WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Wanted for "Blade Runner" Sequel/Prequel

Posted: March 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Wanted for "Blade Runner" Sequel/PrequelSubmit Comment
We just reported that Alcon Entertainment has acquired the rights to "Blade Runner" with plans of developing a sequel or prequel to the original film.

io9 has now caught up with the producers Andrew Kosove and Broderick Johnson to find out if they are leaning toward making a sequel or a prequel. "We don't know, we just don't know yet," said Kosove. "We will have a process where we will hear different ideas from writers or from potential directors before determining."

When asked who they would like to direct their new "Blade Runner" film, Kosove replied: "Our friend Chris Nolan who we did 'Insomnia' [with]. The methodology that Chris Nolan brought to Batman is precisely what we aspire to whomever the filmmaker is, whether Ridley [Scott] comes back and joins us or it's someone else."

It's not impossible that Nolan may be in talks. Alcon is a close partner with Warner Bros, which has been behind most of Nolan's films.

Source: io9

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Trip Maverick writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:05:15 AM

Well he loves blade runner and Made Batman Begins with the same visual style so he would be top of my wish list to do it. i just hope they use a new character.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:13:53 AM

Oooh, they're gonna pull a 'Nolan' on us..
ZenShark writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:17:38 AM

nolan should make everything
j-man writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:26:53 AM

^ very true
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:49:46 AM

If i know Chris... and i do we go way back. He won't remake his favourite film of all time like Peter Jackson he'll just let it be.
boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:50:00 AM

As much as I love and respect for Chris Nolan, I said it once again, Leave the classic alone! We don't need another sequel/prequel or remake/reboot.
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 7:50:35 AM

boogiel 100% agreed no more crap! a reboot is like the acting of Sam f*cking/c*nt Worthinthong bAAAAD!
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 8:36:48 AM

Interesting idea Trueman.....

Sam Worthington as Rick Deckard
Channing Tatum as Roy Batty
Paris Hilton as pris
Sean Young can reprise her role as Rachael.

Now if we can get Brett Ratner to direct this may have a chance after all...
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 8:58:06 AM

Oh great now that Nolan's name is mentioned,everyone is gonna jerk off to this thread a couple of days ago people were disgusted about the idea of a reboot but think about it,if they make more sequels or prequels the original movie will have more popularity.At first when Blade runner came out it was a bomb and it took about a decade later for its popularity,it was mostly a cult classic to its true fans.because the movie was way ahead of its time.As long as they have a good director and a good actor they got more of a chance of having more of a story.With the technology today and the right screenplay the visuals and special effects will make this movie even more awesome if given to the right person.IF Twatlight,harry potter,lord of the rings could have sequels why cant blade runner have more.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:05:28 AM

chris nolan really doesnt do it for me the only movie i like from him is batman begins and memento.
the dark night was the most overrated movie ever.f*cking HEath ledger made the joker even Gayer as possible to me Jack nicholson is the best joker.Christian Bale is an allright Batman but when he did the voice change it really annoyed the f*ck outta me i would of rather preferred Guy pearce as Bruce Wayne.I prefer the Tim Burton batman films a million times

Not even gonna bother with inception as well I have a bootleg copy in my house of it and I DESPISE DICaprio one of the most overrated sh*t actors,really cant watch a movie he is in,he still looks like a little kid with fat cheeks and wrinkles,along with george clooney and Will Smith.
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:19:09 AM

Don't think anyone is really jerking off over talk of nolan getting involved(which i'm sure he wont).

As far as i'm concerned the movie doesn't need a sequel, prequel or remake.

Those films like Harry Potter, Twatlight and LOTR are all geared for sequels.

Bladerunner is a great stand alone scfi film and like you said it's taken along time for people to really appreciate it's greatness.

Why mess with that all these years later.
rocketman writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:24:50 AM

Ridley Scott made that film what it is.
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:28:20 AM

He sure did rocket, He was a man at the peak of his career (be it early on) at the time.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:45:05 AM

Tons of scripts, some of those bad but some of those good, are getting dusty and forgotten but no, they really need to keep f*cking with the past.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:56:24 AM

i wouldnt mind watching a blade runner sequel, after all SCIFI is one of my favorite Genres along with Westerns,action movies.It would not be as bad as the upcoming Avatar sequels,Men in black 3,or even Clash of the Titans which they'll most likely f*ck up because they will have Sam the c*nt Worthington.

Every movie will be remade period even the bad ones there is no stopping it.SOme will be good very few and the majority will suck major balls.OUt of 10 screenplay writers in hollywood only 2 of them actually make good stuff the others make disasters.The good thing about it that I cant wait for is the New Alien Movie because the last two alien movies were Alien vs Predator 1 and 2 and they were f*cking atrocities.I havent seen Predators with Adrien brody yet but it sure as hell looks better than AVP.
beepboop writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 9:58:54 AM

To all the suits that have no vocabulary outside of "sequel" and "prequel" and are only after the cash: f*ck you.
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:07:29 AM


Maybe a Bladerunner sequel back in the 80's with Ford and Scott involved could have been good i guess.

But if they ever did make it i would end up watching it no doubt and i guess thats what these guys are banking on.

You should check out the last Predator movie , It wasn't too bad and much better than AvP and the 2nd one (which was one of the worst films ever made).

f*ck you Strause Brothers !!!
RELAYER writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:10:14 AM

Nolan or no Nolan...
This is still a bad idea.

Big_Daddy writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:10:44 AM

Nolan is directing this?

trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:20:20 AM

I keep saying the same thing, Because of the chicks you guys have on your Avatars now
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:22:22 AM

I can see Paul Verhoeven making a good job of this movie (NOT THAT IT WILL EVER HAPPEN).But from his resume of Scifi movies I can totally see this work from gems like Totall Recall,Robocop,
Starship Troopers,Hollow man but the dudes old as f*ck now he might go Senile
AYT BALL writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 10:33:20 AM

yeah i BET they want Nolan, surely Nolan has more taste than to f*ck with bladerunner though!
mbh911 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 11:18:37 AM

Even though I think Nolan is overrated, I gotta admit Nolan could do a decent job directing a sequal or prequal (NO REBOOT!) since hollywood could of picked a far worse director

Blade Runner is still one of my all time fav films ever made
Bunny X writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 11:20:15 AM

Ok I'll probably catch a little for this but as much as I love Nolan they really need to stop attaching his name to everything. He's great and all and Batman will never be done onscreen as good as he did it, nor will there ever be anything like Memento / Inception......but he is not the cinema Messiah. You can't just keep attaching his name to everything and pray things will just be great.
There are other directors out there known and unknown who do great work.
Stop whoring out this man's good name to every project. I don't ever want to get to a point where we're tired of seeing his style in every single movie.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 11:59:06 AM

@ Amen to that.

Is Hollywood envious of Chris Nolan?
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 12:12:13 PM

Jesus help us if the man ever directs a LOTRs film. This place will run knee deep in fanboy j*zz (god news for Che, though).

And Nolan is enormously over-rated.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 12:26:49 PM

I wrote extensively on previous WP thread “Blade Runner Prequel/Sequel In the Works” and continue my support of this Project. There are many interesting ideas that Blade Runner delved into and we were only introduced to a fraction. Blade Runner should be regarded as a piece of great fiction, a story, not an untouchable Holy Grail. Everyone on this post should take a step back and note the Alcon Producers do not have the rights to remake/reboot Blade Runner. I for one am glad with this contractual decision not to mess with the Original. This news alone should eliminate half of the fan’s deep seeded “f*ck / sh*t” criticisms. Rather, I understand they will be focusing on creating new projects based on characters and situations from the Blade Runner world.

The primary characters would be genetic Replicants, the reasons for invention of, and their use being deployed to off-world colonies in space. In Phillip K. d*ck’s “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep”, future Earth has been decimated by World War Terminus which has wiped out significant population and animal life due to radiation. Remaining Earth is in a state of decay and considered less desirable for continued habitation. Rather, colonization to the off-worlds is sold as an attractive option for humanity as a “chance to begin again”. Tyrell Corporation leads the manufacturing of genetically designed Replicants which are organic based android. They are regarded as mere technology and tasked to pave the way for colonization. However there are warring greedy factions in the race to capitalize on space colonization. Replicants are sent by their human masters in their stead to wage bloody battles. They are also marketed as sex slave “pleasure models” as well as tasked to perform menial work. The catch is that Tyrell has made a product so good as Replicants are marketed with the slogan “more human than human”. Replicants start growing consciousness based on their limited experiences and decide to turn against their human masters to escape servitude. Hence Tyrell has engineered within Replicants a 4 year lifespan as failsafe deactivation code. Blade Runner units are created to search and “retire” renegade Replicants. It would be interesting to see Blade Runner prequels explore early themes of humanity’s lack of humanity shown as discrimination against Replicants which coined the slang “skin jobs”.

As another prequel idea, The Battle of Tannhauser Gate would be amazing to bring to life. This was the reference that Blade Runner Roy Batty made in his dying monologue “I've watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate” His words have left us to imagine what these scenes could be like if they were ever brought to film. Here is a call to CGI effects if there ever was one. Interestingly, this was also a battle fought by veteran Sgt. Todd (Kurt Russell) in the 1998 film Soldier, which name was tattooed on his arm and listed as one of his military accolades. Here is a deliberate connection made by the same screenwriter David Peoples who worked on both of these scifi films. A great starting point for an epic battle set in space. Think of the incredible siege scenes from LOTR The Two Towers except with battlements strafing advancing ground forces with laser fire.

So instead of fight it with f*ck talk (because it will happen), accept this is the way Hollywood rolls. And be optimistic they are considering Nolan instead of lesser competant directors.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 12:39:52 PM

I liked Soldier with Kurt Russell he was huge as f*ck in that movie,probably one of paul andersons best movies along with event horizon and mortal kombat.Now he sucks major balls
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 1:49:40 PM

"It's not impossible that Nolan may be in talks."

It's not impossible that Daffy Duck may be in talks, either.
Rambo writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 2:03:09 PM

just seen 'The Adjustment Bureau',I give it 6/10,it was well made and acted but didn't really lift up and the ending was a bit empty...
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 2:14:01 PM

Mink -

Daffy Duck in line for Bladerunner sequel/ prequel is that the latest over at BadassDigest ?????

trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 2:14:43 PM

Rambo - Wait for the dvd then ..
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 3:36:39 PM

Thanks for the info Rambo. I wouldn't mind seeing more of the Blade Runner universe but at the same time, f*ckyWood would f*ck it up!!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:37:37 PM

it's been a while since i saw the first but i didn't really like it.
OneTime writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 1:41:36 AM

Philip J Cook writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 1:55:56 AM

the best thing for you Chris is to keep making original movies

f*ck this hollywood remake and not have a fu.. idea thing

the best thing would be for him to leave it and start his own company

call it kiss my ass hollywood
leezy84 writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 3:30:34 AM

look at the mongaloids (bandolero) saying chris nolan is over rated, and di caprio over rated aswell ??
rabid writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 12:50:34 PM

There's plenty of Philip K. d*ck left to mine and exploit. And plenty of ways to film this and keep it original.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved