WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofsky is NOT Directing "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: March 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren Aronofsky is NOT Directing "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has confirmed that Darren Aronofsky is no longer directing the upcoming "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" sequel. This comes as a surprise considering that the "Black Swan" director has already started working with Hugh Jackman and was ready to start filming soon.

The withdrawal had nothing to do with the actual film, but more with Aronofsky's breakup with actress Rachel Weisz and custody issues involving their son. He simply can't leave the country for the overseas shoot.

Aronofsky said: "The production of 'The Wolverine' would keep me out of the country for almost a year. I was not comfortable being away from my family for that length of time. I am sad that I won't be able to see the project through, as it is a terrific script and I was very much looking forward to working with my friend Hugh Jackman again."

20th Century Fox said: "While we are of course disappointed that Darren can't do 'The Wolverine,' we also understand and respect his reasons. Having done both 'The Wrestler' and 'Black Swan' with Darren, we know he is an extraordinary talent and we look forward to working with him on other projects in the future. Hugh Jackman and Fox both remain fully committed to making 'The Wolverine.' We will regroup and move forward aggressively."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
xtlhogciao writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:58:59 PM

Awful news. That really sucks.
technoreaper writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:59:33 PM

Told you all. This guy is a hack. He can only make movies about self-destructive characters. He doesn't know how to make a real movie that is about anything else.

I think his movies are a projection of his mental sanity, personally.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:21:54 PM

That may be true, but it does seem he had to drop out for reasons pretty much beyond his control.

Having said that, I never thought he'd make it anyway, and I had a suspicion something wold happen. It's one of those things that you hear about, but never actualizes, and lo and behold, wham-o. He's gone.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:23:50 PM

@techno. Bold statement about him but I kind of agree with you. More on topic, Fox will likely do what they do best: get a rookie director, then produce another awful movie, make lots of cash and blame the poor bastard for the quality.
OneTime writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:27:44 PM

bitches always be f*ckin sh*t up yo
coldplayesence writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:29:54 PM

@minkowski: like they say 'too good to be true', but anyway it seemed that way since the begging, lots of 'artistic' directors would love to go Nolan and become mainstreim with a blockbuster.
Kurskij writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:36:44 PM

It all began too good to happen - Aronofsky and McQuarrie working on Frank Miller's story.

So long
The Ascender 07 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:37:32 PM

Well there goes any chance of this actually being a good movie. The only way this can be saved is if they hire a well known director who is familiar with this kind of work. None of this rookie business.
WV-Films writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:38:18 PM

Well it was a nice dream while it lasted.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:45:39 PM

Somewhere, Brett Ratner is waiting for a call...
Zeroguy writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:45:57 PM

Hopefully he decides to turn around and helm the London heist film he planned on doing.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:48:51 PM

@freudian: I hope he has good reception under the tree that he probably is.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:49:13 PM

Well sh*t.
technoreaper writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:59:09 PM

The THEORY is that this guy would make an awesome Robocop movie, or Wolverine. The truth is, he can't do it. He utterly lacks the ability to make a normal movie.

He must be hell to work with.
lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:03:35 PM

what technoreaper said.the guy who did the A team should do it
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:06:53 PM

He left the project due to a battle for custody with Rachel Weiss.

Talk about taking on sh*tty projects.

I hope noone shakes the tree and wakes up Brett Ratner. All we need is X-Men Last Stand's director f*cking up the Wolverine story more than Wolverine : Origin did.
velocityknown writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:14:42 PM

Goddamnit
Goddamnit
Goddamnit
gunner writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:38:00 PM

Are you kidding me Aronofsky? You don't want Japan? That's not a problem man. Build a f*cking set in US! This was probably our last chance of having a decent X-Men movie. I just don't buy this homesick excuse. I bet fox wanted to add characters that had nothing to do with the storyline just like the last Wolverine movie. Well f*ck it.
dub031 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:48:10 PM

@techno...no disprespect dude but Wolverine IS a self-destructive character and that's why Darren would've been great as a director...Im going with Gunner's theory on Fox being the main root of the problem!
Devil writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:49:52 PM

the rumor is he and fox were going back and forth on how much creative control he would have- meaning FINAL CUT. after portman won the oscar he basically demanded final cut and you see what the results were. ive also heard that fox threw more money at him but he wouldnt budge so the producers basically told him to walk. he wanted the type of control that nolan has for his bat flicks over at warners. truthfully, no shocker here; its fox for christ sake. tom rothman has never given his talent the freedom they deserve with the exception of james cameron. aronofsky knew all along that part of the film would be shot in japan. maybe because of all the destruction in japan they wanted to film the sound stage portions over there as well as opposed to new york. just to give japan a little extra money in a time or crisis, but whoever takes his place we will see where and how they film it. im more surprised than anything that he was actually involved for this long on such a huge project with a studio that has such a horrible reputation. maybe he thought things would be different. ah well, in any case, if aronofsky didnt have final cut then theres no reason to even have him. fox, once again blows it.
BobMcBob writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:00:35 PM

Goodbye, any interest i had in seeing another Wolverine movie
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:05:01 PM

It's hard to say whether Darren lacks the ability to do mainstream, which to be honest I doubt, simply because if that were true, he'd have to be too f*cked up to make anything at all, or whether he just has a 'thing' for pretentiously deep material, and that's where he peddles.

I think he likes to make the films he makes because, yeah, perhaps it says something about him, there;s always that possibility, but more likely for me anyway, maybe he thinks his films say something profound about the human condition, a statement he considers to more important than any other.

But he did make The Fountain, and though the main character is flawed, not tragically so, really, as the events in his life are beyond his control (his wife dying), and so the film ends rather...positively, I guess, and doesn't go down that absolutely nihilistic and self-destrucive path you see in Pi and RfaD.

I think he thinks he's just too good to make mainstream films. They're beneath him, and he only started looking into them after he got his budget for The Fountain chopped in half. Perhaps he realizes he's a niche product, and that may not be paying the bills, and may explain why he went with a wider product like The Wrestler.

You also have to remember that he turned down a chance to do Batman Begins, but only after the studio bailed (no pun intended)on his Year One draft in favor of Superman Vs Batman, and then dropped that film in favor of Nolan's. He was quite enthusiastic about the project, though.

Finally, I have to say that the man borders on a polymath, and I don't thnk that fits the idea he's into self-destructive characters (recall he's doing a Noah's Ark film, and Darren is quite Jewish IIRC).

He's had interests in mathematics (his film Pi sprang from his own personal mathematical obsessions), anthropology and animation, and to be honest, I just believe the guy is one of those intellectal types, trying to say something important with his work rather than merely entertaining the masses.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:08:26 PM

This wouldn't be the first time a director left a project for personal reasons, so there's no need to invent a FOX conspiracy, either.

Just let the man have his (rather good)reasons and be done with it. It's over, time to move one. Let's see who FOX gets to replace him, and then we can all start bitching anew.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:17:46 PM

There goes any interest I had in this.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:33:50 PM

And yeah, I believe Aronofsky is perfectly capable of more mainstream success, so I don't buy that theory at all.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:35:39 PM

I wonder what Jackman is going to do now that he is all buffed up.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:37:54 PM

Jerk off, probably.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:47:32 PM

bullsh*t, what a lame ass reason. how the hell would it take a year to film it, its not LOTR?
velocityknown writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:16:32 PM

People often forget he did The Wrestler which was not an experiment in insanity or sanity and it was just as great of a film as he's ever done.

This guy is a talented director, he makes movies he WANTS to make, he doesn't just make movies just because he can. Nowadays that's a hard thing to do. The reasons behind this might always be up for discussion, but the reasons he's offered are perfectly believable, especially considering he's always had a pretty good relationship with Fox.

Here's something to consider

Requiem for a Dream-Oscar nomination for Ellen Burstyn; some consider it her best performance (she does)

The Wrestler-Rourke's comeback and also possibly his best role. Oscar nomination.

Black Swan-Natalie Portman's best role, same for Kunis, Hershey's best in a while. Oscar nomination for Portman, many would agree Kunis got snubbed.

The Fountain was anchored by great performances and I don't doubt Sean Gullete would be a bigger star if Pi had been a bigger film.

Basically Aronofsky has proven himself on multiple fronts.

He's gifted visually, even on a budget (with The Fountain and Requiem).

He knows how to edit.

He surrounds himself with perfect talent (Clint Mansell, Matthew Libatique)

And he can work with actors like no other.

He goes beyond telling stories about self-destructive people or psychological thrillers. I think he is far and away the biggest visionary in film right now. I was looking forward to his version of The Wolverine, but honestly, I think I'm more excited for what original story he'll start working on next.
velocityknown writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:20:35 PM

Maybe he really wanted to shoot on location in Japan. It'd make sense as to why that would take a while.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:44:09 PM

ITS BECAUSE HE WANTS TO DIRECT THE ROBO COP REBOOT!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:19:23 AM

No loss. They did the first Wolverine without a director, didn't they?
Kenny writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:53:39 AM

Wait a minute... First Wolverine? Was there a first?
Rambo writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 2:48:00 AM

lol,hugh jackman got massive for nothing...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 4:51:38 AM

Was so pissed when I heard this earlier. Daniel Craig you homewrecker!! But nah, I hope all works out for Darren. Can't wait to see what he cranks out next. I feel for Hugh though. Hopefully they bring in someone good to replace Darren.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 5:34:01 AM

Yeah I was looking forward to his take on this and seeing Wolverine tear up some Samurai'. But I think it's probably for the best in the long run as far as his reputation is concerned his CV is pretty flawless at the moment.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 6:41:25 AM

"bullsh*t, what a lame ass reason. how the hell would it take a year to film it, its not LOTR?"

You're right it's not Lord of the Rings. Lord of the Rings took several years. Nearly every studio movie spends at least year in pre-production, production, and post-production.
Valerie writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 8:58:38 AM

Mink, that's how i see it as well, i never bought he would go through with this project anyhow!

Wasn't he supposed to direct Jackie O biopic with Weisz at some point? Probably after their split its not possible anymore. But i would love him to do that, because the script is rather beautiful.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 12:11:14 PM

^^Yes, and she would've been looks-perfect for that role.
prowler writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 3:26:36 PM

He's not able to stay away from family for a year? And you call yourself director...
retardicon 101 writes:
on March 19th, 2011 at 3:29:37 PM

there is a god! i mean come on! darren aronofsky! i mean i love all his films (except black swan) but he is not the one to direct this!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved