WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon Glad He Passed on "Rescue Dawn"

Posted: March 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon Glad He Passed on "Rescue Dawn"Submit Comment
I recently had the chance to sit down with Matt Damon to talk about "The Adjustment Bureau," which hits theaters this Friday (March 4th). Since the movie revolves around fate and free-will, the actor spoke about how fate intervened in his own life.

"Clearly for me, passing up the chance to be in 'Avatar' in order to do 'Green Zone' was one of those moments," he joked. "Because 'Avatar' didn't do very well. The DVD of 'Green Zone' is just gonna go huge."

Speaking seriously, Damon said: "There was the Werner Herzog movie called 'Rescue Dawn' that Christian Bale did, and Werner and I were talking about that - this was eight years ago - about me possibly playing that role. I was really strongly considering it, and instead I met with the Farrelly Brothers and I did ['Stuck On You'] and that was where I met my wife. Four kids later, that was a pretty fateful decision."

Damon went on to mention that he really wanted to star in "Avatar," but there was a major scheduling issue. "I talked to [James] Cameron, I read the script, and I really wanted to do 'Avatar' to work with Jim Cameron, to watch him direct, because I was going to learn a lot," he said. "We were finishing 'The Bourne Ultimatum,' and it was a scheduling issue. I joke that I passed on 'Avatar,' but really my schedule made it an impossibility for me."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2011 at 9:14:57 PM

I missed the part where he says he's glad to have passed on Rescue Dawn.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 1st, 2011 at 9:26:31 PM

You beat me to it Mink
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2011 at 9:35:53 PM

One for me, fifty for you then, Bad.

Alex thinks summarizing a news story involves inventing parts that don't exist, like if you were to summarize a story about a fatal airplane crash by saying that the air terminal now has a Subway shop when it really doesn't.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 1st, 2011 at 9:50:13 PM

I've noticed that. Thought it was just me. O well, what can you do?
JFB writes:
on March 1st, 2011 at 11:09:43 PM

Matt buddy, be glad you passed on Avatar. We all hate James f*ckface Cameron anyway...even if he is representing Canadian pride. I'd rather root Ryan Reynolds; or his wife! Well ex-wife. She's my wet dream.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 12:07:01 AM

Avatar was cool to look at when I saw it opening weekend, but everything between the media and internet that came after just made me hate the f*ck out of it. I have not and probably will not ever watch it again.
kmccarney88 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 2:18:55 AM

Too bad he didn't take Avatar....Sam Worthington sucks d*ck.
hammertime90 writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:12:34 AM

@minkowski "Stuck on You" was a fairly notorious box-office bomb, although it did get a fairly positive box office reception, and I definitely enjoyed it as a light comedy when I saw it. Still, when you're forced to describe it as "That Matt Damon/Greg Kinnear conjoined twin buddy dramedy with Cher that bombed," you know you're not discussing Oscar-winning material.

Of course, it's not like you're expected to know all that. "Stuck on You" has definitely faded into obscurity by now, despite its hilarious Robin Williams cameo. I know Matt hasn't forgotten though - he's brought it up in several previous interviews.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 4:23:07 AM

Damon is glad he passed on Rescue Dawn because he met his wife on the set of Stuck On You. The headline is still quite misleading, though.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:11:07 AM

He never says hes glad he passed on rescue dawn to meet his wife. just that it was fateful...
SACdaddy writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 9:56:57 AM

I still don't understand why Rescue Dawn gets any praise. It's by far Bale's worst attempt at an American accent and his most overacted role imo. Plus every other character in the film was completely annoying. As far as POW films go, it might be one of the worst! I'll take The Dear Hunter, Hanoi Hilton, Rambo, or Missing In Action 2 any day before I'd watch another minute of Rescue Dawn. Matt Damon should be praising the day he chose to pass on that snooze fest.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 11:27:07 AM

This is what the 3rd time Ive read about him passing on a movie

The Brothers Grim

should be the one he mentions he should have passed on

I thought Rescue Dawn was good glad he wasnt in it
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:40:17 PM

Meaat Daamon!
SuluNakamura writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 3:42:25 PM

Wow, so he didnt say exactly what was in the title. Now let's all point that out like it f*cking matters at all.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 4:54:26 PM

Because tellising us it doesn't matter matters even more, right Mr. Takei?
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:33:00 PM

I enjoyed RD as well, as Herzog's cinematography is second to none, really, and the 'deficiencies' in Bale's voice was amply compensated by his willingness to go Auschwitz.
SuluNakamura writes:
on March 2nd, 2011 at 6:53:45 PM

Implying it was ever a debate on who's useless post mattered more. But because I know how this works, I'll leave it at that.
Aaron writes:
on March 3rd, 2011 at 3:51:39 AM

He didn't do rescue dawn and did stuck on you - where he met his wife and now has four kids.
Glad that he passed on Rescue Dawn is implied.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved