WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Javier Bardem is Chosen to Star in "The Dark Tower"

Posted: March 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Javier Bardem is Chosen to Star in "The Dark Tower"Submit Comment
We've heard that Viggo Mortensen, Christian Bale and Javier Bardem are in the running to play Roland Deschain in the big screen adaptation of Stephen King's "The Dark Tower."

MTV caught up with producer Brian Grazer, who revealed that negotiations are currently going on with Bardem and no one else is being considered anymore. "[Bardem] is locked in psychologically," said Grazer. "He really wants to do it, so we're absolutely rooting for him to do it. We're really just focused on Javier right now."

Director Ron Howard (Da Vinci Code) and writer Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Robot) are planning for the first film in the trilogy to be immediately followed by a TV series that will bridge the second film. After the second film, the TV series will pick up allowing viewers to explore the adventures of the protagonist as a young man as a bridge to the third film and beyond.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:10 AM

tv series and movies should not intertwine. Just look at the sarah conner chronicles.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:27 AM

I like the fact that they're taking this very seriously and have great ambitions, but I'm also a bit worried. If you don't watch the series, that will be running in between, can you still watch the rest of the movies?
masht7 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:11:04 AM

This actually may mean he wont be in 'Bond 23'.
boogiel writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 7:19:46 AM

@masht7

Either that or his character will only have a very brief appearance in Bond 23. Personally, I think Jeffrey Dean Morgan could've worked as well. He's done a decent blend of movies and TV.
gunner writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 8:10:50 AM

I love this guy but Viggo Mortensen is the perfect Roland Deschain.
Bunny X writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 8:53:35 AM

Love Javier, but yeah, Viggo would have been a much better choice for Roland. Like the JDM mention as well. He certainly would have been available for both the film and TV show as needed.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:03:31 AM

Viggo Viggo Viggo!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:28:34 AM

Nice choice for Roland. The Gunslinger should be pretty easy to make, but the rest of the series may be quite a challenge.

Off subect: I almost kicked a whole in my plasma last night when I saw that Sucker Punch got a PG-13 rating. What a huge f*cking letdown! That anonymous Hwood insider may have been on to something when he said SP sucked.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:32:40 AM

Jeffrey Dean Morgan is a great actor but he blew his chance taking sh*tty films, just after Watchmen is said, that's it, he'll be a great star buuuut he make that awful film with Uma Thurman and that was it. I hope Red Down busts him up but I highly doubt it.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:32:23 PM

Wow, what a terrible choice. Will they have subtitles everytime he speaks? Don't recall Roland having a thick accent.
FilmFan91201 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:11:22 PM

Not to be nit-picky, but the books mention several times about Roland's pale blue eyes. Colored contacts seem like an obvious workaround, but on close inspection, fake contacts always look... well, fake. Are they going to address this, or disregard the whole "Roland has blue eyes" thing?
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 4:15:31 PM

@Badchad


you have to start the chant low at first then build up

viggo, Viggo, VIggo, VIGgo, VIGGo, VIGGO! VIGGO!VIGGO!VIGGO!VIGGO!VIGGO!
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 5:34:17 PM

Excellent choice. I think they read my emails.

Anyway, he looks the part, or the way I imagined him anyway, and he has the ability.

As for Viggo, I don't get the fascination. The guy has no range, no depth. He's as flat as a Spice Girl singing baritone. He has a dimpled chin, sure, but a homeless man's hairdo. And he sucks. Did I mention that? Playing a smug man or a dullard doesn't take talent, and Viggo puts almost no energy into his performances, so I have to wonder if some of the love for this guy is more than just platonic appreciation...

As for the blue eyes, well, it's an eye color, and I missed that part in the book where King gives him blue eyes. I always imagined him with dark piercing eyes instead, brimming with brooding intensity.

But this isn't a Dean Koontz novel where everyone and their grandmother has blue eyes, including the black people (who don't exist in Koontz's universe, apparently), so I hardly think it matters.

Like a little altered detail like that will be the greatest change from the book to the film anyway....
RELAYER writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 8:59:49 PM

I like Bardem...
But I don't see him in this role.
RELAYER writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:53:13 PM

His eye colour is the least of my worries.

He's a great actor... but he can't cover up that heavy accent of his and "Roland Deschain" isn't Mexican.

They're gonna have to dub him like in a spaghetti western.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:12:36 PM

Bardem isn't Mexican, he's Spanish, as in from Spain. Big f*cking difference.
RELAYER writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 10:01:13 PM

Si, claro.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved