WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hitman" Director Wants to Helm "Daredevil" Reboot

Posted: March 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hitman" Director Wants to Helm "Daredevil" RebootSubmit Comment
While promoting his new "The Divide" film, director Xavier Gens (Hitman) revealed that he would love the chance to helm 20th Century Fox's reboot of "Daredevil."

"If I make a 'Daredevil' movie, I would go in a completely different direction," he explained. "My vision of the character is much more a drama. For me it's important to include the origin of the character like in Richard Donner's 'Superman.' We saw him slowly become a superhero, but I think it's important to take time and stay realistic. It's also very important to let the director make his own vision of the character, not make a studio movie. 'The Dark Knight' is totally the vision of Nolan."

When asked who he would like to star in his movie, Gens replied: "For Daredevil I think Sam Worthington could be great and intense for this character. The villain depends on the story."

Source: Facebook, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 3:29:01 AM

Well, 'Hitman' was an ok film at best, and a lot better then other video game films, but really there are other directors who could do a far better job then him. Despite whatever he says about improving the character, he has to gain trust in us fans that he can pull it off.

And Sam Worthington is actually a pretty bad choice, I actually prefer Jason Statham.
jdl107 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 4:30:28 AM

Eh I think Michael C. Hall wouldn't be a bad choice.

Don't think his voice would work too well though.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 5:17:18 AM

Just let this character die already, the screwed up the first one and I'm not holding my breath for this one, it's at times like this I'm glad I am not an avid fan of all these comic book heroes.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 6:15:41 AM

You know Sam Worthington may not be the best actor, but he might fit the attitude of Daredevil. He acts like a guy from the bronx. Why not? I mean I actually liked the first Daredevil movie, but if I had to have it reboot Sam Worthington would be in my "consideration" list.
jay-c writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 6:18:59 AM

I actually enjoyed Daredevil. I think they should leave it alone now.

Hitman was a poor adaption of a fantastic video game series. I would not give this director a job based on his efforts there.
jdl107 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 6:30:24 AM

Nah, Sam's head is too big. You want someone that's slim, that doesn't look like he came from a trailer park, and you really want to watch an actor who doesn't make you want to punch them in the face everytime they utter a word.
jdl107 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 6:32:14 AM

Hitman was one of the better video game movies, for sure. I honestly can't think of one that was pretty good though, damn. I know alot of people will say Silent Hill, but that movie sucked kinda bad imho.
SeWerin writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 6:40:07 AM

I loved Gens french horror movie Frontiers - it is really awesome, but on the other hand, i hated Hitman movie, but then again i heard that's FOX fault.

But saying that Sam Worthington is great for Daredevil is extremely wrong.
boogiel writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 7:47:19 AM

Meh...I'd rather choose Chris Pine than Sam Worthington. Sam Worthington is not Worthy enough to portray DD.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 8:46:52 AM

Hitman (Piece O sh*t) + Daredevil (MAJOR Piece O sh*t) = Success ?

Nope. Not even with Putnam Logic.
Judoguru writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 8:48:14 AM

I'll be honest... The Daredevil with Ben Affleck is (apart from the first Punisher movie with Tom Jane), My favourite Marvel movie to date. Also being a comic fanatic, i think they got it pretty right!

For God's sake... Leave this one alone...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 8:48:24 AM

Gens replied: "For Daredevil I think Sam Worthington could be great and intense for this character. The villain depends on the story."


Ha, ha. He's such a card. I mean, you would have thought he was SERIOUS when he said Worthington ... if he said Tanning Chatum, we ALL would've known he was full o' sh*t.
lebowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 10:44:39 AM

worthington would make a good daredevil despite what everybody thinks he was the best thing in terminator salvation he did an ok job in avatar the only thing i can hold against him is clash of the titans .as someone else said hitman was ok at least but i didnt really like the action scenes in it i only remember the hot russian girl
RELAYER writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 11:17:42 AM

Robert Knepper was the best part of HITMAN.

The DAREDEVIL movie with Afleck was fine. People would tell me they hated it and when I'd ask them why, the best they could ever give me was: "They made the Kingpin a black guy".

Stupid.

Sam Worthington as Daredevil is a mistake. Find some charasmatic, unknown guy and then light up the film with some real star-power in the supporting cast.

DAREDEVIL was better than ELECTRA, GHOST RIDER or Thomas Jane's PUNISHER. This guy, GENS should leave it alone.

rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 11:45:57 AM

I'd much rather see Frank Miller direct a Daredevil reboot. He's the man who made Daredevil famous to begin with.
rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 11:54:39 AM

Worthington is one of the worst actors that I can name. I'd really pay to never have to see him in a film again.
I thought the last Fox Daredevil film was actually a great film with really terrible casting. They got every role but Foggy and Bullseye way off the mark. Affleck was utter sh*t as Matt Murdock.
If they want to go with a younger actor, I'd suggest James Franco. I guess the really tough part is casting a tubby white guy for the Kingpin.
RELAYER writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 11:59:47 AM

With respect RABID...

Frank Miller is a HORRIBLE director.
(He's not even much of an artist or writer anymore either).

Maybe, maybe, MAYBE... let him assist a cinematographer but that's as far onto my set, I'd allow him.
ShizPaf writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 12:07:41 PM

ButterBean = Kingpin! Really though not much to be excited about here. The R rated directors of Daredevil is better than the theatrical, but id call it turds before I call it good. Hitman could be called sh*tman and I could care less for worthington, can't even remember the way he looks, just so inconsequential.
jdl107 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 12:33:26 PM

I was over there looking at this article on CBM on some fellow happened to put up an edited picture and yes, I am definately thinking that Michael C. Hall should get this role.

It was also cool to see a commenter share my thoughts on James Gandolfini possibly being a good contender for Kingpin.
RELAYER writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 12:54:50 PM

They should cast Chris Evans as Matt Murdoch so all the fansboys can break into coniption fits...
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 1:57:35 PM

To jdl
Totally agree on both those choices.

Imo, Micheal c hall needs a sumer tentpole to boost his popularity n get his ass off dexter n show some more range cuz hes a great actor if were comparing him with sam worthington.

As for kingpin n gandalfini as a choice, we already no he can play a mob boss from nj so why not just throw him into nyc.
But would they throw a 2nd villian or even third like they did with electra or bullseye?

And hitman was an alrite movie, only reason I liked it was because the guy from prison break was the villan...he could play bullseye. I think sum1 mentioned his name b4 robert knepper or sumthing like that
Dre-EL writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 1:57:58 PM

Did marvel say absolutely there was going to be a DD reboot?

If marvel gets the charater from fox how about teaming him up with spidey.

Next new marvel movie should be Captain Mar-vel, should be good drama dealing with his cancer and dies at the end.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 3:06:39 PM

Ha Ha Ha. I was not feeling what the director was saying about drama and origins. But I was going to give him the benefit of the doubt. Then he mentioned Sam Worthington and he lost me. There is so little talent in Hollywood these days it is amazing. It boggles the mind how creatively and intellectually lazy most people in the film business are.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 3:13:48 PM

Give Jason Statham Hitman and bring in Timothy Olyphant in for Daredevil.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 3:38:10 PM

"I guess the really tough part is casting a tubby white guy for the Kingpin."

Oh, I think there's plenty of fat Americans laying about...
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 3:41:37 PM

And I'm sorry, but Daredevil is simply not well-developed enough to deserve a film, much less a sequel much much less a reboot. Leave it a lone. Yo had your chance, you blew it.

Having said that, if they make another, I'll give it a go. Hitman wasn't terrible, but they'll have to hire a better writer for the reboot, because story was Hitman's weakness, not the direction.

And yes, Worthington is a horrible choice, but Statham has the wrong look, unless he's going to get younger and do the Nic Cage wig look.

"Eh I think Michael C. Hall wouldn't be a bad choice."

Too old and way too...creepy.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 5:25:21 PM

who the hell wants another Daredevil movie? It was almost as bad as Electra!!
rabid writes:
on March 6th, 2011 at 9:41:24 PM

Nobody wants one, but if Fox doesn't start production on one by the end of next year, the rights for all Daredevil/Elektra projects revert back into Marvel's hands. I'm secretly hoping they won't film it, but they probably will.
And is Frank Miller a hack? No, he's just a one-trick pony. But it was that one trick that turned Daredevil into a popular comic book, and his run would translate to screen about as well as 300 or maybe even Sin City.

The real problem is that the only poignant Daredevil story has already been told by Fox. What's left? Kevin Smith's Visionary tale? DD's pornstar girlfriend getting AIDS and shooting dope? Matt Murdock fighting for his secret identity in court?
All would make for compelling tv, but I don't think there's enough good Daredevil action tales to make a movie we haven't already seen.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 7th, 2011 at 6:10:08 PM

I like the Michael C. Hall and James Gandolfini suggestions for Daredevil/Kingpin. Sam Worthington? I don't know.... maybe? Definitely think Hall is a better choice.

As for Hitman, I actually liked that movie quite a bit, although that is probably in large part to Timothy Olyphant, who rocks, and the hot chick. But as a few others have said, I think it was at the top of the admittedly poor group of video game movies.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 8:54:11 AM

ALert alert, my anti-Gay/fag actor alarm is on, i just can't believe how this bad actor is keep getting jobs, i'm very worried about the power of the gay comunity, soon will see actors like Thoper Grace, the fags of twilight, making Rambo 6 or batman or fight club 2 (The cat fight) starring Rober P. and C. TAtum, Hollywood is ruler by fags thats a fact!
LastActionHero writes:
on March 8th, 2011 at 12:41:28 PM

Just as long as that idiot Olyphant isn't in it to mumble through his teeth the whole movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved