WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hereafter" Pulled from Japanese Theaters

Posted: March 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hereafter" Pulled from Japanese TheatersSubmit Comment
Clint Eastwood's "Hereafter" is coming to DVD/Blu-ray tomorrow (March 15th), but it is still playing on over 180 screens in Japan, which is currently dealing with a deadly disaster.

The opening scene of "Hereafter" features a tsunami rising up and decimating a seaside resort. Warner Entertainment said that certain parts of the movie are "not appropriate" for showings in Japan and has now pulled the movie from all theaters in the country.

Despite pulling the film, it still managed to gross $7.6 million in Japan. Overall, "Hereafter" took in $104 million in worldwide ticket sales on a $50 million budget.

Click here to read our "Hereafter" review.

Source: Deadline, AP


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
manichispanic writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 5:58:07 PM

makes sense
JakeVermont writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:04:29 PM

Its a sh*tty movie anyway. Watched it for over an hour waiting for something to happen storywise. BUT NO! Gotta admit that the scene with the tsunami hat great visuals. But the movie sucks anyway.

May God help those poor basterds in Japan. Maybe people start to think about a Tsunami alarm system. I mean you have a Nuke Plant at the coast and then this? Come on it was just a matter of time.
zyban03 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:43:48 PM

The last thing after a disaster like that is to pull a movie...makes sense though. Can't imagine what their going through over there.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:16:27 PM

"I mean you have a Nuke Plant at the coast and then this?"

Ah, good old Jake Vermont, if you knew anything about nuclear technology, you'd know the reactors need water, not only for cooling but for the generation of electricity.

They should build them inland where there's little water instead, even though the reactors in question were designed to handle earthquakes and tsunamis?

"Maybe people start to think about a Tsunami alarm system."

Uh, they have one, but when the earthquake epicenter is not far from the coast, and tsunamis travel anywhere from 40 to 500 mph, it's difficult (impossible, really) for people (especially in crowded urban environments) to outrun the moving water (assuming they could otherwise, as the fastest person alive can move at a maximum of about 40 mph, just right at the tsumami's low end speed)...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:19:39 PM

Wouldn't they have just stopped showing the movie because Matt Damon would put people to sleep like a Human Sominex pill ?
Bob82 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:21:49 PM

I'm a fan of Eastwood, didn't like the movie though, but that opening scene is a masterpiece on it's own.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 10:47:03 PM

Guess Disney's plan to open up a Hurricane Harbor near Tokyo is out of the question ....


Too soon ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 10:48:14 PM

Boy, I bet those dolphins they were killing for the sport are laughing and going,

" See how it feel, f*ckers ? Nice to know your bodies can still float like corkwood too. "
Rambo writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 1:17:01 AM

yes,the Japanese don't need another disaster like this movie...
-Chewy- writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 1:50:46 AM

@minkowski

Nuclear plants don't use water to cool. They use heavy water. (H30)

But yeah, I'm just nitpicking.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 7:45:58 AM

@Minkowski: :D I know they need it too cool i visited a plant some time ago it was amazing^^ well high german standards^^ uhm What i was actually going for wasnt an evac plan but I was just wondering if you knew a tsunami is coming how long does it take to shut down the reactor? People die. Thats inevitable. hundred thousands of people die every day due to hunger oder water or whatever but nobody cares that much.

Well maybe I talk too much without knowing enough. Apologies for that.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 7:47:33 AM

i meant thirst^^
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 3:34:26 PM

The Japanese plants automatically shut down right after the quake, Jake, and, more to the issue for me anyway, where's the argumentative spirit from the past, dude?

You used to give me a hard time, remember? What happened to you? Did you get married or something, because you appear neutered and chaste and that's never good for a man.

"Nuclear plants don't use water to cool. They use heavy water. (H30)"

That's very true, Chewy, some do use heavy water, while others use regular water inside the cooling towers:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_cooling

Also, according to what I understand, the Girdler process uses regular water for deuterium enrichment, as seawater alone contains only 2% heavy water.

So heavy water is manufactured from an abundance of regular hydrogen-based water, and according to a Japanese paper from 1977, seawater can be used for distillation purposes to make heavy water, which is why I would imagine they would build them near the coasts: ample water for cooling, even if they use heavy water. That and a number of rivers and stream acc*mulate near the coast.

The whole point, really, is that Jake seemed to think the plants were built near the coast because the Japanese are just stupid, like they don't know about tsunamis and earthquakes, and my point is that they in fact do know what they're doing and that they built them where they did for a good reason, which I assumed was for the large availabiity of water as a coolant, either from runoff or for heavy water distillation.
manichispanic writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 4:00:19 PM

how about not building nuke plants at all?
Ranger writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 1:15:14 AM

No, because then we'd have to rely on burning of Rosie O'Donnell's feces as a heating product. And I don't think the trade-off is worth it.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 6:59:35 AM

@ Ranger: LOL :D

@Minkowski: Hey I didnt say the Japanese were stupid ;-) Of course you built those plants there for a reason. I'm just saying that when you know a tsunami or an earthquake might happen you have to invest all the money it needs to make it withstand such a catastrophe. If you dont, then dont be surprised if a tsunami f*cks up your plant. Right? I Have to say I dont know much about statics and dynamics of buildings (studying mechatronics).

And I know humans could prepare as good as they can and nature will still f*ck us deep in the a.s.s.

PS: Yeah I used to give u a hard time^^ i know i didnt get married for goods sake^^ I'm 23 thats way into the future for me. I dont know maybe university time let me grow up a little.
Neutered and chaste huh? Well, I passed the one year mark with my girlfriend. Oh my god... did she cut my balls of in my sleep? Women are evil! I knew it!
Thats Mink! I'll punch myself in the balls to wake'em up!

JakeVermont writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:01:13 AM

* Thanks not thats
JakeVermont writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 7:01:25 AM

edit button?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 16th, 2011 at 8:45:01 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUshKxtgV-s

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved