WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alec Baldwin on Why He Didn't Play Jack Ryan After "Hunt for Red October"

Posted: March 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alec Baldwin on Why He DidnSubmit Comment
Alec Baldwin has a blog on HuffingtonPost, which he now used to answer why he did not return to play Jack Ryan in any more installments after he starred in "The Hunt for Red October."

"John McTiernan, who directed 'The Hunt for Red October,' told me that during the period of the previous few months [after 'Red October' hit theaters], he had been negotiating to do a film with a very famous movie star who had dropped out of his film days before so that he could go star in the sequels to 'The Hunt For Red October,'" Baldwin explained. "John further told me that Paramount owed the actor a large sum of money for a greenlit film that fell apart prior to this, and pushing me aside would help to alleviate that debt and put someone with much greater strength at the box office than mine in the role."

He added: "I sat there mildly stunned because not only was I in an active negotiation with Paramount, but for them to negotiate simultaneously with another actor was against the law. All of this served to explain why the studio would not close my deal over what I thought were some relatively arbitrary issues surrounding the dates of production."

We assume that the other actor was Harrison Ford, who played Jack Ryan in the next two installments (Patriot Games, Clear and Present Danger). Baldwin doesn't blame McTiernan. He blames studio executive David Kirkpatrick, who was not only looking to replace Baldwin, but ended up replacing McTiernan as well. Both Ford films were directed by Phillip Noyce.

On top of that, box office results proved Kirkpatrick wrong. "The Hunt for Red October" grossed $200 million on a $30 million budget, while "Patriot Games" took in $178 million on a $45 million budget.

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dissident187 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:13:07 AM

f*cking studio politics. Think of how Alec Baldwin would have been a powerhouse if the retained him and McTiernan for the sequels. He could have been a modern day Paul Newman or something.
Rambo writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:22:05 AM

Baldwin was good in red october but people went to see it because of sean connery
heelswin writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:36:07 AM

I thought Harrison Ford did a great job as Jack Ryan. I enjoyed his portrayal of the character in both movies. When I think of Hunt For Red October I do not immediately think of Baldwin. I do however think Hunt is the best film out of the Jack Ryan movies.

On a side note Why did director John Mctiernan fall off over the last 10 + years ( has made 3 movies since '99). After looking at IMDBs list of his films I see he is hit or miss but he has 5 classics out of the 12 movies he made
bandolero999 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:40:13 AM

And your many decades too late for that question being answered and harrison ford was a better replacement.so go and cry somewhere else u fat f*ck,unfortunately you still get roles in hollywood still
boogiel writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:41:59 AM

@Rambo

Exactly. Sean Connery really steals Alec Baldwin's thunder in that movie. Pretty much similar to what he did in The Untouchables
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 8:24:20 AM

Harrison Ford was fantastic as Ryan, and so was Baldwin. Def feel sorry for Baldwin about this, would have been great to see him as Ryan again
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 9:37:30 AM

Cinemas a right c*nt!
Zoe Levitz writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 9:48:53 AM

Journalistic integrity, gentlemen. Again, you only provide half of the truth on another story.

Why not mention that Ford’s next outing as Jack Ryan (Clear and Present Danger) grossed more box office then both "The Hunt for Red October" and "Patriot Games?"

Why, it wouldn’t fit your agenda here.

Just by doing actual research, you would see that "Clear and Present Danger" is still today, the highest grossing Jack Ryan film, at both the domestic and worldwide box office.

I am sure none of you folks will be working for the AP or Deadline Hollywood anytime soon.

Sorry. Ciao
batdump writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 10:16:59 AM

I was wondering about the missing movie in that last statement. Thanks zoe.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 1:49:00 PM

I like Alec because he nailed Basinger.

After that, life is gravy... it's all gravy.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 2:03:33 PM

For someone who bemoans a lack of 'journalistic integrity, they sure don't have a clue on how to spell 'than' or where to properly place commas, because of corse it's natural to assume Alex has a grudge against 'Clear and Present Danger', the second worst/best film of the earlier so-called trilogy.

Also, just for the hell of it, film titles don't go inside quotation marks.

"Why, it wouldn’t fit your agenda here."

Yes, because Alex obviously has adeep-seated agenda with that particular film. How ever did you guess?

Alex, please do chime in and inform us mere rubes on your far-flung and wide-cast conspiracy to eliminate the movie 'Clear and Present Danger' from all of earth's records.

"Just by doing actual research, you would see that "Clear and Present Danger" is still today, the highest grossing Jack Ryan film, at both the domestic and worldwide box office."

It's also the worst of the two Harrison Ford-Jack Ryan films. What's your point?

Furthermore, and here's the REAL issue, what the hell does it matter what the final film made in the year 1994 when the decision to replace Baldwin was made back in 1990?!

What, the studio execs could see the future? Because this story concerns why he was replaced with Ford four years earlier!

You, Zoe Levitz, ain't too bright. No offense.

And one final thing, 'Clear and Present Danger' worked off a 65 million dollar budget, and made nearly 350 million worldwide. I hardly think that makes Kirkpatrick's decision the wrong one.

And...anyone else think Hunt's success had far more to do with good old Connery and far less to do with Baldwin? Yeah, me too.
trailertrash writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 5:01:16 PM

Alec Baldwin was in The Hunt For Red October, Well i never ...

heelswin -

John has had a few problems over the last few years involving making false statements to the FBI.

I think he's serving a year in prison at the minute.

And your right he has made some GREAT movies over the years.
technoreaper writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 6:37:29 PM

Baldwin sucked in the role anyways. Harrison Ford was much better!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 7:26:50 PM

Alec Baldwin on Why He Didn't Play Jack Ryan After "Hunt for Red October" ... who the f*ck cares ????


Zoe Levitz writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 11:38:30 PM

Oy vey. Seems I touched a nerve.


I don't want to revert to a tit for tat with a gent that describes himself ever so eloquently as "tall, white and verbally aggressive." That, in itself, says it all. And I’m too ladylike for such behavior.

I find it ironic though that the manly Mr. Texan attacks me for typing "then" instead of "than," but has the nerve to use "ain't" in his post. LOL! Perhaps that is the norm for you Texans. There is a reason we laugh at “y'all.”

I do agree that ”””The Hunt for Red October””” (hey, Billy Bob, how you like dem gaw dang quotes?) is superior in quality to the other Ryan adaptations. But, that is our opinions...and shouldn't be so foolishly mistaken as fact. Didn’t they teach you the difference there in Yee-Haw land?


Understand?

Clear and Present Danger = Highest Grossing = Fact.

The Hunt for Red October = Not Highest Grossing = Fact.

The Hunt for Red October = Best of all Ryan Films = Opinion.


Regardless, Baldwin might want to rethink his snide remarks toward B'Nai Brith. Such poor attitude and dangerous behavior toward the tribe is what cost him the movie career in the first place.


Love him as Tina Fey’s sidekick on 30 Rock though.


Sweet regards,

Zoe Levitz

ilovemovies82 writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 9:20:07 AM

I love Baldwin. He's awesome in The Cooler and 30 Rock. But Ford is a better Jack Ryan and Clear and Present Danger is my favorite Ryan flick, although Hunt for Red October is a close second.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved