WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars: Episode I" Hits 3D Theaters on February 10th, 2012

Posted: March 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars: Episode I" Hits 3D Theaters on February 10th, 2012Submit Comment
20th Century Fox and Lucasfilm have announced that "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" will be re-released in 3D theaters on February 10th, 2012.

After "Episode I" hits theaters, each of the remaining five films will be released in order at the same time in consecutive years, depending on how well the first re-release does.

Lucasfilm is reassuring fans that Industrial Light and Magic has been supervising the conversion process, which is done with the utmost respect for the source material.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jabba_RT writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:52:17 PM

As if sucking in 2 dimensions wasn't enough...
Spankfish writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:37:58 PM

My god. How much more of a pimp can Lucas become? He has f*cked this whore of a franchise in the ass that much, it must have a brass eye the size of a Death Star.

Why not spend the cash on making 3 good movies, like the first lot. Or coming up with a new idea? As long as its not about some renegade android.

How many ultimate, definitive, directors cut, final versions can he make of these things?

Once I loved these films (the 1st 3, not the sh*te hes pumped out recently). But my overriding disgust for the man who created them is starting to get the better of me.
sc_kg writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:43:57 PM

Brace yourself for walkie-talkies in 3D.
But seriosly- if they want this project to make money, they should have gone with "New Hope" first.
dhkenobi writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:46:14 PM

My main complaint is why are they starting with Episode 1? Viewing it in episode order kinda ruins the climax that is "No, I am your father." Stupid stupid stupid dumbass stupid....
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:58:35 PM

The last time the Star Wars films (ep 4-6 sp ed) were re-released they took well over $200mil between them and now with 3D George gets to milk that Star Wars cash cow once again.

Maybe in 2015 i might care a little more.
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:00:55 PM

If we are all still here that is ..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:11:22 PM

I had freind...........

He was raped in Peru by Lucas and Speilberg
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:41:28 PM

Will this be with deleted scenes of Jaber-Jaw Binks
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:57:38 PM

Big deal. What's cardboard projected into 3D? A wooden plank? Great. Six hours of Hayden Christensen playing a fence post.
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 8:06:53 PM

@Skippy

Indiana Jones?..

Great guy, known him too... Now all f*cked, sad and with leaking doughnut
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 8:28:48 PM

Why dont Lucas let Nolan direct a couple of movies during the rise of Vader between the timeline of episodes 3 and 4

And keep the Jaber crap characters out
WV-Films writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 9:13:55 PM

"utmost respect for the source material."

Sorry, that just makes me laugh. Like all of a sudden the movies would become unwatchable in some way...
TheMovieExpert writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 9:32:42 PM

Wow Lucas you threw Episode VII,VIII,& IX for this.Enjoy as nobody will see something they already saw(In 3D!).I wonder what's next Sleepaway Camp 3D
Whitta writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 9:56:30 PM

This series has been raped to death more so than Anna Nicole Smith.

Lucas, for f*ck sake - STOP
darthraige writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 11:09:34 PM

1. Lucas takes more money from me than my wife.

2. Lucasfilm would make more money starting with IV, V, and VI first in 3D.

3. This quote: "Lucasfilm is reassuring fans that Industrial Light and Magic has been supervising the conversion process, which is done with the utmost respect for the source material." Pretty much means: "The footage will look like sh*t in 3D, sorry."
rocketman writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 1:26:28 AM

f*ck off. This 'film' killed Star Wars. i can't even watch the Holy Trinity anymore because of this crap.Hope it bombs,teach that fat greedy triple chinned f*ck a lesson.
TeemSelami writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 1:30:26 AM

Lucas you better not f*ck up Jar Jar's 3D conversion.
Rambo writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 1:39:37 AM

mui!mui!messa jar jar binks in 3D!!!messa give you nightmares!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 3:59:35 AM

So, I guess you can get blood out of a stone.
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 4:05:09 AM

Yep and that stone bleeds in 3D
Kratos writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 4:59:32 AM

George Lucas = FAIL
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:19:56 AM

He sould change his name to George F. U. Lucas.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:20:08 AM

He should change his name to George F. U. Lucas.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:21:55 AM

And WP to: www.worstno-editbuttonpreviews.com
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:28:10 AM

I can't wait until every one shuns this film and George finally realises that he's the third biggest c*nt on the planet after James Cameron and Michael Bay
Kill-the-director writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:37:46 AM

if he re-released in 2-D then i'd consider going to see them. but no one is going to persuade me to see a 3-D film again.
CandyRunt writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 7:07:39 AM

@cinema
a true cinematic genius
LastActionHero writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 7:41:35 AM

The worst movie of the 6, I'll pass.
Cleric writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 2:38:02 PM

STOP! George! Please! You HACK! Write something else dammit, stop raping yourself.

@Spankfish. Well said sir.. How many times can he expect people to flock to these things? Which begs the question: Just what exactly does he think about his fans??
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 3:20:58 PM

Oh look, a page full of pathetic bandwaggon jumping Star Wars/George Lucas/3D hate. Now there's a surprise. Well luckily I seem to be immune to all that so I will be able to enjoy these 6 cinematic masterpieces in the current state of cinema's ongoing evolution. I have total faith in ILM and Lucasfilm and have no doubt that all 6 films' conversion to the current state of cinema's ongoing evolution (for those who are a little "slow", I'm talking about 3D) will be as close to perfect as it can be and certainly nothing like Clash Of The Titans' conversion for example. I would feel sorry for those who, for whatever reason, can't enjoy the films but I'd rather not waste the emotional energy it would take to do so.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 3:55:18 PM

This so-called 'evolution' ocurred more than 60 years ago. I have Three Stooges episodes in 3D. Nothing new, and we don't need Lucas scamming us for his one-trick pony success.

And 3D doesn't improve a story, it turns a story-based film (as in the first three Star Wars films) into a visual carnival.

And then the second three were just so terrible, I won't watch them no matter into what format Lucas coverts them.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 4:48:11 PM

Who the f*ck want's to see Jar Jar in 3-D?
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:29:58 PM

@minkowski Digital 3D with polarised 3D glasses occurred more than 60 years ago? Wow! Why did they wait so long to actually use it in cinemas? Lol! Whether you like it or not 3D is the future. The reason that a previous version of 3D, anaglyphic 3D, was more of a gimmick and not the future was because the image you saw was a bit blurry and the colours looked weird so you wouldn't want all (or many even) movies like that. 3D now is pretty much perfect. OK, you may get the occasional ghosting and there are some people who apparantly get headaches watching 3D but then all they have to do is not watch 3D and let everybody else who wants to watch it watch it. 3D is a better experience than 2D, it's more enjoyable to watch and often more immersive (Avatar is the most immersive so far), just like watching movies in colour is more enjoyable than watching movies in black and white. Although no doubt some people hated (or claim they hated) movies in colour and claimed it was just a fad and a gimmick and that movies were better in black and white.

How is George Lucas scamming anybody? He's saying "Here are the Star Wars movies converted to 3D. If you're interested in watching Star Wars in 3D then you can but if you're not then you don't have to." The only way he'd be scamming anyone would be if he lied and they were all still in 2D when you saw them, lol!
Orias writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 6:27:28 PM

instead of trying to milk a dead cow the f*cker should be making NEW and BETTER Star Wars movies, pref. rated R versions but no less than PG-13 so it dose not have any of the kiddy crap in it or at least kept to a min.
Philip J Cook writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 1:58:48 AM

you stupid hypocratic *sshole, now you give us this every year, what about his belief of the worlds end

minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 12:31:44 PM

The fact is, 3D in films is minutely evolutionary, not revolutionary.

Yes, the technology has progressed, but it's still just a trick to make sh*t jump off the screen and another way for film companies to sell sh*tty films, and that's what George Doofus is doing, which to me is a scam.

He's converting three decent *story-based* films, and three sh*tty as f*ck films, into 3D so he can reload them into theaters to make more money off a cinematic franchise that died with ROTJ. Period. End of story.

As Orias said, the f*cker is milking a dead cow, and for me, it's quite obvious the piece of sh*t has nothing to offer anyone except more of the same regurgitated SW bullsh*t.

I mean, what will the sad little f*cker do next, convert all six films into CGI? Cel-shade them for Adult Swim?

I just hope Lucas dies a long, horrible and painful death to equal the suffering he put us through with Episodes 1-3.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 12:33:16 PM

And if the futre of film is 3D, then cinema is truly DEAD!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 3:33:06 PM

@minkowski 3D IS the future. (Actually the present as there are now so many 3D movies out there.) It's more than just making things jump out of the screen and you saying that makes me question whether you've actually seen any movies in the current version of 3D. I don't care what you think of the movie in general but are you honestly going to claim that Avatar was a worse (or even no better) experience in 3D? If you answer yes then I can only presume that you only have one working eye.

As for Star Wars, George Lucas is converting it to 3D to keep it current and because (many) fans want it. You may not want it and that's fine, don't watch it. But criticising a man in such extreme ways for using HIS OWN MONEY (which, by the way, he also used to make at least the prequel trilogy) to convert HIS OWN FILMS into 3D is ridiculous. Yes, he most likely will make profit on it, so what? Even if he said he'd donate every penny made from the 3D release to your favourite charity you'd still criticise him wouldn't you?

Thinking someone should die a long suffering a painful death for making (with his own money remember) 3 films you apparently didn't like is at least as irrational as claiming that watching them made you feel like you were dying yourself in that way. In fact if watching the first film really made you feel like that then why the hell would you watch any of the following films?? Lol! You (and others) think that the prequel trilogy are crap for 2 reasons, bandwagon jumping and because you don't get them. Yes, I said it, you don't get them. I don't mean in some kind of pretentious, complex, hidden meaning way, the reasons are actually pretty simple. I can't be bothered to go into it too in-depth but I'll give you some clues. Look at the characters, situations and time period of the original trilogy compared to the prequels. For example one complaint about the prequels is that there isn't a Han Solo type of character. Well, yes, there isn't. So what? Should George Lucas have tried to fudge a new Han Solo type of character into the storyline just to appease critics? Well there's one, you'll have to work out the other character/situation/time period examples yourself. Plus of course there's the fact that the prequels weren't the exact same films that people, especially fans obviously, had created in their heads over the 16 years between Empire and Phantom and some people can't get over that. (I think that's why more people admit that they liked Revenge Of The Sith too, because there were things in that film that were most likely pretty close to what people had imagined like at least some of the Mustafar duel including Anakin burning. Although admittedly it's the best of the prequels too, but what I just said "allowed" certain people to admit liking it since without that they'd still no doubt claim it was crap.)

Personally, I hope that George Lucas decides to make the sequel trilogy because it would be amazing to see a Star Wars movie using the Avatar tech and I'm sure he must have at least thought that too after watching Avatar in 3D. Avatar is the only movie that has surpassed Star Wars' effects. (Although artistically I still think Star Wars looks best overall.) Maybe Star Wars: Episode VII will be the first ever holographic movie? (I can't wait for the hate holographic movies will get. I can even predict one of the complaints "They're see-through, that's crap!" Unless of course they can be made solid looking by then.) Until then (if it happens) I'll continue enjoying The Clone Wars (which I'm sure you think is crap too) and look forward to the live-action series (whenever that's going to happen) and of course the Star Wars Saga (AKA the greatest movies ever made) in 3D!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on March 5th, 2011 at 3:44:47 PM

^Edit: I meant to say "Plus of course there's the fact that the prequels weren't the exact same films that people, especially fans obviously, had created in their heads over the 16 years between Jedi and Phantom and some people can't get over that." Not "had created in their heads over the 16 years between Empire and Phantom" obviously.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved