WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Red Dawn" Villains Changed from Chinese to North Korean

Posted: March 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Red Dawn" Villains Changed from Chinese to North KoreanSubmit Comment
We have yet to see a trailer for the upcoming "Red Dawn" remake, but judging by some of the set photos, it's pretty clear that the villains in the movie are the Chinese.

Now that the film has started looking for a distributor, MGM keeps hearing the same complaints: If Chinese are the villains, then the movie will likely not be released in Chinese theaters where a big chunk of earnings usually come from.

As a result, the studio has allocated $1 million to change the villains from Chinese to North Korean. The movie will involve changing an opening sequence summarizing the story's fictional backdrop, re-editing two scenes and using digital technology to transform many Chinese symbols to Korean. MGM has admitted that all traces of references to China will be impossible to eliminate.

"We were initially very reluctant to make any changes," said producer Tripp Vinson. "But after careful consideration we constructed a way to make a scarier, smarter and more dangerous 'Red Dawn' that we believe improves the movie."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:53:49 AM

What a f*ck up! There totally ripping off "home front" the video game. Yeah Chinese actors are now korian! It's okay, nobody in America can tell. And now that china isn't the enemy, they won't care that thier actors are playing korians! More money for Hollywood dipsh*ts!
Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:15:15 AM

Will Arec Bardwin be in it?

Should've made them russians... oh wait, russian market also makes a lot of money.

Who in the world could believe that North Korea possesses the power or resources to invade the US? If only with bad condoms and grey jumpsuits.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:22:38 AM

Look on the bright side. Chinese, Koreans, whats the difference? They all look alike. Least production won't have to recast all the Chinese in the film.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:38:12 AM

I'm pretty sure Quantum Of Solace did well in America even though the American government was (accurately) portrayed as evil and corrupt.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:43:29 AM

This might be the most hilarious thing I've heard in a while. Do they really think that the Chinese will be less insulted by this?

"You are not the villains. The North Koreans is. You all look the same anyway, so we just a change. Happy now?"

They will probably use Japanese actors, because, why not?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:52:20 AM

Seriously guys, no one gives a f*ck about this in China, they got better things to think about.
Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:15:24 AM

@Dave

Unfortunately, they do.

They'd most likely ban it. Perhaps, for good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:44:37 AM

Jesus, Hollywood your success rate at f*cking up every remake is still at 100%. Keep it up.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:53:29 AM

Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:15:24 AM

@Dave

Unfortunately, they do.

They'd most likely ban it. Perhaps, for good.


@Kurskij

Me thinks not mate, I'm China and have been for a few years and the first bit of news about this film and it having Chinese bad guys, most of the people I spoke to had no clue about this film or the original movie.

So this bit of news isn't going to do much now anyway.

Plus if China was to ban the movie, just hope they ban it for being sh*t rather than because it portrays Chinese as the bad guys.
Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 10:04:26 AM

Plus if China was to ban the movie, just hope they ban it for being sh*t rather than because it portrays Chinese as the bad guys.


^Amen
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 10:05:06 AM

Never cared for the original Red Dawn that much, despite the idea of WW3 and the Brat Pack (ish)cast plus the great Ben Johnson, Just didn't do it for me.

And just what MGM need to be doing right now spending money on editing and re-shoots for a reason as daft as this.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:29:16 AM

Maaaan, I was excited about this too. f*cking stupid to think North Korea could invade and take us over. At least China was semi-plausible.
rocketman writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:43:46 AM

Should have made the British and Canadians the enemies,we invaded thanks to all the sh*te Lady Ga Ga reality MTV bullsh*t we get bombarded with.
And the fact that you will share that crap but i can't get Twinkies at Tescos?????
Enough!
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:54:01 AM

Lady Ga Ga, That is a train wreck alright but with a great Ass.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:56:27 AM

Trailer- I disagree, Lady Gagas ass is like a plate of bones... still poke it though lol
rocketman writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:59:59 AM

I've seen bigger knockers on a dolls house and a nose that could cut glass.Pig.
Would do at a push,5 pinter.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:14:30 PM

Cinema looked pretty sweet on MTV a minute ago,lol

Rocket - 5 pints of snake bite and black (for the boat)

Beer Goggles

http://cache.gawkerassets.com/assets/images/4/2010/08/beer-goggles.web_01.jpg
rocketman writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:19:08 PM

Oof,snakebite...been a while...rocket fule that stuff and cider makes me violent,i will kill.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:32:50 PM

Good old snake bite!! TV adds 5 pounds trailer lol i just hate the freak, ohh she's so different wearing meat dresses, music is still the same generic pop bullsh*t though!
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:33:08 PM

lol, It does have that effect ....
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:41:27 PM

Mate your right on her music it's SHOCKING, You have to wonder about someone that will wear a meat dress for publicity.

She will say she had a good and noble reason for doing so but who the hell remembers what it was.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:54:22 PM

Something about fighting against the war or whatever she's just a madonna wannabe her fame is already on the decline she's run out of ridiculous ideas i just cant wait til the day she overdoses and I can celebrate with a glass of tigers blood. WINNING!
jdl107 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:26:08 PM

@Taco:

Ripping off Homefront? I guess.

What's funny is that the guy who wrote Homefront - John Milius - is the same guy that directed the original Red Dawn (Yup...). Maybe he gave some advice, or maybe it just makes more sense. But I did get the same reaction as you until I thought of the director.
jdl107 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:28:49 PM

@TrailerTrash: It's alright, to be honest with you Red Dawn was pretty sh*tty. One of the most underdeveloped movies I've ever seen, not to mention I laughed out loud how all of a sudden Patrick came to the rescue at the beginning. The way that movie started was pretty bad.
hunter207 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:43:02 PM

@Cinema Thats because we already know our government is evil and corrupt, but a good chunk of americans are to lazy to do anything about it

On topic, who cares what the commi sons of bitches think?? Let em stew!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:54:34 PM

I read Lady Gaga!!! Die you f*cking c*nt. Some body kill this bitch please!!!!!!!!!!
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 3:04:23 PM

who gives a f*ck this movie looks gayer than war horse
coldplayesence writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 3:09:49 PM

Chinese, Cubas, Islamic folks (should I say "non-white"?, that's the kind of enemy that Hollywood can easily identify and follow the plot, if any) you name it, the movie will suck anyway.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 4:30:04 PM

God u people suck
technoreaper writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:21:25 PM

This is going to be garbage anyways. The Chinese will not want to see it anyways.
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:31:56 PM

"But after careful consideration we constructed a way to make a scarier, smarter and more dangerous 'Red Dawn' that we believe improves the movie."

Smarter? You have the least powerful nation on earth invading the most powerful country to have ever existed. Does that sound...smart to you?
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:33:08 PM

"I read Lady Gaga!!! Die you f*cking c*nt. Some body kill this bitch please!!!!!!!!!!"

Keysha and Pink too, please.
JohnZee writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:38:31 PM

I would like to know how they are going to set up something so completely ludicrous as North Korea invading the United States with any sort of military forces?

Maybe they are the North Koreans from the anti-matter mirror universe where everything is opposite, and they are the greatest super power of the earth from that universe.

Maybe they should just alter the individual international versions of the film so that in Russia the version is released where Germany invades the U.S., and in China they could see the version where the Americans trick the noble Chinese troops into invading just so they can all be viciously slaughtered by a group of mad dog corrupt Capitalistic teenagers screaming "Wolverines".
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:02:31 PM

They're remaking a 30 year old film that made some sense back then into a new film that makes absolutely no sense now, and people wonder why MGM went bankrupt...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:02:42 PM

that's f*cking crazy. f*ck the Chinese-in America we have films portraying American's taking America into dictatorships, or causing national disasters,etc.
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:16:53 PM

Globalization: even f*cking up films now.

I love how we at home (America!) get short shrift because these greedy companies have to shell out their sh*t to every tin-pot dictatorship and communist sh*thole, which is why Captain America is really just some lametard international hero cynically costumed in the American flag and why GI JOE looked like what the United Nations would make if they were into homoerotic action films instead of stealing oil and bribes.
xtlhogciao writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:18:01 PM

Well I guess switching it to an invasion by North Korea makes a band of teenagers kicking the crap out of them more plausible.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:18:40 PM

Who will star as the North Korean's

Michael Moore
Alec Baldwin
Joy Bayhard
Oliver Stone
Keith Oberman
Rachel Madow
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:30:05 PM

"Well I guess switching it to an invasion by North Korea makes a band of teenagers kicking the crap out of them more plausible."

The only way teenagers could take down *these* US-Invading Super North Koreans is if the teenieboppers played Keysha, Lady Gaga and Pink from 30000w/165dB speakers.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:47:50 PM

The only way teenagers could take down *these* US-Invading Super North Koreans is if the teenieboppers played Keysha, Lady Gaga and Pink from 30000w/165dB speakers.

God after that horror those North Korean's will be thinking Kim Jong-il not such a bad guy after all
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:02:56 PM

Trailer, according to what I know, he's actually worshipped as a noble and much-loved hero to the NK people. Children throw him flowers and people hold up beatific images of him during parades and what not.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:14:19 PM

I could f*cking careless about this movie.
goat1202 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:17:00 PM

they should have used the $1 million to change the entire concept to the entire cast getting gang raped by a few hundred midgets, guaranteed this would smash Avatar box office records.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:17:29 PM

That could well be the case Mink. I think Team America influenced my last post more than any fact , lol
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:30:18 PM

Why not just make the villians the Jews ?

And make the head Jew Gilbert Gottfried.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:32:49 PM

jdl107- I agree 100% my friend.

I have tried to watch the film again twice in the 5 years and i have turned it off both times.

It's just a crap film and why MGM felt they had to remake and spend 60/70million on it is staggering decision and you can see why they are in trouble.
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:36:26 PM

lol, yeah, well, funny film. Love the theme song, even if it is cynical and people (Americans) fail to see that fact.
OzBox writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 8:25:40 PM

So world peace is really going to f*ck up hollywood box office takings. Whoever the bad the guys are is going to cost money.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved