WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Robocop" Reboot Hires Writer and Director

Posted: March 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Robocop" Reboot Hires Writer and DirectorSubmit Comment
MGM recently hired Brazilian director Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) to direct the upcoming "Robocop" reboot. And now comes word that the studio has now brought on Josh Zetumer to write the script.

Padilha and Zetumer will work closely on the story about a cop brought back from death and drafted to become a remorseless and ruthless cyborg cop. That plan is subverted when suppressed memories of his past life come back to haunt him.

Zetumer is not well known by movie-goers, but is becoming a big deal in "Hollywood." He wrote the script for "Infiltrator" spy thriller that made the Black List. That film is set at Warner Bros and has Leonardo DiCaprio attached to star. Zetumer also wrote drafts of "Dune" when Peter Berg was set to direct. He also wrote the script for the fourth "Jason Bourne" film, which was scrapped in favor of a spin-off.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:17:06 AM

Roboflop
trailertrash writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:18:45 AM

Josh Zetumer, Has written lots of scripts that have yet to be been turned into films ...

he's perfect for this Robocop remake...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:44:43 AM

Zetumer is not well known by movie-goers, but is becoming a big deal in "Hollywood." He wrote the script for "Infiltrator" spy thriller that made the Black List. That film is set at Warner Bros and has Leonardo DiCaprio attached to star. Zetumer also wrote drafts of "Dune" when Peter Berg was set to direct. He also wrote the script for the fourth "Jason Bourne" film, which was scrapped in favor of a spin-off.


Put's the remake in good hands and my mind at ease.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:04:24 AM

Dead or alive your c*mming on my face (Hollywood) metaphorically of course, but my lips will not be giving birth to mini money making industries f*ck no!!
boogiel writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:52:37 AM

I'll only see this movie if it's rated R and there are plenty of blood and titties.
Megawhip writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:03:06 AM

I bet u think your pretty smart? Think you can outsmart a bullet?!
The_Zizzler writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 8:15:35 AM

Roboc*ck
batdump writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 11:52:20 AM

so he wrote a bunch of stuff that have been given up in favor of other things? the studio must have bought him for a dollar!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:21:56 PM

This may work, if they get the action, the casting, the CGI, the direction, the costume, and the story right....

"Roboflop"

Hey now, don't be negative, Rambo.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:25:57 PM

If Robo smokes... they had better make this rated R!!!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:42:14 PM

I'm sure Robocop smokes electronic cigarettes, Ranger.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:47:08 PM

As he films his Public Announcement on Smoking...

'Dead or Alive... you're coming with me!'
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:48:09 PM

http://tinyurl.com/RangersRobo
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 2:18:48 PM

Well, one thing the reboot may have going for it is a lack of the 'cult-classic' campiness vibe.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 4:16:28 PM

Yep. I've always said if they remake this in a serious, dark, way with Matrixesque effects... this would ROC!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 4:57:08 PM

That's what I've been hoping for, but, more likely, they'll go the Pg-13 route, casting Shia as Robocop.

I still have hope for an awesome film though.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:21:01 PM

Verhoeven also directed Total Recall. Lots of unnecessary camp in that one, too.

I would also say that aside from Basic Instinct, TR and Robocop are some of his better films. Unless you consider Hollow Man and Starship Troopers serious cinema. Haven't seen any of his earler films, and I'm not wont to do so.

(Verheoven also directed Showgirls, an abomnation of a film worth watching only for the gratuitous sex shots.)
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:23:15 PM

Shia as Robo... geez man, don't even type that kind of sh*t!
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:23:41 PM

That's all we'll need if for the Internet God's to pick up what you're layin' down!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:31:36 PM

I still recall the argument I had with someone regarding Robocop, on here of all places, wherein they crowned RC as a 'timeless masterpiece', when it's obviously neither.

If anything, Basic Instinct is more likely Verhoeven's master work, or even TR, but that's not saying much. He hardly ever rose to popular prominence, and he never bothered withanything other than commerical interests and nudity.

As for timeless, what does that mean, exactly? No film's timeless. Who the hell watches Ben Hur or Gone with the Wind these days? Does being an exhibit in a cinema museum qualify a film as timeless? I would think that a timeless film transcends generations, and as of yet, there's very few of those films, if any, and regardless, I doubt RC is one of the them.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:35:47 PM

"Shia as Robo... geez man, don't even type that kind of sh*t!"

lol. I'd love for them to do it just to watch the tsunami of hate roll over the shores of the Japan of filmdom.

(too soon?)
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:00:25 PM

Any word if Godzilla was the cause of the earthquake?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:14:38 PM

Nancy, go ahead and get your Blackberry ready. They may be calling.

Pete ? Sorry. No lunch for you, old timer.

Time to go start collecting social security checks and guest star roles d*ck Van Dyke doesn't want.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:18:11 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 5:35:47 PM
"Shia as Robo... geez man, don't even type that kind of sh*t!"

lol. I'd love for them to do it just to watch the tsunami of hate roll over the shores of the Japan of filmdom.

(too soon?)

@minkowski

Not as early as watching Sheen spit out venom on the UStream, saying " You know, I was asked to audition for RoboCop. But when I asked if I could have breaks to go f*ck Cynthia Rothrock and snort coke off her nipples, Paul Verhoeven mistook that I was offering up a spec for Showgirls, which was a breach of contract. So, I wound up doing Major League years later instead. And still doing coke. Only off of Bob Uebeck's nipples. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:19:29 PM

Not that this has anything to do with RoboCop's reboot, but I hope and pray Peter Weller is found dead, asphyxiated in a sexual position with a male gimp dwarf in a very seedy motel.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:20:28 PM


Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:00:25 PM
Any word if Godzilla was the cause of the earthquake?


@Ranger

Actually it was Michael Moore's first time surfing.

The fat f*ck.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:21:27 PM

Peter Weller =

Lousy actor, but great blowjobs.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:22:16 PM

Thanks, max, for your emetic commentary, my good man.

Ranger: my money is on Rodan; he doesn't have those huge wings for nothing.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:28:28 PM

Well Mothra is too light... so that's out.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:29:24 PM

And yes, I'm a little bit ashamed that mink and I know 'Godzilla villains!'

minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:37:13 PM

lol. Or maybe Gigan and Megalon were having a lovers quarrel, like that old saying that when it rains, god's beating his wife.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:38:54 PM

lol...
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:53:28 PM

Thought about it... even when I posted it.

I'll exchange 'ashamed' for 'proud' on mink and I knowing Godzilla's adversaries.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:53:29 PM

Gah, I'm in that group too...

I remember "Lil' Godzilla" ...

Gah, what acid were they tripping on to design that?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 6:59:32 PM

Okay, so my celebrity death pool :

*ahem*

a. Charlie Sheen
b. Lindsay Lohan
c. Peter Weller (well, a man can dream, right?)
d. Mel Gibson
e. Tyler Perry
f. Megan Fox
g. James Cameron
h. Les Moonves
i. Channing Tatum
j. Shia LaBeouf
k. CarrotTop
l. Kevin Smith
m. Quentin Tarantino
n. Will Ferrell
o. Warren Buffett
p. Ernest Borgnine (only due to his age)
q. Don Rickles (again, only due to his age)
r. Michael Bay
s. Uwe Boll
t. Paul WS Anderson
u. Mark Wahlberg
v. Steve Jobs or Bill Gates
w. George Lucas
x. Harrison Ford (again. age.)
y. Paris Hilton

and

z. Joel Silver
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:13:23 PM

Hey now, you mind your P's and Q's.

Those 2 will never die. They'll ascend as angels.
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 7:14:38 PM

@Max --- we'd have to set up criteria for one's death picks. It's either:

A. Likely to happen in that order, or...
B. I wish like hell it would happen in that order.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved