WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battle: Los Angeles" - What Did You Think?

Posted: March 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battle: Los Angeles" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Battle: Los Angeles" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a 33% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the movie doesn't provide anything new. Instead, it lacks suspense and is a cliche, mindless mess.

"Battle: Los Angeles" cost around $100 million to make and likely had a marketing campaign behind it that cost just as much. The film will easily win the box office weekend and has already grossed $13.5 million on Friday.

Click here to read our "Battle: Los Angeles" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 9:14:46 PM

Looks like a spinoff of independece day to me with weak actors not strong enough to carry a movie.

But if it makes is budget good for them I guess
Ronsauce writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 9:31:54 PM

The actors are more than strong enough to carry a movie. The problems were that it didn't really have any marquee action scenes, and the aliens were boring as sh*t. If my aliens aren't physically imposing and scary, then they should at least have some cool-ass weaponry. Instead, B:LA has its aliens sporting, for all intents and purposes, regular guns.
JonDrama writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 9:39:23 PM

A bad rip of Independence Day, laughable dialogue, terrible performances, zero suspense and point! The action was good but that novelty soon wears off.. Didn't expect much from Jonathan Liebesman but the trailers looked promising. FAIL
bandolero999 writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 9:52:09 PM

Who were the actors that carried the movie?michelle the dyke rodriguez and Nee Yo? Hahahahahaahahahahahha
Jergyn writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 9:53:56 PM

@JonDrama
the trailers didn't look promising they looked generic
Kurskij writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 10:33:04 PM

Good action, Eckhart did the best he could with the mess of a screenplay. The camerawork was... well appropriate, but they should've got a more skilled cinematographer.

Like Emmanuel Lubezki.

It really doesn't provide anything new, the script is cliche, the characters are mostly cardboard cutouts and the logic went AWOL.

In the end it is no more than a retarded bastard child of "Black Hawk Down" and "War of the Worlds".

But it certainly is not 1/10 movie. 5/10 yes, but no way it is worse than Skyline.

Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 10:53:55 PM

I haven't seen it yet. But I'll go out on the limb here and say I doubt there's enough tits in this flick.
mrstretch writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 11:35:04 PM

I thought it was badass. Nonstop action. It's what I expect from a movie called Battle LA. Aliens invade,shoot guns, the end.
blinkbomber writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 11:52:59 PM

@Jergyn
the trailers didn't look generic they looked promising

:-)
technoreaper writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 12:02:29 AM

Excellent movie, but the ending disappointed me, because it was way too convenient and copied Independence Day, in a way. It was a small flaw. I hope there are no sequels.

I wish the aliens had more depth to them though. They were too inhuman, almost nightmarish.

Also, what was up with the reactions of the military and the US government to the whole situation? How did that Marine commander decide this was a combat mission before actually seeing any of the aliens attack? First of all, only the National Guard are allowed to be mobilized for missions on American soil. It should have been them that were evacuating the population. It would have been better if we actually saw the National Guard getting blown away first, with the Marines surprised and rushing to respond...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 12:11:21 AM

Havn't seen it yet, comes out here next friday (18th), but I can tell you from the trailer I saw, all I am expecting is lots of sh*t blowing up crappy dialogue and in the end the aliens getting the sh*t kicked out of them.

So I guess I won't be disapointed.
Mudders writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 12:28:20 AM

@ technoreaper

I wish the aliens had more depth to them though. They were too inhuman, almost nightmarish.

explain how aliens are suppose to be humanlike and less scary...have you met some?
im pretty sure id have nightmares if i seen a f*ckin alien killing people.

kinda get what ya mean though....you felt no connection to them etc
Mudders writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 12:32:58 AM

ill watch it....by the sounds of it its a crash,bang,shoot 'em up,US marines save the day scenario.

very cliché i would imagine.

ill go for the pure spectacle of it rather than story or reason...much like i did for revenge of the fallen
MadLad writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 4:01:37 AM

AWESOME MOVIE!!!! I've always suspected Dustin Putman was a putz but damn was he wrong... never send an art house reviewer to watch an action movie..

Yeah there was only 150 lines of dialog but why mess up such amazing action with 10 minutes of long winded "Hi my name is Marty. I like long walks on the beach and Korean BBQ". The Lines you hear are to move the story along and give you a break from some of the best action in cenima.

Aaron Eckhart was amazing you could see he was a badass but you could also see the cost of doing what needed to be done..

Best war fighting since black hawk down..
rocketman writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 7:44:47 AM

Gutted,i was really looking forward to this as well as Sucker Punch.Both are getting negative reviews so looks like i luck out this year.Thor looks sh*t,Cap mediocre and Dredd is not out until December and the chances of my favorite comic book character ending up in 5 star movie are slim.I hate the world and i want to get drunk.
rocketman writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 7:46:14 AM

@MadLad,now thats the review i wanted to read.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 8:22:41 AM

give you a break from some of the best action in cenima.

Yeah im gonna believe a guy who can't spell cinema.

Why mess up action with 10 minutes of long winded "Hi my name is Marty. I like long walks on the beach and Korean BBQ".

Yeah you're right we might be in danger of actually feeling emotions towards these characters and actually care if they die. Because we should never mix talking with action lets just think as little as possible. YAAYYYYYYY we can completely switch off our brains and watch loads of pretty explosionsss
happileperkon writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 8:45:41 AM

havent seen it, but it looks like the retarded baby of independance day and cloverfield. both of which sucked, so my expectations for this are about the same.
Rambo writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 8:59:30 AM

Haven't seen it yet but it's been a while since i encountered a movie with so many mixed reviews...
Ronsauce writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 9:29:30 AM

Just to reiterate, the action in the movie isn't bad per se, but it's not particularly inspired either. There wasn't a single moment I thought was even moderately cool or unique. A bunch of the skirmishes played out in the same fashion: marines walking, marines getting fired upon from all directions, marines duck into a building after getting a few shots off. Couple that with the most boring alien weapons I've ever seen, and sh*t gets tiresome.
The Batman writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 9:33:27 AM

it was f*cking awesome! i liked the whole feel of a war movie...but with aliens. the script was fine (nothing academy award winning about it or even sh*t) just fine. i like that the aliens didn't look like something we'd think of (its suppose to be realistic...so think about it, they wouldn't look like humans or the traditional version of aliens that we would have thought about...it would have to be something we couldn't relate to) the action was damn good...and suspenseful at moments (especially the beginning when they go in) and Aaron Eckhart was damn good in it (don't lie..he was a total bad ass...a believable one) and all the actor were good (just because they're not well known doesn't make them bad) and for the comment on the Independence Day spinoff.....are you kidding me (watch that movie again...that script was sh*t..didn't take anything that seriously....made to many damn jokes....it was a pre Michal Bay movie basically).. the aliens had motive ...a realistic one...(they wanted our water...and real scientist said before if E.Ts ever come here to invade they would probably want our gold for maybe there fuel or water.....which look around in our Galaxy..we have the only water supply...so that sh*t is rare. so if you didn't like it...to bad (usually I'd be like if you didn't like the movie and you're a guy....then you might be a little bitch..because what dude wouldn't like this movie...it has action and aliens....sorry there wasn't barbies or sh*t like that..don't complain) but i have to be a little more understanding and respectful of others opinions....even though they're wrong lol
koul writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:33:16 AM

f*ck what you f*cking idiots say. this movie was great
technoreaper writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:41:17 AM

@Mudders, the aliens didn't have any common sense. Why didn't they bombard all the military bases before attacking? If they can travel across space, they can do recon, lol. They don't have nukes? Come on. They happen to have one central machine that directs all their drones? These things didn't seem to know a thing about "shock and awe."

In response to the critics, who reads reviews anymore anyways? Most of the them are heavily biased. Does anyone really care about "Crash" or "Hurt Locker" anymore? If I want to see a movie, I see it, unless the reviews are seriously bad. If a movie gets around a 44-50% on Rotten Tomatoes, usually I end up liking it.

Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:43:03 AM

@koul - your post is as original as your avatar (you f*cking idiot).

@MadLad - not just for your shot on Putzman... but nice (enthusiastic) review. Would rather see them from you on here than from the 'pros.'

Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 12:17:32 PM

@technoreaper - good post. I haven't seen the movie yet. So from this 'outsider' prospective, you're giving a LOT of credit that aliens should think and act like we do.

Maybe they know not of recon, nor how to do it. Maybe they never have had to? Maybe they wouldn't recognize a military base if one were sitting in their lap. As for 'Shock & Awe' again... completely a 'human' concept.

Just sayin...

Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 2:21:06 PM

This is a good popcorn action movie, with aliens, guns, and explotions.
Now the aliens could have been of better design but with the shaky cam and gritty ness it works, if you were expecting more from it then you have your hopes are way too high for Hollywood.
WV-Films writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 2:56:20 PM

This movie was awful and relentless. The dialog was first rate crap, and aliens looked like Alpha 5 from the power rangers.
The whole thing was a giant piece of seizure inducing bullsh*t brought to you under the thin guise of actually being an army recruitment film.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 3:34:00 PM

I doubt I've ever read such an energetic thread that excited me so little.
Ronsauce writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 4:00:41 PM

"if you were expecting more from it then you have your hopes are way too high for Hollywood."

I don't think so. What do I want from my action movies? Well,how about some awesome action with cool sh*t happening? Maybe throw in some gore. Some cool-ass weapons would fight right in with an Alien movie as well. Plus, you can't go wrong with titties.

Hollywood action movies are capable of and have delivered on most, if not all, of these criteria. B:LA simply didn't.

But hey, maybe I'm being too harsh and there actually was some cool action scenes. I'd love to hear what they were...ya know, in case I missed them.
Jedimax writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 6:54:17 PM

one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The entire audience was laughing at about 5 diff points cause the dialogue was so bad.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 7:57:01 PM

Lot of action scenes but a disappointing ending

Didnt care for Independence day due to the over and over and over Im a courageous Hero crap

Crazyhorse writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 8:03:42 PM

Hey Hollywood

If your going to do another Ailien flick

Please watch the 1st Predator

In that movie when Schwarzeneggar's team figured out they were being hunted by a superior alien they went from acting like a bunch of macho men to a scared bunch who tried their best to figure out how to get out of their situation

Independence day would have been better had they left out the over the top hero crap
MadLad writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 10:50:02 PM

@ranger....@MadLad - not just for your shot on Putzman... but nice (enthusiastic) review. Would rather see them from you on here than from the 'pros

Thanks that means alot comming from you... I just dont want any c*m from you..
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:35:59 PM

Ummm... well... ok then.
Ranger writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:38:44 PM

Then how about some 'Cat Juggling'?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qbc2J0zZr8
technoreaper writes:
on March 13th, 2011 at 11:54:38 PM

@CrazyHorse, the military are trained to be composed in situations like this. Losing control of your emotions just guarantees your demise. Staying in control until the very end at least gives you a fighting chance. Which is better?
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 12:58:06 AM

For a movie about aliens invading, it sure seemed like a recruitment video for the marine's/straight blowjob to marines. The acting was meh, Eckhart was pretty good but the special effects pretty much sucked, the plot was practically the same as Independence Day and like a few have said, basically had the same ending "we've found there weakness, everyone across the world is learning how to defeat them!" lol f*cking craptastic. Unless u don't mind sh*t like that (mindless action movies) if you like that, then you'll love this. Still not sure why the aliens used bullets...
Mudders writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 1:25:41 AM

@techno

good call.

but maybe if they have been doing this to other planets with a lesser life form they may have thought they wouldnt need to do any recon...maybe they thought earth was "just another planet".

but yeah...not havin a go at ya or anything.

cant wait for it to get here.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 1:54:43 AM

@Mudders - similar to my post to 'techno' as well... above.
blumpkin writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:15:44 PM

I thought it was pretty sweet. Sure the dialog wasn't the greatest but when I'm going to see a movie about a war between aliens and the marines im not really there for the dialog. Im there to see sh*t get blown up and from the moment it starts till pretty much the finish thats what it is. Definately better than skyline thats for sure.
Mudders writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 10:02:53 PM

@ ranger

cat juggling?
Mudders writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 10:05:27 PM

@ ranger

oh right i see now.

ill try to read all posts before making a comment...just some are so long i tend to skip some.

but yeah comes out here in NZ this week so ill def go watch
stupidname writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 10:55:38 AM

If you read anything about the movie you would know that the Director and actors have stated that it was dedicated to the troops fighting for your freedom. It was designed to be filled with action and wasn't made for intellectual dialogue not to mention the fact that Marines speak that way. The cliche script was not cliche at all it was taken from historical units in the Marine Corps meaning those are actual phrases that units use on their emblem. Marines are made to be the same and function as one so yea they were cardboard cut outs and if you thought they were then the actors apparently did a great job according to you. The way the military was represented was fairly accurate. As far as the National Guard being the only ones to do anything on American soil is wrong. The Marines can be used in any way the President see's fit as the president does not need any approval from congress to use the Marines. If you don't know anything about the military then you probably wouldn't like or appreciate this movie. That would be like me commenting or rating a movie about old english scholars or some boring crap like that.
majorziggy writes:
on March 17th, 2011 at 4:28:25 AM

here's a counter review to roger eberts critique on the film
http://slava-tomatostomping.blogspot.com/2011/03/battle-los-angeles.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved