WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Blade Runner" Prequel/Sequel in the Works

Posted: March 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Blade Runner" Prequel/Sequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
Alcon Entertainment (The Blind Side, The Book of Eli) is in final negotiations to secure film, television and ancillary franchise rights to produce prequels and sequels to the iconic 1982 sci-fi thriller "Blade Runner," directed by Ridley Scott.

The deal will not include the right to remake the original. The company, however, may produce projects based on situations introduced in the original film. Warner Bros is already on board to distribute domestically.

"This is a major acquisition for our company, and a personal favorite film for both of us," said Alcon's Broderick Johnson and Andrew Kosove. "We recognize the responsibility we have to do justice to the memory of the original with any prequel or sequel we produce. We have long-term goals for the franchise, and are exploring multi-platform concepts, not just limiting ourselves to one medium only."

Source: Alcon Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:17:04 AM

How about NO?you crazy dutch bastard!
jdl107 writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:22:40 AM

Aww man... that sucks.
Taco writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:29:51 AM

Rip Bladerunner
AYT BALL writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:31:09 AM

No, just no, in fact f*ck right f*cking off you f*cking f*cks!
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:34:31 AM

Well done Alcon Entertainment you will own the rights to a movie that doesn't need prequels and sequels !!
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:41:10 AM

Of all the films i have ever seen on the big screen Bladerunner is still the most impressive IMO.

And trust Warners to be on board already to distribute, I'm suprised they haven't tried to remake it yet.
Rambo writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:04:56 AM

^agree on that.Blade Runner is a cinematic masterpiece.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:12:23 AM

"This is a major acquisition for our company, and a personal favorite film for both of us," said Alcon's Broderick Johnson and Andrew Kosove. "We recognize the responsibility we have to do justice to the memory of the original with any prequel or sequel we produce.

Do it justice by leaving it alone... true fans wouldn't even try to piggyback off the success of there past favourite films.
boogiel writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:25:05 AM

For crying out loud, leave this classic alone!
RickPeters writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:32:39 AM

"We have long-term goals for the franchise"

This isn't a franchise!
Phil writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:26:19 AM

Just saw it two weeks ago and it still kicks ass. HANDS OFF goddammit
Bunny X writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:34:28 AM

Bladerunner is one of those rare films that is so good and at the same time doesn't need a prequel or a sequel. The Matrix could have been another one but we all know how that crap played out. Learn your lesson from the Matrix debacle and leave Bladerunner alone. No remake, no reboot, prequel or sequel. Let it be.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:47:06 AM

"This is a major acquisition for our company, and a personal favorite film for both of us," said Alcon's Broderick Johnson and Andrew Kosove. "We recognize the responsibility we have to do justice to the memory of the original with any prequel or sequel we produce. We have long-term goals for the franchise, and are exploring multi-platform concepts, not just limiting ourselves to one medium only."


And once again right there in that paragragh is why it will fail.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:47:15 AM

Im not going to have anything to do with it. Ever. Any trailers come online, I'll avoid them. Any ads on TV, ill turn it off. f*ck hollywood...
SACdaddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 8:29:14 AM

Another classic bites the dust :(
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:12:23 AM

The time has come, Burn Hollywood down now!!!
RELAYER writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:24:07 AM

"We recognize the responsibility we have to do justice to the memory of the original with any prequel or sequel we produce".


Clearly... you don't understand.

So unnecessary...

RELAYER writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:24:29 AM

"We recognize the responsibility we have to do justice to the memory of the original with any prequel or sequel we produce".


Clearly... you don't understand.

So unnecessary...

RELAYER writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:26:26 AM

Double posting is pretty damn unneccasary.
Sorry...
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:28:19 AM

It's worth saying twice...
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 11:23:24 AM

Multi-platform? So, games then? Great. Nothing fails like sh*tty game adaptations to sh*ttier films.

But who knows, maybe one of these 'prequels/sequels' will work, at least momentarily as entertaining fodder, and it's not like they'll destroy the original film. Not much you can do anyway. Greed has a speed all of its own.
rocketman writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:30:41 PM

Madness
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:38:54 PM

^^What is, "this is Sparta"?

Oh, sorry, thought we were playing Jeopardy.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 1:30:08 PM

@Mink, picking up on your thought for prequel ideas...

I can see them create a whole story line about Nexus 6 characters and how they were used and abused in Off World Colonies. Sent into battle, sold as sex slaves, sent into the mine shafts to extract a planet's mineral ores etc. The Replicant’s precious short lifespans coupled by their growing awareness of life purpose to only serve human masters triggers android rebellion. And this conflict brings the necessity of the Blade Runner task force with mandate to retire them.

They could also show World War Terminus (described in Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep) which damaged Earth's population, animal life resulting in the invention of replicant technology.

The Battle of Tannhauser Gate could be epic. Before dying, Roy Batty's recollection of "c-beams glittering in the dark..." could be an incredible sight to bring to film. Blend in Sgt. Todd from The Soldier who also fought there and you could have kick-ass story. Original Soldier script outlined it as "a huge wall of metal; an impregnable fortress bristling with futuristic weapons".

The idea of doing any film that carries on the name of Blade Runner is so sensitive to many diehard fans. Simply because the original Blade Runner film is such an iconic masterpiece which should not be f*cked with. But Phillip K. d*ck's novel contained a wealth of source material that could be potentially developed (in the right hands and not just raped into a movie franchise with spin off PC games and lunchboxes). No doubt, any project is gonna piss off tons of true fans. But if they don't reboot it, and rather take characters or situations from the Blade Runner world and properly explore a new story, then this could be worth telling.

I remain skeptical. But put into the right hands of the original visionary director Ridley Scott, then this prequel project has a halfway chance of succeeding. I would rather watch a Scott film anyday over most of the crap Hollywood grinds out. Maybe Scott can tackle this after Alien prequel Prometheus (hopeful on that one).
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 2:02:47 PM

Interesting and positive ideas, Mr Blonde. I like them.

I wonder if people know that Soldier, that Kurt Russell film, is supposedly set in the Blade Runner universe?
Rambo writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 2:16:16 PM

possible titles:

Deckard begins
Madea goes to Tannhauser gate
Do Androids Dream of lesbian Sheep?
The replicant's speech

Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 2:51:15 PM

@Mink – thanks bud.

I thought this post needed a turn around. Too much sh*t being said for sh*t sake. I remember seeing Blade Runner as a kid on the big screen (with Deckard voice overs) and being absolutely stunned. This was great moviemaking. This was an incredible postapocalyptic world that is so densely layered with sweat and urban decay that begged for more to be shown. Blade Runner has served to inspire many scifi and film noir thereafter like the Fifth Element, Dark City, re-imagining of Battlestar Galactica etc. It would be interesting for Hollywood to be reinspired and come back to what made Blade Runner great. I like to think that there are some shakers in Hollywood who revere Blade Runner as much as I (and many on this WP post), whom this film struck a similar chord. This Alcon Entertainment Exec appears to understand the responsibility of not f*cking over Blade Runner fans. And the Blind Side and Book of Eli were decent in their own right.

As a further explanation, in Soldier, Kurt Russell / Sgt. Todd character had “Tannhauser Gate” tattooed on his arm. It was also shown on a computer rundown of Todd’s military history. This is the movie connection which was intentionally placed by co-author David Peoples into Soldier as a “sidequel / spiritual successor” to the original Blade Runner. I think this could be a great prequel idea. Although do it properly Hollywood, not bastardized like Alien vs Predator which unfortunately cheapened original characters and gave fans a hate-on for movie crossovers. Btw, Todd’s Soldier was a f*ckin awesome display of scifi Rambo. I hope Sly invites him to join The Expendables 2. Russell is a living legend.
trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 4:18:29 PM

Mr Blonde -

Nice post(s) as Mink said interesting reading.

Has anyone ever read the Book sequels by Kevin Jeter

Bladerunner 2: The Edge of Human
Bladerunner 3:Replicant Night
Bladerunner 4: Eye of Talon

I haven't myself but at one point a few years ago Scott was thinking of making a sequel using the books a source.

And Kurt Russell in the Expendables 2 is a must and after they were in Tango and Cash together you would have thought it would happen but he turned down the chance of being in the 1st movie because he didn't want to be in what he called 'ensemble acting'.

Will Stallone ask him again ???
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:06:31 PM

"The deal will not include the right to remake the original"

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=20838&count=0#ixzz1FZpBu4rw

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xc8tj5_family-guy-thank-you_people
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:06:37 PM



http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xc8tj5_family-guy-thank-you_people
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:10:41 PM

@TT – Thanks.

I have not read Jeter’s books. Based on wikipedia briefs they sound like good starting points for any prequel/sequel. I can only hope that Alcon Execs consider tapping into this material rather than trying to pull a rabbit outta their asses.

Stallone appears to be a very charitable guy by asking JCVD to sign on for sequel. I trust Sly will ask Russell again who should reconsider esp. after seeing and knowing the huge draw the Expendables had. With a bigger bandwagon (Arnie & Willis back and the promise of an even bigger ensemble cast), it may be considered poor form by any actor to decline an offer from Sly. It would be funny if Russell appeared wearing an eyepatch, drove a death mobile and has a tattoo of Tannhauser Gate. That way they could tie-in Escape from NY, Death Proof and Soldier to the awesomeness that is The Expendables.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:18:33 PM

@Kurskij - thank you (funny)

"The deal will not include the right to remake the original".

Understood and agree. Glad this is in the deal as any remake or reboot would fail by comparison against the always superior Original. If this happened, I suspect many fans would rip their own eyes out.
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 5:50:09 PM

@Mr.Blond

You're always welcome.

Great post, but Hollywood doesn't make those kinds of movies today.

"I can see them create a whole story line about Nexus 6 characters and how they were used and abused in Off World Colonies. Sent into battle, sold as sex slaves, sent into the mine shafts to extract a planet's mineral ores etc. The Replicant’s precious short lifespans coupled by their growing awareness of life purpose to only serve human masters triggers android rebellion. And this conflict brings the necessity of the Blade Runner task force with mandate to retire them".

^that alone could set up a great movie in the vein of the original ""Blade Runner".

The worst in modern cinema for me is that it seems no one today can or is willing to tell epic stories with intimate details - like the original "Blade Runner".

Nolan, Mann, Ridley Scott are of the few who still have that talent.




trailertrash writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 6:44:57 PM

Mr Blonde-

If JCVD makes it into part 2 then Kurt should be there too.

And You have cracked the Kurt Russell (also wearing the white big touble in little china vest of course) Cameo for the Expendables 2.

Also we need some new Expendables 2 news it's all gone a little quiet lately.

Kurskij -

I really hope Ridley's new "Alien" movie puts him back to where he once was, as a superb film maker.

Very Nice Avatar BTW
Kurskij writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 7:39:43 PM

@tt

Based on the idea - it sure looks like it can, mate. I sure hope so.

Thanks - recognise, who's on it? )))
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:29:15 PM

@Kurskij - I can't recognize who is on your avatar. My eyes have been blinded by those massive headlights. I'm surprised she doesn't give herself blackeyes.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:53:02 PM

Speaking of blackeyes, I always thought that Pris' death scene in BR was disturbing to watch. Her screaming and pounding on all fours...Replicants seemed to die awful deaths. Perhaps its because intense pain is such a heightened sensation of awareness to them, not frequently experienced due to their superior physical strength. Deckard had to put her down like a rabid dog with another kill shot.

@Kirskij - "The worst in modern cinema for me is that it seems no one today can or is willing to tell epic stories with intimate details - like the original "Blade Runner".

I believe it was SACdaddy who said on another post that Zack Snyder's The Watchmen was an incredible film - (thanks for your great insight). With so many interesting storylines seamlessly interwoven into an epic length movie and such incredible scenes, costumes and musical score - The Watchmen is a monumental achievement and fine example of detail oriented filmmaking.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 11:41:37 PM

why, why the f*ck now! All this does is piss off the fan base, and in doing so you lose money before its even made.
I will not see it because I learned my lesson with indian jones 4, so wish i could forget that movie.
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 11:59:21 PM

NO
NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 1:14:19 AM

Go ahead and make these...

It'll make the original look even better (if that's possible).

Douche-bags.
Kurskij writes:
on March 4th, 2011 at 5:01:41 AM

@Mr.Blonde

True about Watchmen - forgot about it somehow.

Very complicated project - they even produced a 5 hours long "cartoon-comic book" - and it also was a great watch.

As for avatar - it's Charlotter Church, once a teen sensation in music.

Now - well... time has added something to her voice.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved