WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ray Stevenson May Return for "Punisher: War Zone" Sequel

Posted: March 9th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ray Stevenson May Return for "Punisher: War Zone" SequelSubmit Comment
"Punisher: War Zone" grossed only $10 million globally on a $35 million budget, but Marvel thinks that the character can still attract an audience.

While promoting his "Kill the Irishman" movie, "War Zone" star Ray Stevenson revealed that Marvel has re-acquired the rights to the property from Lionsgate with possible plans of developing another film.

Stevenson went on to say that he has even talked with the company about returning for another "Punisher" installment. "It's way out of my hands," he said. "If it's on my path to do him again, I'll definitely do my best."

According to recent Marvel statements, there may also be a "Punisher" TV series in the works.

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lebowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:08:26 PM

im starting to think that a punisher movie will never be good.they tried 3 times and each time sucked more.just leave it alone and reboot daredevil
boogiel writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:11:23 PM

Well, if he does return as a Frank castle, that'll make him just like Chris Evans as an actor who portrays two characters from Marvel universe. He will portray Volstagg from Thor and Castle from the punisher. On another subject, marvel needs to keep this movie rated R.
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:20:11 PM

War Zone was better than the Thomas Jane abomination, but really? No sequel. Thanks.
Detrimental writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:22:20 PM

Nothing nonsuperpowered ever works out. How does this character even exist in Marvel? They're all about enhancing every single person in one way. Any character that would lose to The Thing from F4 doesn't deserve its own movie.
zyban03 writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:22:38 PM

I forgot they even made a 3rd one! Maybe they're trying to set a record with 4 pieces of crap in a row.
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:43:20 PM

The Punisher could be a great film but somehow they alsways get it totally wrong.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:47:19 PM

No,please don't.

I mean, don't bring back the Punisher.

They brought the Newman-role actor from Seingfeld for Crissakes to play Microchip, when everyone knows Microchip was based off future blimpoid Michael "FatA$$" Moore.

Ray, keep away from the brown acid ... stay away from the brown acid ....
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:54:12 PM

Gawd, I think the Punisher is almost a jinx, an almost career killing character ...

Exhibit A, your honor : Dolph Lundgren. How f*cking long did it get from him being in the Straight to DVD action hero category to the movie screen again ... THE EXPENDABLES, anyone ? That's two f*cking decades, which in movie-career terms is like the next straight to DVD Pauley Shore movie.

B. Thomas Jane ... we saw what followed .... Longshot ... I mean, how can you f*ck up the antagonist in an Elmore Leonard story ? Well, he sure proved how .... Oh and Give 'Em Hell, Harry ? Like watching Bruce Campbell walking into a Taco Bell in just a diaper and pretend being a beaner kid taking a dump and screaming for Cinammon crisps ... oh, the horror ... Dark Country ? Pass .... Mutant Chronicles ? ... Pass ... he's better off doing "Hung" for a while, so he can make mortgage payments ....

C. Ray Stevenson ... Punisher : War Zone ? Marvel's doing exploitation movies now ? (Well, after Ghost Rider ... ) f*ck, what a f*cking suckfest. It sucked more c*ck than Che stuck in the elevator with the guys from Queer Eye for the Straight Guy ....

Trust me, Ray ... it's bad mojo, brother.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 10:04:03 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:43:20 PM
The Punisher could be a great film but somehow they alsways get it totally wrong.

@minkowski

Okay. Do you want to know why the Punisher is not doing as well, no matter the actor ? It's because of the premise of what he is ...

He's a vigilante in a superhero world.
Doesn't fit so much because he's not Batman, he's just a sniper with Black Ops training, basically.

The Punisher is a vigilante who employs murder, kidnapping, extortion, coercion, threats of violence and torture in his war on crime. Driven by the deaths of his wife and two kids, who were killed by the mob when they witnessed a gangland execution in New York City's Central Park, the Punisher wages a one-man war on the mob and all criminals in general by using all manner of conventional war weaponry.[1] His family's killers were the first to be slain.[2] A war veteran, Castle is a master of martial arts, stealth tactics, guerrilla warfare and a wide variety of weapons.

He was developed in the early Seventies as a comic book version of a way to express the anger people were feeling at the time (same with the movies like Texas Chainsaw Massacre, which were symbolic of the murder, social stigma and political unrest caused by the tension of the Vietnam War, rising gas prices, anti-American sentiment in countries like Iran and an energy crisis, all under an administration that was trying to curtail the bullsh*t and totalitarism brought on by previous administrations (sound familiar ?), so Punisher was unique to other superheroes, who were touching their own milestones into reality based issues (drug use, alcoholism, etc.) because he had a brutal nature and a willingness to not only torture, but kill.

Frankly, if you want to see the quintessential Punisher movie, it's already been made. It's called Death Wish and stars the late actor, Charles Bronson. It spawned sequels, was about the same time, if not earlier to Dirty Harry and was the inspiration for Death Sentence.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 10:31:49 PM

Nihilistic your cinema knowledge in the action genre impresses me.Death Wish is just guilty pleasure fun,Bronson shooting criminals with his magnum is just priceless.

The Punisher is one of my favorite superheroes in the marvel universe he is also more realistic and is one brutal motherf*cker.I liked the last one it wasnt so bad and Ray Stevenson looked more accurate outta all three its a shame it only made few millions.But i would rather watch the punisher movies anyday than some faggot vind diesel or The c*ck aka dwanye Johnson movies .I like the punisher way better than Daredevil or Hitman.
If they keep trying maybe one day they'll get it right
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 10:33:34 PM

Bring Dolph back as Frank nuff said.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 10:37:25 PM

BadChadB33 writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 10:33:34 PM
Bring Dolph back as Frank nuff said.

@BadChadB33

If they did, he's gotta put some meat on his bones.

For f*ck's sake, I don't care how "badass" they made his character in The Expendables ... he just looked f*cking horrible.
technoreaper writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 11:04:18 PM

The good news, Ray Stevenson is returning as The Punisher.

The bad news, Lionsgate won't be behind it, Marvel/Disney will.

The last one was incredibly underrated. Criminally. Hopefully, Marvel maintains the same tone in a sequel.
Rambo writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 1:49:31 AM

The best punisher movie was 'Man on Fire'(2004)
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:29:51 AM

^ Love that movie, Denzel was freakin awesome in that....
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 2:38:36 AM

Also looking forward to seeing "Kill the Irishman"

That looks pretty good...
ZenShark writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:07:21 AM

i like stevenson. he is a good actor, and looks just like the punisher from the max series. a brutal hardcore punisher featuring bracuda as the main villain would be awesome. i say just tale the comics and make a screenplay out of it. why they cant take great stories and make movies on them i dont know. it seems they have to take a great story, and f**k it up in order to 'improve' on it....
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:05:15 AM

I like Ray but he was a horrible choice for the Punisher (so was Jane). Ray really struggled too much with the American accent and his direction was terrible. War Zone in general was pitiful even if it was very violent.
Bunny X writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:25:14 AM

It still amazes me that this movie makes back a third of its budget and there are talks of continuing the franchise. Yet better movies make back more and they're shelved.
I could care less about this franchise. Punisher has some of the best material to pull from and the fact that they can't get it right on film is a joke.
You want to talk about a comic able to make a real world transition to film, Punisher has it in spades.
Someone great (BESIDES NOLAN) needs to get their hands on this and really deliver a dark, gritty, no CGI or flash, R rated flick and give me a believeable Punisher, and you'll get my $$.
Til then, drop dead.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:54:17 AM

I dont mind Ray as the punisher, I think he did an OK job of capturing the punisher, what he needs is a good villan, then we can talk kick ass ride.

A good conspiracy case with the government using all the hardware of sheild trying to shut him down. That always works.
lawman writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 8:54:39 AM

As a Punisher reader since the BEGINING, War Zone was pretty spot on. Much of it WAS the comic! Ray was fine IMO. Thom Jane, EH!
batdump writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 12:33:48 PM

I think war zone was terrible. everybody in that movie was struggling to find whatever character they were supposed to be playing.

it seemed gory and vulgar just for the sake of being so. which in essence is what the punisher is about. but that is probably why it doesn't translate well. ultra violence just comes out looking tacky unless you have the right crew behind it. and everybody in war zone was cast wrong.

i honestly think thomas jane's movie was better. may not have been a great punisher story but was a good story and actually had a competent cast.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 10th, 2011 at 5:12:47 PM

i actually liked it. if they make a sequel then they should flesh out the story more, however.
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 11th, 2011 at 3:18:51 PM

The guy is perfect, just get some decent writers on this Marvel. Jesus, as if this character is terribly hard to write. I say hire one of the Scott brothers and the writers of A man on Fire. Case Closed.
frankenstein writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 5:21:55 PM

Okay. I've been reading Punisher comics forever. When I finally came about the 1989 version, I was kind of so-so on it.

Then the 2004 version with Thomas Jane came out and made the 1989 version look like gold. In other words, the 2004 Punisher was terrible.

Then Punisher: War Zone came to be, and I was just blown away. Ray Stevenson is a MAX Punisher comic book come to life, they even made Jigsaw (a long time villian in Punisher comics) a believeable character.

I could not have been more happier or more satisfied when I walked out of the theater after watching Punisher: War Zone.

Now there is talk about a sequel to War Zone. My response is HELL YEAH! But on the other hand...Lionsgate isn't going to be making it. Punisher has been out of Marvel's hands for awhile, and during Frank Castle's absence, Marvel teamed up with Disney. This could be bad.

However, you know if, (and I hope they do), if they make a sequel to War Zone, (with Barracuda as the villian perhaps??!) you know they will put it under the Marvel Knights banner like they did with the first War Zone, so it will be rated R. The Punisher is a R rated character anyways and to make him otherwise would just be dumb.

Everyone else lines up for miles to see the X-Men, or Thor, or Iron Man and so on.

The Punisher never has many people backing him up. Not in the real world, or even in the comic book world. And when I walked into War Zone on it's opening day, i realized how true that is, considering the fact that I was almost totally alone in the theater. "Good" I thought to myself. "Let everyone else have Spider-Man. I'm with Frank Castle."

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved