WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battle: Los Angeles" Dominates, "Mars Needs Moms" Bombs

Posted: March 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battle: Los Angeles" Dominates, "Mars Needs Moms" BombsSubmit Comment
"Battle: Los Angeles" sci-fi film took first place at the domestic box office this weekend with $36 million, putting it on track to easily make back its $70 million budget, despite very negative reviews. Overseas, "Battle" already took in an additional $16.7 million.

"The result validated our belief in the film. It had imagery that was totally visceral and fun," said Sony, which had a film open in first place for the fourth time in a row, including "Green Hornet," "The Roommate" and "Just Go With It."

Coming in third is "Red Riding Hood" with $14.1 million. Warner Bros heavily promoted that the film is directed by "Twilight" helmer Catherine Hardwicke to attract some of the massive "Twilight" audience. The plan didn't work out, but since "Red Riding Hood" cost only $42 million to make, at least the studio will be able to recoup its costs.

Now that "Red Riding Hood" and "Beastly" underperformed, this is a bad sign for all the similar projects, including the two "Snow White" films in the works.

Disney was the biggest loser of the weekend. It's "Mars Needs Moms" animated film, which cost a whopping $150 million to produce, brought in a lousy $6.8 million. That marks one of the lowest studio openings in recent memory. And the film didn't fare any better overseas, where it opened in 14 territories and grossed only $2.1 million.

"The right audience came, but not in the numbers we needed," said Disney. "I'm disappointed for the filmmakers. They spent at least two years of their lives making a terrific movie that people won't see."

Click here to read our "Battle: Los Angeles" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 9:28:43 PM

"The result validated our belief in the film."

Which was what exactly? That people will pay ten to fifteen dollars a head to obseqiuously avoid the boredom plaguing their lives, even is means watching terrible films?

"It had imagery that was totally visceral and fun,"

Like a three-car pile-up on the interstate with severed heads and homeless hobos.

"which had a film open in first place for the fourth time in a row, including "Green Hornet," "The Roommate" and "Just Go With It.""

Between the PS3 and these films, Sony has a genuine flair for making junk.

"Coming in third is "Red Riding Hood" with $14.1 million. Warner Bros heavily promoted that the film is directed by "Twilight" helmer Catherine Hardwicke to attract some of the massive "Twilight" audience."

Yeah, but the Twilight crowd comes to see Twilight, not the various non-Twilight works of some random sh*t-stain director like Hardwicke.

Uwe Boll could direct a Twilight film and the 'massive Twilight crowd' would still turn out, dumbasses that they are.

"The plan didn't work out"

Durrrrrr.

"but since "Red Riding Hood" cost only $42 million to make"

42 million dollars that Japan could use right now to avoid radiating in the dark like a Halloween glow stick.

"at least the studio will be able to recoup its costs."

Good news for all! Glad to see the studios can squeeze back production costs from moron moviegoers (no offense, right?) on even the worst films, when every other business venture has to take a loss when they fail.

"Now that "Red Riding Hood" and "Beastly" underperformed, this is a bad sign for all the similar projects, including the two "Snow White" films in the works."

I think it's fair to say that fairy tales are considered 'magical' stories, and when you transform them into empty vehicles for cheap and cynical genre productions, people tend to avoid them.

No one wants an apple on the outside, sh*t on the inside.

"The right audience came, but not in the numbers we needed,"

Because the 'right audience', for Disney anyway, is dumbasses who erroneously believe Disney can do anything right these days, beyond fairy tales like Tangled.

Wrong people making the wrong movies, I think.

"I'm disappointed for the filmmakers. They spent at least two years of their lives making a terrific movie that people won't see."

If it was so damned terrific, people would have bothered buying a ticket, I think, because good films sell themselves.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 9:47:40 PM

well this is very surprising.I guess Battle of LA is definitely no Battlefield Earth and 70min budget not too bad.I'll give it a watch when it comes out on dvd.Good for the SciFi Genre

Red riding hood and Beastly bombed no f*cking way, there is a god after all.Guess you cant add the Twilight influence in every film

Disney good for you for having another flop i mean come on look at the title of that name MArs needs moms?thats as gay as both sex and the city movies combined.
Preditorian writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:53:49 PM

Geez, talk about conflicted reviews for Battle LA, seems all the "brilliant" critics hate it while alot of moviegoers like it? Hm... Think it be time for me to add my little portion to the Battle LA box office.

TeemSelami writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 1:43:19 AM

mars needs moms 150 million
sorcerers apprentice 150 million
prince of persia 200 million

hey disney i'll take $50,000 and promise not to embarrass you monday morning
telur writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 2:01:22 AM

disney going to bankrupt
jdl107 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 2:57:14 AM

@Preditorian: That's probably because most of the critics on RottenTomatoes aren't into to mindless fun. If it's not compelling, has no point (It's an alien invasion film, give me one point other than to give people some good action) chances are they're gonna trash it.

I'm gonna see it, that's for sure, and I'm positive that this movie serves no purpose in life. I just wanna see some sh*t get blown up.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:23:05 AM

battle la was good, but who the f*ck would see beastly god damn twilight clones
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:25:50 AM

yeah critics bash stuff like this and love sh*t like paranormal activity,twilight, all hail the king.....keeps going
The Batman writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:42:00 AM

i agree with you jigsaw23
when will critics learn?!
Rambo writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:54:15 AM

saw 'mars needs moms' trailer.looks horrific...what were they thinking?
ilovebatman writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 5:01:29 AM

glad MNM bombed out... @ The Batman... I like my avatar better. noob
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 5:56:43 AM

ALL THE RETARDS FLOCK TO THE CINEMA TO WATCH SPECIAL FX AND EXPLOSIONS. f*ckING HATE HOLLYWOOD MAYYNNNN
Bunny X writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:04:51 PM

I asked my youngest daughter if she wanted to go see Mars Needs Moms and she chose to watch Rango again. I wasn't complaining since I loved Rango. When we got there, you could hear folks coming out of MNM that they should have went to see Rango instead.
My older daughter went with her friend to see Red Riding Hood and said she should have came with us to see Rango.
Atemisk writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 5:13:03 PM

MNM just looked awful. The plot sounded stupid, the very basic science of it doesn't make sense (why the f*ck do martians need space helmets to survive on the surface of their own planet??) and beyond that the animation is absolutely hideous. Its obviously a chosen art style of the creators but why is a vast unknowable mystery. Whatever made them believe this was going to be a smash hit is beyond me. The saddest part is that a good portion of that gross is the extra up charge for 3D tickets so the movie did even worse than most people realize.

Red Riding Hood, Battle: LA, Beastly, and future bullsh*t projects like this: Film makers (strike that: PRODUCERS) are gonna keep throwing this junk out there because in their minds is SHOULD be popular given what else has been popular lately and with any luck it will lead to them being finacially bitch slapped.
nightjunkie writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 11:56:49 PM

@Minkowski

What the f*ck are you talking about you stupid moron? The PS3 is great. And Sony released the highest rated movie of 2010 "The Social Network"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved