WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Reviews for Mel Gibson's "The Beaver"

Posted: March 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Reviews for Mel GibsonSubmit Comment
During the SXSW Film Festival, Jodie Foster premiered her "The Beaver" movie, which she directed and starred in alongside Mel Gibson, Anton Yelchin and Jennifer Lawrence.

After all the violent/racist rants that Mel Gibson has unleashed on his ex-girlfriend, "The Beaver" was a hot item at the festival, and while many reviews are still being written, we have a few of them for you below.

"The Beaver" is scheduled to hit theaters on May 20th.

* THR: Turns a crazy-sounding premise into something moving and sane.

* The Playlist: It has its enjoyable moments, its laughs and its poignant turns, but it isn't a wholeheartedly engaging film either.

* IndieWire: Fundamentally simplistic; it only works because the cast deliver the goods in a few understated scenes.

* /Film (Twitter): Predictable, ridiculous, melodramatic. Gibson and Foster have good performances but it's just a mess. Didn't connect with any of the characters.

* JoBlo (Twitter): Is an often good, frequently great but mostly uneven film that worked better as a written story.

* GordonAndTheWhale (Twitter): Doesn't know what it wants to be and, paired with an unsympathetic main character, steadily grew into a film I hated.

* FilmSchoolRejects (Twitter): Has comedy in the situation, sorrow in it's story. Incredible performances. Very touching, well crafted.

Click here to read more about "The Beaver."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:42:54 AM

I can see this film trying to take itself way to seriously but its ultimately Mel Gibson with his fist up a Beaver, not the first time he's done it this year i heard that's how he punished his ex wife for wearing high heels.

On the other hand the loyal followers of Mel on this site will boost the ratings turning it into a cult classic.
zcurley@gmail.com writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:46:52 AM

Think it'll be alright....maybe and a big maybe... on the other hand might just be a big hot mess...
Bunny X writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 7:52:35 AM

It just wont be good enough to overshadow his antics of being a d*ck.
Now had his first movie after this crap had been Edge of Darkness, that would have worked.
I just don't see this being anywhere good enough to get people to look past and move on.
If anything it will just make things worse by having folks say he's done.
lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:13:13 AM

i will always watch a mel gibson movie even if its a bad one.the man has more talent than most actors and directors in hollywood.polanski raped a little girl and he gets an oscar woody allen married his stepdaughter and he is considered a genious director and accepted by everybody not to mention robert downey who broke into a house and slept in the kids room and is now the most wanted actor out there.mel screams at his golddigger wife and you make him the bad guy.anyway im with mel
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:30:40 AM

I have a feeling that this movie will at least make it's budget back by Mel's fans and the curious and will make it's profit from the over seas markets.
Man in Black writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:02:20 PM

When this hits netflix ill put this in the queue , i dont trust a critics review especially a twitter review . Also for as take a drug to cure your problems as most Americans are i could see some shrink actually trying this therapy ( bi-polar) . So what Mel has had some problems with women who hasn't , his celebrity just makes him an easy target for the press to air his dirty laundry .
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:11:15 PM

lebowski- I think its more the racism and sexism part that people hate him for, Polanski's not exactly been accepted either. I know he was drunk but I don't start beating women up when I'm drunk not unless they gob in my face then I give them a swift round house kick to the spleen. Also I'd say RDJ is a much better actor than Mel that sleeping in a kids room thing is just hilarious.
lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 12:32:16 PM

cinemaisdead-hillarious for you and me but not so much for the woman that found him drunk drugged and sleeping in her kids bed.dont get me wrong i love rdj, i dont know if he is a much better actor than mel, thats a matter of opinion after all ,but mel was one of the few that helped downey make a come back long before iron man .
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:01:52 PM

lebowski- i can imagine it was quite traumatising just the thought of it made me chuckle, I bet he got off lightly as well as long as he signed some autographs for the old bill that arrested him. Mel has had some good stints but i think his glory years are behind him now I think the drink has taken over but I do hope he comes back with a vengeance. I'm sure he's a good guy at heart I just got no time for racism in this day and age maybe it's a naive view to have and i know he's old school but it pisses me off more than RJDs antics and even Polanskis peadobear ways
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:17:31 PM

Critics love Mel Gibson's beaver ? Well, Zach Gallifinakis can breath a sigh of relief when critics catch a shot of his vagina as well.

I bet his counselor in his Anger Management sessions will walk into the circle one day with a Beaver puppet on and say, " Hey Mel,
loved the new movie. Now, tell me how you love punching women in the face, hunh ? "

Mel Gibson's fist is up a beaver puppet ? I'm sure it's not the first time his fist has been up some anatomical hole.
lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:30:30 PM

cinemaisdead-having no tolerance for racism is never naive .i agree that mel should return with a vengeance because theres not much talent left in hollywood
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 2:20:37 PM

lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:30:30 PM
cinemaisdead-having no tolerance for racism is never naive .i agree that mel should return with a vengeance because theres not much talent left in hollywood

@lebowski
Hey, when it come
s to life, I believe everyone deserves a second chance ...

I mean it did so well for George W Bush .... Lindsay Lohan ... Channing Tatum .... OJ Simpson
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 2:21:49 PM

Mel should direct Passion Of The Christ II : Pissed As Hell and Back for Vengeance
lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 2:34:19 PM

nihilistic michael maus-i am all about second chances dude especially in gibsons situation.i just hope they would let him work again and make the movies that he wants like that movie about vikings with di caprio he was about to make before all this.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 3:47:22 PM

lebowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 2:34:19 PM
nihilistic michael maus-i am all about second chances dude especially in gibsons situation.i just hope they would let him work again and make the movies that he wants like that movie about vikings with di caprio he was about to make before all this.

@lebowski

Point well taken that he's a pretty damn good director and actor.


But he's had some instances that make him very iffy at best when it comes to being a marketable property again, by Hollywood standards.

And yes, when it comes to Hollywood's view of Gibson's behavior away from the set, he's not an actor ... he's chattel at best.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:14:24 PM

I like Mel.

I don't give a crap about his personal life.

He's entertaining.

I'll watch this because it's Mel. Not in the theater... Netflix or movie channel fo sho.

And if anyone doesn't like that...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbxsWiLOIVM

Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:15:14 PM

Or better yet:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWOWugQERWM
jdl107 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:22:21 PM

@Ranger: Well to be honest I'm sure that's what it's about. What it's supposed to be anyway. It's kind've sad to see people write such bad things about him, how something that happens in someone else's life can affect ones' judgement and outlook on entertainment. They act like they know him or something... this is one of the cons of the worldwide web, unrestricted, unlimited access to the lives of others.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:24:35 PM

@jdl - thx.

Well said (as well). For instance... next to his immediate family and close friends, I'm probably Freddie Mercury's biggest fan. I don't care what he did in his personal life. He gave more than he took (ok... that'll get the jokes started). But you get my meaning.
jdl107 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:27:17 PM

I'll tell you man, if they think Braveheart is sh*t because he yelled at some chick, that person(s) needs to be smacked.
Ranger writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 6:36:25 PM

lol...
OzBox writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:14:43 PM

I can never watch another mel movie. I don't want 'WHAT A DOUCHEBAG!' playing on a loop in my head the whole time.
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:34:09 PM

Well, good to see the man making movies instead of making the news, though it'll be a hard sell to see him talking to a f*cking plush beaver throughout.
jdl107 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:44:01 PM

^^^

Jesus.

But yeah, I don't know a damn thing about Freddie except that he's gay. But I already know a bunch of people in my life that would sh*t themselves if they ever heard that, maybe even to the point where they say f*ck him (Kind've like how people I know disowned Billy Squier from their lives when they went to a concert and he was "dancing gay"... I know right). That kind of mentality disgusts me, and now instead of being like the good ol' days getting out there and protesting or some sh*t we're over here thinking that writing on Twitter about some dude we heard about on Entertainment Tonight is called "having a life". It f*ckin' sucks to tell you the truth.
jdl107 writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 9:12:28 PM

Oops. See, I kept checking and checking, just to make sure no one got in the way and rendered my response to ozbox useless. But what does Mink do, straight ruins the thunder.

:) kidding.

The "^^^ Jesus." was to ozzy boy.
osamp writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 10:33:53 AM

Reviews should not be on twitter.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2011 at 1:14:21 PM

Nothing should be on Twitter but twats. And lo and behold!

NP jdl. Funny read.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved