WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rango" Dominates Box Office with $38 Million

Posted: March 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rango" Dominates Box Office with $38 MillionSubmit Comment
Johnny Depp's animated "Rango" film took first place this weekend with $38 million, which is the highest non-holiday opening for 2011 movie. Unfortunately, "Rango" cost $135 million to make, which means that it will heavily depend on foreign box office to earn back the budget.

Coming in second was Matt Damon's "The Adjustment Bureau" with $20.9 million. Since the film cost only $51 million, it is already on its way to becoming a success. Especially since "Bureau" grossed an additional $10.5 million overseas.

Taking third was "Beastly," a re-telling of the classic "Beauty and the Beast" fairy tale. The $17 million film grossed $10.1 million during the weekend and will likely go on to eventually double its budget.

The other wide release, Topher Grace's "Take Me Home Tonight" comedy, grossed a disappointing $3.5 million which was only good enough for 11th place. Fortunately, the film only cost $10 million to make.

Click here to read our "Rango" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KalVicious writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 7:10:22 PM

Good, I saw the film today and it deserves every cent.
xtlhogciao writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 7:15:23 PM

I spontaneously decided to watch it as I drove by the theater. When I walked in I realized I was seeing a cartoon on Sunday at 1:45 pm and said "aww ****." Luckily the front area was totally free of a single person, and the sea of giggling children were quiet, aside from the occasional fart sounds in the movie, throughout the entire film.
It was a good experience.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 7:44:34 PM

YESSSSS.
vaodsi writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 8:39:51 PM

GOOOOOD!
I was shocked this movie even got made! It was THAT AWESOME!
Taking my little brothers to see it tonight.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 9:30:22 PM

Can't believe Topher Grace still gets work. Pretty f*cked up.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 9:40:11 PM

"I want a urine sample from everybody and get me a latte and don't mix up the two!"

One's a translucent yellowish liquid, the other brown and opaque. How would someone confuse the two?
bandolero999 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 11:09:50 PM

well hopefully the studios will realize that Topher grace is no leading man material and I still dont understand how he was in the Predators movie,or Venom in Spiderman 3 thats like putting Urkel as Blade.

Drive Angry is an entertaining movie to watch but the 3d wasnt needed at all.William Fichtner's character reminds me of Walken's character in the prophecy.Also not too many christians would like it I can see why
Ranger writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 12:35:48 AM

I saw the trailer for Rango... so I'm not surprised. OK... surprised by the huge $38mil. take... but I think that ladies paid just to hear Johnny's voice.

$135mil. to make?! Holy crap! I won't pay to see this in the theater, but it's sure worth a home viewing.

Has anyone seen The Adjustment Bureau? - interesting concept. Not completely new, but Damon is certainly watchable.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 12:39:35 AM

No way I was going to go to the theaters for it, but I watched Take me Home tonight today and actually enjoyed it, I Laughed more than I expected I would...but I have Eric Foreman nostalgia beer goggles so my opinion doesn't mean d*ck squat.

135 mil for Rango....how much of that did Mr "I act like i'm not a sellout, but I really am" Johnny Depp...35 out of 135 would be my guess.
Rambo writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 5:56:21 AM

Can't wait to see 'Sucker punch',the latest trailer has to be one of the best trailers in recent years.
snoop writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 7:51:29 AM

Good thing 'Take Me Home Tonight' only cost 10 million dollars to make, or that might have been a major waste of money.
batdump writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 9:28:08 AM

topher grace was such a pointless character in predators. other than him, that was an alright movie. I'm going to see rango tomorrow night. been wanting to see it since the first trailer. can't believe it cost so much to make though
SACdaddy writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 10:38:05 AM

I've heard nothing but good things about Rango. Some of my friends with children saw it Saturday and love it. Said the CGI was every bit as good or BETTER than a Pixar film and that the characters were the best since Toy Story. Think I'll peep a late night showing to avoid the little crumbsnatcher.

@Rambo: The latest Sucker Punch trailer was amazing all the way up until they slapped a PG-13 tramp stamp on its ass and turned it to sh*t. Biggest mistake they ever made. This movie will fail (unfortunately).
bandolero999 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 11:24:30 AM

Ill give sucker punch a chance.there's not really a leading actor in that movie but hot chicks so it would have been more of a risk to make it rated R cause there'll be a lesser chance for people to see it.I wouldn't be surprised if there's an R rated or unrated version on dvd.
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 2:29:22 PM

Sucker Punch will fail because, judging by the trailers, it's one very expensive music video, without the music. No story, and Snyder is very infamous for his all style no substance filmmaking. That and a total lack of any anchor actors will hurt it at the BO.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 2:47:55 PM

Then ill wait for the download or on dvd because movies are ridiculously expensive these days and about 70% of movies suck balls these days and try to lure you with the big excuse of cgi and 3d.nowadays paying all that money for a movie and you enjoying it is a hit or miss and if the movie sucks ull be angered and be felt like u were cheated.Unless ur on a date with a really hot piece of c*nt and ur trying to hit it
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 5:18:15 PM

"Unless ur on a date with a really hot piece of c*nt and ur trying to hit it"

Yeah, true, but I rarely do my outcall at the theater. Too noisy.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:17:24 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 9:40:11 PM
"I want a urine sample from everybody and get me a latte and don't mix up the two!"

One's a translucent yellowish liquid, the other brown and opaque. How would someone confuse the two?

@minkowski
If he was Adolph, he wouldn't have cared.
I guess it's the tany of the taste.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:19:07 PM


SACdaddy writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 10:38:05 AM
I've heard nothing but good things about Rango. Some of my friends with children saw it Saturday and love it. Said the CGI was every bit as good or BETTER than a Pixar film and that the characters were the best since Toy Story. Think I'll peep a late night showing to avoid the little crumbsnatcher.

@SACDaddy

Absolutely.

The critics compare it a lot with Pixar films, if not better.

And how can you go wrong when you have spaghetti western meets Hunter S Thompson meets Ned Beatty ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:23:43 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 2:29:22 PM
Sucker Punch will fail because, judging by the trailers, it's one very expensive music video, without the music. No story, and Snyder is very infamous for his all style no substance filmmaking. That and a total lack of any anchor actors will hurt it at the BO.

@minkowski

Compared to the 'special award winners' that came out last year, I can't completely say this will fail, but to me it looks like a very expensive, very sleek and slo-mo music video/car ad, which is the same problem I had with even considering watching The Watchmen a second time (Note : Terry Gilliam was spot-on about The Watchmen. Since it is a bit surreal and was well worked out by Geof Darrow in the book and crafted by Alan Moore already back in the 80s, it was completely unfilmable, even though Snyder just basically copied it shot for shot from the comic book with Darrow's assistance, like doing a graphic novel version of what Gus Van Zant did with Psycho).

It looks flimsy at best and Scott Glenn must be needing the money to pay on a mortgage payment.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:25:14 PM

xtlhogciao writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 7:15:23 PM

I spontaneously decided to watch it as I drove by the theater. When I walked in I realized I was seeing a cartoon on Sunday at 1:45 pm and said "aww ****." Luckily the front area was totally free of a single person, and the sea of giggling children were quiet, aside from the occasional fart sounds in the movie, throughout the entire film.
It was a good experience.


@xtlhogciao

So your a teacher, hunh ?

English, I bet.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:26:05 PM

minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 9:30:22 PM

Can't believe Topher Grace still gets work. Pretty f*cked up.


@minkowski

If it worked for Robert Johnson, it should work for Topher Grace.
hunter207 writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 3:47:37 AM

@Ranger- was gonna go see it but ended up canceling cause of zero visibility on the road caused by dust and a Forrest fire. settled with seeing rango in our local crap fest of a movie theater, and actually enjoyed it
puputkantor writes:
on May 30th, 2016 at 3:56:56 AM

Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!
Extremely useful information specially the closing part :) I maintain such information much.
I used to be seeking this particular information for a
very long time. Thank you and best of luck. Obat Tradisional Asam Urat Yang Ampuh
Obat Asam Urat
Pengobatan Asam Urat

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved