WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder on "Superman" Title, Suit and More

Posted: March 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder on "Superman" Title, Suit and MoreSubmit Comment
In an interview with LA Times, director Zack Snyder revealed that he will completely ignore all the "Superman" movies during the making of his reboot of the franchise.

"We're making a movie that finally goes with the approach that there has been no other Superman movies," he said. "If you look at 'Batman Begins,' there's that structure, there's the canon that we know about and respect, but on the other hand there's this approach that pre-supposes that there haven't been any other movies. In every aspect of design and of story, the whole thing is very much from that perspective of 'respect the canon but don't be a slave to the movies.'"

Snyder added: "In some ways Superman is the most recognizable superhero on the planet but also the most unknown. Just what he can be? People have preconceived ideas about him but probably all of them are wrong."

He also revealed that the reboot will likely be called "Man of Steel," but that decision is not final yet. And regarding Henry Cavill's costume, Snyder said that fans will get a glimpse at it way before shooting begins. "[Otherwise] someone will be on the set and get a picture of it."

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:34:05 AM

Lets all jump on the Batman Begins bandwagon Xmen, Spiderman have already called shotgun. You better have a writer as descent as Nolan and improve your own directing abilities beyond visuals Snyder or this will be no better than Superman Returns. Not that I give two sh*ts about Superman any way.
Supersweetguy writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:06:28 AM

@Cinemaisdead: You're jumping to conclusions. Its not even Dec 2012, or even Jan 2013 in Asia. You have not even seen the trailer for Superman reboot movie, why judge it so early? I mean are you that negative to think this would not work out? Give it a chance. It's not a remake, hello!!!!
Taco writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:16:40 AM

Hey sweetguy, he's not judging the movie or jumping to conclusions. He is simply referencing snyders previous work resume and saying don't f*ck it up! Read his post again.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:21:47 AM

^ Yeah what he said. I hope its good and i love 300 im just saying if he's gonna compare it to Batman Begins he better make sure he's got a descent script writer and adds some substance and emotions to the film. Also i am negative about films just like most of the people on this site that know about films and how much Hollywood f*cks them up.
Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:43:25 AM

I am in agreement with so much of what Snyder is saying. EXCEPT when he referenced Batman Begins. If he takes that out, his words are golden. Seriously, read his statement again and substitute Batman Begins with other superhero movies and it's so on point.
I am so glad thhat least they are ignoring the other movies because I'm so tired of Superman being limited on film. But at the same time, it makes me cautious. Ignoring the other films means they are free to have him go up against Luthor as though it was the first time.
If that happens, I'm jumping off a bridge.
boogiel writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:55:49 AM

Snyder added: "In some ways Superman is the most recognizable superhero on the planet but also the most unknown. Just what he can be? People have preconceived ideas about him but probably all of them are wrong."


Oh, so you think you know Supes better than any of us Be careful what you're saying , zack.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:20:44 AM

Yea um ok. so Lex will once again be the villan along with Zod?
shamusot00le writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:17:01 AM

Don't they have Goyer writing it? Goyer wrote Dark Knight. With Nolan producing, Snyder directing and Goyer writing it has serious POTENTIAL... but until we see a trailer at the very least we won't know.
CandyRunt writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:19:41 AM

@cinema
What is your beef with Nolan? seriously man, me and Ivor discussed this the over day and we cant work it out!
you own all his films, you love the prestige, but why the hate? cant you 2 just get along? for the sake of our family?
teuperman writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:21:01 AM

Can I just say Bad @ss Picture!!!!!!!
Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:32:12 AM

@CandyRunt, not to be @cinemaisdead's cheerleadr, but I can say that it's not an issue with Nolan himself. I feel the same way. It's the fact that every story coming out you see the same thing, blah blah blah has been tapped to helm blah blah blah and Nolan is added into the mix somehow.
It's like Hollywood can't make a picture without either dropping his name or flat out running to him for help.
I love Nolan and the work he's done. He's a great director and his movies are beyond what 90% of the others are doing, but Hollywood is beating a dead horse with him and that can only prove to hurt him. As good as he is, he doesn't need his name tied to EVERYTHING coming out. It's not a USDA stamp of quality for sh*t's sake. There are other directors out there besides Nolan. I just don't want Hollywood running his name to the point where it backlashes. And I can really see that happening.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 10:49:03 AM

Candy- Read what im saying cuz, i love Nolan he's one of my favourite directors at the moment but he's not the best of the best, in terms of action he is and visuals and i love the twists and turns and originality of his stories but Dark Knight ending sucked. Memento is one of my favourite films i like his lower budget films. Both of my posts were bigging up Nolan and saying that Snyders got a lot of living up to do in comparing it to Batman Begins.
billofill writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:06:30 AM

Man of Steel and Batman Begins were both written by Nolan and Goyer. Both are based on popular DC super heroes want more comparisons?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:22:27 AM

fair enough
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:51:51 PM

" Snyder added: "In some ways Superman is the most recognizable superhero on the planet but also the most unknown. Just what he can be? People have preconceived ideas about him but probably all of them are wrong." "

Are you f*cking kidding me ? Superman is the most unknown ? To who, his optamologist ?

He's an alien from another world with imaginable strength, speed and power. He has the ability to shoot red-hot beams from his eyes and is bulletproof. He was raised from humble beginnings as an adopted son of farmers. He became a reporter (journalist) and can change into his suit in a phone booth (good luck on that anymore), hides his real persona behind some specs, fell in love with a co-worker and battles bad guys.

Oh and he's susceptable to a red sun and also meteors found from remenants of his home planet, called Kryptonite. And he can't see through lead.

Gee, I guess I know him pretty f*cking well, dipsh*t.

You need to quit second guessing your audience or we're gonna have another repeat of that snorefest, Watchmen.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:52:30 PM

Hey Snyder,

Can we have a slo-mo shot of your career floating down the drain ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:04:18 PM







Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:43:25 AM
I am in agreement with so much of what Snyder is saying. EXCEPT when he referenced Batman Begins. If he takes that out, his words are golden. Seriously, read his statement again and substitute Batman Begins with other superhero movies and it's so on point.
I am so glad thhat least they are ignoring the other movies because I'm so tired of Superman being limited on film. But at the same time, it makes me cautious. Ignoring the other films means they are free to have him go up against Luthor as though it was the first time.
If that happens, I'm jumping off a bridge.

@BunnyX

You have seriously valid points.

He's referencing Batman Begins because any Hollywood director right now who is hired to direct a comic-book based movie is using the same jargon. They all have the memory of a bot fly, so it's understandable that they're going to set the watermark on the last comic-book based movie that made serious boxoffice money on the opening weekend. Just be glad he didn't say, " This is going to be our Batman & Robin. " ... I would've hid in a closet and cut a few veins if he had referenced that collosal clusterf*ck.

There aren't that many he could've referenced, but if it were me, I would've gone with X-Men (the first movie). That did well for Bryan Singer and solidified that superhero movies can be done well, even if rewritten and reconfigured by Hollywood standards ... Ironically, it was also Bryan Singer who tried to bridge the gap between Donner's Superman film and Superman II film with Superman Returns, but hey, you don't always hit a home run every time you come up to bat ... unless your Barry Bonds and the steroids are handy and fresh in the locker room.

They have to ignore the other movies. For those young enough not to have seen them, it's going to be fresh. For those who remember going to the theaters and watching the Donner movies, there is always going to be a comparison. Unfortunately, you can ever get past that.

Will they have him go up against Luthor, as if it is their first time ? Hard to say. Lex is part of the whole Kal El mythos of his life on earth and his human protagonist. I don't know how they'll be able to crowbar him into the story without it being very, very awkward, but I think that Snyder and Goyer are going to go through multiple drafts to find the right way to introduce him, if they ever do.

Also note, there has yet to be a rumor from the Snyder/Goyer camp yet even mentioning Luthor as part of the story, but don't count it out.
rocketman writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:09:29 PM

Superman needs to be Thor size at least....I' looking forward to this though,i'm a sucker for visuals and Snyder is IMO the main man pushing that particular envelope at the moment.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 4:00:19 PM

rocketman writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:09:29 PM
Superman needs to be Thor size at least....I' looking forward to this though,i'm a sucker for visuals and Snyder is IMO the main man pushing that particular envelope at the moment.

@rocketman

Speaking of suckers ... when Sucker Punch does minimally well at the box office, do you think that Warner Brothers may look twice at having Snyder at the helm ?

Again, not saying it won't do well ... I'm not a psychic ... but the word on the street is that it isn't doing as well as they have hoped.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 4:14:55 PM

No one knows about superman because he's a boring all powered alien. Why bothering 'answering' questions that nobody's asking? He came from outer space, he can do anything the script needs to get done. That's all. And it's boring.
masht7 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:17:50 PM

Guys, this just in. Michael Gough, who played the original Alfred in Tim Burton's Batman films, has just died at age 94. RIP. You entertained us all the way.
rocketman writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:31:08 PM

R.I.P
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:05:10 PM

Someone wake me when Snyder tells us something we haven't already heard.

"People have preconceived ideas about him but probably all of them are wrong."

What the hell does thte even mean? That you know Superman better than all of us mere comic book readers? Spare me your arrogance, O' lord of sweeping visuals and hollow films.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:29:53 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:05:10 PM

Someone wake me when Snyder tells us something we haven't already heard.

"People have preconceived ideas about him but probably all of them are wrong."

What the hell does thte even mean? That you know Superman better than all of us mere comic book readers? Spare me your arrogance, O' lord of sweeping visuals and hollow films.


@minkowski

Too late. He opened his yap and two freshly warm turds just squirted on out.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 4:07:13 AM

Zack Snyder on "Superman" Title, Suit and More


Good stuff Snyder, now just don't f*ck it up!!
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:11:28 PM

Too late.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved