WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro May Leave "At the Mountains of Madness" for "Pacific Rim"

Posted: March 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro May Leave "At the Mountains of Madness" for "Pacific Rim"Submit Comment
Guillermo Del Toro quit "The Hobbit" after he realized that it will take a while to begin filming. He moved on to "At the Mountains of Madness," which Universal Pictures has been nervous to move forward due to the $150 million budget and the 'R' rating.

Del Toro has warned Universal that if "Mountains" doesn't get greenlit, he will move on. And his project of choice is "Pacific Rim," which Legendary Pictures is treating as a top priority.

The PG-13 movie is written by Travis Beachem (Clash of the Titans) and is set in a future in which malevolent creatures threaten the earth, so the planet must band together and use highly advanced technology to eradicate the growing menace.

We've been hearing that Beachem's script may be reworked to become a reboot of "Godzilla," which Legendary Pictures is also working on. The studio has previously offered Del Toro the chance to direct "Godzilla," so it's very possible that the helmer has finally agreed. But whether it will be "Pacific Rim" or "Godzilla" is yet to be seen.

This doesn't mean that Del Toro has abandoned "At the Mountains of Madness." It's his passion project and he will immediately return as soon as Universal figures out what it wants to do.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:37:26 AM

Isn't Tom Cruise about to sign on for "At the Mountains of Madness"
AYT BALL writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:48:37 AM

^^ thought so! id rather see that get made than another godzila though!

Wasnt Gareth Edwards supposed to be doing Godzila?!

For anyone that hasnt seen Monsters yet id highly recommend it
alexgi writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:52:17 AM

@trailertrash: Cruise will likely sign on, but his reps claim that it hasn't happened yet.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:55:13 AM

Pacific Rim sounds like an anal porno set in the antarctic.
Rambo writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 5:17:49 AM

^sounds good to me.
Farradin writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 5:29:25 AM

Much rather see ATMOM.
DeVries writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:57:42 AM

f*cking c*nt affraid of R-Rated movies... ATMOM will be epic.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 9:19:13 AM

300 and Disctrict 9 were epic and R rated with half of that budget.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 10:14:06 AM

i thought this was all worked out tom and ron are to sign on and filmings to start in the summer??
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 10:45:08 AM

Thanks Alex

AYT- Looking forward to Monsters someone i know is off to the US at the weekend and that is on my list of Blu Rays to get.
Bunny X writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 10:52:33 AM

Why why why?!?!?! Make At the Mountains of Madness for cripes sake. I swear, with him and Cameron not doing Battle ANgel anytime soon, I am just fed up.

@AYT, I had Monsters in my possesion but it didn't play clear in my Blu Ray player. Mildly upset but it is on high priority to see that.
Heard so many great things about.

Unfortunately "Faster" played just fine and although I adore the Rock, that movie was absolutely painful to watch. I would honestly watch The Tooth Fairy before that p.o.s.
Can producers PLEASE stop naming side detectives / cops "Cisero"??
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 11:25:50 AM

Faster is also on my list , lol
Mister Leary writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 11:34:52 AM

ATMOM needs to get made. Such a twisted story. I'd like to see a good monster movie made as well. "Monsters" was complete waste of time. Skip it. The only thing great about the movie was its sets and those were a product of a real natural disaster. The acting was on par with a high school theatre production and the monster design was something we all have seen before. If you want to see a good monster movie watch the Korean film "The Host".
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 11:44:30 AM

Watched the Host really liked that movie, One of the better monster films ive seen for a while and i see they are making a part 2 as well.
Bunny X writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 12:28:41 PM

Ahhhh!! @Trailer lol. Don't do it!! Faster was horrible. It's bad enough they used the son seeking revenge tease but they used it in various forms, like 4 times!!
And all the other cliches used in the film were just gut-wrenchingly painful. And this from a gal who tosses out any and all bits of reality when watching a shoot-em-up revenge flick.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 12:43:21 PM

"Guillermo Del Toro May Leave "At the Mountains of Madness" for "Pacific Rim""

Don't do it, *sshole! Get your ass back to Lovecraft where it f*cking belongs!

And Faster was good, IMO, for what it was: an action vehicle for The Johnson. He actually made a decent film, I think, and it has some good action, plenty of revenge and a passable story. It's one of those films more for the guys, not the chicka-d's, IYKWIM, and I think most guys would appreciate seeing the Rock do action-drama again, so I would suggest to anyone that's a fan, give the film a shot. Just go in with low expectations, because it isn't a Transporter/Crank type action film. It's more subtle than that.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 2:21:41 PM

@Mink
Agreed, watched Faster and it was a HELL of a lot better then I thought it'd be. The Rock needs to stick to those kind of movies... period.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 2:23:27 PM

@trailer
please tell me your serious about a possible sequel to The Host?! It is definitely one of the best "monster" movies in a whiiiiiiile and told a great story with the family... I'd so be down for sequel to it!!
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 2:34:39 PM

Speaking of monster movies...

has anyone seen that low budget movie "Monsters"? Saw that it's on Netflix Instant section and heard a lot of it is pretty boring but i dunno... would rather hear from more people before actually watching it?
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:41:35 PM

Ted, It's always a good idea IMO to download a cd-sized DVD rip of any film you're thinking of paying for, because to not know what you're getting before you pay is giving the businesses all the advantage, and I think it's fair, though currently illegal to 'preview' a film before plunking down 20-30 dollars for the actual disc.
darkraven28 writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:22:05 PM

So now Del Toro will be more famous for the movies he doesn't do than for the ones that he does.

Seriously, why can't people make movies for 100 million dollars anymore? I'm sure Universal wouldn't care if it was just 100 mil. T2: Judgment Day cost 100 mil in '91 and was R-rated and made half a billion dollars. People apparently haven't learned from that at all.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 5:30:55 PM

Darkraven:

You have to remember that a lot of movies today *are* made for 100 million, when you consider inflation.

Go here:

http://www.westegg.com/inflation/

100 million in 1990 dollars is over 160 million in today's dollar. Not too bad considering the amount of CGI/pre-viz that goes into most films nowadays.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:00:42 PM

@ Bunny and Trailer - Yeah faster was garbage, after the first ten mins i actually thought "oh!! could be something a little different for Mr Rock".....after the next 10 min i though "nope, same old sack of crap"

Monsters was one of my favorites of the year, great movie and when you know it only cost a few thousand to make its even more impressive!
AYT BALL writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:10:46 PM

@ Ted Mosby - The people that say its boring are looking for Godzilla!! its mainly a movie about the two main characters trying to get from mexico back to the USA, like District 9 the Aliens (Monsters) are in there as part of everyday life, people are living with it, its kind of all in the background throughout most of the film, but thats what gives it some realism and gives you time to give a damn about that characters, i honestly thought it was outstanding.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:48:53 PM

They should hire Peter Jackson to direct and Elwes and Bardem to star make it a comedy and change the title to The Fountains of Fatness.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:50:20 PM

But if Del Toro wants to do Pacific Rim job instead, I guess he should go for it.
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:51:27 PM

Bunny/AYT-

Damn i was looking forward to getting that movie another let down from Dwayne then !!

Monsters still sounds good to me though, Sometimes seeing less can be better in a monster movie (Like JAWS), I really liked the 1st half of the R. Emmerich Godzilla,But once the monster was seen the movie lost it's edge IMO.

127 hrs,Hereafter and Bambi ( dont know why lol) were the other films i wanted.
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:55:19 PM

Ted -

Aparently so on Host 2, it's been kicking around for a while now but they are looking for a 2012/13 release.

On the down side they were talking making it in 3D !!
Bunny X writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 10:34:52 PM

Lol sorry Del Toro, for hijacking this thread but......this "chicka-d" ;) is definitely one for a "let-it-go" actioner. I loved Walking Tall. The only thing I didn't like was the feel good vibe it forced down our throats but it was expected. I so wanted Faster to be the darker Walking Tall and in a sense, it was. But as much as I tried to let go, I was just offended that the movie didn't respect me enough and actually thought it

*********** SPOILER ALERT**************




was "surprising" me with the revelation of BBT as the "main baddie" behind everything. I mean c'mon. I figured it out way early and laughed that the characters couldn't.
Hats off to Rock, he took that intensity from frame #1 and rode it all the way through the movie. But the "hitman" and his angle, his "wedding", his wife now upset with his profession when just a fw scenes earlier she was shooting bottles with him after the wedding, the ex having the abortion, elling out to Rock, Kill em all!!
I'm sorry, it was just too much to put blinders to.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 3:18:01 AM

100% with you there Bunny, pretty much all the problems i had with it! and that had to be the gayest British hitman ever! wtf! lol we arent like that!!......british, not hit men ;-)
Mister Leary writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 9:09:02 AM

I'll say it again.....
"Monsters" was complete waste of time. Skip it. The only thing great about the movie was its sets and those were a product of a real natural disaster. Props to the location scout!
The acting was on par with a high school theatre production and the monster design was something we all have seen before. Just felt like they didn't deliver with the premise they were working with. Pacing was okay, but the Tentacle Porn ending was lame.

AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 11:18:42 AM

your in the minority there Leary
Mister Leary writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 12:03:58 PM

That's cool with me. People like what they like. I'd say I'm in the majority though, seeing that the film made less than $3.5 mil. It it was really that good, word of mouth would have made it a bigger success.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 12:29:23 PM

Hey each to their own, the only people ive heard say anything bad about it seemed to be expecting more from the suggestive title. Very much a character driven movie in my opinion. But if your talking money id say it was a massive success, a really small release and made for only a few thousand dollars, less than 10 i seem to remember. It got alot of critical recognition and a shed load of independent film awards. Like i said each to their own, and i agree it was a waste of your time, but not everyones.
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 3:36:40 PM

The only way you can determine if a film works for you is to watch it yourself. Take the time or don't, but do not listen to other people when it comes to avoiding a film because if that was the case, there's a number of great films I would have never seen because they just didn't get the praise necessary to put them in my queue otherwise.

And there's a number of boring, dull movies that people acclaimed, like TDK, Star Trek and host of other recent blockbuster hits that were just overblown, pretentious trash.

As for Billy Bob thornton being the bad guy in Faster, well the way they revealed the shooting scene pogressively through flashbacks made it difficult to guess he was bad from the first get go, given that you didn't know right then there was a hidden character.

But I would argue that guessing the bad guy hardly ruins a film like Faster, at least for me, because it never porposely portrayed and posed itself as a Sixth Sense type film where the explanatatory reveal is the film's entire function.

So if that ruins it for you, then I would guess, for that person, a film isn't much more than a means to shock, surprise and titillate.

I look for the story, how well the actors act and how well I'm entertained.

Again, it's all about expectations, and how low you set them, because if you go in looking for an immediate hit, then you'll find yourself very disappointed.

"his wife now upset with his profession when just a fw scenes earlier she was shooting bottles with him after the wedding"

Well, there is something of a gap between shooting bottles for fun and wasting one person after another, right?

"I'm sorry, it was just too much to put blinders to."

But you enjoyed the perposterousness of TDK and Star Trek, right?

I really wish people would at least pretend some consistency...
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 3:38:51 PM

"and i agree it was a waste of your time"

That's very generous of you, mate. lol.
Mister Leary writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 6:38:58 PM

You're welcome Mink

@AYT
Monsters was made for around $800,000

AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 7:43:56 PM

@ Leary - $15,000, not sure where you got the 300k from, ive seen the making of and a few interviews with the director, it was a two man crew, camera and sound, HD sony cam and an applemac with final cut and after effects.

http://www.slashfilm.com/how-gareth-edwards-shot-monsters-on-an-incredibly-low-budget/
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 7:44:53 PM

*800k
AYT BALL writes:
on March 9th, 2011 at 7:50:32 PM

@ Mink - think what Bunny was talking about with BBT and the big surprise ending was not the fact that it was built up to be that kind of movie but that they revealed it with slow mo and dramatic music as if it was a big shock, think i clicked it was him about 20 mins into the movie when he said he met his wife when she was an informant....plus i stick to my rule, told my brother this and he says ive ruined movies for him.....if theres a good (or well known) actor that doesnt seem to have enough of a reason to be in the movie then its probably him! lol

You know im gonna disagree about TDK, and not just to get on the bandwagon i just really do think that is a great movie.

I agree though, never avoid a movie because someone tells you to, but there are people that have earned my trust in their opinions, i still make up my own mind though.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved