WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams' "Super 8" Trailer is Here!

Posted: March 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ AbramsSubmit Comment
We recently saw a TV spot for the upcoming "Super 8" movie, but Paramount Pictures has now sent us the full-length trailer, which is playing in front of "Battle: Los Angeles." Check it out below.

Plot: In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident. Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined.

"Super 8" is directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek) and produced by Steven Spielberg. It is set to hit theaters on June 10th and has been described as both a coming-of-age drama and a monster movie in one.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Super 8."

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:31:37 AM

hmmm...not so impressed by this but at the same time the trailer didn't show much...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:44:36 AM

I think it's a good thing for a trailer not to show too much, just enough to spark an interest. It's not the most impressive CGI-work I've seen, but it could also be worse. If the story is good, then you wont notice anyway.
shanesleeping writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:49:07 AM

wheres the monster???????
masht7 writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:53:39 AM

I'm just glad they haven't shown the monster/alien in these trailers, it keeps the suspension alive. I can't bloody wait for this to hit my theaters.
shamusot00le writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:08:03 AM

I'm interested. Kinda looks like Goonies meets Signs.
jdl107 writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:10:41 AM

That's funny, all these E.T. comparisons, and they gotta show the Amblim logo.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:34:05 AM

Seems like "Close Encounters" & "ET" in one movie to me, which isn't a bad thing but hope I am a little wrong on that.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:49:56 AM

Trailer was pretty epic really how trailers should be made, less is more and what not. Music reminded me of the 80s adventures im loving the vibe of this so far.
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:10:00 AM

Looking forward to this one ...

Luck for me i'm in the US at the start of June when this comes out, The rest of the UK will have to wait for Aug 19th :)
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:23:29 AM

WOW.....I'm sexually aroused commander
Bunny X writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:24:49 AM

It's Spielberg and Abrams. It could have been a 5 second trailer just showing their names and the release date as far as i'm concerned.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:40:15 AM

I'm pretty pumped about this.
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:52:41 AM

Anyone seen Battle: Los Angeles yet, Trailers looked good but seems to be a getting a mixed reaction.
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 9:04:30 AM

Who would have thought that Mars Needs Moms would be the film to see this weekend....
Bunny X writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 10:37:16 AM

@Trailer. I never let a review (let alone one from Putzman) sway my movie viewing choices but for some reason, there's just something not sitting right about Battle: Los Angeles.
-Chewy- writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 10:38:12 AM

Really LOVE to see a trailer that doesn't show TOO MUCH.

However......please.....a car derailing a huge ass train ? That's a very contrived way to start your movie. Plus, why did that train explode all over the place ? I thought the 80s were over.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 10:40:48 AM

as i was watching the news i was actually thinkning no matter how serious this devistation is there will always be sick people who like to make jokes about it. I just try to drown them out...
SeWerin writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 11:18:19 AM

Cloverfield: Village edition

Looks like crap. I don't like it.
WV-Films writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 11:37:50 AM

Nothing super original here. ET meets Cloverfield meets War of the Worlds meets who gives a sh*t.
triggax writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:20:15 PM

Very cool.

Some of my very favorite movies were Spielberg films from the 70's and 80's and thats what im sensing from this trailer...

Close encounters of the third kind.

Looks really cool, this trailer was perfect, couldn't be more interested in seeing this.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:30:26 PM

Whoever isn't excited for this movie has never had a childhood or friends
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:47:17 PM

That, or we all grew up and moved on to being adults...
triggax writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:48:56 PM

thats why they call it nostalgia..

I think, its actually probably some latin thing or something tho.. the reason they call it nostalgia... Im sure thats what it is.. But thats also why they call me whiskers.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:51:23 PM

It's the magic of ET potentially ruined by the splooge of Cloverfield.

Wonder when Abrams is going to grow past his somewhat ironic fascination with film-in-film concept. Hopefully soon.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:51:48 PM

I actually liked that a lot. Wow. Exactly what a trailer should be. There's a really magical early Spielbergian vibe to it.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:57:44 PM

"I think, its actually probably some latin thing or something tho.."

Greek, actually, and it means melancholy, or the pain of returning home. Was once thought to be a physiological medical condition at one point, rather than a limbic phantom...

"the reason they call it nostalgia... Im sure thats what it is.."

Oh, sure, I get it, I live in the past, or on another planet, or in the future, anywhen and where but now, yet nostalgia doesn't make immediately for a good movie, even though this one does look good. Sadly Abrams is pretty much a half-win kind of guy (MI3 = good, Cloverfield = ok, Star Trek = fail).

Hopefully Abrams is back to his B+ game.

"But thats also why they call me whiskers."

I'm called Mr. Big d*ck, but hey, 'whiskers' is good too, I guess.
Rambo writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 1:26:29 PM

I can already tell what's the porn version will be about...
triggax writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 1:51:15 PM

Hah!@ You like MI3? Awesome, I also liked MI3.

f*cking epic movie.. So good.. Best of the series by FAR... Im half excited to see if Tom Cruise can pull off another one.. Its f*cking rare that the 3rd part of a film series is the best.. but Abrams pulled it off... Cloverfield I've heard had little to do with Abrams? Production company and hype machine but the film itself was all reeves.. Star Trek... Meh.. It did its purpose i suppose.. Ive never been a huge star trek fan to begin with but on a hi def television it looked really f*ckin pretty, what with all the lens flares and space ships and such..

Judging by this trailer I'd say this is the movie Abrams has been wanting to make. I think a lot of people are comparing to spielberg, and he is a producer on the film, the true test here will be to see if Abrams not only gives credit to old spielberg but makes the film his own... With less lens flares and more story.
triggax writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 2:54:07 PM

http://www.fusedfilm.com/2011/03/top-5-spielberg-films-that-super-8-reminds-us-of/

This guys gone the extra mile in narrowing down the spielberg comparisons based solely on this trailer.. Some peoples kids... Good stuff though.
Farradin writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 3:02:23 PM

Now officially most anticipated film of the year!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 3:02:25 PM

"Hah!@ You like MI3? Awesome, I also liked MI3."

Don't be like these retards on here, Triggax, because you sound just like some of them: shocked that I actually like something.

Not sucking your d*ck, but I believe you're way smarter than that.

"f*cking epic movie.. So good.. Best of the series by FAR..."

True, very true, but it needs to be said that neither of the first two films were spectacular, and the second was just an endless of orgasm of unecessary John Wooisms, and easily the worst of the three, while De Palma's first was good but bland, missing all the excitement I think that worked well for the show but ultimately failed for me as a big screen adaptation.

"Its f*cking rare that the 3rd part of a film series is the best.."

Hey, just think, Transformers Dark of The Moon may join Mi3 soon in that respect, right?

Right?

"Cloverfield I've heard had little to do with Abrams?"

Very true. You'd think Abrams wrote and directed the damned film with how the studio slammed his name all over the trailers and marketing.

Matt Reeves? Who the f*ck is he? Oh, just the guy that directed the f*cking film, no one important.

"Star Trek... Meh.. It did its purpose i suppose"

Yeah, rebooting a franchise intended for idealistic baby boomers dreaming of a better world into a franchise built on sex, stupid jokes and a seemingly endless panoply of expensive CGI gloriously depicting a story aimed at retards who can't tell separate science fiction from a live-action space-based video game.

"Ive never been a huge star trek fan"

Neither am I, but I loved TNG for the thoughful episodes, and most of the films, of which were far more true sci-fi (Star Trek the Motion Picture was the best of the series in that respect, I think) than anything Abrams will ever imagine in a hundred of his lifetimes.

"on a hi def television it looked really f*ckin pretty, what with all the lens flares and space ships and such.."

Oh, I get what you're saying: it was a total Baywatch bimbo of a film. No disagreement here.

"Judging by this trailer I'd say this is the movie Abrams has been wanting to make."

Or the film Spielberg wanted to make but didn't have the brains or balls to complete the task. What a loser he's become. Made his money when he was hungry and now he's grown fat, lazy, cynical and apathetic.

He's certainly no Eastwood.

"I think a lot of people are comparing to spielberg, and he is a producer on the film, the true test here will be to see if Abrams not only gives credit to old spielberg but makes the film his own... With less lens flares and more story."

All I'm going to say is that, yes, it looks good, but the whole monster thing has too much Cloverfield in it for me, and I already see signs he's going to re-use that tired camera within a camera cliche.

The music is very retro and the Amblin stamp along with an 80's look and feel harkens back to better days, and along with Steve getting aboard (probably first on deck, if you will), I think this a solid 80% win, but Spielberg should be making these films, not Abrams, who as you said, is all about the amateurish lens flares (first thing Photoshop users do is add a lens flare to everything; this is graphic design cliche two decades old) and the overabundance and heavy reliance on CGI, which weakens all his films IMO.

So, I'm really mixed on this, and I think it'll win commercially and critically, but for some reason, Abrams doesn't do that much for me, and to be honest ET was never some personal wunderkind film close to heart, even though I admit it's a fine example of modern American filmmaking.

Maybe I'm just not old enough to have enjoyed it in theaters, and I have to wonder if Super 8 is cynically cashing in on that look through Spielberg, who can't muster the means to make a film of that calibre anymore, using Abrams like a prosthetic proxy.

And if so, how much will that hurt Super 8?
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:11:50 PM

In other news, Putman didn't like Battle: Los Angeles; not one iota. Here's what he had to say, in part, regarding the lack of believable dialogue:

"Michelle Rodriguez (2010's "Machete") has even less to do and no character to play; the only thing learned about her is that she is a tech sergeant. When she shoots an alien in the face and it squirts all over her mouth, a fellow comrade cracks, "I didn't know you liked that on the first date!" Keep in mind that the world as they know it is crumbling down around them, and then replay the logic, plausibility and appropriateness of that line in your head. Oy."

I wonder though if he enjoyed another dubious apocalyptic film, Deep Impact, wherein Morgan Freeman, playing Obama before Obama played Obama, goes on-air to deliver this ridiculous line to the world:

"If the world does go on, it won't go on for everyone."

That's right, humanity is doing The Dinosaur, and the President of the United States is taking time to rub impending doom into the faces of all the soon-to-be-dead people of planet earth, while he heads off to life underground in a rather spacious, well-stocked military bunker.

Now, I don't know much about Dustin, nor have I seen BLA, but as I have asked before, does the guy not have a single masculine bone in his body?
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:23:51 PM

Funny I saw ET at the cinema (back in the day) but i didn't really appreciate it until i watched it again with my kids a few years back.

It's a great piece of story telling that Spielberg did so well back then.

My kids love all those 80's movies (who doesn't) like The Goonies,Back to Future, Ghostbusters, Gremlins etc etc and this does have that feel about it, which for me is why i'm looking forward to this movie.

JJ seems to be heavily influenced by Spielberg, Even going back to the very underrated RoadKill which he wrote and most obviously had Duel in mind when he did.

And 1/10 from DP on Battle LA, i just booked my tickets for sunday !!

trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:36:04 PM

Bunny -

You could be right some, friends of mine have just seen it and they said it was spectacular but it didn't have a lot else going for it.

Still, I will be catching it this weekend.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:46:31 PM

"My kids love all those 80's movies (who doesn't) like The Goonies,Back to Future, Ghostbusters, Gremlins etc etc and this does have that feel about it, which for me is why i'm looking forward to this movie."

The only period of film that matters much to me is the period from the end of the Seventies and stretching into the early Nineties.

Everything else can largely just go f*ck itself. Especially from about 2000 and on, as the last decade has been a really sh*tty time for films.

I think the ultimate low point in mainstream film was the cinematic abortion 'The Men Who Star at Goats'.

If someone had made a pile of sh*t like that back in say, oh, 1984, they would've been drawn and f*cking quartered. And burned. And raped. In that particular order.

As for whether Super 8 turns out to be that rare 80s castaway, we'll see, but I'm not holding my breath.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:47:12 PM

star=stare, obviously.
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:20:20 PM

The Men Who Stare at Goats !!

That title alone would have had the alarm bells ringing with Hollywood producers in the 80's.

Hell even Eddie Murphy was making good movies back then, He couldn't even watch a good film today.

Not just film though, TV shows were far and away better back then.

Nower days it's all about watching some f*cking no hoper sing or dance and make fools of themselves each week , what has happened to shows like The Ateam, StreetHawk, Fall Guy, Starsky&Hutch, Magnum, Chips even Dukes of Hazard (mostly for Daisy Dukes cut offs).

The only thing that was wrong from the 80's was the fashion, Some of that was just shocking...
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:27:13 PM

Not like today's clothing leaves little to desire, right?

Legwarmers and tube socks, that's where it's at. And big, big f*cking hair.

Hey, one thing you can say is that people were far more expressive back then. Nowadays everyone wears the same bland repetitive bullsh*t. No wonder people always look so damned constipated.
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:33:52 PM

Shoulder pads had another use other than in American Football ..

Madonna used to look like a dirty old banger back in the 80's

Oh wait !!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:43:28 PM

"Shoulder pads had another use other than in American Football...

Doubling as knee pads during 'Pole Position' with your big-haired Debby Gibson look-a-like date after taking in Indian Jones 2 and some slurpies?

Ah yes, better f*cking times for sure!
Tyrkae writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 11:31:15 PM

Ill put 50$ down that if you look closly at the end of the trailer when your lookin into the camera lense you can see a small glimps of the monster
Tyrkae writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 11:31:17 PM

Ill put 50$ down that if you look closly at the end of the trailer when your lookin into the camera lense you can see a small glimps of the monster
DeVries writes:
on March 12th, 2011 at 12:58:16 PM

Finally not a f*cking gay reboot. I'd give a look for sure.
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 3:43:40 AM

no thanks ill stick with they live and pass on this cloverifeld crap( in know it has nothing to do with it)
murphyslaw93 writes:
on March 15th, 2011 at 12:32:10 AM

The way its directed, it appears to have a 70s or 80s Spielbergian feel, same with the soundtrack used in the trailer. Spielberg sometimes throws his name on to a movie so that people get attracted (Eagle Eye) but this movie looks like something he would definitely be interested in. Plus, Abrams is a genius he comes up with such brilliant stories and ideas, i have a lot of faith. This could be the next Close Encounters with some Stand By Me sprinkled on top

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved