WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: New "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Animated TV Series

Posted: March 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: New "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Animated TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Viacom has spent $60 million to acquire the global rights to the "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" franchise and now plans to launch a new animated TV series in 2012 on Nickelodeon. And today, we have the first look at what the characters will look like. Check out the image below.

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" first launched in 1984, and has spawned comics, toys, movies and other products. Nickelodeon plans to help re-introduce "Turtles" toys to the marketplace and Paramount Pictures has a feature-length movie in development with Michael Bay (Transformers) on board to produce.

The average viewer of Nickelodeon is 11 years old, but some of the new programs might attract older fans. Those programs include "The Last Airbender: Legend of Korra," a follow-up to "Avatar: The Last Airbender" series, and "Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness."

Image:


Source: WSJ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:05:29 AM

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Heroes in a half-shell
Turtle power!

They're the world's most fearsome fighting team (We're really hip!)
They're heroes in a half-shell and they're green (Hey - get a grip!)
When the evil Shredder attacks
These Turtle boys don't cut him no slack!

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Splinter taught them to be ninja teens (He's a radical rat!)
Leonardo leads, Donatello does machines (That's a fact, Jack!)
Raphael is cool but crude (Gimme a break!)
Michaelangelo is a party dude (Party!)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Heroes in a half shell
Turtle power!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:06:38 AM

You will NEVER beat the original cartoon from the 80s Nickelodeon will try to make it all cool but miss out all the stoner jokes and get all politically correct and they won't ever use their weapons in a fight. TURTLE POWER!
ZenShark writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:12:12 AM

so who else saw the turtles cartoon where they meet all their different incarnations? i thought that was pretty awesome, and totally unexpected...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:25:58 AM

You're not wrong there..cinemais dead.
sc_kg writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:37:21 AM

Looks very cool.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:44:34 AM

I hope the series aren't supposed to look like that image?

No matter how the studios will try, they will never ever get it right. I'm not saying that they can't make a good show, but it will never be the same.
asylum writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:10:11 AM

I was a HUGE turtle fan in the 80's and still am today. I welcome any and all attempts to resurrect the turtles. I would prefer though a live action movie similar in tone to the first movie, the ORIGINAL Dark Knight. That movie was probably the first great comic book movie.
Bunny X writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:19:16 AM

!Zen, I saw that and thought it was great. I especially loved the homage to the ORIGINAL comic Turtles that are even better than the 80's cartoon show. It was a really good mini.
I'm not too thrilled about this simply because it's on Nickelodeon. Unlike Disney XD, Nick will water down this considerably.
But as far as franchises go, this is way up on my list so anything they "shell" out (pun intended) will at least get a watch from me.

@Cinemaisdead, I couldn't help but sing along!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:31:28 AM

I have never seen a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Movie or cartoon, Is it too late for me know ?? lol
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:32:58 AM

Know = Now :)
The Dini writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:06:41 AM

@ trailertrash
Its never too late for the Heroes in a Half-shell.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:22:52 AM

Bunny- Such a catchy song isn't it lol

Trailer- Watch all 3 live action movies the first one actually took itself quite seriously, in the third one they go back in time and become samurais its an epic trilogy lol
Zeroguy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 11:04:51 AM

They look alright. Less kid friendly cartoony then the 90s one but I doubt it will have as much charm.
I just want them to make a true live action sequel to Secret of the Ooze.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 11:12:22 AM

one of my favorite video games is Turtles in Time where they travel to the past and the future. might wanna check that out a true classic
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 12:49:45 PM

Bandolero-Loved that game, I remember shelling(pun intended) out a ton of money at the the local arcade for that one.
Loved em when I was a kid, don't think they'll be as good as they once were.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:23:09 PM

A new Turtles cartoon? What happened the other one? The darker version? Gone already?

So, here's how it goes.

The original cartoon with Krang and Shredder was fun and hilarious, even if it was a far cry from the original Mirage comics.

The new (03 to 09) series? I haven't seen much but they went again for the anime look and the darker storyline and even though it's not bad, even arguably technically better than the first series, I never warmed to it because I grew up on the original.

The first film was excellent and a true modern classic IMO.

The second film not so much but still not bad, just not nearly as good as the first. Laird and Eastman made sure it wasn't as good as it could've been.

The third? No comment.

The CGI film? Eh. Ok, I guess, and it builds on the series but it's no substitute for a good, true sequel to the first two films. I don't care to see any more in that vein.

As for the video games, all of them are great, even the two or three made for the PC and other platforms that were essentially high quality remakes of the originals. I loved the SNES game Turtles in Time and consider it the height of Turtles video game, but only because of nostalgia.

As for the short-lived TV series, well, what can one say about a Turtles show featuring a female Turtle, bedecked in pink attire?
batdump writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:28:21 PM

I saw it too zen. it was a good trip back to my childhood.

i love the old cartoons and movies. the pic looks like the turtles from the "4th" movie.

on another note i hope the new avatar series is as good as the first series. if you haven't watched it, i suggest you give it a shot. it is so good.
batdump writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:32:11 PM

i think she wore i a lighter shade of blue didn't she mink? i might be wrong.
Bunny X writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:33:37 PM

I think the best thing about the Turtles are the characters. Every single character on the show were so unique and great. I mean hell, you had two lackeys named BeBop and Rocksteady. Classic
Personally, I really enjoyed the CGI film. It gave them a lot of flexibility that the live actioners couldn't. Now don't get me wrong. I absolutely LOVED the LA's. Yes, the first one is just a classic. I always wondered how in the hell would they ever be able to translate it into live action and it worked for me on so many levels. I could have done without the girl who played April but Elias Koteas playing Casey was spot on. I see him in movies to this day and still see him as Casey.
Still one of the BEST cartoon theme songs of all time.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:01:41 PM

"i think she wore i a lighter shade of blue didn't she mink? i might be wrong."

No, you're correct, but I had to use Google Images to look back n that character and my eyes will never forgive me for it.

And the Turtles Forever film was an absolute mess. The story was just everwhere, made no sense, was contrived, and just downright godawful, not to mention the voice acting and characterizations for the orginal cartoon characters were atrocious. I kept skipping ahead just to get through it.

I do find it funny though that folks enjoyed that garbage, but they hated Faster? lol. Wow.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:04:15 PM

Also, Turtles Forver took a huge mutant dump on not just the original cartoon series (unforgivable), but they pissed ooze on the 80s in general.
Bunny X writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:38:26 PM

@Mink, Hey I resemble that remark...... lol.
you know, in all honesty, if I had not set my expectations for Faster, I bet I would have enjoyed it more. I just wanted it to me something it just wasn't. that's on me. Doesn't change me not liking it but I see why I picked it apart.
And yeah I loved the Forever episodes. Hell, I also liked the Power Rangers episodes where they brought in every Red Ranger for one episode. Hate the show but liked that. I got a time/genre spanning fetish and I love mash-ups.
ismokerocks writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:43:07 PM

I'm in my 20's and i'll be watching this next year
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:48:25 PM

"you know, in all honesty, if I had not set my expectations for Faster, I bet I would have enjoyed it more."

Don't kid yourself. I rewatched some if it last night, and it really isn't that great, or good, or even mediocre, and Billy Bob Thornton was totally miscast IMO, and his character was poorly developed, but it's still better than 95% of The Johnson's films for sure.

"I just wanted it to me something it just wasn't. that's on me."

Like good, right? No, that's on them for failing to give The Johnson a truly decent flick for his heinously appalling resume of failures. Doom indeed.

"Doesn't change me not liking it but I see why I picked it apart."

So do I, and you gave me a reason to rewatch it. Sadly, not enough reason, as I couldn't finish it a second time. Again, low expectations make for a better viewing, but not necessarily for a repeat viewing.

"And yeah I loved the Forever episodes. Hell, I also liked the Power Rangers episodes where they brought in every Red Ranger for one episode."

I thought we were talking about the Turtles Forever TV movie, or did it start out as episodes? Color me f*cking confused.

But Power Rangers? You're on your own there, girl.

"Hate the show but liked that. I got a time/genre spanning fetish and I love mash-ups."

Me too. For some things anyway, like a totally integrated Transformers Universe (minus the Bay garbage), so I can understand the appeal. I'm a sucker for time travel (notable exception: Donner's Timeline) and action films, so there, we're even, I guess.
viejoxico writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:08:56 PM

Why can't these people understand that animated turtles won't work anymore. Ok, may for a tv series, but c'mon! Film the damn dark-knight-like movie already!
Bunny X writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:16:52 PM

Lol it's funny because Doom was just Gawd Awful but you are right. Lowered expectations do make for better viewing. So I could sit through Doom again. Having said that though, I won't anytime soon. Nice call on BBT casting. I was sold as the drug addicted cop days from retirement (and secretly waiting for him to get killed because he was so close to retirement. stupid Hollywood cliches)
I just didn't buy him as the mastermind behind all things. Bumbling drugged out cop, check. Shady mastermind....meh.


When I saw the Forever thing, it was done over two episodes. So no need to be Color Me F'ing Confused,
At least you were Color Me Bad. (ba-dump-dump)

But yeah, huge fan of time travel too. And I love cross-overs
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:04:29 PM

Wow, this is some shoddy crap. Even the guys at DIC would look at this and barf their Rahmen Noodles.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:13:11 PM

It's safe to say the turtles are has-beens
billofill writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 12:25:05 PM

I got to agree with Mink, that Turtles Forever crap was the worst thing to happen to the Turtles since that Next Mutation show made by Sabann or what ever the f*ck its called that did the Power Rangers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved