WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shane Black Says "Iron Man 3" to Have Real World Villains

Posted: March 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shane Black Says "Iron Man 3" to Have Real World VillainsSubmit Comment
We already heard that Shane Black will be directing the third "Iron Man" movie, but now during a panel at the Omaha Film Festival, the filmmaker confirmed that he will also be writing the script.

"'Iron Man 3' will not be another 'two men in iron suits fighting each other' film," he told the audience. "Instead, it will be more like a Tom Clancy-thriller, with Iron Man fighting real world villains."

Black added that he is scheduled to meet with Robert Downey Jr later this week and the two will begin crafting the story. "Iron Man 3" is set to hit theaters on May 3rd, 2013.

Up until 2005, Black was known for writing "Lethal Weapon," "The Last Boy Scout" and "The Long Kiss Goodnight." Then Black made his helming debut with "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang," which coincidentally starred Robert Downey Jr.

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:25:04 PM

what's so real world about an alcoholic in a flying metal suit?

Who does he battle: cancer, red lights and gingivitis?
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:26:56 PM

Wow. "More like a Tom Clancy thriller."

That's like nerd anti-Viagra.

f*cking "The Sum of all Fears" was a Clancy thriller.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:29:55 PM

I'm happy about this. Didn't like the 2nd movie so much because of all the Avengers seeds Marvel was planting. This could be good.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:40:38 PM

hes a good writer after all maybe he knows what hes doing.He should include Damon wayans for the role of War Machine,and maybe a cameo by Kilmer as well
bandolero999 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:48:16 PM

REeal world villians can one of them be Tyler Perry and his NAACP awards being blown up followed by BET and MTV studios?
stemurph88 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:48:21 PM

The Last Boyscout. First 7 minutes....classic.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:52:34 PM

He's a great writer. Just imagine what The Long Kiss Goodnight could've been had it not been directed by a hack like Renny Harlin. Even then, it wasn't bad. Campy, though.
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:52:46 PM

"The Last Boyscout.....classic."

There, corrected.
Zeroguy writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 8:56:35 PM

I just hope Marvel Studios (or whoever is producing) are not derps and make sure Shane writes the screenplay as well. The Last Boy Scout, Lethal Weapon and Kiss Kids Bang Bang are proof he can blow the first two movies out of the water.
boogiel writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:05:28 PM

'Iron Man 3' will not be another 'two men in iron suits fighting each other' film," he told the audience. "Instead, it will be more like a Tom Clancy-thriller, with Iron Man fighting real world villains."


In other words, Say goodbye to Mandarin.
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:14:04 PM

"and Kiss Kids Bang Bang"

Well, that's a great title for the Michael Jackson story, but the correct title is Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:26:27 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:14:04 PM

"and Kiss Kids Bang Bang"

Well, that's a great title for the Michael Jackson story, but the correct title is Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.


@minkowski

So that rules out the Michael Jackson bio " Billie Jean Swigs Jesus Juice " ?
Zeroguy writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:57:57 PM

Serves me right for using a phone for this.
But yeah, I meant Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. But I'd watch the other one if someone made it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 11:19:57 PM

good catch Mink, Last Boy Scout is one of my all time faves. So what about Mandarin being in this film?
lebowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 11:30:57 PM

i dont want real world bad guys ,weres the fun in that .its a comic shane,villains are supposed to be larger than life in the comics.but i have to say that i was looking forward to see iron man fight another guy in an iron suit ,but really fight it out not like in the last 2 movies were the final fights were about a minute and a half.anyway its a long time before iron man 3 gets made things are going to change scriptwise,but i have faith in black
Sinestro writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 12:14:11 AM

But this is Iron-Man. You gonna make him MORE like Batman? Uh, okay...
Rambo writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 1:18:56 AM

Jeez you got a big p*ssy
JohnZee writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 2:16:02 AM

Sounds intriguing, although you would think that Marvel would want for Black to create an Iron Man 3 that they could get more than one or two action figures out of.

Although it is certainly a way to move away from one of the biggest liabilities of the Iron Man cadre of bad guys, which consists of a lot of slow witted thugs armed with a one or two somewhat interesting gadgets.

And hopefully he'll stay away from the "You can either save innocent victim/hostage/sidekick/love interest/region of the country A or innocent victim/hostage/love interest/region of the country B...but you can't save them both." bad guy plan that was in Superman/Spiderman/Batman Forever/and The Dark Knight...

...As that's getting to be such a super hero movie standard that it is almost embarrassing.

...And sadly I've probably missed a couple of other super hero movie that also had a very similar scene.
Syriph writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 2:44:24 AM

It really upsets me when a man with a true talent sells himself to a used franchise. This franchise is already started and headed down a certain path, there is no need for a man of talent to follow this road. He would be much better on a new superhero franchise like daredevil. He could make something great instead of this trash. Personally i wish he would just do Death Note now
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:05:39 AM

Not only did the guy write the Brilliant lethal Weapon and Last Boy Scout.

But he also in the very good Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, gave us a lot more of Michelle Monaghan,

Thank you kind sir.
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:09:24 AM

Syriph-

It's a safe stepping stone for him, Show the studios what a good job he can do on a big picture.

If it stinks to high heaven (which i doubt it would)Iron Man 3 will still make money and if it does well then it opens up more doors for him to make his own big budget action movies.

It's a win win really
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:10:12 AM

Rambo- lol
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 9:17:51 AM

Iron Man vs Obamanation confirmed?
Bunny X writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 10:45:41 AM

Ok enough of this real world villain crap. Like Mink said, he's an alcoholic in a flying metal suit. They need to stop real-worlding these superheroes. It worked in Batman #1 because Nolan is on point. #2 Batman has no powers so the fantasy factor is able to be removed.
Sure Starks has no powers outside the suit and is essentially doing the same as Batman using outside enhancements but you're steering this into the Superman realm with this move.
All the Superman movies aside from the Zod confrontation, had Superman not fighting to his potential. If they do this with Ironman, he'll be up against what? A military faction of a small European country? Congo rebels in Africa? Dumb. Superheroes need Supervillains, period.
So sorry Shane, if you're not bringing in Mandarin or Crimson Dynamo, or Unicorn or whoever super powered villain, I could give a crap less about this film.
rabid writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 11:27:20 AM

Iron Man has always been a real world type of hero. While other comics have their heroes jaunting off into space, Tony Stark skulks around Washington, meets in boardrooms. He was even secretary of defense for a long while, and he still lobbies from time to time. Tony Stark is the Iron Man with or without the suit.

Also, in the past ten years the Madnarin stories have all been very realistic. It's been a decade since I've even seen him use his powers. No dragon aliens for the past 20 years. This is a good thing.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 12:52:43 PM

How would a civilian go after real life villains without causing an international incident or it not be an out-right declaration of war? American Stark as Iron Man is a tactical weapon. Anything done out of country had better have the backing of NATO or the UN (at the very least). Although... flying under radar, yet over the homes of S. American drug lords and nuking them... I wouldn't lose sleep over that.

I like this writer's resume. And I'm sure he's asked himself all these questions... so, let's see.
rabid writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 1:27:02 PM

Isn't that the Mandarin's sometimes modus operandi? to goad Stark into starting a war with China?
The best thing about the Ultimates comics when they started is that they dealt with the realistic aspects of government sponsored superheroes. They created a new supersoldier Cold War.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 1:32:41 PM

@rabid. I like your and Bunny's posts. You're were both (clearly) into comics after my day in them. The updates are nice.
Whitelock84 writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:00:20 PM

I agree this guy will probably rock as director, but why does Iron Man have to go up against "real world villains"? You've got an ocean of comic-book fans who are going to turn rabid at the fact that they will not see Tony Stark go up against some of their favorite characters, like the Mandarin. Black, we love you, but please stick with the source material and everything will be fine.
Orias writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:06:52 PM

I am sick of nerds hiding from reality all the time in comic books and video games. I would love to see him kick the sh*t out of Bin Laden or Khaddafy but I am not sure if "real world" will be real enough to go against the PC censors who don't like Muslims portrayed as villans even though 9 out of 10 wars these days has them stirring sh*t up.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 4:52:14 PM

Iron Man 2 was one of the worst sequels ever made.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:16:16 PM

No argument here. I fell asleep during it and I'm one of the character's biggest fans.
vwkombi writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:34:47 PM

Although this idea sounds retarded, this guy wrote Lethal Weapon.

Even if it sucks, i can't be any worse than Iron Man 2.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:40:09 PM

f*ck. who is he gonna fight,high prices?
technoreaper writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 6:50:05 PM

Sounds...terrible.

Hey Hollywood, we watch comic book movies to see comic book villains. Stop paying attention to Nolan, he's an idiot.

GIVE US THE MANDARIN!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved