WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Anti-Smoking Groups Want "Rango" to Get "R" Rating

Posted: March 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Anti-Smoking Groups Want "Rango" to Get "R" RatingSubmit Comment
Anti-smoking groups have discovered that the animated "Rango" movie has over sixty instances of characters smoking, which they consider inappropriate for a PG movie.

"A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie," said Stanton Glantz, director of the Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education. "Youths who frequently see smoking onscreen are two to three times more likely to begin smoking than peers who rarely see it depicted."

A spokeswoman for Paramount Pictures responded by stating that the title character never smokes. "The images of smoking in the film are portrayed by supporting characters and are not intended to be celebrated or emulated," she said.

The MPAA has been pressured to give any film that shows smoking an 'R' rating and the organization did exactly that with nearly 3/4 of all movies that depicted smoking.

Click here to read our "Rango" review.

Source: USA today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:14:09 AM

This is the most idiotic thing I've heard this year so far. Just as bad as the rating controversy for 'The King's Speech'.
zyban03 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:26:13 AM

Seriously!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:31:55 AM

"A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie," said Stanton Glantz, director of the Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education.


Grow the f*ck up you douche!!!
SeWerin writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:36:13 AM

Can somebody really be this stupid!?

Of course they can!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:46:58 AM

If kids are stupid enough to emulate lizards smoking then they deserve to die of lung cancer.
Kurskij writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:47:42 AM

"The MPAA has been pressured to give any film that shows smoking an 'R' rating and the organization did exactly that with nearly 3/4 of all movies that depicted smoking."

The MPAA organization must suck a d*ck exactly 3/4 feet for every little miracle they've done for movie industry.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:53:49 AM

For f*ck's sake! Let me ask you this: In how many Disney movies have the bad guy been killed by the good guy, or in some other way had his or hers comeuppance served by the Grim Reaper? Quite a few I tell you. This means children are more likely to start killing each other, right?

In one way or another, you who live in the States, you really need to start destroying the MPAA. I don't mean by sending angry e-mails, you need to obliterate their very existince.

Get on with it, lads!
Preditorian writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:13:13 AM

The MPAA must be seriously made up of those people that are the offspring of the those that should have never mated and spread there mutated seed through out humanity. Darkness everybody... Darkness.

SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:17:34 AM

WTF!?!?! It sure as hell doesn't take much to get an rating anymore. I wish they'd go back to the 80s rating system, when the Goonies were allowed to cuss and Nazis got their faces melted off by the hand of God (Raiders of the Lost Ark) and still got PG ratings.
boogiel writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:39:09 AM

Anti-smoking groups have discovered that the animated "Rango" movie has over sixty instances of characters smoking, which they consider inappropriate for a PG movie.


Wow, talk about a complete bigotry!
Zackass writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:10:54 AM

Titanic (PG-13) can show nudity but smoking is out the question???
thomas deadison writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:13:28 AM

This movie made me want to be a lizard. Ban it.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:14:25 AM

This being the case then,

I will be opening up a Hawaiian Shirt shop, I will call it "Magnums" and we will also be selling cigarettes.

They will be in plain white packs & under the counter because apparently the colours on the packs of cigarettes makes people want to start smoking as well, according to these do gooders.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:50:24 AM

... in other news, the Anti-Frying Pan, Needlenose pliers, Wrench and Ball Peen Hammer Groups are protesting the Three Stooges movies and Elaborate, But Eventually Failing Traps By Acme Group are protesting the Roadrunner cartoons ....


f*cking retards.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:52:26 AM

"A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie," said Stanton Glantz, director of the Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education. "Youths who frequently see smoking onscreen are two to three times more likely to begin smoking than peers who rarely see it depicted."

Said by Mr. Glantz, who's never had promiscuous sex or sex in any fashion, as it would tempt others in his prude group to think that sexual relations with someone of the opposite was actually good.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:53:34 AM

The MPAA has been pressured to give any film that shows smoking an 'R' rating and the organization did exactly that with nearly 3/4 of all movies that depicted smoking.


Well, that's the MPAA. Show any signs of a Bush or Nip-slip and they get all frigid.

f*cking d*ckweeds.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:54:06 AM

A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie

BULLsh*t.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 9:55:13 AM

SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:17:34 AM

WTF!?!?! It sure as hell doesn't take much to get an rating anymore. I wish they'd go back to the 80s rating system, when the Goonies were allowed to cuss and Nazis got their faces melted off by the hand of God (Raiders of the Lost Ark) and still got PG ratings.





THIS MAN SPEAKS WORDS OF WISDOM.


AMEN.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:00:32 AM

I saw it two days ago and I think they have a pretty good story but not for kids, they should've go for a PG13, it's a great movie but got limited because it looked like a kid friendly movie but it kind of wasn't. Besides, lots of kids got pretty bored while the teens and adults were enjoying it.
The Dini writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:12:33 AM

@ Cinemaisdead
Well said!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:20:54 AM

cheers pal
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:21:15 AM

How about I f*ck PETA and this Anti-Smoking Group in the ass?
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:37:46 AM

For f*ck sake Ranger don't let the kids see will you !!!

Cinema - lol
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:48:54 AM

I want to get one of the anti-something groups riding me for my posts here on WP.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 10:52:12 AM

When I'm not making my pet iguana smoke whilst eating dolphin sandwiches.
Kenny writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 11:04:36 AM

Yes, it's a very dangerous movie.
It must be stopped.
May justice be done, X rate its ass, anti-smoking groups. Free us from all evil.
Kenny writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 11:05:55 AM

Aaron Eckhart, please, help us!

Signed: Rango.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 11:14:18 AM

The MPAA has been pressured...

HOW ABOUT the MPAA grow a FUC*ING SPINE and STICK TO THEIR OWN STANDARDS?! If not... close shop and let these anti-groups run the show. WTF is the POINT of the MPAA if they fold to pressure?

These C*NTS are going to 'PC' us to death!!!
Rambo writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 12:09:23 PM

in that case,throw in the lesbian lizard sex scene...
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 12:18:25 PM

Word!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 12:45:24 PM

Really?
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:08:16 PM

"A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie,"

Because kids always do what they see in movies.

And according to these *ssholes, second-hand smoke causes stuttering, ADHD and headaches in children, which is odd possibility for me to accept. My father was a chain smoker, and I never suffered any of those symptoms as a child, and neither did any of my many siblings.

I call bullsh*t on this entire organization.
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:48:06 PM

f*ckers.f*cking hate people forcing their opinions on the general masses.c*nts.
FREE THE WEED.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:56:36 PM

...because disallowing private business owners from operating cigarette-friendly bar and restaurants isn't even more fascist, right?
rocketman writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:58:50 PM

Marxist commie Soviet f*cks invented Political correctness.Why has the West gone mad for it?
batdump writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:01:03 PM

this just in, kids start "winning" after seeing charlie sheen interviews
John1017 writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:03:33 PM

I think movies like Goodfellas make kids want to smoke. I found this article with more info

http://blogs.wsj.com/health/2010/08/19/should-smoking-in-a-movie-mean-an-automatic-r-rating/
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:12:09 PM

rocketman- you know it if everyone was stoned the world would be a happier place
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:27:31 PM

Yeah, but who would work?

And I can't believe people get paid well to sit around counting the number of times a cigarette appears in film.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:29:58 PM

@Mink - they don't get paid. They do it in lieu of giving up anal to their husbands (right Che?).

@rocketman --- 'FREE THE WEED!' - LOL! Almost fell outta my chair.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:55:08 PM

"They do it in lieu of giving up anal to their husbands (right Che?)."

Ah, now that was funny.

"Marxist commie Soviet f*cks invented Political correctness.Why has the West gone mad for it?"

You got a choice, mate: short answer or the really, really long answer.

And by answer, I don't mean 'd*ck', Che.

(we seriously need a new whipping...thing)
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:05:14 PM

If we all smoked the reefer we may all turn out like QueenCamRothschild !!!

What f*ck was that on and where can we get some !!
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:13:57 PM

Yeah, but the real question is whether QueenCamRothschild passes the Turing Test.

(do a Google search, you'll find this bot all about. It has it's own FB and YT channel...)
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:20:46 PM

@mink re: new whipping...

I'm sure one is lurking just around the corner.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:29:56 PM

...of the closet.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:35:34 PM

lol...

When dad comes home drunk from the bowling league... our lurker just fetal's up in the closet whispering: 'narnia... Narnia... NARNIA!' under their breath.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:47:56 PM

Our next Lurker will be hanging out (a double entendre there) at the movie theatre trying to give away cigarettes to all the 10 year olds ...
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:49:31 PM

hanging out... lol.
TeemSelami writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:54:34 PM

BULLsh*t! I grew up on cagney, bogart, mcqueen, wayne, etc. and i'm a non-smoker.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:57:56 PM

Right, and the next thing we'll hear is that watching Shia and Taters act makes people gay.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 3:59:26 PM

Lucky Rango wasn't around back then Teem , you would be on 2 packs a day by now.
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:01:23 PM

Mink- Gay or Suicidal
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:06:29 PM

Or both. 'Gayicidal'.

Sounds like a spermicide for homosexuals, doesn't it?
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:12:50 PM

lol

Spermicide if only Arnold had taken it at the start of Junior !!
Rominus_the_Red writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:18:29 PM

At least now they can put the sex scene back into the movie
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:19:06 PM

Or Dina Lohan !!
TeemSelami writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 4:22:49 PM

@tt lol kids these days have it to easy.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:09:16 PM

well, the MPAA can go f*ck themselves with their bullsh*t statistics.

"A lot of kids are going to start smoking because of this movie," - BULL.sh*t. f*ck off.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:11:31 PM

I've been around smoking for so long, people offering me smokes, my dad smokes, smoking on the television, movies, the bus stops, etc,etc.

and I've NEVER f*cking smoked.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 6:38:13 PM

I smoke...




when I don't use a lubricant.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved