WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Todd Phillips Speaks Out Against Unrated DVDs

Posted: March 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Todd Phillips Speaks Out Against Unrated DVDsSubmit Comment
Director Todd Phillips (The Hangover, Due Date) revealed that he hates unrated cuts of DVDs, because they break DGA rules and are just a cheap marketing ploy.

"[Warner Bros] will make your movie; your movie does well, and they want to create an unrated version, which is entirely against DGA rules because it's not your cut," he said. "And they can't call it the 'Director's Cut' - they'll call it 'Unrated' or some ridiculous term. Really all it is, is about seven minutes of footage that you cut out of the movie for a reason."

Phillips continued: "That won't happen on 'Hangover 2.' The truth is that the unrated DVD, I probably could have killed, and they explained to me why they wanted to do it and what it meant as a marketing device. The fact that it ended up on HBO was an incredibly large f*ck-up. That shouldn't have happened. So that's not going to happen again."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:48:29 AM

Everyone knows unrated is a marketing ploy. Just means maybe a couple of boobie shots added in order to get your $20 for the store DVD.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:20:07 AM

Todd Phillips needs all the money he can get the sell-out! It doesn't matter how much footage you add or remove form the Hangover 2 it will still be the same amount of sh*t!
johnny_boy writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:25:10 AM

Seems like Zac Galafatasskiss is gonna be in every single Todd Philips film doing the same role. Such a shame.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:48:26 AM

Nice pic of Todd, he's baked outta his mind.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:28:15 AM

what a whiner, I dont extra boobs or swears in my films. don't make a stoner film then.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 11:59:05 AM

Bad- lol
rocketman writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 12:23:35 PM

So thats the c*nt that made Hangover...did anyone laugh at that? anyone? i don't think there was even any attempt to put any jokes in there.f*cking crap of the highest order.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:21:44 PM

Road Trip and Old School were comedy classics though but its more down to casting
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 2:11:03 PM

What's with the Hangover bashing? Sure it wasn't a 'sophisticated' comedy, but it was funny as f*ck. In my opinion if you have two balls in your sack and nothing up your *sshole you gotta love this movie.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 2:25:17 PM

Due Date sucked and I Hangover was overrated. But in fairness, Hangover was built up so much by the time I saw it, it never would've lived up to my expectations.
trailertrash writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 3:51:55 PM

Maybe Todd doesn't get such as bigger dollar cut out of the unrated dvd versions.

Anyway you just can't beat those Comedies like

Animal House
Porkys
Meatballs
1st Police Academy
Fast times at Rid-High
Risky Business
Weird Science

I Even liked Bachelor Party as much as The Hangover.
Kurskij writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:06:47 PM

I liked The Hangover and look forward to the sequel.

I had hangover myself when I first saw it - and I was pleasantly surprised.

Jack-on-the-rocks and Old School-Hangover back-to-back really helped.
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:44:30 PM

This guy whines more than Kevin Smith and admittedly over nothing.

He quickly admits that the unrated cuts are no big deal, but then he spends several minutes of his lackluster life whining and complaining that they don't meet the socialist union DGA rules or something. Shut the f*ck up.

And no, rocketman, The Hangover was just stupid. It's a film that was made for drunks and stoned moviegoeres like most comedies nowadays, and if you aren't drunk or stoned, you won't laugh.

@ikleesdekrant: I can assure you sir, I have all of my 'equipment', and nary an object up my ass, but I do have one between my ears, and I can say The Hangover was not either funny or clever, but just a series of gags and goofs told under the spell of amnesia.
goat1202 writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:11:34 PM

j_b, totally agree, Zac Galaf*ckimaflamingqueer is way overated. He's Jack Black only more permish/queerish.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:23:00 PM

Taco writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 5:48:29 AM

Everyone knows unrated is a marketing ploy. Just means maybe a couple of boobie shots added in order to get your $20 for the store DVD.


@Taco

Amen.

It's the movie equivalent of a variant cover of a comic book that's the same f*ckING DAMN STORY.

f*cking production companies.

I've seen some "Unrated" and some "Theatrical" versions and there's not THAT MUCH DIFFERENCE. It's just extra footage stuck in because they want to write off the use of the film that hit the editing floor.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:23:51 PM

And f*ck that vaginal necropheliac Zach Gallififaggus.
maddasahatter writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 1:44:46 AM

@ Mink:
I was high when I watched it and I didn't laugh. It's retarded "humor" directed at high school drop outs.
Kratos writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 11:14:43 AM

I have one thing to say to this douchebag.

S.T.FU.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 3:17:24 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved