WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mickey Rourke Almost Replaced Liam Neeson in "Taken 2"

Posted: March 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mickey Rourke Almost Replaced Liam Neeson in "Taken 2"Submit Comment
Deadline has learned that producer Luc Besson was considering replacing Liam Neeson in the "Taken" sequel due to the actor's request to take some time off from acting. But who could replace Neeson? Apparently Besson's list included such names as Mickey Rourke, Ralph Fiennes, Ray Winstone, Sean Bean and Jason Isaacs.

The good news is that Besson and Neeson recently got together and worked out a plan that satisfies both of them. Neeson will get to take a break and production will begin at the end of 2011 or the beginning of 2012.

"Taken 2" is written by Besson and Robert Mark Kamen (Transporter, The Karate Kid), and will be directed by "Transporter 3" helmer Olivier Megaton.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:51:44 AM

Fat boy Mickey Rourke smashing his way into a room knocking out terrorists with his sh*tty teeth breath.

No one is as bad ass as Liam Neeson but I don't get how they can make a believable plot where some one he loves gets TAKEN again what are the odds it will happen.
Taco writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:24:47 AM

Sean bean is a good pick.
Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:48:41 AM

Love Neeson to death. But you're so right @Cinemaisdead. For someone to be "taken" again would be a stretch.......unless they use the sequel to expand on the little side story of the singer he was working for in the original.
Granted, it drifts into the "Bodygaurd" realm some but I'm sure they could find a way.

Or, hell, have Neeson by the one taken and have him fight his way home.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:51:31 AM

I do believe Neeson has earned himself some time off making movies. He's been freaking everywhere lately (I'm not complaining though), but enough is enough. Come back and kick some ass later.
zcurley@gmail.com writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:51:40 AM

I agree with Cine. a plot where the same character has something similar happen seems a little sylvester stallone-ish..
SACdaddy writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:09:51 AM

Come on guys, how many times did John McClain just happen to stumble into a terrorist situation in Die Hard?

I'm sure in the next installment Neesom will be brought in to rescue some high ranking official's kidnapped daughter (kind of like Kilmer's Spartan). Hwood has been pretty predictable and repetitive lately so they won't stretch too far for this film. As long as it has the Taken title and Liam, it will make some cash at the BO.
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:13:11 AM

Agree with all points here.

Only way i see this working is a revenge Taking, linking the films together.

Nice idea Bunny with the Neeson being Taken that could work too.

But Neeson is on board and you kind of hope he wouldn't sell his soul just for a big fat paycheque.

Anyway as long as he is kicking some ass and killing the bbad guys in ultra violent ways i will be there opening night for sure.
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:15:00 AM

SAC- Just going to quote Willis

"How can the same sh*t happen to the same guy twice"

Works for me...
trailertrash writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:22:36 AM

As much as i like those other actors listed, none of them can fill Neesons shoes.

And they would give Taken 2 a straight to home video feel about the whole thing.

No Neeson No Taken 2 IMO
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:03:26 AM

I thought that Unknown film from a few months back WAS taken 2 when I first saw the poster, Liam's definitely the new over 40 Hollywood bad ass and he does have the best name.

Bunny- Maybe some Vietnamese gangsters TAKE his kittens that are worth more than diamonds in their native country and he has to fight his way through hundreds of bald men to get them back, that would be the sensible route to go down.
Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:40:14 AM

@Trailer, I was thinking the same thing. Anyone else and it's a direct to DVD movie garaunteed. Nothing against that list but without Neeson, it's not in the theaters.

@SAC, soooooo true, but I think that because of the comedic undertones in the Die Hard franchise, it worked. Irony is funny in those types of movies. In a movie like Taken, it would be a tough pill to swallow. Hence the quote @Trailer mentions.
Same thing for The Mummy franchise. I remember Fraser saying something like "here we go again" or something to that effect. And again, comedic undertones. Mummies??? Again?? or Terroists??? Again???. I just can't tie in a Daughter taken??? Again?? unless it's someone else.
nahdogg writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:14:30 PM

I can imagine the tagline already, "Next summer get Re-Taken"
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:12:11 PM

If they had replaced Liam Neeson with Mickey Rourke in "Taken 2", it would have suspended any belief on the father character for me.

It's like replacing Terence Howard for Don Cheadle as Air Force Lieutenant Colonel James Rhodes or Alec Baldwin for Harrison Ford as analyst John Patrick Ryan .... oh, wait ... Hollywood is notorious for doing this, so why should it have been any different ?

If, and only if, they replaced Neeson with Rourke, Rourke could only pass it off if he did the same acting style he did in a movie of his back in the 80's ... A Prayer For The Dying ... if he went back to that sense of method, emotional acting ... I could buy it.

Otherwise, all we get is a 12 minute scene in The Expendables talking about a person diving off a bridge.
Sinestro writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 3:53:28 PM

Wasn't the step-father of the girl a very wealthy guy? And isn't Liam's character something of a mercenary/free-lance security contractor? I don't see why it would be so hard to have the step-father reach out to Neeson's character to help out a friend of his get one of his friends/family back safely in a discreet manner.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 4:04:07 PM

Great article about sh*t that didn't happened, I'll take this any day before one about the status of the sequel.
Queef Latifah writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 5:01:56 PM

This would be perfect for Tyler Perry to direct with Wesley Snipes as the lead. Something doesn't have to be "Taken" from Nesson, they could do it where some rich dudes sibling gets kidnapped and they threaten to murder the sibling if the law gets involved so the rich dude hires Nesson!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 5:37:58 PM

One of the few movies Im actually looking forward to! Im glad Neeson stuck around! I can see Ralph Fiennes because they look alike i guess
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:59:39 PM

Its either Liam

Or

Just throw it in the garbage
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:02:31 PM

wouldnt see it if liam was replaced i hate it when it happens to almost happens
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:26:00 PM

"Or, hell, have Neeson by the one taken and have him fight his way home."

That was my idea, like two month ago...
fsport81 writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 11:15:53 AM

maybe if his ex-wife husband or her has beef with someone and gets kidnapped lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved