WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

William Shatner Wants "Star Trek 2" Role

Posted: March 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
William Shatner Wants "Star Trek 2" RoleSubmit Comment
Throughout the entire filming process of "Star Trek," we've been hearing William Shatner complain how director JJ Abrams didn't put him in the movie. We later found out that Abrams offered him a cameo, but Shatner wanted an actual role, despite the fact that his character was killed off in "Star Trek: Generations."

Now that the sequel is getting ready to begin filming, Shatner is once again out there talking about his involvement. "I would be so interested in doing it," he said. "But I don't see how it's possible and maybe we all have gone beyond that."

There is a very good chance that Shatner will once again want a big role and Abrams will not be able to make that happen. Either way, we'll soon find out how the whole thing worked out since the film is scheduled to hit theaters on June 29th, 2012.

Source: The Herald Sun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:19:11 AM

Nice Tie Bill
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:26:22 AM

Bill Shatner will do anything, he has no shame any more he'll parody himself, he'll appear in a gay porn rip off entitled "Cling On- The Daisy Chain" and "Journey Into The Black Whole" (spoiler: it ends in blood). I swear he wanted to be in the first of the remakes any way they just didn't want his scene stealing ass on the set.
boogiel writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 7:10:00 AM

Yeah, why not? The first one has Nimoy's Spock, so I guess it's fair to have Shatner's Kirk in the sequel. But he need to lose some damn weight first.
Bunny X writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 8:51:02 AM

Sorry Bill. I think the Spocl tie-in was enough for this franchise. Let it get its own legs and stay away from the original cannon as much as possible. I can understand with TNG, DS9, et al there was a need for the tie-in with the original. But the whole premise of Abrams version is that they are on a completely different timeline.
I would hate for Pine's Kirk to commit suicide if he were to realize that even in this alternate timeline, he would still grow into the bloated, ridiculous joke of himself that Shatner protrays day in and day out.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:35:06 AM

Just cast him in anoter role. Get some makeup and turn him into some alien diplomat or villain.
Spankfish writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 10:17:22 AM

Shatner is a Legend. KKKKKhhhhaaannnn!!!
Rio14 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 11:43:52 AM

Maybe he can play the role of the guy who comes from a planet of savings and gets the crew a great deal on hotels as they fuel up thier ship. He will be the negotiator of a secret society known as Priceline. "The sh#*t my dad says" will be the line for the new captain Kirk, while Bill plyas his father.
xtlhogciao writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:07:43 PM

I thought the new Star Trek took place in a parallel universe since the Romulan went back in time and changed everything. If that's the case, can't they just say that "Generations" never happened? I already pretend it didn't.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:22:50 PM

Bunny speaks for me... again.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:24:27 PM

PS: 'Generations' SHOULD have ended with Picard rewarding Kirk by sending him into the Nexus where he could have lived the life he gave up for Starfleet.

Instead of... 'it was fun.' then burying the legend that is Captain Kirk under a pile of rocks on some sh*thole planet. F*ck you arrogant Berman!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:25:44 PM

And Shatner... you WOULD have been in the latest Star Trek movie were you not such a d*ck!

Take your $600mil you've made off your Priceline commercials, stick with S*it your Dad says... and don't get all weird or what on us.
acreshakers writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 1:06:32 PM

Not gonna work! What are they gonna do go back in time AGAIN! Let it go Bill take your priceline money, go fly somewhere and get lost!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 1:43:11 PM

Shatner your way too old to spend all those millions,you might as well donate it like george lucas.
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:27:10 PM

Khaaaaaaaaaaaaan!
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:29:39 PM

He tasks me. He tasks me and I shall have him! I'll chase him 'round the moons of Nibia and 'round the Antares Maelstrom and 'round Perdition's flames before I give him up!
The Dini writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 4:38:22 PM

Star Trek is so dorky and stupid.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 4:53:57 PM

Thx. for the review.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:00:19 PM

@Ranger

Spot on with that. I always thought it was such a crappy way to end Kirk's character to have him buried in some barely marked grave on a distant planet that no one knows about. Even if everyone else thought he had been dead for years because of what happened on Enterprise B, just about anything else would have been better. Leaving him in the Nexus to experience what he gave up would have been perfect, but no, they just had to "close out" the character so they could move onto the next phase, the rest of the NG movies with nothing lingering from the past. Such a deficient end for a great character.

As far as him being in the new movie, my brain says Bunny is right, and the new movie series needs to establish its own identity, but my heart wants to see him as Kirk one more time. It's a different timeline, there's no rules, it's before Generations, put him in there somewhere. But I agree it shouldn't be a major part of the film. I just think it would be nice to have a better "ending" of Shatner's Kirk than what we have now.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:01:05 PM

The ending to Generations made no sense. Why did Kirk go to all the trouble to bury Starfleet's greatest hero under a pile of rubble on a no-name planet when in reality his body should have been held out for SF medical to either attempt a revival or at least taken back for the funeral of pomp and regal he rightly deserved.

It was a terrible waste of the man's character an atrocious ending. But hey, they destroyed the Enterprise D to make room for the widescreen-friendly Enterprise E, so that's something, right?

"I thought the new Star Trek took place in a parallel universe since the Romulan went back in time and changed everything. If that's the case, can't they just say that "Generations" never happened? I already pretend it didn't."

No one knows, really, because the entire time travel mechanism made no sense (because Orci and Kurtzman are sh*tty scriptwriters and wholly ignorant of both art and science...)

The time travel through a black hole thing was totally inconsistent and the script was sh*t. One minute the black hole is a time machine the next it's a whirlpool of destruction. The next it's eating planets at a snail's pace, even though a black hole's gravity pulls sh*t in so fast even light cannot escape...

And no one seems to know why Nero's ship entered time in the past when it did but Spock's came out somewhere else altogether, nor can you explain why Nero trawled the past for over two decades without either encoutering another Starfleet vessel (he was looking for revenge remember), nor why he didn't ever bother to simply eradicate the killer star and go FORWARD into time per Einstein's theory of relativity (easy to do actually, just travel at near the speed of light!).

But the entire film was just absolutely stupid from beginning to end, and a mess to boot. It's hard to even call it sci-fi because just having space ships and plasma rifles don't make a film science fiction.

The so-called science was just erratic, there were no big ideas present and the casting was more than a little off, not to mention the characterization of Spock was skillfully and willfully wrong, as was Kirk's.

And I could go on and on. Like why did the giant drill splash down conveniently and neatly into the San Fran bay barbor, even though it weighs mega-tons and fell from a mile high? Why did the hole in the Earth's core not cause VAST destruction as it would have per a thinking man's minimal knowledge? Why did the quarry in Iowa look just like a canyon, and how did little Kirk escape the inertia of the car as it flew off the cliff?

And there's so much of this sh*t I could write a book, but no one gives a damn because a film making sense and remaining true to it's quality-of-thought predecessors is just so passe, right?

Star Trek, along with TDK, is one of the most ever-rated pieces of junk cinema to come out in a long while.

"Star Trek is so dorky and stupid."

So sayeth the moron with the 'professional wrestling' avatar...
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 7:02:26 PM

Oh, sorry, this threads's about the mono-syllabic fat guy that was once a television star back before we landed on the moon. I forgot.

Please resume your discussion.
The Dini writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 7:31:18 PM

Whatever "minkowski" lol. Star Trek is just way over my head thats all.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 7:37:20 PM

Star Trek isn't for 'smart' people or 'nerds', but it isn't for completely lazy thinkers either.

Well, it wasn't until the reboot.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 11:22:53 PM

Uh, Shatner was in Star Trek 2... or is this a typo and they meant Star Trek 12...please, not another stupid time traveling Star Trek story.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:09:18 AM

They'll need a special assistant for Shat's toupee.

I wonder how much the toupee will get for a cameo ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:12:43 AM

minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:01:05 PM

The ending to Generations made no sense. Why did Kirk go to all the trouble to bury Starfleet's greatest hero under a pile of rubble on a no-name planet when in reality his body should have been held out for SF medical to either attempt a revival or at least taken back for the funeral of pomp and regal he rightly deserved.



@minkowski

They took the franchise, the Enterprise and all gullible Trekkies on a journey to find "God" in Star Trek V and you think Generations didn't make any sense ?


*whistles in disbelief*


That's kinda Sheen, with a side of couch-jumping Cruise.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:13:49 AM

Mornings with Martin on MTV 2 ?

So MTV decided that they should acclaim they've gone to sh*t and have Martin Lawrence host a show ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:15:29 AM

^ Hope he doesn't start running around the show's stage, ripping at his track suit and claim 'dehydration' and that 'monkey's are clawin' all over my back! '

I mean, that would be so Sheen.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:15:30 AM

^ Hope he doesn't start running around the show's stage, ripping at his track suit and claim 'dehydration' and that 'monkey's are clawin' all over my back! '

I mean, that would be so Sheen.
Ranger writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:29:04 AM

@Champ - thank you.

As for: 'That's kinda Sheen, with a side of couch-jumping Cruise.' --- I almost fell out of my f*cking chair!

minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 12:18:07 PM

"They took the franchise, the Enterprise and all gullible Trekkies on a journey to find "God" in Star Trek V and you think Generations didn't make any sense ?"

The message of Star Trek 5, if you can stand the film, is that god is an illusion, and that power can be easily miscontrued for omnipotence.

Spock's brother was the religious fanatic who thought god lived at the heart of the galaxy, and he commandeered the craft the explore the possibility, but what he and the crew found was just another very powerful but hateful extraterrestrial.

So, yes, Star Trek 5 made sense in a number of ways, it just wasn't very interesting.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved