waterworld was just a bad rip-off of Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior only set on water and where dirt is precious instead of petrol.
Mudders writes:
on March 21st, 2011 at 2:35:37 AM

this is good...always liked costner...not sure why he gets a bad wrap from certain areas but yeah this is all good

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved