WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Pearce Was Almost in "Batman Begins"

Posted: February 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Pearce Was Almost in "Batman Begins"Submit Comment
Fans have been expecting Guy Pearce (Memento) to appear in one of Christopher Nolan's Batman movies, but it has yet to happen. According to the actor, Nolan actually approached him to play a role in "Batman Begins."

"Chris Nolan flew me to London to talk about one of the other roles in ['Batman Begins']," he said. "It was Liam Neeson's role. And there was talk about having the mentor be the same age as Christian Bale, rather than be an older mentor. But maybe they tossed the idea around and other people went, 'No, that's not gonna work.'"

Pearce went on to say that he was also offered the chance to play the lead in the 2003 "Daredevil" movie, which Ben Affleck ended up starring in.

"I was offered the first 'Daredevil,' yeah," he explained, adding that he eventually turned down the role. "It wasn't really my I mean, I wasn't really sort of I don't know. Comic-strip stuff isn't really my cup of tea."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:19:46 AM

That's weird, I just saw memento a few hours ago.
trailertrash writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:24:08 AM

MYVAGHURTZ - That was a bloody good movie IMO
Monash writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:26:35 AM

I don't even think Guy Pearce could have saved Daredevil, good choice on both accounts
boogiel writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:18:29 AM

Smart move. He was wise not to take the offer. I mean, who wouldnt turn down daredevil except Ben Affleck.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 7:36:59 AM

Good move, on both accounts. But he do deserve some kind of grander recognition soon. He has been constantly good in everything he has done, but somehow, not considered a star yet.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 10:51:51 AM

Where the f*ck is Guy Pierce anyway? Other than his 2 minute scene in Hurt Locker (what a f*cking waste) I haven't seen him around much. Too bad, the guy's a great actor.
ShizPaf writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 12:52:56 PM

Just an asside here, has anyone seen the extended R rated directors cut of Daredevil? Its a bit better than the theatrical release...
velocityknown writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 2:02:50 PM

@Sac

He actually had a pretty good 2010. He was in Animal Kingdom and The King's Speech, good in both and they've both earned considerable critical attention. Though I would like to see him in more leading roles. He's going to be in Del Toro's "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark" so maybe we'll get to see more of him then.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 4:45:56 PM

Still think the Proposition was his best, great film.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 5:39:57 PM

Good, because Neeson did very well in the BB role, and as good as Pearce me be, plugging him into the role would have been an obvious miscast.
trailertrash writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 6:53:36 PM

AYT-

L.A Confidential was a good movie and Pearce more than held his own in that movie (where the hell has Curtis Hanson gone)

Not seen Proposition, again it's one i've brought and never watched.

But I did have a new found respect for Nick Cave when he was on TOTP with Kylie Minogue, pretty sure he was trying to grab her ass at any point he could, lol
darkraven28 writes:
on February 26th, 2011 at 8:19:23 PM

I would have bought Guy Pearce as Ducard in Batman Begins. He would have been just as good as Neeson. And I think the point that would have been made by that casting is that people can be of somewhat similar age (in that case Wayne/Ducard) and yet have lived totally different lives and have completely different levels of experience. Me personally, I just like to see Guy Pearce in more movies. And weirdly, I just rewatched Memento for the first time in ten years a few days ago. Some distance from it's initial release and overhype makes that movie so much better.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 27th, 2011 at 10:34:28 AM

I love Gary Oldman, but after seeing Animal Kingdom, Guy Pearce could have easily played Commissioner Gordon.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 27th, 2011 at 10:39:55 AM

^Horrible sentence.
-What I was trying to say was that Pearce's character in Animal Kingdom is very similar to Jim Gordon, and it would have been awesome to see him reunited with Nolan.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved